Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:40:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] ASICMiner Prisma 1.4th/s - 1.47 BTC  (Read 48424 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:14:36 PM
 #521

@PlanetCrypto
Everything you are describing is what I was experiencing even the fake hashing. I find that the  BEController is very sensitive and it is the culprit here. I moved the controller to a COLD SPOT and problems disappeared for me. Put it somewhere cool. The EVGA 1300 G2 is just fine with the cable configuration talked about several pages back it's how I'm powering all 3 of my Prismas.

I've been hashing now at 98% of expected for over 36 hours no problems now whatsoever. HWe is 0.33%
1511152812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152812
Reply with quote  #2

1511152812
Report to moderator
1511152812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152812
Reply with quote  #2

1511152812
Report to moderator
1511152812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152812
Reply with quote  #2

1511152812
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511152812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152812
Reply with quote  #2

1511152812
Report to moderator
PlanetCrypto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 334


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:36:58 PM
 #522

@PlanetCrypto
Everything you are describing is what I was experiencing even the fake hashing. I find that the  BEController is very sensitive and it is the culprit here. I moved the controller to a COLD SPOT and problems disappeared for me. Put it somewhere cool. The EVGA 1300 G2 is just fine with the cable configuration talked about several pages back it's how I'm powering all 3 of my Prismas.

I've been hashing now at 98% of expected for over 36 hours no problems now whatsoever. HWe is 0.33%

So the hypothesis is that with the extra board count attached to the BE (versus a single 24x Tube) causes it overheat and freak out.
I just took it out of case and put a 40mm fan over it.

Am and have been a big fan of the 1300's, they're just a little pricey compared to a 1800W-2500W server supply.
We have 5 or 6 1300's here in our environment, they whirr quietly and do their job.

98% of expected @ what clock rate?

                                  ▄▄
                                ▄████▄
                              ▄████████▄
              ▄             ▄████████████▄
            ▄███▄         ▄████████████████▄
          ▄███████▄     ▄████████████████████▄
        ▄███████████▄ ▄████████████████████████▄
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████▄
    ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████▄
  ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
  ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████▀
      ▀██████████████████████████████████████████▀
        ▀███████████▀ ▀████████████████████████▀
          ▀███████▀     ▀████████████████████▀
            ▀███▀         ▀████████████████▀
              ▀             ▀████████████▀
                              ▀████████▀
                                ▀████▀
                                  ▀▀




MICROMONEY

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


MicroMoney for People & Big Data for Business

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn


Reddit
Medium
Telegram
PlanetCrypto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 334


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:52:23 PM
 #523

Cover off of the BE with 40mm fan blowing 70 degree air on it, declocked to 230.
This time it made it about 1 hour and 10 minutes.
This is beginning to piss me off.




                                  ▄▄
                                ▄████▄
                              ▄████████▄
              ▄             ▄████████████▄
            ▄███▄         ▄████████████████▄
          ▄███████▄     ▄████████████████████▄
        ▄███████████▄ ▄████████████████████████▄
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████▄
    ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████▄
  ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
  ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████▀
      ▀██████████████████████████████████████████▀
        ▀███████████▀ ▀████████████████████████▀
          ▀███████▀     ▀████████████████████▀
            ▀███▀         ▀████████████████▀
              ▀             ▀████████████▀
                              ▀████████▀
                                ▀████▀
                                  ▀▀




MICROMONEY

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


MicroMoney for People & Big Data for Business

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn


Reddit
Medium
Telegram
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 03:59:11 PM
 #524

Can any of the Prisma gurus tell me if this output is expected for normal operations? I have been running the Primsa a few days now. But it shows "Running time" up only 20 minutes? Is my Prisma rebooting ever 20 minutes? Should I be concerned about this?





BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
wasikidding
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:42:43 PM
 #525

I had all those issues been running now for 15 hours no issues the tube port on ck solo pool had been my best the BE controller is the root of most issues all day yesterday would drop to like 300 gh/s while hashing at slush's etc  mmpool and slush and ck all saw improvment from handles out and relocation of miner and controller


BTC ADDY just in case you are my rich uncle lol 1GmrgmiAWKA4yXuo4JECxyvzzjnBEtGwwL
wasikidding
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:48:48 PM
 #526

Can any of the Prisma gurus tell me if this output is expected for normal operations? I have been running the Primsa a few days now. But it shows "Running time" up only 20 minutes? Is my Prisma rebooting ever 20 minutes? Should I be concerned about this?





Im assuming you have hit the refresh on your browser or the wakeup button

BTC ADDY just in case you are my rich uncle lol 1GmrgmiAWKA4yXuo4JECxyvzzjnBEtGwwL
LordPaco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:02:05 PM
 #527

So this last batch of prisma's seem to have some problems. The first 4x I recieved from Crazy Guy do work, albeit with a dead hashing board that is totally my fault so I'll ignore that.

