Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2017, 05:43:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 [378] 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1723781 times)
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
April 20, 2016, 07:00:26 PM
 #7541

Let's continue with BTC stuff, here is mine: ...
Looks great! What's the temperature inside the cabinet?
The highest temperature they have got is around 65 deg Celsius.
Summer is coming, let's see that what is the situation then.
Open the doors during the summer  Cheesy

I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
1498239836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498239836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498239836
Reply with quote  #2

1498239836
Report to moderator
1498239836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498239836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498239836
Reply with quote  #2

1498239836
Report to moderator
1498239836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498239836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498239836
Reply with quote  #2

1498239836
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498239836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498239836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498239836
Reply with quote  #2

1498239836
Report to moderator
1498239836
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498239836

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498239836
Reply with quote  #2

1498239836
Report to moderator
zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
April 21, 2016, 06:40:00 AM
 #7542

6 gekkoscience compac sticks with custom/upgraded heatsink in a BFL 30Ghs enclosure


KeezAZA
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
April 21, 2016, 07:06:18 AM
 #7543

Let's continue with BTC stuff, here is mine: ...
Looks great! What's the temperature inside the cabinet?
The highest temperature they have got is around 65 deg Celsius.
Summer is coming, let's see that what is the situation then.
Open the doors during the summer  Cheesy

I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 21, 2016, 04:28:16 PM
 #7544


I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.

It's plenty safe, but the cooler you can keep electronics running the longer they will last.  75*C is pushing it, though, you don't have much room for error if you're running that hot.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
April 21, 2016, 05:12:36 PM
 #7545


I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.

It's plenty safe, but the cooler you can keep electronics running the longer they will last.  75*C is pushing it, though, you don't have much room for error if you're running that hot.

High 70's scares me, a lot of equipment shut down at 80 C.  I was told on S3's long ago that they had been tested at much higher .... but I personally never felt safe.  And it's coming up to summer so a lot of us are going to get hotter.

My only thing is lots and lots of CFM's push the hot air away from miners and exhaust it with a nice exhaust.
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 21, 2016, 05:46:27 PM
 #7546

Updated picture of my mining shelf, both the Avalon6 and S5 (hiding in the back) live here together now.  S5 is powered by 850W atx psu, A6 by 1200W HP server psu (fed from dryer 240v outlet).  Vent in wall provides cool air for intake, or I vent the S5 out of it.  There is also a window on that wall that I open to give more cool air.

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
April 21, 2016, 06:49:26 PM
 #7547


I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.

It's plenty safe, but the cooler you can keep electronics running the longer they will last.  75*C is pushing it, though, you don't have much room for error if you're running that hot.

High 70's scares me, a lot of equipment shut down at 80 C.  I was told on S3's long ago that they had been tested at much higher .... but I personally never felt safe.  And it's coming up to summer so a lot of us are going to get hotter.

My only thing is lots and lots of CFM's push the hot air away from miners and exhaust it with a nice exhaust.

I was running my S7 in some pretty extreme conditions, drawing -15C cold air, running fans at 20%, 800MHz, and ~5.1TH, getting temps in the 78-85 range (unit stops at 85, not 80) for a few days strght in the coldest part of winter, but with every 1C warmer outside, temps of the unit rose ~1C and i had to drop 10Mhz.

SP-3x series miners routinely have 110-120C temps on the individual ASIC chips, with 70-80C exhaust temperatures.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
April 21, 2016, 07:24:49 PM
 #7548


I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.

It's plenty safe, but the cooler you can keep electronics running the longer they will last.  75*C is pushing it, though, you don't have much room for error if you're running that hot.

High 70's scares me, a lot of equipment shut down at 80 C.  I was told on S3's long ago that they had been tested at much higher .... but I personally never felt safe.  And it's coming up to summer so a lot of us are going to get hotter.

My only thing is lots and lots of CFM's push the hot air away from miners and exhaust it with a nice exhaust.

I was running my S7 in some pretty extreme conditions, drawing -15C cold air, running fans at 20%, 800MHz, and ~5.1TH, getting temps in the 78-85 range (unit stops at 85, not 80) for a few days strght in the coldest part of winter, but with every 1C warmer outside, temps of the unit rose ~1C and i had to drop 10Mhz.

SP-3x series miners routinely have 110-120C temps on the individual ASIC chips, with 70-80C exhaust temperatures.

Sorry on mistake on shutdown I have not had it happen.. so been a while since I dealt with it.   I can say some data centers push them beyond these limits, I have not dealt with one doing it on S7's.   But I know on S3 I got a decent amount higher number they said they had tested it to and knew some ran at.   Just most would not do this, including myself.

