Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2019, 04:50:31 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 [651] 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256279 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 19, 2015, 02:13:07 AM
 #13001

Seems a coincidence that multiple PSUs would die simultaneously, especially the hard core PSUs you get in Spondoolies gear. Is there a chance that a breaker has tripped, a cable melted, PDU died etc etc which is causing this? Tried swapping the power cables (and so circuits) from a working unit with one of the dead units?

.. they die simultaneously if it wasn't an internet breakout, but a power outage and all the PSUs were hit with a spike from the grid side. The toughest didn't die .. but the rest ..

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1569257431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1569257431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1569257431
Reply with quote  #2

1569257431
Report to moderator
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 03:09:53 AM
 #13002

Yeah I swapped the PSUs out to working miners which are on different breakers and diagnosed the same result. 

What alerted me to the issue was an internet outage.  All the miners slowed and got cold, then when then internet returned, I noticed a couple of miners not come up to speed.  When I got to site and checked it out I found that the PSUs were showing a red LED.

I tried the PSUs in other miners and found it didn't change.

I am pretty confident they have died a death. Cry

You may be able to use the PSUs in my sig as replacements, they use large gauge 12V right to the hashing boards, right?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2015, 11:26:50 AM
 #13003

Yeah I swapped the PSUs out to working miners which are on different breakers and diagnosed the same result. 

What alerted me to the issue was an internet outage.  All the miners slowed and got cold, then when then internet returned, I noticed a couple of miners not come up to speed.  When I got to site and checked it out I found that the PSUs were showing a red LED.

I tried the PSUs in other miners and found it didn't change.

I am pretty confident they have died a death. Cry

You may be able to use the PSUs in my sig as replacements, they use large gauge 12V right to the hashing boards, right?

No, they use gold finger interface on the PSU to custom mother/daughter boards, then a plate to bridge terminals to the hashing boards. No cables, very custom.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=901600#post_section1

bigblind
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 05:00:06 PM
 #13004

One of my Sp20s is not booting anymore.

I switched the watts to 155 per ASIC and now it doesnt even give a livingsign. I clicked restart mining and it just shows up "its not available". Switched it off and now its not starting. Can anybody help me? Not even the fans are turning on. I already checked the PSU, which is fine.

Try re-flashing the SD card with a fresh firmware.

Is there a Link for a how-to? As said, the miner doesnt even boot up. Will I be able to flash it then?

I tried to recover from SD. Still the Device wont boot anywhere. No livingsign. Is there a way to swap the Controllerunit?
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1062



View Profile
June 19, 2015, 05:08:17 PM
 #13005

So is it still the case spondoolies aren't going to be selling any more home mining equipment?

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1295



View Profile
June 19, 2015, 06:41:23 PM
 #13006

So is it still the case spondoolies aren't going to be selling any more home mining equipment?

they seem to be hedgy about this
quakefiend420
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 19, 2015, 06:55:23 PM
 #13007

Yeah I swapped the PSUs out to working miners which are on different breakers and diagnosed the same result. 

What alerted me to the issue was an internet outage.  All the miners slowed and got cold, then when then internet returned, I noticed a couple of miners not come up to speed.  When I got to site and checked it out I found that the PSUs were showing a red LED.

I tried the PSUs in other miners and found it didn't change.

I am pretty confident they have died a death. Cry

You may be able to use the PSUs in my sig as replacements, they use large gauge 12V right to the hashing boards, right?

No, they use gold finger interface on the PSU to custom mother/daughter boards, then a plate to bridge terminals to the hashing boards. No cables, very custom.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=901600#post_section1

Ah, scratch that idea then.  You may be stuck with paying out the nose to SPTech directly.
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1062



View Profile
June 19, 2015, 07:10:31 PM
 #13008

So is it still the case spondoolies aren't going to be selling any more home mining equipment?

they seem to be hedgy about this

I see what you did there Smiley.

sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 501


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 03:14:42 AM
 #13009

Yeah I swapped the PSUs out to working miners which are on different breakers and diagnosed the same result.  