I dont think it is related to BE controller because I can swap two controllers and the 4x stack that works, works the same way no matter what controller I use, where the problem prisma array has problems no matter what.

It will reboot ever 10-120minutes. Power downs constantly on the same 4 out of the 12 hashing boards, after reseating the same boards, same thing. Switched order of the chain, and the problem boards move to where I put them.

Here are some odd pictures for you. I pointed my IR thermometer at the transistors at a problem board, and a working board.

Hoping the usb controller will help me isolate the problem more specifically, but my IR probe is pointing me to actual hardware issues.

Problem board (107.9C temp):


Working board: (50.5C temp)


I know hard to see it is reporting in Celsius - What is going on here?
wasikidding
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:04:54 PM
 #528

Well could it be a thermal pad and heatsink issue the heat difference is crazy

BTC ADDY just in case you are my rich uncle lol 1GmrgmiAWKA4yXuo4JECxyvzzjnBEtGwwL
LordPaco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:25:56 PM
 #529

I am pointing the IR probe to the same transistor from tube to tube. This particular transistor is the worst case. I inspected/reseated the hot problem board already and I see nothing abnormal with it.

Another important point: The high temp will be reached even in the case of the prisma just being on, and not hooked up to BE controller and actually hashing.

I cannot confirm that all the problem hashing boards exhibit this kind of temp, some more research to be done today mixed in with some real work  Tongue
judypug1956
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 263


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:35:05 PM
 #530

I am pointing the IR probe to the same transistor from tube to tube. This particular transistor is the worst case. I inspected/reseated the hot problem board already and I see nothing abnormal with it.

Another important point: The high temp will be reached even in the case of the prisma just being on, and not hooked up to BE controller and actually hashing.

I cannot confirm that all the problem hashing boards exhibit this kind of temp, some more research to be done today mixed in with some real work  Tongue

take them offline now!

exact amount of boards bad = 4

exact amount of boards GOOD = ?

This is a secondary account .
LordPaco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 06:58:30 PM
 #531

The hot board has been unplugged as soon as I discovered it with the exception of testing after inspecting/reseating (with no burn marks or damage), and the inital burn in before I knew I had problems. The other problem boards are not seeing this same high temp but I have not tested every chip to confirm there isn't a hot one somewhere.

Out of 12 hashing boards (3 prisma), 8 are working without issue, 3 work ~20-60% of the time and not for long and have resetting issues, 1 obviously has temp issues.
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 07:15:23 PM
 #532


So the hypothesis is that with the extra board count attached to the BE (versus a single 24x Tube) causes it overheat and freak out.
I just took it out of case and put a 40mm fan over it.

Am and have been a big fan of the 1300's, they're just a little pricey compared to a 1800W-2500W server supply.
We have 5 or 6 1300's here in our environment, they whirr quietly and do their job.

98% of expected @ what clock rate?


At 240 Sorry your still having problems. It's warm here today I have the window A/C going in the mining room but still no resets. Still at 98% all boards alive.
mrpark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 07:18:01 PM
 #533

yes, hit refresh, last time it said 7 minutes? I will change to 230 to see if anything is different. I am using a 12v 6 amp adapter as told in the guide to use.

Can any of the Prisma gurus tell me if this output is expected for normal operations? I have been running the Primsa a few days now. But it shows "Running time" up only 20 minutes? Is my Prisma rebooting ever 20 minutes? Should I be concerned about this?





Im assuming you have hit the refresh on your browser or the wakeup button

BTC: 1JDjCGtxtxoZ46XgTqUoXBDxNFKwcsEmik
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 07:21:30 PM
 #534

The hot board has been unplugged as soon as I discovered it with the exception of testing after inspecting/reseating (with no burn marks or damage), and the inital burn in before I knew I had problems. The other problem boards are not seeing this same high temp but I have not tested every chip to confirm there isn't a hot one somewhere.

Out of 12 hashing boards (3 prisma), 8 are working without issue, 3 work ~20-60% of the time and not for long and have resetting issues, 1 obviously has temp issues.

they may just be bad, but   if I recall someone took the  short tubes  apart and used two fans one each board.   kept heat much lower.  let me see if I can find a post from aug



looked at this thread can't find the photo

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=735982.0;all

will check this one later

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=735728.0

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
wasikidding
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 08:02:03 PM
 #535

Like this:




Temp is monitored by fan controller. Smiley

Nice and quiet.
Hey Phillipma i think this is what you were looking for

BTC ADDY just in case you are my rich uncle lol 1GmrgmiAWKA4yXuo4JECxyvzzjnBEtGwwL
PlanetCrypto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 334


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 09:33:50 PM
 #536

I've received a photo of the adapter that has been created for connecting to a RPi. The interface is USB, so that's good news.



