Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:12:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 150 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Litecoin - a lite version of Bitcoin. Launched!  (Read 785826 times)
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 07:19:18 PM
 #501


Typo on the worker page, it's _1 and password 1, not letters sorry.
Still something wrong with stats - I've been mining for 10 mins but no stats (still 0 active workers), then it logged me out

How many shares did you submit? Stats aren't updated, because there are not submitted blocks.

I've had 3 computers hashing at this for an hour and no shares... somethings wrong.

I recompiled everything, even switched back over to the testnet but no one is on it for me to see if it still works there. All I did was remove testnet=1 and added the nonce and stuff and restarted everything. I updated to the latest versions of litecoin, nothing.

I don't know what the difference between testnet and litecoin main is, but the pool isn't working.

Anyone smarter than me I'll share a % with you if you can help me get this running. I don't know what to do from here though. I've recompiled pushpool from artforz and litecoin with no additional positive response.

When the real chain went live this morning I had to delete all the existing files in my .litecoin directory. Before I did that, although I had testnet=0 in the conf, I was on the testnet still. After deleting them (except the litecoin.conf of course) and restarting the client, I was mining on the real network.

Check if this is something as simple as that.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
1481465562
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481465562

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481465562
Reply with quote  #2

1481465562
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
wannaBhacker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 07:23:57 PM
 #502

When the real chain went live this morning I had to delete all the existing files in my .litecoin directory. Before I did that, although I had testnet=0 in the conf, I was on the testnet still. After deleting them (except the litecoin.conf of course) and restarting the client, I was mining on the real network.

Check if this is something as simple as that.

I'm not new to this stuff unfortunately. I tried deleting everything except for the config file and redownloading. After catching up with the chain... nothing.


Does solo mining work for you?
Are you running litecoind with daemon=1 and server=1?

I didn't have daemon on testnet and it worked fine. This is a linux dedicated server and I run litecoin on a screen. I added it, and same results.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 07:52:45 PM
 #503

at current difficulty (0.01562) it takes 18 hours and 38 minutes per block on average solo mining @ 1kH/s

it may be bad luck but I have a feeling I get less than that, too.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
fivebells
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 07:58:32 PM
 #504

coblee, can block locking be done via signed file so compiling the client can be skipped?

I suggested this over IRC but got a lot of pushback. My suggestion was that I can use the alert system to send a message to all clients with a new locked block. But people were worried that I might abuse this privilege, so I didn't do it.
  Make it a configuration option which takes multiple signatures.  Then people can decide who they want to trust in this regard.
coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 08:13:04 PM
 #505

coblee, can block locking be done via signed file so compiling the client can be skipped?

I suggested this over IRC but got a lot of pushback. My suggestion was that I can use the alert system to send a message to all clients with a new locked block. But people were worried that I might abuse this privilege, so I didn't do it.
  Make it a configuration option which takes multiple signatures.  Then people can decide who they want to trust in this regard.

The might be a good idea. But now that the coin is doing well, there's less need for a lot more locking anymore. Not sure if it's worth implementing it. I will consider it.

ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 08:14:07 PM
 #506

http://184.107.145.244/

Litecoin pool. Consider it experimental right now , and toss a core on it and register real quick. It worked perfectly on the testnet. Now it's giving me a longpool every minute exactly, and I haven't had a share in 15 minutes from one computer. Stats are all reset and it is pointed to the production server.

Give me some feedback and I'll go from there.

3 miners connected to this pool!!!

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 08:15:24 PM
 #507


Typo on the worker page, it's _1 and password 1, not letters sorry.
Still something wrong with stats - I've been mining for 10 mins but no stats (still 0 active workers), then it logged me out

Mee too... Stats empty at the pool.

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
BitcoinPorn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


Posts: 69


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 08:23:54 PM
 #508

I was going to put my hard ass > 1kh/s to try this new pool, but it seems Litecoin has frozen my computer.  This is the second time.  Using the latest windows client.  No error messages, nothing else was running on the computer.   Same comp was running fine last night.

wannaBhacker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 08:36:48 PM
 #509

I was going to put my hard ass > 1kh/s to try this new pool, but it seems Litecoin has frozen my computer.  This is the second time.  Using the latest windows client.  No error messages, nothing else was running on the computer.   Same comp was running fine last night.

