Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:31:50 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 [365] 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1627230 times)
hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
December 13, 2015, 05:43:02 AM
 #7281

Picture of my 2 Titans. Powered by EVGA 1600 and Bitmain 1600 watt PSUs, using about 11 amp, 240V. This is what remains of my miners in my garage, S7s and Avalon are at sidehack's place. Can't afford to run them at $.34 peak hour rate (6 hours)  any longer.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile
December 13, 2015, 05:48:04 AM
 #7282

Nice. Smiley Let me know if you ever want to get rid of one or both.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Escrow Service.


View Profile
December 13, 2015, 08:34:14 AM
 #7283

Picture of my 2 Titans. Powered by EVGA 1600 and Bitmain 1600 watt PSUs, using about 11 amp, 240V. This is what remains of my miners in my garage, S7s and Avalon are at sidehack's place. Can't afford to run them at $.34 peak hour rate (6 hours)  any longer.



Nice setup. What is your electric? Mine was 13c kwh. Now in Minnesota so have 'winter rate' a bit lower for those with  electric heat for 4 months or so 12.3c kwh (big whoop). This
is due to nights long and some modest electrical $$$ relief for if your house has partial electric heat or say space heaters etc (again big whoop) Smiley

However.....I mentioned I had Server equip to an xcel when rep i asked why the electric bill was way up and my calling on the question on why above elec rate went down a bit (the above) and they said 'wow' your electric went way up 220 a month ave....

I off hand went yeah ..said it was server equipment ..(figured wtf the rep might not like a bitcoin rig on my 100 amp panel) to sidetrack the rep anyway....I said I had to cool
it in summer (if they want to assume elec costs are a/c from that fine..i used fans) and keep it at 72F in the winter warm  (was scrambling to justify my electric rate ..cause was wondering wtf the reason was she was asking)

anyway was told that I might 'qualify' for electric heat as my MAIN heating method....and it would be between 9.5c kwh and 10 kwh.....er...I went er "yes it is primarialy via electric now....not gas heat....(wtf if they don't bother to ask that most of the heat is coming from server equip who am I to tell them...they would not like the btc equip angle either I'm sure) so she flag'd it we will see

just an aside...but if they just look at my bill they probably will just 'rubber stamp' it ..if not ...they can come over..I will show them my Titan(s) ...they will laugh and go NO!

my setup

lostgonzo.imgur.com


a bit of an aside from picture thread here but figure folk may get lucky and use my trick ...its the truth with the mild winter ALL THE HEAT on my house the last month has been from the two 2500 watt Titans......so anyway 54 bucks a month savings...and my gas bill went down 35 bucks on 'budget plan' too boot .....pretty slick ...I should know at the end of the month if this has been adjusted...anyway just for 4 months maybe but what the heck Smiley

Also as you can see from my above link/pictures I went with the more "KNC as a Shrine setup" (I was such a knc newbie kool aid drinker ..pathetic) Sad

I see that you went more for the "KNC is evil and chaos reigns theme" which is much more approprate Smiley

anyway something for folk to look into the electric winter rates for above......and if they take it this year at that rate and I call them next year when the miners go to door stops
I'll just say gas now again is my primary heat method.....no way to lose on this ...if they inspect they will say NO...if they don't inspect....the xcel rep flag'd this for server equip
not me...so all should be golden no matter what (or I pay them the 216 in savings if they get 'spiffy' about it all ) Smiley

later again will let you know on this forum when I get my next bill if this worked Smiley


hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
December 13, 2015, 06:38:40 PM
 #7284

Picture of my 2 Titans. Powered by EVGA 1600 and Bitmain 1600 watt PSUs, using about 11 amp, 240V. This is what remains of my miners in my garage, S7s and Avalon are at sidehack's place. Can't afford to run them at $.34 peak hour rate (6 hours)  any longer.

http://i.imgur.com/8OgzKR0.jpg?1

Nice setup. What is your electric? Mine was 13c kwh. Now in Minnesota so have 'winter rate' a bit lower for those with  electric heat for 4 months or so 12.3c kwh (big whoop). This
is due to nights long and some modest electrical $$$ relief for if your house has partial electric heat or say space heaters etc (again big whoop) Smiley