What alerted me to the issue was an internet outage.  All the miners slowed and got cold, then when then internet returned, I noticed a couple of miners not come up to speed.  When I got to site and checked it out I found that the PSUs were showing a red LED.

I tried the PSUs in other miners and found it didn't change.

I am pretty confident they have died a death. Cry

You may be able to use the PSUs in my sig as replacements, they use large gauge 12V right to the hashing boards, right?

No, they use gold finger interface on the PSU to custom mother/daughter boards, then a plate to bridge terminals to the hashing boards. No cables, very custom.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=901600#post_section1

Ah, scratch that idea then.  You may be stuck with paying out the nose to SPTech directly.

You should hit up J4bberwock https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=206446
He has done some good things with other miners which have proprietary PSU issues.
Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2015, 04:41:22 AM
 #13010

Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

If you're willing to pay for it then you can buy all their PSUs off the shelf from [specialist] retailers. Exact model numbers are in their respective guides, although I'm unsure if the two variants of SP31 PSU are the same as the two variants in SP30s. SP35 had no variant but a different 1600W.

Be warned though, they are crazy expensive due to their compact package, and part of the reason SP3Xs were such good value /expensive for ST to manufacture. When they are / were no longer viable for mining, you had $400-$600 worth of PSUs to resell.

sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 501


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 07:18:37 AM
 #13011

Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

If you're willing to pay for it then you can buy all their PSUs off the shelf from [specialist] retailers. Exact model numbers are in their respective guides, although I'm unsure if the two variants of SP31 PSU are the same as the two variants in SP30s. SP35 had no variant but a different 1600W.

Be warned though, they are crazy expensive due to their compact package, and part of the reason SP3Xs were such good value /expensive for ST to manufacture. When they are / were no longer viable for mining, you had $400-$600 worth of PSUs to resell.

Did you link the specialist retailers for our good man here quakefiend? Maybe I missed it?
I cannot see Guy caring at this point. If the units were under warranty he may want us to be sure we put that disclaimer out there. Since next gen B2B, etc is the priority and understandably if that is what they must do to make a profit for investors, then it should be OK. Right?

I mentioned J4bber because I purchased several of his products since there were no others like them on the market. Finsky is my dealer for North America on the 2880 PSUs and J4bbers B/O boards along with the fact he did S4 PSUS (which I lost faith in your employer getting me a drop in replacement under warranty which would function at stock for no less than 90 days. Remember they tried to give me a 2000BB because I was telling them that PSU I picked up from sidehack with his awesome BO board worked flawlessly for my S4s? I told them that was unacceptable from the manufacturer - wanting to send me a 30 - 40 dollar PSU which didn't fit.) I'm tired and getting ornery heh I'm still pretty butthurt over that whole thing as well, but not so much now. I mean I know doing business with them will always be risky for me, but it is what it is.

Maybe I will get another opportunity to own more Spondoolies equipment? I can wish heh. Even if I am only able to power a couple of miners here I would get them fast and wouldn't run the oven if that is what it took. The quality is impeccable on my SP20's. No other miner I've owned comes close to them. They simply built a miner in a class by itself when it comes to comparing offerings from these two companies. No contest in quality and customer service imo. So I must do my own research, but I have to think they are high end PSUs when considering the history of their products. They make great choices in the right areas. No doubt something which can move on up is good for miners so we can wash and recycle, but I've no doubt those PSUs with that interface was done for the right reasons, IE maintaining the size and supplying a consistent rail I'm betting.

Anyway J4bber has / had a drop in for those  and I'm sure he could get something a little more cost effective if quake asked. I cannot speak to one or two units so def post up what you know to help this quake get the best for the best price.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 20, 2015, 10:43:56 AM
 #13012

Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

If you're willing to pay for it then you can buy all their PSUs off the shelf from [specialist] retailers. Exact model numbers are in their respective guides, although I'm unsure if the two variants of SP31 PSU are the same as the two variants in SP30s. SP35 had no variant but a different 1600W.

Be warned though, they are crazy expensive due to their compact package, and part of the reason SP3Xs were such good value /expensive for ST to manufacture. When they are / were no longer viable for mining, you had $400-$600 worth of PSUs to resell.

