Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:12:56 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96] 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 ... 150 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Litecoin - a lite version of Bitcoin. Launched!  (Read 785127 times)
pieppiep
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 07:03:01 AM
 #1901

That would only work if the attacker first announces his attack.
1481346776
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346776

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346776
Reply with quote  #2

1481346776
Report to moderator
1481346776
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346776

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346776
Reply with quote  #2

1481346776
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 07:09:44 AM
 #1902

Since the change is simply to just add a single extra checkpoint to the code (a single line of code) ...
Why not write some code to allow for a checkpoint to be specified in the config file?
That way you can just post a checkpoint and ask everyone to use it
(and it's easy to verify if it is valid)
Thus IF someone was actually going to attempt a 51% it's quicker to get people to add in a new checkpoint.

That was one of the ideas that I came up with previously. Upside is that it's quicker to release new checkpoints. Downside is that it could cause many different forks if people all have different checkpoints configured. At least with the current way, I know that if you are running 0.6.3c, you will be on the same chain as me.

In the end, I decided to not go through with this idea right now. The solution to a 51% attack is not checkpoints. It's more hashing power. It seems like the threat of an attack has actually galvanized our little community into working together to defend this attack. People have jumped to solo mining in case there was going to be a DDoS of pools. And we saw a lot of miners willing to jump in and help out. Our current network hashrate is at 315 mhash/s. That may be an all time high! So in the end, that's doing a lot more to defend this attack than the checkpoint I added.

foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 07:15:15 AM
 #1903

That would only work if the attacker first announces his attack.
Couldn't you switch forks retroactively by placing a checkpoint on the fork you want? The blockchain database contains all blocks from all forks, right?

I know this because Tyler knows this.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 07:24:16 AM
 #1904

That would only work if the attacker first announces his attack.
Couldn't you switch forks retroactively by placing a checkpoint on the fork you want? The blockchain database contains all blocks from all forks, right?
The block chain database contains only one(single) block chain not all blocks from all forks.
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 07:33:52 AM
 #1905

That would only work if the attacker first announces his attack.
Couldn't you switch forks retroactively by placing a checkpoint on the fork you want? The blockchain database contains all blocks from all forks, right?
The block chain database contains only one(single) block chain not all blocks from all forks.
The Wiki disagrees: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Block_chain
Quote
Blocks in shorter chains (or invalid chains) are called "orphan blocks", and while they are stored, they are not used for anything.

I know this because Tyler knows this.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 07:57:12 AM
 #1906

will this help, if pools stop sending out coins until this shit storm is over?

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 08:36:14 AM
 #1907

Since the change is simply to just add a single extra checkpoint to the code (a single line of code) ...
Why not write some code to allow for a checkpoint to be specified in the config file?
That way you can just post a checkpoint and ask everyone to use it
(and it's easy to verify if it is valid)
Thus IF someone was actually going to attempt a 51% it's quicker to get people to add in a new checkpoint.

That was one of the ideas that I came up with previously. Upside is that it's quicker to release new checkpoints. Downside is that it could cause many different forks if people all have different checkpoints configured. At least with the current way, I know that if you are running 0.6.3c, you will be on the same chain as me.

In the end, I decided to not go through with this idea right now. The solution to a 51% attack is not checkpoints. It's more hashing power. It seems like the threat of an attack has actually galvanized our little community into working together to defend this attack. People have jumped to solo mining in case there was going to be a DDoS of pools. And we saw a lot of miners willing to jump in and help out. Our current network hashrate is at 315 mhash/s. That may be an all time high! So in the end, that's doing a lot more to defend this attack than the checkpoint I added.
I think the rise is most likely only due to ckolivas and cgminer Smiley
i.e. not only people now being able to (GPU) hash faster using cgminer (for those that didn't want to use reaper) but also those that didn't hash before but decided now with a reputable (and better in terms of everything else it does) program like cgminer to consider LTC also.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 01:10:19 PM
 #1908

That was one of the ideas that I came up with previously. Upside is that it's quicker to release new checkpoints. Downside is that it could cause many different forks if people all have different checkpoints configured. At least with the current way, I know that if you are running 0.6.3c, you will be on the same chain as me.
I considered, and partially implemented, a similar idea with i0coin, dynamic checkpoints, where new checkpoints could be sent using the P2P protocol that are signed by the coin creator. Users could also use a command line argument to indicate who's checkpoints they trusted.

In the end I came to the same conclusion as you though, more hash power, not more checkpoints, is a better answer. Maybe something like the checkpointing could be done for new coins as a safeguard though. Code is in my github repository for i0coin if interested.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 01:15:40 PM
 #1909

The block chain database contains only one(single) block chain not all blocks from all forks.
The Wiki disagrees: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Block_chain
Quote
Blocks in shorter chains (or invalid chains) are called "orphan blocks", and while they are stored, they are not used for anything.

Neither are true.

All connectable blocks are stored and connected, so that we may switch from the current chain to a new chain at any time.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
eckmar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Ecki


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 03:18:14 PM
 #1910

I added a new checkpoint to repel the potential 51% attack.
It is important for all pools and exchanges to use this new code.
For now, please grab the source and compile yourself. I will work on the binary release soon.
...
Ecki.net Poolserver updated...

