Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 01:29:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] ASICMiner Prisma 1.4th/s - 1.47 BTC  (Read 48514 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 08:04:27 PM
 #601

once you have screwed the top off have your spouse, girlfriend, or someone hold the tube together so you can flip the handles out

I'm going to get my spouse and my girlfriend to help, just to be safe!

smart move the  more the merrier.


@ mrpark  fan is coming

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
1511530189
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530189

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530189
Reply with quote  #2

1511530189
Report to moderator
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 08:10:22 PM
 #602

I tried and failed at putting a fan on. I didn't want to put the fan right up against the metal because I was afraid of the heat on the plastic of the fan. OK, thanks!

once you have screwed the top off have your spouse, girlfriend, or someone hold the tube together so you can flip the handles out

I'm going to get my spouse and my girlfriend to help, just to be safe!

smart move the  more the merrier.


@ mrpark  fan is coming

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1934



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 08:12:11 PM
 #603

once you have screwed the top off have your spouse, girlfriend, or someone hold the tube together so you can flip the handles out

I'm going to get my spouse and my girlfriend to help, just to be safe!

Can someone with good photoshop skills take the pottery scene from Ghost and switch out the pot for a prisma?

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 08:13:56 PM
 #604

1 question on the new Crazyguy image, what is the default IP? 192.168.0.x or 192.168.1.x etc?

It is set up with DHCP, so the IP will be assigned by your router. Easiest way to find the rpi is through the hostname,:
priminerapi

This works well on a home router, but if you are on a more complicated network you may need to take the following steps:

1.) Determine what IP range your DHCP server is handing out to the network drop you plan to use.  Do this by plugging in the cable to a laptop/computer and jotting down the IP it assigns you.  This IP will give us the range we need for the next steps (note that the rPi won't use the same IP address when it's plugged into the same cable).

2.) Install an IP scanner tool (I use Angry IP Scanner) and point it to the entire subnet for the IP address you wrote down earlier.  For example, my DHCP server gave me a 10.2.0.34 address, so I'm going to configure Angry IP to scan IP addresses between 10.2.0.1 and 10.2.0.255.

3.) Scan the IP range with Angry IP Scanner before you plug in your Raspberry Pi.  Write down (or screenshot) the output of Angry IP (if there are just a few, write down the last number of each IP).

4.) Plug in your Raspberry Pi.

5.) Scan the IP range again, and compare your first list with your second.  The difference should be* the IP address assigned to your Raspberry Pi.

Hope that helps!

*sometimes machines don't respond quickly enough in your first scan, so you may get back a few different IPs the second time.  Check each one by trying to ssh into them i.e. "ssh pi@xx.xx.xx.xx" until you get connected.  The default password for the pi user is "raspberry"
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 08:37:03 PM
 #605

I am going to lowes to get a few parts

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 09:44:04 PM
 #606

I am still on the block erupter for now, mining on GHASH.io, I set the difficulty to 2048 on Ghash.io. Good idea or not? Will this not do anything on the BE?

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1934



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 09:53:52 PM
 #607

I am still on the block erupter for now, mining on GHASH.io, I set the difficulty to 2048 on Ghash.io. Good idea or not? Will this not do anything on the BE?

Should be fine unless they hit some really quick blocks. GHASH will accept any difficulty so you might as well just set it to 1470.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 10:02:59 PM
 #608

3 Prismas on RPi with CrazyGuys Minera fork now for 35 hours hashing perfectly!!! At the pool of my choice Eligius.

I am still on the block erupter for now, mining on GHASH.io, I set the difficulty to 2048 on Ghash.io. Good idea or not? Will this not do anything on the BE?

Should be fine unless they hit some really quick blocks. GHASH will accept any difficulty so you might as well just set it to 1470.

Some have suggested that raising the diff will help with lowering duplicates at GHash I don't know if there is anything to that though. Others have suggested that the Prisma doesn't handle vardiff that well and think that setting a higher diff can help but I don't know if there is anything to that either. With all that said like CrazyGuy said unless they find a block really quickly it shouldn't hurt.

I asked once already but it got lost in the thread. What is the system load in Minerea actually measuring? Mine are always yellow and didn't know if I should be concerned and would using a wired connection vs wifi lower the system load?
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 10:23:25 PM
 #609

I am going to lowes to get a few parts
I found this article today and thought of you--I know you were thinking about doing something like this come winter.  Now that the cold's here, I'm bringing something to mine bitcoins and keep my feet warm to work tomorrow!

Cheers.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 10:30:07 PM
 #610

what do I use for minera password ?