Did you link the specialist retailers for our good man here quakefiend? Maybe I missed it?

I didn't link, it will depend on your local region but I know I can get these PSUs in the UK at least. These PSUs will still be under warranty with the manufacturer if they'll accept direct RMAs and Spondoolies won't help, but it may be some time to turn them around.

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
June 20, 2015, 03:09:21 PM
 #13013

Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

If you're willing to pay for it then you can buy all their PSUs off the shelf from [specialist] retailers. Exact model numbers are in their respective guides, although I'm unsure if the two variants of SP31 PSU are the same as the two variants in SP30s. SP35 had no variant but a different 1600W.

Be warned though, they are crazy expensive due to their compact package, and part of the reason SP3Xs were such good value /expensive for ST to manufacture. When they are / were no longer viable for mining, you had $400-$600 worth of PSUs to resell.

Is it possible for an SP3x to run using a single supply (ie: at 2500-3000GH it should be safe to run on a 1250W)?

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2015, 12:48:48 AM
 #13014

Obviously the good people at Spondoolies would be the best bet to get matching original hardware, but I have no doubts there are others who could make that connection for you.

If you're willing to pay for it then you can buy all their PSUs off the shelf from [specialist] retailers. Exact model numbers are in their respective guides, although I'm unsure if the two variants of SP31 PSU are the same as the two variants in SP30s. SP35 had no variant but a different 1600W.

Be warned though, they are crazy expensive due to their compact package, and part of the reason SP3Xs were such good value /expensive for ST to manufacture. When they are / were no longer viable for mining, you had $400-$600 worth of PSUs to resell.

Is it possible for an SP3x to run using a single supply (ie: at 2500-3000GH it should be safe to run on a 1250W)?


You'll have to try to see. Each hashing board is powered independently so it depends in the firmware will flip out that it can't talk to its daughter board, or whether it'll just go with it. It won't care about only 1 hashing board too much though, and you can always disable it manually.

Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2015, 01:55:28 AM
 #13015

So true: Bitcoin’s Ironic Crisis

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 23, 2015, 02:46:49 AM
Last edit: June 23, 2015, 03:16:37 AM by jimmothy
 #13016


The crux of his argument boils down to hard forks = bad, therefore increasing the blocksize = bad. I agree hard forks are risky, but if bitcoin really takes off we would be wishing we had done the hard fork when the market cap was only at $3 billion.

We need a solution that will allow the blocksize to constantly scale with increasing internet speeds and decreasing storage costs.

I think he is being pretty dishonest when says Gavin "isn’t even a Bitcoin developer any more" and he launched a "one-sided PR campaign" as if it's impossible for people to actually support the idea of increasing the block size. In practically every poll I've seen the majority are in favor of increasing it. The arguments in favor of keeping the 1mb limit are pretty weak IMO and seem contrived from those who have something to gain by keeping the blockchain too small to handle all transactions.

I'd also love to know what qualifies him to declare what the "ethos" of bitcoin is meant to be. Bitcoin is designed to eventually be powered by fees but it was never meant to be ASAP. The original idea was that miners would get to decide which transactions to include. The hard limit was only introduced to avoid spam not force artificially high transaction fees.

Quote
For things to be left alone and transaction fees left to be determined by market rate is directly in line with the distributed libertarian principles on which Bitcoin was founded.

Satoshi never intended for 1 mb block sizes to be the permanent limit and even suggested a simple solution for increasing the max block size. (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1347.msg15366#msg15366)
bgibso01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 23, 2015, 02:56:02 AM
 #13017

Interesting read.  I only understand 1/2 of it though.  But I do understand economics and supply/demand.  The increase in block size will make no difference in the long run if fees are not addressed for both transactions and nodes.  In 12 years, a 20mb block with no transaction fees won't do anyone any good.  That said, in this early stage of adoption, fees will cause less adoption.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1894



View Profile
June 23, 2015, 03:13:35 AM
 #13018

Interesting read.  I only understand 1/2 of it though.  But I do understand economics and supply/demand.  The increase in block size will make no difference in the long run if fees are not addressed for both transactions and nodes.  In 12 years, a 20mb block with no transaction fees won't do anyone any good.  That said, in this early stage of adoption, fees will cause less adoption.