Mine used to be on a tier system, tier 1-4 @$.15, $.21, $.25 and $.30/kWh + taxes and other fees. After 4th day I used to be on tier 4 rate. Talk about price gauging. I switched to Time of Use since Dec 2 @ $.11 (10 hrs) , $.14 (8 hrs) and $.24 (6 hrs) winter rate, $.11, $.18, $.34 summer rate. I do have 10.85 kW solar system installed about 2 months ago, I will see it's full benefit this summer. And depending on my bill I may be able to run more miners at home, didn't get monthly usage and production data from SoCal Edison yet.
icezer0z
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 03:39:31 AM
 #7285

Here is my small setup.  Really want to grow and replace these with S7's


ChexChip

www.bravo-mining.com

RapidSeedBox
Really good seedbox and easy cloud management. Message me for details or click the link below...
http://members.rapidseedbox.com/aff.php?aff=300
USB-S
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Find cover!


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 06:25:55 AM
 #7286

Here is my small setup.  Really want to grow and replace these with S7's


Maybe if you'd accumulate your btc, then you would be able to get S8 or S9 to replace them. That's a pretty sweet setup regardless.
OstlerDev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 06:48:23 AM
 #7287

My little home rack that I put up at my new house for the S7 (hopefully 2 someday) and a server to do some dev on (again soon :p).

I am still waiting on two PCI splitters to power up the third blade, but I figured I would post a pic for the fun of it. The cabling sucks, but what can you do :p I will most likely be modding it with some quieter fans as my roommate is complaining about the slight hum coming from the garage (at 33% fans it stays ~55-60º).

http://i.imgur.com/LbPqqzq.jpg
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 07:24:55 AM
 #7288



2x S3+
6x U3
6x Compac sticks

Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Escrow Service.


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 08:06:31 AM
 #7289



2x S3+
6x U3
6x Compac sticks

ack! its 'breeding' from you other photos! ack!

I got a 60gh bfl miner with shipping included... off ebay 'as a memento not to pre-order' (stupid kool aid bfl type that i was...got a refund 1 yr 20 days later by luck but still scary as hell)

anyway..its 'use' is a 'reminder paperweight' with bitcoin to keep my 'ego in check' seems to work every time I walk buy 'the ghost of what if no refund' makes my spine tingle...shudder..

anyway nice setup would probably do the same ..but most of the year (see previous post in this thread) 13c kwh electric I just can't justify it

IF somehow SOLAR made sense I MIGHT be tempted..but from what I can tell ....getting something rig'd up solar as a DIY kit etc would MAYBE get you 400 watts
for like 1.5K plus...so that is a NO GO.....if I could get something up at that price w/o too much hassle (on my own) that would hang on my house decent (inspectors) that
put out say 1000 watts ..well hell I could justify the miner running on it for a year and use it for the house later....but 400 watts is best I've seen for 1.5k just don't cut it.

So my 550 Jupiter sits OFF since Feb 2015 as a 'gravity assist device on the bottom shelf of my miner table......hey it has a role... Smiley

lostgonzo.imgur.com

but anyway ..someone show me some pics of a solar rig that will last say 7-10 years for 1.5K that gives me enough juice to run an old 'used' miner for free and I MAY be tempted...
but me thinks such will exist probably 5 years down the line..and I really doubt ANY home mining will be happening at that point even with my kinda sorta dream setup above.

anyway good luck on your rig.......just don't let it go all 'skynet' or 'borg like' as it seems to be growing Smiley


zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 08:48:20 AM
 #7290

LOL

I have a BFL 30ghs too, but I'm waiting on more cables to power it from the S3+ power supply.

It melted a pair of pcie cables already from my standard PSU.

None of these will ever ROI but it's fun to tinker with them.

I have 13 333Mhs block erupter too.

Final setup will change when I get the USB doctors,then i'll make a permanent holder for the compac sticks with improved cooling.
At the moment it's WIP.

I don't really care about electricity as I already have a bunch of computers running 24/7.

