Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:21:13 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 150 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Litecoin - a lite version of Bitcoin. Launched!  (Read 782476 times)
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 09:32:38 AM
 #901

In other news, I've compiled a new version of ScryptMiner GUI for Windows that fixes the time reporting bug :
http://www.mediafire.com/?11ibe93r09dqo4e

Also, you seem to have taken the protocol dumping off. I enabled it because it causes the output buffers to fill much more quickly, so that the GUI application can read the output. It *might* behave differently on different OSes but I'll check it once I manage to get my repository up-to-date (damned Git)

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480710073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710073
Reply with quote  #2

1480710073
Report to moderator
1480710073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710073
Reply with quote  #2

1480710073
Report to moderator
1480710073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710073
Reply with quote  #2

1480710073
Report to moderator
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 09:43:20 AM
 #902

lol your right coblee lol i forgot that its almost the same as put gen=1 in the conf Cheesy
But then again some do mine local solo but use other pc's connected to that machine to help mine for faster result, so in all it must be made clear what is the intension or what is meant by solo mining.
So what the definition of solo mining, I mine by myself  but i am also using my other pc's to get quicker result cause mining on just one pc takes some days to get a block when mining with more of my machines i end up doing 1 block in about 2 days or sometimes each day one
Or do i mine only with this machine hence the real solo mining which the setting gen=1 in litecoin.conf would do.....
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 09:45:57 AM
 #903

In other news, I've compiled a new version of ScryptMiner GUI for Windows that fixes the time reporting bug :
http://www.mediafire.com/?11ibe93r09dqo4e

Also, you seem to have taken the protocol dumping off. I enabled it because it causes the output buffers to fill much more quickly, so that the GUI application can read the output. It *might* behave differently on different OSes but I'll check it once I manage to get my repository up-to-date (damned Git)
Thank you i was already wondering what weird times i had on the other machines Cheesy
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 09:52:28 AM
 #904

In other news, I've compiled a new version of ScryptMiner GUI for Windows that fixes the time reporting bug :
http://www.mediafire.com/?11ibe93r09dqo4e

Also, you seem to have taken the protocol dumping off. I enabled it because it causes the output buffers to fill much more quickly, so that the GUI application can read the output. It *might* behave differently on different OSes but I'll check it once I manage to get my repository up-to-date (damned Git)
Thank you i was already wondering what weird times i had on the other machines Cheesy

Yeah, it accidentally prepended the first digit of the year, which in this case was always 2... Tongue

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 10:11:14 AM
 #905

I haven't figured out a good way to present these 2 different mining options together without confusing the user.
Dropdown with "Pool" and "Solo" options, with a URL input for the pool getting disabled when solo is selected?
That's exactly what I was going to do. I'll start working on it in just a minute.

Please wait. I'm still flushing out the UI. So there's going to be a lot of conflicts if we both work on it at the same time.
Alright, to be fair I have no idea how to proceed with the solo mining part, since I need to know the RPC port, username and password, and I have no idea how to do it without modifying the underlying code.

Ok, I checked in some tweaks:
- added drop down for pool mining versus solo mining (solo mining not hooked up to client's "-gen" option yet)
- added debug logging checkbox. this will print out what minerd prints out.
- various UI tweaks
- fixed 1000 bitcoin bugs (just kidding, just imitating CoinHunter/RealSolid here)

Still need to do:
- save config values using db as oppose to easyconfig.txt
- hook up solo mining option
- hook up mining status and hashrate with status icon at the bottom
- maybe move mining tab to right most tab (let me know if you don't want that)

Here's a sneak peek:

IMAGE

I did not build a windows binary yet since these are just minor changes. But those who know how to build there own, feel free to check it out.
You seem to have taken the protocol-dump parameter off. I had it enabled because otherwise it would take very long time for the output buffer to get filled and cleared (so the GUI application could read the output). It took around 3 minutes before it even showed the hash rate /wo protocol-dump being enabled.

Seems to be behaviour that differs between OSes. (I use Windows)

It causes a new problem with the new Debug Logging option though... Maybe if the protocol-dump related data could be omitted somehow?'

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
322i0n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 12:44:07 PM
 #906

I'm currently working on a JavaScript based miner for LiteCoin if anyones interested in it?
Let me know if you are.
(This means mining can be as simple as opening a webpage! Maybe pointing to the IP address of your litecoind server first, or would people prefer a pool?)

This can be a good way to monetize a web site : the visitor is running your javascript miner as long as he keeps the page open.
A few suggestions :
- allow to parametrize how long and how heavily the miner will run to avoid annoying visitors (call it periodically for a fixed amount of cycles using timer callbacks).
- allow to keep track of who mined how many shares (session identifier passed together with the results) to provide incentive, or allow browsers to mine on pools.
any further info on this?

