Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2019, 10:04:08 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 [603] 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256279 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 12:41:21 AM
 #12041

So will Spondoolies not be releasing a new home miner for quite a while? I guess we are stuck with Bitmain and their price gouging? I would love to buy something larger like the SP31, but do not have the electrical setup for that. I really do not like how Bitmain jacked up prices and added in pre orders. SP please save us!!

SP31s aren't too bad in a home setting if you underclock them. Underclocking is a good idea anyway because of the efficiency gains. You can get about 4 TH/s on 2.1 kW. Reducing the power consumption lets you drop the fan speeds substantially, which reduces the noise that they generate.

+1. at that sort of power level the SP3x is actually a reasonable volume and the efficiency/hashrate you get from a single box is far superior to the [relatively speaking] IT nightmare of running 4 Sp20 units at a similar spec.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
1568801048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568801048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568801048
Reply with quote  #2

1568801048
Report to moderator
1568801048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568801048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568801048
Reply with quote  #2

1568801048
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568801048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568801048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568801048
Reply with quote  #2

1568801048
Report to moderator
1568801048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568801048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568801048
Reply with quote  #2

1568801048
Report to moderator
1568801048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568801048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568801048
Reply with quote  #2

1568801048
Report to moderator
thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 12:59:03 AM
 #12042

So will Spondoolies not be releasing a new home miner for quite a while? I guess we are stuck with Bitmain and their price gouging? I would love to buy something larger like the SP31, but do not have the electrical setup for that. I really do not like how Bitmain jacked up prices and added in pre orders. SP please save us!!

SP31s aren't too bad in a home setting if you underclock them. Underclocking is a good idea anyway because of the efficiency gains. You can get about 4 TH/s on 2.1 kW. Reducing the power consumption lets you drop the fan speeds substantially, which reduces the noise that they generate.

+1. at that sort of power level the SP3x is actually a reasonable volume and the efficiency/hashrate you get from a single box is far superior to the [relatively speaking] IT nightmare of running 4 Sp20 units at a similar spec.

What IT nightmare? Using a switch to separate Network connection?
Or are you talking about the need for 4 power supplies?
4x Sp20's running at 525Watts get about 1050GH/s +- 5% or less. Totals 4.2TH/s, with the ability to turn up the power for a total of an easy 6TH/s-7TH/s at below full blast.

I think they are both pretty good ventures if the space and budget allows. I like the density of the SP20 more though as it's easier to put in tight places or stack them without looking like a data center.

Either way, I am very impressed by Spondoolies miners vs. my Antminers before. The Interface, speed of system, options, easy of underclocking/volting, pool selection, etc..

ps.. I saw somewhere that someone recommended to remove the top metal for 'better cooling'. I suggest not. I guarantee it will increase your temps. The 'box' is designed to channel the high speed / pressure of the air for cooling. Making a huge gap on the top will totally negate this.

Go Big or Go Home.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 01:21:29 AM
 #12043

So will Spondoolies not be releasing a new home miner for quite a while? I guess we are stuck with Bitmain and their price gouging? I would love to buy something larger like the SP31, but do not have the electrical setup for that. I really do not like how Bitmain jacked up prices and added in pre orders. SP please save us!!

SP31s aren't too bad in a home setting if you underclock them. Underclocking is a good idea anyway because of the efficiency gains. You can get about 4 TH/s on 2.1 kW. Reducing the power consumption lets you drop the fan speeds substantially, which reduces the noise that they generate.

+1. at that sort of power level the SP3x is actually a reasonable volume and the efficiency/hashrate you get from a single box is far superior to the [relatively speaking] IT nightmare of running 4 Sp20 units at a similar spec.

What IT nightmare? Using a switch to separate Network connection?
Or are you talking about the need for 4 power supplies?
4x Sp20's running at 525Watts get about 1050GH/s +- 5% or less. Totals 4.2TH/s, with the ability to turn up the power for a total of an easy 6TH/s-7TH/s at below full blast.


hence the "[relatively speaking]". Assuming you use a switch, running 4x SP20 with 2x 1200W PSUs means a total: 6 miners, 5 ethernet cables, 4+2 power cords, a dozen PCIe cables, etc.

its not a big mess, but its a lot more than a single box with 1 ethernet, 2 power cords. And you can probably find it for cheaper than buying four SP20 units

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 03:46:07 AM
Last edit: March 11, 2015, 04:58:40 AM by edgar
 #12044

just received a nice 35cm x 47cm x 20cm box from dhl... containing...