I also have 4 dual xeon servers and a 65Tb SAN array running once in a while (in the black 42U rack you see on the right in the photo)

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 11:22:19 AM
 #7291

LOL

I have a BFL 30ghs too, but I'm waiting on more cables to power it from the S3+ power supply.

It melted a pair of pcie cables already from my standard PSU.

None of these will ever ROI but it's fun to tinker with them.

I have 13 333Mhs block erupter too.

Final setup will change when I get the USB doctors,then i'll make a permanent holder for the compac sticks with improved cooling.
At the moment it's WIP.

I don't really care about electricity as I already have a bunch of computers running 24/7.

I also have 4 dual xeon servers and a 65Tb SAN array running once in a while (in the black 42U rack you see on the right in the photo)

that s3 cabling isnt really ideal - it looks like the pcie wires may only have 1(+) and 1(-) each (as opposed to 3&3). even if its okay for the cables, this puts a lot of load on the S3 as the power isnt very well distributed from the connection point.

i sell pcie wires (16awg) and Y-splitters (18awg) in my signature link if you ever are looking for options

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 11:30:35 AM
 #7292

That's what it is:

http://m.ebay.fr/itm/Bitmain-Antminer-S3-1000W-PSU-Power-Supply-complete-kit-to-power-2-Antminer-S3-/171905659050?txnId=1475254305007

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 11:48:22 AM
 #7293


14awg wire is okay in itself, but as i said, the concern is that its putting about 200w through a single connecting pin on each blade, which is a bit high for my taste. better to spread it more evenly using a 6-wire PCIe cable and/or both connectors on each blade

just make sure its clipped in securely and that the wires are not getting too hot and youll be okay

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Btlfedgolf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 12:48:54 PM
 #7294

Well I tried to add this antrouter, but it seems to have a short in which it shocks you when you touch the sides.  Saddle it is going back Sad

http://i.imgur.com/SkGVIGD.jpg
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 12:58:48 PM
 #7295


14awg wire is okay in itself, but as i said, the concern is that its putting about 200w through a single connecting pin on each blade, which is a bit high for my taste. better to spread it more evenly using a 6-wire PCIe cable and/or both connectors on each blade

just make sure its clipped in securely and that the wires are not getting too hot and youll be okay

Wires are barely warm, connectors are secured Smiley
2 S3+ running at 250Mhs/500Ghs under 40C.

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
December 14, 2015, 04:41:25 PM
 #7296

Well I tried to add this antrouter, but it seems to have a short in which it shocks you when you touch the sides.  Saddle it is going back Sad



Quoting for poster as he is newbie and does not show up since rank to low. 
icezer0z
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 06:24:51 PM
 #7297

Well I tried to add this antrouter, but it seems to have a short in which it shocks you when you touch the sides.  Saddle it is going back Sad



Quoting for poster as he is newbie and does not show up since rank to low. 

Ok what does an Antrouter do compared to a normal home router??

Is it worth even getting for a small 5> miner setup?

ChexChip

www.bravo-mining.com

RapidSeedBox
Really good seedbox and easy cloud management. Message me for details or click the link below...
http://members.rapidseedbox.com/aff.php?aff=300
zOU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

★ these are stars ★


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 07:15:52 PM
 #7298

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1196852.0

Mikestang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
December 14, 2015, 07:49:12 PM
 #7299


Ok what does an Antrouter do compared to a normal home router??

Is it worth even getting for a small 5> miner setup?
It only has "value" if you already have a U3 and want to use it as a controller.  And in that case it has even more value if you order from CrazyGuy and get his custom firmware.
Btlfedgolf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
December 14, 2015, 08:02:57 PM
 #7300

Well I tried to add this antrouter, but it seems to have a short in which it shocks you when you touch the sides.  Saddle it is going back Sad

http://i.imgur.com/SkGVIGD.jpg

Quoting for poster as he is newbie and does not show up since rank to low. 

Ok what does an Antrouter do compared to a normal home router??

Is it worth even getting for a small 5> miner setup?

It does 3 things. 

1. acts as a wireless access point
2. solo mines
3. acts as a controller for antminer U3. 

I bought it as a lottery type device for shits and giggles.  If it never hit gold, i would not be out that much. 
Pages: « 1 ... 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 [365] 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!