  Letting fees drift up a bit won't end the game, shifting  from 1mb to 20mb is drastic.
I rather do nothing and see if market corrects via people paying more to transact.
If becomes a real issue. I rather see people that run a node get paid.  nodes moving form 6000 to 15000 would help.

 I spend  20 kwatts a month to run my node. would not mind a  0.020 btc  a month payment for that. Taken from the higher fees.

A 2mb size in 6 months is more conservative Alternative then a 20mb jump now.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2015, 03:54:21 AM
 #13019


The crux of his argument boils down to hard forks = bad, therefore increasing the blocksize = bad. I agree hard forks are risky, but if bitcoin really takes off we would be wishing we had done the hard fork when the market cap was only at $3 billion.

We need a solution that will allow the blocksize to constantly scale with increasing internet speeds and decreasing storage costs.

I think he is being pretty dishonest when says Gavin "isn’t even a Bitcoin developer any more" and he launched a "one-sided PR campaign" as if it's impossible for people to actually support the idea of increasing the block size. In practically every poll I've seen the majority are in favor of increasing it. The arguments in favor of keeping the 1mb limit are pretty weak IMO and seem contrived from those who have something to gain by keeping the blockchain too small to handle all transactions.

I'd also love to know what qualifies him to declare what the "ethos" of bitcoin is meant to be. Bitcoin is designed to eventually be powered by fees but it was never meant to be ASAP. The original idea was that miners would get to decide which transactions to include. The hard limit was only introduced to avoid spam not force artificially high transaction fees.

Quote
For things to be left alone and transaction fees left to be determined by market rate is directly in line with the distributed libertarian principles on which Bitcoin was founded.

Satoshi never intended for 1 mb block sizes to be the permanent limit and even suggested a simple solution for increasing the max block size. (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1347.msg15366#msg15366)
https://bitcoin.org/en/posts/hard-fork-policy

https://medium.com/@allenpiscitello/why-decentralization-matters-fa016a90f595

http://www.mail-archive.com/bitcoin-development@lists.sourceforge.net/msg08276.html

https://twitter.com/jonmatonis/status/611197721668648960
https://twitter.com/jonmatonis/status/611198669665271809
https://twitter.com/jonmatonis/status/611200470724558848
https://twitter.com/jonmatonis/status/611899668813910016

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 23, 2015, 03:55:32 AM
 #13020

Interesting read.  I only understand 1/2 of it though.  But I do understand economics and supply/demand.  The increase in block size will make no difference in the long run if fees are not addressed for both transactions and nodes.  In 12 years, a 20mb block with no transaction fees won't do anyone any good.  That said, in this early stage of adoption, fees will cause less adoption.

  Letting fees drift up a bit won't end the game, shifting  from 1mb to 20mb is drastic.

The problem with keeping it at 1 MB is that fees won't just "drift up a bit". If bitcoin really takes off, there will be so much competition that fees will be worse than Western Union. Imagine how much bitcoin would suck if transaction fees were $1 or $10. People would realize this major flaw just switch to a shitcoin like litecoin which allows 100 times the transactions per second.

In the long run, the 1 MB limit is actually harmful for miners, not only because it would decrease adoption, but because the artificially limited supply (transactions per block) would prevent them from always being able to reach the market equilibrium and maximizing profitability.

Quote
I rather do nothing and see if market corrects via people paying more to transact.

The longer we wait and bitcoin grows, the harder it will be to pull off a hard fork.

Quote
If becomes a real issue. I rather see people that run a node get paid.  nodes moving form 6000 to 15000 would help.

Bigger block size = more adoption

More adoption = more nodes

Quote
A 2mb size in 6 months is more conservative Alternative then a 20mb jump now.

I completely agree, but the "lets just sit on our hands and wait until it's too late" plan is just suicidal.
Pages: « 1 ... 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 [651] 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!