4 PCI-e headers


ZERO ribbon cables

and no SP30 MMC card/board...

Also received a PM to email support with pics of ribbons & MMC board... to see if they have any...


If anyone has an image of the SP30 MMC board please post it here... or i'll be stripping that rig as well (which ill probably need to do anyway)


Got the SP20 headers soldered in place.  Just need those ribbons now,,,,
 

http://imgur.com/a/7Es3F#aF5WTDd
thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 04:01:53 AM
 #12045


hence the "[relatively speaking]". Assuming you use a switch, running 4x SP20 with 2x 1200W PSUs means a total: 6 miners, 5 ethernet cables, 4+2 power cords, a dozen PCIe cables, etc.

its not a big mess, but its a lot more than a single box with 1 ethernet, 2 power cords. And you can probably find it for cheaper than buying four SP20 units

Well, yeah If you're talking about clutter, yes it is much cleaner to run one big machine

If properly done, 4 smaller machines though can be made neat and tidy.

I have not heard the SP3x in person, but I'm running all my SP20's at 10-20% max at around 1250-1270GH/s using 700-725Watts each. Far from quiet like the Antminer S3's I'm using on the same power supply with the SP20's (EVGA Supernova 1300) and in my small office I can watch tv. Same sound as a small business server.

Don't get me wrong. If I see a good deal on an SP3x, I'm jumping on it. I have GAS.. Gear Acquisition Syndrome, big time!! Started 10 days ago and I'm up to my neck in miners and equipment. ROFL.  Cheesy

Go Big or Go Home.
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 09:23:55 AM
 #12046

So will Spondoolies not be releasing a new home miner for quite a while?
There was announced interview with a Guy, does it happened yet?

I guess we are stuck with Bitmain and their price gouging? I would love to buy something larger like the SP31, but do not have the electrical setup for that. I really do not like how Bitmain jacked up prices and added in pre orders. SP please save us!!
Let's hope SP-T will make some price competitive small miner, no competition already made Bitmain greedy

thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 10:58:39 AM
 #12047

I dunno. I think the sp20s are a pretty harsh competition for the s5s and blow them away IMO.

Go Big or Go Home.
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:16:54 AM
 #12048

I dunno. I think the sp20s are a pretty harsh competition for the s5s and blow them away IMO.
And no longer for sale, ergo technically not competition in terms of sales.

thedreamer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1002

Go Big or Go Home.....


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:21:00 AM
 #12049

I dunno. I think the sp20s are a pretty harsh competition for the s5s and blow them away IMO.
And no longer for sale, ergo technically not competition in terms of sales.
At all? Crap.

Go Big or Go Home.
RealMalatesta
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1014


LiveCoin - is a modern stock exchange


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:23:42 AM
 #12050

I dunno. I think the sp20s are a pretty harsh competition for the s5s and blow them away IMO.
And no longer for sale, ergo technically not competition in terms of sales.

Well, there is at least one company which is producing home miners with SPTs Rockerbox-chip...

█████████▄           ▄█
▀██▄         ██
▀██▄    ▄▄ ██
▀███ ███ ██
█████████▄        ▀▀ ██
▀██▄      ▄▄ ██
▄█████████ ███ ██
▄██▀          ▀▀ ██
████
█▀            ▄▄ ██
▄██ ███ ██
▄██▀   ▀▀ ██
▄██▀        ██
███████████▀          ▀█




▄▄█
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████

█████

█████

█████


▄▄█
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████

█████

█████

█████
▄▄█
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████
█████

█████

█████

█████
█▄           ▄█████████
██         ▄██▀
██ ▄▄    ▄██▀
██ ███ ███▀
██ ▀▀        ▄█████████
██ ▄▄      ▄██▀
██ ███ █████████▄
██ ▀▀          ▀██▄
██ ▄▄            ▀█████
██ ███ ██▄
██ ▀▀   ▀██▄
██        ▀██▄
█▀          ▀███████████
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:37:29 AM
 #12051

Well, there is at least one company which is producing home miners with SPTs Rockerbox-chip...
Sure - I've mentioned them before - but they're not SP20's.

Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:46:00 AM
 #12052

I dunno. I think the sp20s are a pretty harsh competition for the s5s and blow them away IMO.

They sell them at loss (@400USD) so no, SP20 was not a competition to S5
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 11:50:25 AM
 #12053

I'd avoid anything built by Technobit, Rockerbox or not. Those guys sorta have a history of screwing customers.