I will ship overseas, but I can not estimate a price as I don't have package dimensions. The weight will be somewhere around 8kg.

Hey CrazyGuy (or anyone else with a clue),

I assume (we both know what that means) the signals used are RX, TX, GND.

Looking at the picture, what are the left most and right most pins on the little white connector?

In a moment of weakness, I bought a CP2102 USB-UART adapter off of Amazon for ~$9 ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CD264HG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 ). Hang is it has 6 pins (fortunately they're labeled on the PCB) if I knew the pin out on that board I can jumper the correct pins on the one in hand.

This would give all concerned a second source for the USB-UART boards.

Thanks bro'

                                  ▄▄
                                ▄████▄
                              ▄████████▄
              ▄             ▄████████████▄
            ▄███▄         ▄████████████████▄
          ▄███████▄     ▄████████████████████▄
        ▄███████████▄ ▄████████████████████████▄
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████▄
    ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████▄
  ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
  ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
    ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████▀
      ▀██████████████████████████████████████████▀
        ▀███████████▀ ▀████████████████████████▀
          ▀███████▀     ▀████████████████████▀
            ▀███▀         ▀████████████████▀
              ▀             ▀████████████▀
                              ▀████████▀
                                ▀████▀
                                  ▀▀




MICROMONEY

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


MicroMoney for People & Big Data for Business

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██


Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn


Reddit
Medium
Telegram
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 10:14:27 PM
 #537

Like this:




Temp is monitored by fan controller. Smiley

Nice and quiet.
Hey Phillipma i think this is what you were looking for


nice someone knew what I meant…thanks

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 10:36:36 PM
 #538

I've received a photo of the adapter that has been created for connecting to a RPi. The interface is USB, so that's good news.



I will ship overseas, but I can not estimate a price as I don't have package dimensions. The weight will be somewhere around 8kg.

Hey CrazyGuy (or anyone else with a clue),

I assume (we both know what that means) the signals used are RX, TX, GND.

Looking at the picture, what are the left most and right most pins on the little white connector?

In a moment of weakness, I bought a CP2102 USB-UART adapter off of Amazon for ~$9 ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CD264HG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 ). Hang is it has 6 pins (fortunately they're labeled on the PCB) if I knew the pin out on that board I can jumper the correct pins on the one in hand.

This would give all concerned a second source for the USB-UART boards.

Thanks bro'

Here you go but I don't think it's going to work (I hope it does). Something to do with 9 data bits vs 8 max that the CP2102 chip handles.


Code:
RX                                                                                           
TX   +-+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
GND  | | Data Port                                                                           |
RX   +-+                                                                                     |
TX   | |                                                                                     |
GND  +-+                                                                                     |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     |                                                                                       |
     +----+                                                                                  |
     |    |  Power                                                                           |
     +----+                                                                                  |
     |    |                                                                                  |
     +----+                                                                                  |
     +----+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------+


That explains it perfectly. Thanks!!!

If these are controlled the same as the Tubes - which seems likely since they run on Tube controllers as well - you would need a USB-UART adapter's RX, TX and GND lines. I think it's a 3V3 signal voltage. But the actual protocol was a nine-data-bits, I think no parity, at 460800 baud, which isn't a mode that many converters support. I'd be surprised if the one he bought would do it, based on what Novak turned up while working on RPi support before AM released their cgminer stuff.

If that's true then no it probably won't work. It will be here tomorrow. I'll post results but doesn't look promising if what you're saying is correct. It never came order was cancelled by amazon.

Table 6. Data Formats and Baud Rates
Data Bits
 5, 6, 7, and 8
Stop Bits
1, 1.5 and 2
Parity Type
None, Even, Odd, Mark, Space
Baud Rates
300, 600, 1200, 1800, 2400, 4000, 4800, 7200, 9600, 14400,
16000, 19200, 28800, 38400, 51200, 56000, 57600, 64000,
76800, 115200, 128000, 153600, 230400, 250000, 256000,
460800, 500000, 576000, 921600

DigitalPackrat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 11:36:53 PM
 #539

Well the first board seems to have failed. 3/19 showing all chips working but no hash. Reset the power a few times but ran out of time to check anything else yet.


DigitalPackrat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 11:55:59 PM
 #540

Ok, found a few minutes to look closer... I think I found the problem. I am really glad I put some scrap 10ga steel underneath these miners. This was the board facing down and it was running only 220MHz.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!