Supporting The Global Insurrection Against Banker Occupation
BTC: 1C1w6t1dMkEXeCntURxDiBiWsTbdJbvTr9
NMC: N6uNpVPAdpTur4Hwr8Sqgd6kxcKPto4S2T
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 02:26:43 PM
 #907

I'm currently working on a JavaScript based miner for LiteCoin if anyones interested in it?
Let me know if you are.
(This means mining can be as simple as opening a webpage! Maybe pointing to the IP address of your litecoind server first, or would people prefer a pool?)

This can be a good way to monetize a web site : the visitor is running your javascript miner as long as he keeps the page open.
A few suggestions :
- allow to parametrize how long and how heavily the miner will run to avoid annoying visitors (call it periodically for a fixed amount of cycles using timer callbacks).
- allow to keep track of who mined how many shares (session identifier passed together with the results) to provide incentive, or allow browsers to mine on pools.
any further info on this?

Yes, I completely missed this.

If someone can get this technology going, I will help promote the fuck out of it, if it works. 

Use this as the model http://bitcoinplus.com, except dont disappear after you create the site  Cheesy

simplecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 06:07:23 PM
 #908

About to add litecoin support to simplecoin.us.

I also just sent a pull request to add native long polling support Smiley

UPDATE: LTC is active on simplecoin.us

Donations: 1VjGJHPtLodwCFBDWsHJMdEhqRcRKdBQk
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 26, 2011, 10:02:10 PM
 #909

I'm currently working on a JavaScript based miner for LiteCoin if anyones interested in it?
Let me know if you are.
(This means mining can be as simple as opening a webpage! Maybe pointing to the IP address of your litecoind server first, or would people prefer a pool?)

This can be a good way to monetize a web site : the visitor is running your javascript miner as long as he keeps the page open.
A few suggestions :
- allow to parametrize how long and how heavily the miner will run to avoid annoying visitors (call it periodically for a fixed amount of cycles using timer callbacks).
- allow to keep track of who mined how many shares (session identifier passed together with the results) to provide incentive, or allow browsers to mine on pools.
any further info on this?

Yes, I completely missed this.

If someone can get this technology going, I will help promote the fuck out of it, if it works. 

Use this as the model http://bitcoinplus.com, except dont disappear after you create the site  Cheesy
How is this any different to creating a botnet?

All it would do is turn people away from litecoin or consider the website a trojan installer.

You really think it is OK to steal CPU cycles from people visiting the web site and there will be no back-lash?

... and who is going to keep the coins? I take it your not going to give the coins to the person who mined them?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 10:13:31 PM
 #910

How is this any different to creating a botnet?
The user would know they are mining either for themselves or for the site.
Quote
All it would do is turn people away from litecoin or consider the website a trojan installer.
I 100% disagree.  But if I had the perception of what you think the site would be used for, then I understand.
Quote
You really think it is OK to steal CPU cycles from people visiting the web site and there will be no back-lash?
Yes, there is a misunderstanding going on here.  Where is stealing anything coming into play?
Quote
... and who is going to keep the coins? I take it your not going to give the coins to the person who mined them?
lol, duh, of course not, but I make sure that the people who use the sites I have it on, know it is running.  I see the technology as a great way to avoid having to have ads on a web site while at the same time ensure costs can be recouped.  I have no unethical intentions, I have been using BitcoinPlus on the Bitcoin Porn web site for months now, it has been advertised that it is using it since day one, along with a link to information on how it works.   

A lot of technologies can be abused, but this one has a lot of good potential imo.

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2011, 11:07:04 PM
 #911

You seem to have taken the protocol-dump parameter off. I had it enabled because otherwise it would take very long time for the output buffer to get filled and cleared (so the GUI application could read the output). It took around 3 minutes before it even showed the hash rate /wo protocol-dump being enabled.

Seems to be behaviour that differs between OSes. (I use Windows)

It causes a new problem with the new Debug Logging option though... Maybe if the protocol-dump related data could be omitted somehow?'

Didn't you add this read timer to read output every 500 millisecond?
https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/blob/master/src/qt/miningpage.cpp#L29

That seems to work for me. Is it not working on Windows?

Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 04:30:50 AM
 #912

You seem to have taken the protocol-dump parameter off. I had it enabled because otherwise it would take very long time for the output buffer to get filled and cleared (so the GUI application could read the output). It took around 3 minutes before it even showed the hash rate /wo protocol-dump being enabled.

Seems to be behaviour that differs between OSes. (I use Windows)

It causes a new problem with the new Debug Logging option though... Maybe if the protocol-dump related data could be omitted somehow?'