I'm hoping more third parties will get back into the game of building miners off mainstream manufacturers' chips. I'm working on a home-friendly design with Bitmain chips, talked to Spondoolies about chip sourcing but their per-chip power requirements don't really fit with the topology I'm looking at. Maybe next time.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2015, 12:04:12 PM
 #12054

...
I'm hoping more third parties will get back into the game of building miners off mainstream manufacturers' chips. I'm working on a home-friendly design with Bitmain chips, talked to Spondoolies about chip sourcing but their per-chip power requirements don't really fit with the topology I'm looking at. Maybe next time.
Sure  Smiley

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 11, 2015, 02:45:28 PM
 #12055

I'm picking up a used SP20E today, and I've got a question about powering it that hopefully Spondoolies can answer.

I'm powering all of my S4 units with Delta DPS2000 (2000w) server PSUs with breakout boards, and those PSUs are only loaded to about 1400w. Would it be OK for me to power the SP20E using a PCI-e cable from 4 different DPS2000s to share the load? Would it cause any issues? Or should I power each board from only 1 PSU, ie 2 DPS2000s for the SP20E?

If it's an issue either way, I can just set up another DPS2000. I've got plenty of them.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 02:58:38 PM
 #12056

From a PSU standpoint, you might consider tying the current-share lines on those so they load-balance. This should keep the voltages in check and make common-railing multiple supplies less tricky. At least the pairs that power the same boards should be current-shared. But definitely defer to SP-Tech's advice on how to handle that.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1890



View Profile
March 11, 2015, 03:24:47 PM
 #12057

I'd avoid anything built by Technobit, Rockerbox or not. Those guys sorta have a history of screwing customers.

I'm hoping more third parties will get back into the game of building miners off mainstream manufacturers' chips. I'm working on a home-friendly design with Bitmain chips, talked to Spondoolies about chip sourcing but their per-chip power requirements don't really fit with the topology I'm looking at. Maybe next time.


let me know if you have one for testing.  would love to tinker with it.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184
Merit: 1474

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 03:37:42 PM
 #12058

Not yet, they haven't even shipped chips yet. I did finally have some progress on the other thing I've got for you, and will continue to refine it today. Hopefully by next week I'm able to send a prototype.

It'll be a couple weeks before I'd have a miner, probably more like a month. I'm leaning on Novak for the firmware, but we both just got big jobs came in over the last week so we're both busy in different areas. I hope I don't have to do all the coding myself, which is possible but he's the better programmer.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1287



View Profile
March 11, 2015, 04:12:40 PM
 #12059

Not yet, they haven't even shipped chips yet. I did finally have some progress on the other thing I've got for you, and will continue to refine it today. Hopefully by next week I'm able to send a prototype.

It'll be a couple weeks before I'd have a miner, probably more like a month. I'm leaning on Novak for the firmware, but we both just got big jobs came in over the last week so we're both busy in different areas. I hope I don't have to do all the coding myself, which is possible but he's the better programmer.

Did you try to contact that legkodumov fella who designed the string board Bitmain used (they mentioned it themselves on some obscure board here).
EDIT: found it
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=728068.msg10435170#msg10435170
I think that this guy was saying that he can give the design to anyone with chips (maybe for large volume, though, but it wouldn't hurt to ask).
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 04:31:23 PM
 #12060

I'm picking up a used SP20E today, and I've got a question about powering it that hopefully Spondoolies can answer.

I'm powering all of my S4 units with Delta DPS2000 (2000w) server PSUs with breakout boards, and those PSUs are only loaded to about 1400w. Would it be OK for me to power the SP20E using a PCI-e cable from 4 different DPS2000s to share the load? Would it cause any issues? Or should I power each board from only 1 PSU, ie 2 DPS2000s for the SP20E?

If it's an issue either way, I can just set up another DPS2000. I've got plenty of them.

the SP20 has two internal boards, each with 2 PCIe connectors (vertically above eachother). AFAIK you can only use a maximum of two seperate PSUs to run it, 1 per board (like with an antminer)

From a PSU standpoint, you might consider tying the current-share lines on those so they load-balance. This should keep the voltages in check and make common-railing multiple supplies less tricky. At least the pairs that power the same boards should be current-shared. But definitely defer to SP-Tech's advice on how to handle that.

I'm always cautious about this. If for any reason one PSU trips or fails, the other one will take the load and fail within seconds (or instantly). Generally, load-sharing is better for applications where power draw ranges from 20%-100%, rather than being 100% all the time like in bitcoin mining.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Pages: « 1 ... 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 [603] 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!