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 10:33:22 PM
 #611

what do I use for minera password ?



"minera" change it on the settings page you should also change it in the terminal for ssh changing one does not change the other

user for ssh is also minera
ferncreekminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:04:53 PM
 #612

3 Prismas on RPi with CrazyGuys Minera fork now for 35 hours hashing perfectly!!! At the pool of my choice Eligius.

I am still on the block erupter for now, mining on GHASH.io, I set the difficulty to 2048 on Ghash.io. Good idea or not? Will this not do anything on the BE?

Should be fine unless they hit some really quick blocks. GHASH will accept any difficulty so you might as well just set it to 1470.

Some have suggested that raising the diff will help with lowering duplicates at GHash I don't know if there is anything to that though. Others have suggested that the Prisma doesn't handle vardiff that well and think that setting a higher diff can help but I don't know if there is anything to that either. With all that said like CrazyGuy said unless they find a block really quickly it shouldn't hurt.

I asked once already but it got lost in the thread. What is the system load in Minerea actually measuring? Mine are always yellow and didn't know if I should be concerned and would using a wired connection vs wifi lower the system load?

From what I can find it in Minera forum posts appears that is the "load" on the RPi resources. 
I currently have 2 Prisma on my RPi using wired connection and my RPi shows Green

http://i.imgur.com/OG3oJIw.png
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:11:26 PM
 #613

what do I use for minera password ?



"minera" change it on the settings page you should also change it in the terminal for ssh changing one does not change the other

user for ssh is also minera

changed it .  do I ssh this to change freq rates?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1934



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:26:23 PM
 #614

what do I use for minera password ?



"minera" change it on the settings page you should also change it in the terminal for ssh changing one does not change the other

user for ssh is also minera

changed it .  do I ssh this to change freq rates?

Just update the startup parameters on the settings page.

Default is:
--bet-clk 23

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:28:01 PM
 #615

what do I use for minera password ?



"minera" change it on the settings page you should also change it in the terminal for ssh changing one does not change the other

user for ssh is also minera

changed it .  do I ssh this to change freq rates?

Just update the startup parameters on the settings page.

Default is:
--bet-clk 23

I would guess --bet-clk 22 is freq 220 correct?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
November 12, 2014, 11:41:30 PM
 #616

I would guess --bet-clk 22 is freq 220 correct?

No, it adds 1 for some reason. --bet-clk 22 is 230, 23 is 240 and so on.

Edit: https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/ASIC-README

Quote
--bet-clk <arg>     Set clockspeed of ASICMINER Tube/Prisma to (arg+1)*10MHz (default: 23)

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:19:43 AM
 #617

okay running 2 boards   poolside reports 690gh

minera has a low number


 two fans running handles out two boards  no worries. 



Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
InvalidSnack
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:32:06 AM
 #618

Ok, found a few minutes to look closer... I think I found the problem. I am really glad I put some scrap 10ga steel underneath these miners. This was the board facing down and it was running only 220MHz.


Wow, okay now I'm a bit concerned.

I had the exact same damage -- in the exact same area your picture shows.  In my case, it actually started a fire which took out a second Prisma (blew all the caps off one side , popping like popcorn kernels before I could hit hit the power and grab the extinguisher).  But I didn't want to panic people and told ASICMiner and Canary I was assuming it was a fluke, and was focused mostly on getting my RMA completed.   I'm really glad you're safe and didn't burn your house down, man -- because in the back of my mind I've been thinking "what if the problem *ISN'T* a fluke and hits someone else, when he's not home?"  

I told Canary (who presumably told FC) that I wasn't really interested in trying to "publicly embarrass AM" and was happy to keep things between us -- so long as two conditions were met: (1) they replace the damaged Prismas in a timely fashion (which didn't happen unless you consider weeks to be "timely") and (2) "unless it appears to be a widespread problem and not a random component failure."

So both #1 and #2 have hit at this point;  when i saw your pictures in my browser, I swear I thought "Wow, FC is posting the images of the damage that happened?  That's really honest of him..."   I mean, it's like looking at a duplicate of mine ... though you seemed to get things under control faster than I did (the fire charred the entire bottom of mine, and there were no capacitors "unpopped" on the Prisma where this damage occurred).

So let me be clear since I've been silent (and OBVIOUSLY should not have been)  -- I can't calculate the odds of *two* random manufacturing defects causing the *exact* same damage in *exactly* the same spot (center -top of one board, or center-bottom depending on how you look at it, and causing enough damage to affect the adjacent corner board as well).  Maybe the odds aren't so bad.  But I'm inclined to think that there is something amiss with whatever component blew in both of our Prismas -- is it a vreg?  

