Bitcoin Forum
July 18, 2018, 11:18:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1889 1890 1891 1892 1893 1894 1895 1896 1897 1898 1899 1900 1901 1902 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 [1939] 1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4245275 times)
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1047



View Profile
April 13, 2018, 08:24:48 AM
 #38761

sorry, I'm totally confused... there was a split in team monero?

No

The other "projects" (if they are actually real projects) are opportunists who came along and decided to adopt the old fork, mostly because ASIC manufactures want their own coin to mine. There are no existing team members involved with that at all.
1531912684
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531912684

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531912684
Reply with quote  #2

1531912684
Report to moderator
MORE CRYPTO, LESS NOISE
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531912684
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531912684

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531912684
Reply with quote  #2

1531912684
Report to moderator
stna1981
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 08:32:16 AM
 #38762

The real monero is still XMR. The hard fork was not a meant to be a chain split, but a protocol update that already happened several times ago. This time, ASIC miners did not make the move and stayed on the old chain.
Fast_cris
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 181
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 08:43:09 AM
 #38763

hey... why monero don't have a discord group?
e-coinomist
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1014


Money often costs too much.


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 09:00:53 AM
 #38764

Because once you've made an ASIC, it's pretty difficult to open it up and start moving things around Smiley

There's nothing stopping anybody adding these changes into the next batch of ASICs, other than time and the fact that it'd be useless again in a few months with the next PoW change.

I understand that a chip cannot be changed after fabbed but I also understand that certain things can be emulated in software. Therefore I would like to know the exact change that a designer would have to add or go around to hash this new algo. Do you see my question now? I tend to think out of the box.
The "certain thing that you would have to emulate in software" is something the asic can't do.  So you're back to square one.  I don't see it.
A hybrid variant with FPGA chips on board seems doable, think changeable chips. The whole mining process (BTC) once has been based on them.
baballuci
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 09:03:12 AM
 #38765

Is anyone here mining on mineXMR.com?

My balance hasn't increased since about midnight (GMT) last night yet i'm still submitting shares. I also noticed all payments seemed to have stopped at around the same time on the site.

Can anyone shed any light?

Charlie.

EDIT: looks like it's sorted now.
licola.cocacola12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 11:58:26 AM
 #38766

Is it possible to do cloud mining? I tried on Digital Ocean but it says that the CPU doesn't accept
zot57
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 01:43:37 PM
 #38767

I see Monero wallet is installing blockchain to my C drive on which I don't have enough space because it is SSD, how can I move that to other drive?
how do I point wallet to sync to other drive and not C?

Is there light wallet?
sundownz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 510


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2018, 01:58:51 PM
 #38768

Hope someone in here can help with this...

I am running several Dell R815 servers to mine Monero.

I have installed UBUNTU Linux 16.04 on these machines.

I have XMR-STAK running no problem at all -- works great... get ~2kH per system.

BUT I have not been able to successfully get XMR-STAK or any program, for that matter, to startup with the OS.

There is a GUI section in UBUNTU that you can add Startup programs... or so it says... but it doesn't work.

Not going to lie -- I am a Linux NOOB and these systems are my first foray into Linux.

- Jacob Fuller
- President, Sundown Audio LLC
- GPUs Mining : 292 (Updated 6/7/18) // CPUs Mining : 226 (Updated 6/7/18)
bitebits
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1156
Merit: 1021


Bitcoin != exchange rate


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 02:19:40 PM
 #38769

I see Monero wallet is installing blockchain to my C drive on which I don't have enough space because it is SSD, how can I move that to other drive?
how do I point wallet to sync to other drive and not C?

Is there light wallet?

I assume you use the GUI? You can change the blockchain folder in the settings (otherwise use the flag --data-dir desired\path\to\your\blockchain)

There as well you can connect to a remote note if you need to, check moneroworld.com for details.

- You can figure out what will happen, not when /Warren Buffett
- Pay any Bitcoin address privately with a little help of Monero:
 on.your.mark, get set, go!
JKDK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 03:16:10 PM
 #38770

Hello i have mined a little monero and got my first payout from nanopool. I use mymonero.com as wallet

But i cannot see the monero in my wallet. It is confirmed on nanopool. What can be wrong i have waited 6 hours

https://xmrchain.net/tx/b77762d6ed8a84d18661b14eac15fa1d9856b19f41623ba86da933d9ab2fde1f
Decode output working also fine and i can see it
dEBRUYNE
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1076


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 03:46:54 PM
 #38771

Hello i have mined a little monero and got my first payout from nanopool. I use mymonero.com as wallet

But i cannot see the monero in my wallet. It is confirmed on nanopool. What can be wrong i have waited 6 hours

https://xmrchain.net/tx/b77762d6ed8a84d18661b14eac15fa1d9856b19f41623ba86da933d9ab2fde1f
Decode output working also fine and i can see it

Please contact MyMonero's support (support[at]mymonero[dot]com).

Privacy matters, use Monero - A true untraceable cryptocurrency
Why Monero matters? http://weuse.cash/2016/03/05/bitcoiners-hedge-your-position/
dEBRUYNE
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1076


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 03:47:26 PM
 #38772

I see Monero wallet is installing blockchain to my C drive on which I don't have enough space because it is SSD, how can I move that to other drive?
how do I point wallet to sync to other drive and not C?