But cheap data centers do push these machine pretty darn far. It tends to be the small low budget ones that push it.   Mega mines normally put in very good cooling and do not even risk it.
orcanice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
April 22, 2016, 08:39:09 AM
 #7549

My first rig.



Picture of frame: http://imgur.com/sC0PB9n

Some pictures of the miner: http://imgur.com/a/mFMfy

Gpus running between 61-73C with a total speed of 61mhs.





iknow its not perfect, but first time trying.
KeezAZA
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
April 22, 2016, 09:08:13 AM
 #7550


I frequently drive my S7 up into the 68-75C range in order to keep down the fan noise, and it hasnt been an issue yet as long as it doesnt start beeping at 80C+

How safe is it to run thse units that hot?
I dropped my S7 F1 down to 600mhz and it was running 40mins @ 68C  then come night time it was 82C. It did not beep.

It's plenty safe, but the cooler you can keep electronics running the longer they will last.  75*C is pushing it, though, you don't have much room for error if you're running that hot.

High 70's scares me, a lot of equipment shut down at 80 C.  I was told on S3's long ago that they had been tested at much higher .... but I personally never felt safe.  And it's coming up to summer so a lot of us are going to get hotter.

My only thing is lots and lots of CFM's push the hot air away from miners and exhaust it with a nice exhaust.

I was running my S7 in some pretty extreme conditions, drawing -15C cold air, running fans at 20%, 800MHz, and ~5.1TH, getting temps in the 78-85 range (unit stops at 85, not 80) for a few days strght in the coldest part of winter, but with every 1C warmer outside, temps of the unit rose ~1C and i had to drop 10Mhz.

SP-3x series miners routinely have 110-120C temps on the individual ASIC chips, with 70-80C exhaust temperatures.


This weekend i will try installing a S1 fan to the S7-f1 and make it a S7-F1.5.

Need to make an extraction exhaust.
dansus021
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
April 25, 2016, 02:39:45 PM
 #7551

My first rig.



Picture of frame:

Some pictures of the miner:

Gpus running between 61-73C with a total speed of 61mhs.





iknow its not perfect, but first time trying.


another rig pleaseee Smiley
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 27, 2016, 08:25:14 PM
 #7552

Updated picture of my mining shelf, both the Avalon6 and S5 (hiding in the back) live here together now.  S5 is powered by 850W atx psu, A6 by 1200W HP server psu (fed from dryer 240v outlet).  Vent in wall provides cool air for intake, or I vent the S5 out of it.  There is also a window on that wall that I open to give more cool air.

Another view showing the side by side setup better.  Unfortunately I can only run one miner at a time at this location because I only have one ethernet connection here, so when it's hot I run the S5 but slide it back so that it exhausts out the wall vent.  R-Pi controller draws 2.6 watts, wish they made an inexpensive meter for the 240v line, all I could find were in-line devices that cost on the order of $100.  I am moving next month and will have a new laundry room to turn into a home mining area.  Cool

zOU
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
April 27, 2016, 08:30:47 PM
 #7553

Nice
I use a plugwize system to monitor power usage Smiley

Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 27, 2016, 08:47:51 PM
 #7554

I use a plugwize system to monitor power usage Smiley

I neglected to clarify that I could not find an affordable meter for 240volt US plug style that is cheap, I did find a few (like you linked) for Euro-style plugs.
generalt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 736


View Profile
April 27, 2016, 09:50:11 PM
 #7555


Another view showing the side by side setup better.  Unfortunately I can only run one miner at a time at this location because I only have one ethernet connection here, so when it's hot I run the S5 but slide it back so that it exhausts out the wall vent.  R-Pi controller draws 2.6 watts, wish they made an inexpensive meter for the 240v line, all I could find were in-line devices that cost on the order of $100.  I am moving next month and will have a new laundry room to turn into a home mining area.  Cool


Just get a small 4 port ethernet hub there and you can have both of them running if you have enough power.

BTC address: 1GENERAL7QdpxHezWzoToWGXpDX4XuLcR2
Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 27, 2016, 11:22:02 PM
 #7556


Another view showing the side by side setup better.  Unfortunately I can only run one miner at a time at this location because I only have one ethernet connection here, so when it's hot I run the S5 but slide it back so that it exhausts out the wall vent.  R-Pi controller draws 2.6 watts, wish they made an inexpensive meter for the 240v line, all I could find were in-line devices that cost on the order of $100.  I am moving next month and will have a new laundry room to turn into a home mining area.  Cool


Just get a small 4 port ethernet hub there and you can have both of them running if you have enough power.