All I can say for certain is that if I had not been home (just arrived back from errands about 5 minutes before I heard the alarm) and if I hadn't put a smoke alarm on my mining "shelf" (the main one in the hallway took a good 10 minutes or so to finally go off) then there's no doubt in my mind that the fire caused by a Prisma just like yours, would have done an *enormous* amount of damage.  Even putting it out as fast as I could, it took practically all night with all the windows open and like 5 box fans trying to pump all the smoke out of my apartment and it took all night sifting through charred parts of the wire rack that it *melted* before I could finally get enough of the debris out of my office ...but then I took a shower (and I guess washed the smell out of my nose) because it was sure as hell still there...  Took *days* to finally stop smelling like melted plastic and...

Anyway, I'm not going to lie here -- I'm a mixture of embarrassed and sincerely horrified to see another customer affected by the *exact* same damage, which I could have sounded the alarm about ~2 weeks ago -- and I'm so sorry to you, and so very glad that you had a metal plate under your Prisma to contain the damage and not lose things in a fire.  What's more, you're doing *exactly* what I should have done (and didn't) -- I sent my pictures in and asked for an RMA, and *you* posted the pictures here and warned people to help avoid more damage/injuries/etc.  

I've never met you before in my life, but you are the better man (or woman) and I am pretty certain I'm a selfish piece of shit right now.  I apologize to you, and to everyone else for not saying something sooner -- and I hope others will *please* take this threat seriously and put some kind of metal protection around/under their Prismas...



...and to be honest,  I feel like someone just punched me in the stomach -- I know I should probably post more and add details and etc, but I need a drink or something.  I don't know how I would have lived with myself if someone had been injured, or worse...  I don't know what the fuck I was thinking assuming it was a "fluke" -- that's not my job to determine, I have no qualifications to assume that, I should have done like you just did....  Fuck, I ... will come back and post more if needed, but I'm literally floored by this and -- I'm just VERY glad that nobody was hurt by my failure to report this, and I fear I'm just repeating the same shit over and over...so again, let me come back to this and post a bit less freaked out a little later, but I'm truly sorry and very ashamed of my inaction; my main goal in writing this (admittedly hastily and shittily written) message ASAP was just to make sure I got that message across as soon as I saw this had happened, but I apologize for not being able to cobble together a slightly better post than this.  

Friends/fellow miners, please take this danger seriously. While I don't have any way to know how many Prismas are affected by this, it seems hard to imagine that *only* our two are capable of this very specific type of failure -- so it seems clear to me at this point that it's not an isolated problem.  (Well, it's isolated in that it apparently happens in the same spot ... but not isolated in terms of people, or Batches, or etc.)  And for the record, I never overclocked *anything* -- everything was running at stock speeds, and running well, for about 3 days, with zero warning signs before it happened to me.  I can't believe I didn't say something sooner.



PS: The exploding capacitors were so hot, they actually *embedded* themselves into areas all over my office.  When I was finally getting the mining rigs (other than the Prismas) up and running the next day, I found several of my S3s were seemingly dead ... but it turns out they just all had dead network cables.  I swapped them out and didn't notice until later that day that somewhere on each of the 3 ethernet cables was either a cap (melted halfway through cable, through the exterior protective sheath, embedded right where all the individual data connections are) or a small "cap-sized hole" melted far enough into the cable to leave a recognizable impression (and a clear view to the data connections that it had severed).  So this probably is the most obvious statement in the world but: "The exploding capacitors can and will start fires or damage other equipment," it's vital people take serious care in terms of *where* they choose to store Prismas, because they will want something protecting other equipment from damage if it's all on the same shelf, for example.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1934



View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:33:16 AM
 #619

okay running 2 boards   poolside reports 690gh

minera has a low number


 two fans running handles out two boards  no worries.  




I had to modify minera to report the correct total hash rate for prismas. This modification was made after your unit shipped.

To get the latest code perform the following steps

shell in and change directory to /var/www/minera

git fetch --all
git reset --hard origin/master

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 13, 2014, 12:43:54 AM
 #620

as for the second person talking about burning up a tube ..   both had the same thing in common close to a solid metal plate.    a  power surge then an arc to the plate then pop.    as a point of safety do no rest your tube miners near metal plates.  use other safer ways to stack them
  it is common sense an open set of ciruits .25 inches away from a metal plate = danger.

look at the tube design .  I told more then one person do not use it on metal. I used wood.  now on this the long tube I rest it on

stone.



it will not have any metal close for it to arc to



runs very cool with second fan


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!