Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 01:23:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] ASICMiner Prisma 1.4th/s - 1.47 BTC  (Read 48490 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
LordPaco
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 06:54:59 PM
 #761

That's actually how I have mine set up right now. On the other hand I have also noticed they don't like to run cold as well.

I bet if you looked under the PCB of that popped cap nearby you would find a nick in the PCB with a bit of copper inside that causes it to short to the heatsink and pop the closest cap it finds. That's what my burnt board looks like anyway.

Burnt prisma's should be posted over in this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=791827.0


1511357009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511357009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511357009
Reply with quote  #2

1511357009
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511357009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511357009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511357009
Reply with quote  #2

1511357009
Report to moderator
1511357009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511357009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511357009
Reply with quote  #2

1511357009
Report to moderator
1511357009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511357009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511357009
Reply with quote  #2

1511357009
Report to moderator
Chris_Sabian
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
November 20, 2014, 02:40:33 AM
 #762

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

I agree on that , i could not boot it up when i had the miner outside where its colder, was not possible to boot it up at all. But now its inside with open windows and working, i thought that was just my imagination , good to know that i was right.

This is interesting.  I had my prisma in my workshop where it is currently ~35F.  I brought the miner inside to warm up. 

I ran cgminer 4.7.0 for about 2-5 min each time.  maybe that wasn't enough time.

With that popped cap, did you have the older shipment or the most recent one?  Supposedly the most recent shipment was packaged much better.  There were issues with popping caps from the 1st shipment.

35F ?! Put that poor thing inside ! And try it there Smiley
 

 yeah it will run in 35f but not start in 35f  had the same issue.  I need to close my garage door and warm the room to start it. once it runs for 10 minutes I could open the door and let it get cool.

I warmed the thing up to a nice 68F and ran cgminer for an hour or so and no hash.  Each board is the same no hash.  Tried multiple restarts of cgminer ( about 45-60min between each restart) and no luck.  I have a new urt coming tomorrow so hopefully that will make it better?  If not, off to the market.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 20, 2014, 10:14:04 PM
 #763

I don't know if you guys thought of this, but i think its better to make the miner stand sideways , rather than leaving it on one of the side. Works for me and stands rock solid.
No need to worry about the heat under the board anymore ? :



Just unplugged it to reverse that handles just to be safer. And going back to mine.


nice real nice.   now if you buy this

http://www.amazon.com/Nordic-Ware-Natural-Aluminum-Commercial/dp/B000G0KJG4/ref=sr_1_1?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1416521409&sr=1-1&keywords=aluminum+cookie+sheet

and some  of these  to line the tray to  make the tray absorb the heat,prevent fire damage and prevent shorts. I think the prisma may be fully tamed.  even if it burns up due to a hot cap.


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Daltile-Semi-Gloss-Black-4-1-4-in-x-4-1-4-in-Ceramic-Wall-Tile-K11144HD1P2/202027054

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
bigredbutton
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 01:47:55 PM
 #764

So after about a day or two of hashing at 1300-1400GH something happened and now my Prisma only reaches about 1000GH poolside.

I believe one of the boards went out? or isn't hashing for some reason? I didn't make any changes to my system so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. PSU is good and everything checks out, boards switches are correct etc. Running CrazyGuy's version of cgAM on a RPi.

The Kill-a-watt meter fluctuates from 950-1200 Watts. Sort of reminds me of my Titan with the failing die. Hopefully that is not the situation. Any ideas on how to trouble shoot?
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
November 21, 2014, 03:35:16 PM
 #765

So after about a day or two of hashing at 1300-1400GH something happened and now my Prisma only reaches about 1000GH poolside.

I believe one of the boards went out? or isn't hashing for some reason? I didn't make any changes to my system so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. PSU is good and everything checks out, boards switches are correct etc. Running CrazyGuy's version of cgAM on a RPi.

The Kill-a-watt meter fluctuates from 950-1200 Watts. Sort of reminds me of my Titan with the failing die. Hopefully that is not the situation. Any ideas on how to trouble shoot?