Cu,
 Ecki

terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 06:03:05 PM
 #1911

My auction to sell liteco.in is nearing its end: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=93200.0
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1638


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 05:09:20 PM
 #1912

Hello,

why is the Mining-Function of the Litecoin Wallet doesnt give any info? I first simply clicked on Start Mining and it says, Solo mining started. Stopping writes, Solo mining stopped. No more info. I checked Debug Logging but no logfile appears and no infos appear in the window. Then i started it as a server to check out Scryptminer and reached 6.3KHash/s with it. Then i switched back to the Wallet because i thought that maybe i have to input the Server, Port and so on to start mining. But nothing changes. The CPU is maxed out but no info about whats happening appears. I cant even tell how fast the Walletminer is.

How do i get this info?

What is the best miner for an Intel T7700 and a NVidia GeForce 9600M GT?

Thanks!
Sebastian

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
burnside
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2012, 06:49:21 PM
 #1913

If you want to mine with CPU, there's cpuminer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=55038.msg947746#msg947746

If you want to mine with GPU, there's reaper: http://wiki.solidcoin.info/wiki/Reaper

Once you have the mining software setup, you can either solo mine or join a pool:

https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Comparison-of-mining-pools

(shamless plug) http://ltc.kattare.com/gettingstarted.php

Hope that helps!

Hello,

why is the Mining-Function of the Litecoin Wallet doesnt give any info? I first simply clicked on Start Mining and it says, Solo mining started. Stopping writes, Solo mining stopped. No more info. I checked Debug Logging but no logfile appears and no infos appear in the window. Then i started it as a server to check out Scryptminer and reached 6.3KHash/s with it. Then i switched back to the Wallet because i thought that maybe i have to input the Server, Port and so on to start mining. But nothing changes. The CPU is maxed out but no info about whats happening appears. I cant even tell how fast the Walletminer is.

How do i get this info?

What is the best miner for an Intel T7700 and a NVidia GeForce 9600M GT?

Thanks!
Sebastian

I'm not a Coinbase fan -- I placed a buy order, they took the funds out of my account, then a week later the price went up and they canceled the buy and closed my account.  You've been warned.  Use a different exchange.
dw_bc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 01:58:54 AM
 #1914

I try to use Official Litecoin Wallet, but when I want to send LTC my transaction fee is 1.0 LTC !!

How can I get a lower fee? I already try to change in option, but remains the same.

Thanks
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:02:08 AM
 #1915

I try to use Official Litecoin Wallet, but when I want to send LTC my transaction fee is 1.0 LTC !!

How can I get a lower fee? I already try to change in option, but remains the same.

Thanks


I believe it needs to mature or be under a certain size.
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:10:25 AM
 #1916

I try to use Official Litecoin Wallet, but when I want to send LTC my transaction fee is 1.0 LTC !!

How can I get a lower fee? I already try to change in option, but remains the same.

Thanks


You must have a lot of small inputs going into that transaction.

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:45:13 PM
 #1917

Is there any way to query the API for transaction categories ? ($bitcoin->listtransactions->category)

I want to display an array of either IMMATURE or GENERATE blocks in my WebMonitor App from Solo Mining and I have literally exhausted EVERY option that I can think of, only to fail.

I have been over the Bitcoin API Docs from top to bottom...and unless I missed something, I simply can NOT find anything that will work, as I have tried everything.

Any ideas ?

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 02:33:31 PM
 #1918

Is there any way to query the API for transaction categories ? ($bitcoin->listtransactions->category)

I want to display an array of either IMMATURE or GENERATE blocks in my WebMonitor App from Solo Mining and I have literally exhausted EVERY option that I can think of, only to fail.

I have been over the Bitcoin API Docs from top to bottom...and unless I missed something, I simply can NOT find anything that will work, as I have tried everything.

Any ideas ?

Anyone ?

doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 02:50:28 PM
 #1919

Anyone ?
Something like:
Code:
litecoind listtransactions "" 1000|egrep -A3 'immature|generate'
smoothie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848


LEALANA Monero Physical Silver Coins


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 05:59:08 PM
 #1920

Anyone ?
Something like:
Code:
litecoind listtransactions "" 1000|egrep -A3 'immature|generate'

You may want to update your signature to add litecoins DoubleC.

███████████████████████████████████████

            ,╓p@@███████@╗╖,           
        ,p████████████████████N,       
      d█████████████████████████b     
    d██████████████████████████████æ   
  ,████²█████████████████████████████, 
 ,█████  ╙████████████████████╨  █████y
 ██████    `████████████████`    ██████
║██████       Ñ███████████`      ███████
███████         ╩██████Ñ         ███████
███████    ▐▄     ²██╩     a▌    ███████
╢██████    ▐▓█▄          ▄█▓▌    ███████
 ██████    ▐▓▓▓▓▌,     ▄█▓▓▓▌    ██████─
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓█,,▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
           ▐▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌          
    ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓─  
     ²▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╩    
        ▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀       
           ²▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀`          
                   ²²²                 
███████████████████████████████████████

. ★☆ WWW.LEALANA.COM        My PGP fingerprint is A764D833.        SMOOTHIE'S HEALTH AND FITNESS JOURNAL          History of Monero development Visualization ★☆ .
LEALANA  PHYSICAL MONERO COINS 999 FINE SILVER.
 
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96] 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 ... 150 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!