The ethernet feed to that location is one that is already coming off a 6 port hub, and I don't think you can hub off another hub so no dice.  Not to worry, next laundry room mine will have more connectivity. Smiley


In fact, the thought of building something like that would be indeed good hard work sacrifice!
Necro post much?  You quoted a 5 year old post from this thread without moving the conversation along.
sloopy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 699


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=905210.msg


View Profile
April 27, 2016, 11:59:13 PM
 #7557




Another view showing the side by side setup better.  Unfortunately I can only run one miner at a time at this location because I only have one ethernet connection here, so when it's hot I run the S5 but slide it back so that it exhausts out the wall vent.  R-Pi controller draws 2.6 watts, wish they made an inexpensive meter for the 240v line, all I could find were in-line devices that cost on the order of $100.  I am moving next month and will have a new laundry room to turn into a home mining area.  Cool

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just get a small 4 port ethernet hub there and you can have both of them running if you have enough power.

The ethernet feed to that location is one that is already coming off a 6 port hub, and I don't think you can hub off another hub so no dice.  Not to worry, next laundry room mine will have more connectivity. Smiley


If by "hub" you do mean switch, then yes, you can have a switch behind another switch.
Hubs are not common equipment these days, but you could do so with a hub as well, but a true hub spams the packet to every port, so much worse. A switch is managed or unmanaged but either way it will not spam every port with each packet once it is told or learns where the packet needs to be sent.

I've never done it, but I believe you can go 6 deep, not that I ever would. I am two deep at this time for one miner in one room just because I haven't pulled it out yet.

Transaction fees go to the pools and the pools decide to pay them to the miners. Anything else, including off-chain solutions are stealing and not the way Bitcoin was intended to function.
Make the block size set by the pool. Pool = miners and they get the choice.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
April 28, 2016, 04:19:16 AM
 #7558

I use a plugwize system to monitor power usage Smiley

I neglected to clarify that I could not find an affordable meter for 240volt US plug style that is cheap, I did find a few (like you linked) for Euro-style plugs.

They mass product the us kill-a-watt.  They are pretty cheap I actually had to get one today.... some day I will find a project with my old one connected to it but I could not for the life of me find it in my normal places.

One option is very advanced PDU's can tell what it is.  I got one thanks to Phil pointing me to a sale on ebay, but I never did get the networking going (yet another project Smiley ).   The 240 watt meters are a little higher.  I bought a fluke meter once when I thought I need it.... once I figure it out I should be able to tell with a clamp that just goes around the cord.   So that is my goal is to get it figured out eventually.

And on a side note I have enjoyed seeing some PC's brings back so much memories. And love all the options you have with them.  So much personality to each one.

Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
April 28, 2016, 06:15:59 AM
 #7559

If by "hub" you do mean switch, then yes, you can have a switch behind another switch.
Yes, you are correct, it is a switch.  Ok, good to know, I'll go pick up another one, thanks.


I use a plugwize system to monitor power usage Smiley

I neglected to clarify that I could not find an affordable meter for 240volt US plug style that is cheap, I did find a few (like you linked) for Euro-style plugs.

They mass product the us kill-a-watt.
You bolded the wrong part of my quote, it's the 240 volt that's the kicker.  KAW is only 120v, and I have 2 of them also.  Cool

For example, I found this 240v one which I could use, but it's $90 and I'd have to split open my nice an tidy 10ga cable and mount the meter to the wall, not sure it's worth all that.

HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
April 28, 2016, 06:29:02 AM
 #7560

If by "hub" you do mean switch, then yes, you can have a switch behind another switch.
Yes, you are correct, it is a switch.  Ok, good to know, I'll go pick up another one, thanks.


I use a plugwize system to monitor power usage Smiley

I neglected to clarify that I could not find an affordable meter for 240volt US plug style that is cheap, I did find a few (like you linked) for Euro-style plugs.

They mass product the us kill-a-watt.
You bolded the wrong part of my quote, it's the 240 volt that's the kicker.  KAW is only 120v, and I have 2 of them also.  Cool

For example, I found this 240v one which I could use, but it's $90 and I'd have to split open my nice an tidy 10ga cable and mount the meter to the wall, not sure it's worth all that.
...

Maybe use the Euro-plug one if cheap travel adapter is available?
DX.com for example has cheap travel adapters. I ordered one from there as I needed a US->Euro adapter for RaspPi's psu.

Electrician. Home miner. Block #402790 at Kano.is & #391994 at solo.ckpool.org. Gear: 1x AvalonMiner 721 6Th/s, 1x Hotmine X5 3.3Th/s, 3x Antminer R4 8.7Th/s,
1x Antminer S9 14Th/s, 1x Antminer S9 13Th/s, 2x Antminer S7-LN 2.3Th/s and 3Th/s. Altcoin mining gear: 4x Baikal Mini Miner 150Mh/s
(Review/Guide) Hotmine X5 upgrade kit for Antminer S1/S3/S5
Pages: « 1 ... 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 [378] 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!