Didn't you add this read timer to read output every 500 millisecond?
https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/blob/master/src/qt/miningpage.cpp#L29

That seems to work for me. Is it not working on Windows?
Not working on Windows. It only reads the output once the output buffer has been filled.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 04:51:48 AM
 #913

How is this any different to creating a botnet?
The user would know they are mining either for themselves or for the site.
Quote
All it would do is turn people away from litecoin or consider the website a trojan installer.
I 100% disagree.  But if I had the perception of what you think the site would be used for, then I understand.
Quote
You really think it is OK to steal CPU cycles from people visiting the web site and there will be no back-lash?
Yes, there is a misunderstanding going on here.  Where is stealing anything coming into play?
Quote
... and who is going to keep the coins? I take it your not going to give the coins to the person who mined them?
lol, duh, of course not, but I make sure that the people who use the sites I have it on, know it is running.  I see the technology as a great way to avoid having to have ads on a web site while at the same time ensure costs can be recouped.  I have no unethical intentions, I have been using BitcoinPlus on the Bitcoin Porn web site for months now, it has been advertised that it is using it since day one, along with a link to information on how it works.   

A lot of technologies can be abused, but this one has a lot of good potential imo.
Well then all I can say is make sure it is VERY clear that the site is doing what most A/V programs consider to be a trojan.

It will only take one person to complain about it and I am certain that the FireFox block and google will block the site without a second thought.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 05:08:47 AM
 #914

It will only take one person to complain about it and I am certain that the FireFox block and google will block the site without a second thought.

I am not sure where you got such a negative view of the technology lol.  On top of a decent ad replacement imo.  I have seen someone have that either set up the page or was going to, that has it donate to NORML.  So another use would be charity.   Another idea is if Wikipedia were to implement it, it could run properly without worrying about donations.  I think there is a lot of positives that could come, instead of focusing on the one negative of a botnet abusing it, as a botnet can abuse a lot of good things, doesn't mean they shouldn't exist imo

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 05:10:52 AM
 #915

You seem to have taken the protocol-dump parameter off. I had it enabled because otherwise it would take very long time for the output buffer to get filled and cleared (so the GUI application could read the output). It took around 3 minutes before it even showed the hash rate /wo protocol-dump being enabled.

Seems to be behaviour that differs between OSes. (I use Windows)

It causes a new problem with the new Debug Logging option though... Maybe if the protocol-dump related data could be omitted somehow?'

Didn't you add this read timer to read output every 500 millisecond?
https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/blob/master/src/qt/miningpage.cpp#L29

That seems to work for me. Is it not working on Windows?
Not working on Windows. It only reads the output once the output buffer has been filled.

Can you try a few things on Windows? Instead of waiting on signal readyReadStandardOutput(), use readyReadStandardError(). Does that help? If not, how about just readyRead()
I know minerd only outputs to stderr, so stdout might not be flushed after each printout.

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 09:40:57 AM
 #916

Still need to do:
- save config values using db as oppose to easyconfig.txt
- hook up solo mining option
- hook up mining status and hashrate with status icon at the bottom
- maybe move mining tab to right most tab (let me know if you don't want that)

Done!
- Remember config settings in db
- Implemented solo mining option to hook up with internal miner
- Hooked up mining hashrate status with status icon for both solo and pool mining
- Remember last state. So client will start up and automatically and mine (solo or pool) if it was previously closed in that state
- Moved mining tab to last tab on right

https://github.com/downloads/coblee/litecoin/litecoin-windows-client-0.5.0.3.zip

EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 10:10:26 AM
 #917

Looks good. Excellent.

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
October 27, 2011, 11:01:57 AM
 #918

- Remember last state. So client will start up and automatically and mine (solo or pool) if it was previously closed in that state
Where is this stored?
Matoking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352

Firstbits: 1m8xa


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 02:41:50 PM
 #919

You seem to have taken the protocol-dump parameter off. I had it enabled because otherwise it would take very long time for the output buffer to get filled and cleared (so the GUI application could read the output). It took around 3 minutes before it even showed the hash rate /wo protocol-dump being enabled.

Seems to be behaviour that differs between OSes. (I use Windows)

It causes a new problem with the new Debug Logging option though... Maybe if the protocol-dump related data could be omitted somehow?'

Didn't you add this read timer to read output every 500 millisecond?
https://github.com/coblee/litecoin/blob/master/src/qt/miningpage.cpp#L29

That seems to work for me. Is it not working on Windows?
Not working on Windows. It only reads the output once the output buffer has been filled.

Can you try a few things on Windows? Instead of waiting on signal readyReadStandardOutput(), use readyReadStandardError(). Does that help? If not, how about just readyRead()
I know minerd only outputs to stderr, so stdout might not be flushed after each printout.
I tried those things when developing the GUI and opted for enabling the protocol dump option.

BTC : 1CcpmVDLvR7DgA5deFGScoNhiEtiJnh6H4 - LTC : LYTnoXAHNsemMB2jhCSi1znQqnfupdRkSy
Bitcoin-otc
BitBin - earn bitcoins with your pastes!
fennec
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 04:42:18 PM
 #920

How much electricity do CPUs use compared to GPUs? For instance, would a high-end GPU mining BTC use more electricity than a high-end CPU mining LTC per unit time? Would the difference be significant?

Might've been asked already, but it's a huge thread to sift through, and there doesn't seem to be a wiki anywhere.

Preev – simple Bitcoin converter with live exchange rates
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 150 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!