Disconnect the boards one at a time, or connect the USB adapter to one at a time, and you see if one is not working or working poorly.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 05:08:33 PM
 #766

So after about a day or two of hashing at 1300-1400GH something happened and now my Prisma only reaches about 1000GH poolside.

I believe one of the boards went out? or isn't hashing for some reason? I didn't make any changes to my system so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. PSU is good and everything checks out, boards switches are correct etc. Running CrazyGuy's version of cgAM on a RPi.

The Kill-a-watt meter fluctuates from 950-1200 Watts. Sort of reminds me of my Titan with the failing die. Hopefully that is not the situation. Any ideas on how to trouble shoot?

Disconnect the boards one at a time, or connect the USB adapter to one at a time, and you see if one is not working or working poorly.


1)power it down fully

 2)pull power plugs from 3 boards. 
 
3)on the power board make sure the fan is plugged into its jack

 4)on the powered board   leave dip switches alone

 5)only have the powered board connect directly to you rasp pi or be controller not to the other boards with the 3 pin white cable.

test each board one at a time following the above procedure.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 10:19:13 PM
 #767

So after about a day or two of hashing at 1300-1400GH something happened and now my Prisma only reaches about 1000GH poolside.

I believe one of the boards went out? or isn't hashing for some reason? I didn't make any changes to my system so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. PSU is good and everything checks out, boards switches are correct etc. Running CrazyGuy's version of cgAM on a RPi.

The Kill-a-watt meter fluctuates from 950-1200 Watts. Sort of reminds me of my Titan with the failing die. Hopefully that is not the situation. Any ideas on how to trouble shoot?

Disconnect the boards one at a time, or connect the USB adapter to one at a time, and you see if one is not working or working poorly.


1)power it down fully

 2)pull power plugs from 3 boards. 
 
3)on the power board make sure the fan is plugged into its jack

 4)on the powered board   leave dip switches alone

 5)only have the powered board connect directly to you rasp pi or be controller not to the other boards with the 3 pin white cable.

test each board one at a time following the above procedure.
I've lost two out of my eight boards last night around midnight.  There is no visible problem I can find, but when plugged directly into the Pi or the BE controller I get nothing.  On the BE controller I get multiple PwrDn counts, but no hardware errors.  The device doesn't warm up, and the boards heat sinks are cool to the touch!

I've connected the two good units back into the chain, distributed the power appropriately and have my fingers crossed.  I hope AM does something to sort out this issue--they've been good about it in the past; I imagine they are scrambling to figure it out as we speak.
DigitalPackrat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
November 26, 2014, 07:52:43 AM
 #768

I hope they are working on something. The board that caught fire and was returned cleared HK customs 11/18 and nothing has happened since then.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1934



View Profile
November 26, 2014, 07:56:11 AM
 #769

I'll check with AM on your return. On the 2 board issue above, make sure the ambient temp is not to cool. I've experienced an issue on the BE where boards shut down once it got too cold.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 26, 2014, 12:51:01 PM
 #770

I'll check with AM on your return. On the 2 board issue above, make sure the ambient temp is not to cool. I've experienced an issue on the BE where boards shut down once it got too cold.

I'm going to attempt to fire those two boards up again this morning. . They are in a DC,  so the temperature is on the low side. I'll let you know what I find.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 26, 2014, 06:02:41 PM
 #771

I'll check with AM on your return. On the 2 board issue above, make sure the ambient temp is not to cool. I've experienced an issue on the BE where boards shut down once it got too cold.

yeah when I ran them with my garage door open they would run with 30F air coming in.  but they would not start.  I needed to close the garage door and let the room get warmer for them to start. then open the garage door to prevent over heating.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 26, 2014, 07:18:57 PM
 #772

I'll check with AM on your return. On the 2 board issue above, make sure the ambient temp is not to cool. I've experienced an issue on the BE where boards shut down once it got too cold.

yeah when I ran them with my garage door open they would run with 30F air coming in.  but they would not start.  I needed to close the garage door and let the room get warmer for them to start. then open the garage door to prevent over heating.