Is there light wallet?

See:

https://monero.stackexchange.com/questions/7225/how-do-i-move-the-blockchain-data-mdb-to-a-different-directory-during-or-afte

Privacy matters, use Monero - A true untraceable cryptocurrency
Why Monero matters? http://weuse.cash/2016/03/05/bitcoiners-hedge-your-position/
Call_Me_Bambi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 256


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 04:02:05 PM
 #38773

Monero is a bright future coin

 Monero (XMR) is an open-source cryptocurrency created in April 2014 that focuses
 
 A user needs client software, a so-called wallet, to interact with the Monero network. The Monero Project produces the reference implementation of a Monero wallet and there are also third party implementations of Monero clients exist such as Monerujo which also make it possible to use Monero on Android.

The quality of these bot posts is getting a lot higher, is there a 'dating' bot on the market yet? In a few years talking with a bot could easily be more satisfying than talking to a human, just turn off the nagging feature and I'm in love.

What will happen soon will be Bitcointalk bots that will start to converse with each other and that's going to a whole lotta fun to watch Smiley
JKDK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 04:35:50 PM
 #38774

Hello i have mined a little monero and got my first payout from nanopool. I use mymonero.com as wallet

But i cannot see the monero in my wallet. It is confirmed on nanopool. What can be wrong i have waited 6 hours

https://xmrchain.net/tx/b77762d6ed8a84d18661b14eac15fa1d9856b19f41623ba86da933d9ab2fde1f
Decode output working also fine and i can see it

Please contact MyMonero's support (support[at]mymonero[dot]com).
I already done that but no response
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1001


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 02:52:51 AM
 #38775


Does Gooey 0.12.0.0 have subaddresses already. If so, is there any write-up/literature/guide somewhere?

Hueristic
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1039


Doomed to see the future and unable to prevent it


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 07:11:13 AM
 #38776

Small tweak, hashrates kept the same. SUMO made a bigger change, here the hashrates of many cards dropped, my GTX 1060 3GB by about 10%

why can't asics (current) not handle it?

Because once you've made an ASIC, it's pretty difficult to open it up and start moving things around Smiley

There's nothing stopping anybody adding these changes into the next batch of ASICs, other than time and the fact that it'd be useless again in a few months with the next PoW change.

I understand that a chip cannot be changed after fabbed but I also understand that certain things can be emulated in software. Therefore I would like to know the exact change that a designer would have to add or go around to hash this new algo. Do you see my question now? I tend to think out of the box.
The "certain thing that you would have to emulate in software" is something the asic can't do.  So you're back to square one.  I don't see it.

An FPGA or any circuit/emulation can make a call to the asic chip. Think of the ASIC as an Extension on a CPU like AES-NI. See what I'm getting at?

BITSLER                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄            
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄      
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █  
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀              
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
Millionero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 263


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 07:57:13 AM
 #38777

An FPGA or any circuit/emulation can make a call to the asic chip. Think of the ASIC as an Extension on a CPU like AES-NI. See what I'm getting at?
I stand corrected.
dEBRUYNE
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1076


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 08:52:07 AM
Merited by explorer (1)
 #38778


Does Gooey 0.12.0.0 have subaddresses already. If so, is there any write-up/literature/guide somewhere?



Yes, subaddresses are readily available in GUI v0.12. You can create a new subaddress on the receive page. A detailed write-up about subaddresses is MRL-0006: An Efficient Implementation of Monero Subaddresses:

https://lab.getmonero.org/pubs/MRL-0006.pdf


Privacy matters, use Monero - A true untraceable cryptocurrency
Why Monero matters? http://weuse.cash/2016/03/05/bitcoiners-hedge-your-position/
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1047



View Profile
April 14, 2018, 09:12:39 AM
 #38779

Small tweak, hashrates kept the same. SUMO made a bigger change, here the hashrates of many cards dropped, my GTX 1060 3GB by about 10%

why can't asics (current) not handle it?

Because once you've made an ASIC, it's pretty difficult to open it up and start moving things around Smiley

There's nothing stopping anybody adding these changes into the next batch of ASICs, other than time and the fact that it'd be useless again in a few months with the next PoW change.

I understand that a chip cannot be changed after fabbed but I also understand that certain things can be emulated in software. Therefore I would like to know the exact change that a designer would have to add or go around to hash this new algo. Do you see my question now? I tend to think out of the box.

Well, look at the code. There is no plain english write up AFAIk, but it is open source after all.

The innermost loop is changed which is probably what you would want to burn into hardware directly for maximum efficiency, especially if you had no reason to expect such a change to be made.

Going forward there is more risk that ASICs may be built in a more flexible manner.
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1001


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 10:07:43 AM
 #38780


Does Gooey 0.12.0.0 have subaddresses already. If so, is there any write-up/literature/guide somewhere?



Yes, subaddresses are readily available in GUI v0.12. You can create a new subaddress on the receive page. A detailed write-up about subaddresses is MRL-0006: An Efficient Implementation of Monero Subaddresses:

https://lab.getmonero.org/pubs/MRL-0006.pdf



Thanks!

Pages: « 1 ... 1889 1890 1891 1892 1893 1894 1895 1896 1897 1898 1899 1900 1901 1902 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 [1939] 1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!