Don't use the pool. It doesn't work.

I set up a VM on a different server, installed the same OS, compiled everything. Set it all up, and the same results.

Pushpool gives out work, everything looks okay, but no shares are ever found. I don't know if the target is messed up or what. It worked fine on the testnet, but on the litecoin mainnet, nothing.

I'm to the 12 hour of wasted time point where I'm just going to fuck it and give up. The RPC calls work fine. When you register, it uses an RPC call to verify the litecoin address (after sanitation of course)

So... sorry for now. I don't know if Artforz is following this thread, but I'm using his modified tbx pushpool. Should be the same from what I understand.
ama
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 10:35:23 PM
 #510

LTC testnet added to

http://blockexplorer.sytes.net/

in case anybody needs it.  Enjoy it!

Buy me a coffee: 18NMyRMSkCjk8FnmdfAuxbuSSET4ASwBL5
Or a decaf: Lcn3xp5iVwo6aSFx8VYaRxp8qJyPGvzgah
Bitcoin Pyramid
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 11:10:54 PM
 #511

Haven't found a block for a good few hours now. Hopefully there'll be a nice pool up soon with donation option!

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 11:26:17 PM
 #512

Current difficulty: 0.015625 = 67,108,864 hashes (statistical average) per block
at 10khash/sec that's, on average, one every 1hr 51mins 51sec (~112 minutes)
So you can work it out from there if you know your hash rate Smiley
(until the next difficulty change)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 01:21:25 AM
 #513

The real question is:  Where's the exchange? Cheesy

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 01:57:12 AM
 #514

Yeap the exchange will be useful, but I guess a pool will also be equally useful as it seems to be so hard to mine a block now, I suspect a pool is strongly needed.
acostanza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:01:25 AM
 #515

http://184.107.145.244/

Litecoin pool. Consider it experimental right now , and toss a core on it and register real quick. It worked perfectly on the testnet. Now it's giving me a longpool every minute exactly, and I haven't had a share in 15 minutes from one computer. Stats are all reset and it is pointed to the production server.

Give me some feedback and I'll go from there.

Hey WannaB, I'm 1 of the 2 in your pool. 6 Opteron cores at ~6 KH/s (out of 8 total on the site right now).

Think I've got it set up right, but want to check - I can point all 6 cores at one miner on your setup, right? Seems to be from my end, every core is sporting 100% utilization.
grod
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:24:56 AM
 #516

Yeap the exchange will be useful, but I guess a pool will also be equally useful as it seems to be so hard to mine a block now, I suspect a pool is strongly needed.

I second that, please no exchanges.  Exchanges would paint a big fat hairy bullseye on this coin.  Not being able to profit from imploding the network provides more security than having 2.5Mhash we're cruising at.

Did you see where the owner of btcguild submitted 500,000 IP addresses to bothunters?  Think about that for a minute.  Right now both tenebrix and litecoin are cruising along at around 1000 CPUs mining each.  Yeah, we may have more, but no, having 30% more CPUs than tenebrix isn't going to save us.  If there was significant money up for grabs (and seeing how this is the best CPU-mined alternative cryptocurrency it may also get the most BTC offered for it) what do you think would happen?

Let's get established first.  This is the alternative currency most aligned with the goals and views of the broader bitcoin community, there's no reason we can't get more nodes than are currently mining bitcoins joining with spare cycles.  THEN get an exchange.  Exchange on day 1 is only required for pump-and-dump scamcoins with gargantuan premines (ixc, sc, tbx, sc2...)

I completely agree we're going to need a few pools on board before too long.  Another 4x difficulty increase in 55 blocks.
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:32:40 AM
 #517

Honestly, how is it going to become established without exchanges?
I'd say that the majority of the mining power is mining to make a profit, no exchange = no profit = everybody jumping on the next alternate coin that shows up in case it gets an exchange.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 02:38:52 AM
 #518

The exchanges have been spoken with. Takes time to implement.

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
ineededausername
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


bitcoin hundred-aire


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:53:46 AM
 #519

There is a forum exchange, everyone!  It's right there on the list of threads.

(BFL)^2 < 0
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 03:00:09 AM
 #520

OK.. BTC-E has spoken Smiley.. keep mining those coins!

Quote
support: WKNiGHT, start the weekend! litcoind and fairbrixd

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 150 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!