This appeared to be the solution.  Once I let the boards warm up, they appear to be hashing just fine.  Thanks for the tip, it was dead on.

Cheers.
oner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 27, 2014, 03:41:26 AM
 #773

This might seem like a stupid question, but has anyone attempted or even have (2) of those Block Erupter USB to UART Adapters running on a single rPI? are there any addressing issues, or is it even possible?

tia
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
November 27, 2014, 04:00:15 AM
 #774

This might seem like a stupid question, but has anyone attempted or even have (2) of those Block Erupter USB to UART Adapters running on a single rPI? are there any addressing issues, or is it even possible?

tia
I attempted that setup yesterday, but found that (in my hour of messing with it) it made clearing the bad responses difficult.  That said, it did recognize them both (0 and 1) and appeared to be trying to send work to both.  I was dealing with other issues as well, so YMMV.

Cheers.
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
November 27, 2014, 04:45:53 AM
 #775

This might seem like a stupid question, but has anyone attempted or even have (2) of those Block Erupter USB to UART Adapters running on a single rPI? are there any addressing issues, or is it even possible?

tia

Works ok for me. I couldn't get it to work with more than 2 using a hub, but it might have been a problem with the hub.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
oner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 27, 2014, 04:58:40 AM
 #776

This might seem like a stupid question, but has anyone attempted or even have (2) of those Block Erupter USB to UART Adapters running on a single rPI? are there any addressing issues, or is it even possible?

tia

Works ok for me. I couldn't get it to work with more than 2 using a hub, but it might have been a problem with the hub.

thanks guys! i already have one on the way, and with the setup I'm thinking of implementing I'll need (2) of those adapters to run on one rPI.
I really appreciate the knowledge you guys have. It's always good to be able to bounce ideas around, and figure out better ways to have these miners run. 8-)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 30, 2014, 04:45:18 PM
 #777

This might seem like a stupid question, but has anyone attempted or even have (2) of those Block Erupter USB to UART Adapters running on a single rPI? are there any addressing issues, or is it even possible?

tia

Works ok for me. I couldn't get it to work with more than 2 using a hub, but it might have been a problem with the hub.

thanks guys! i already have one on the way, and with the setup I'm thinking of implementing I'll need (2) of those adapters to run on one rPI.
I really appreciate the knowledge you guys have. It's always good to be able to bounce ideas around, and figure out better ways to have these miners run. 8-)



 once you get it let us know how it is working for you. remember to keep it cool  once it is running.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477


View Profile
December 01, 2014, 01:40:45 AM
 #778

So what kind of uptime are people seeing?  After a couple/three weeks here my Prisma is stable with a Pi running Crazy's cgAM for 5-6 days before I have to hard restart everything.  Today when mine crashed (probably due to 20 degree weather, got too cold) I had to warm it up and then do a few cg restarts to get it back to 1.4TH.

Sounds like my experience is pretty normal, but for those of you with a few of these how do you deal with the stability?

 
suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414



View Profile
December 01, 2014, 01:51:02 AM
 #779

So what kind of uptime are people seeing?  After a couple/three weeks here my Prisma is stable with a Pi running Crazy's cgAM for 5-6 days before I have to hard restart everything.  Today when mine crashed (probably due to 20 degree weather, got too cold) I had to warm it up and then do a few cg restarts to get it back to 1.4TH.

Sounds like my experience is pretty normal, but for those of you with a few of these how do you deal with the stability?

They do seem to like being restarted once in a while. I reboot my Pi every 24 hours but haven't figured out the best way to power cycle the Prisma yet, so I'm just doing it manually for now.

GAWSOME class action
(Homero Garza throws Stuart Fraser under the bus)
ION: XPY successor
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 890



View Profile
December 01, 2014, 03:46:20 PM
 #780

So what kind of uptime are people seeing?  After a couple/three weeks here my Prisma is stable with a Pi running Crazy's cgAM for 5-6 days before I have to hard restart everything.  Today when mine crashed (probably due to 20 degree weather, got too cold) I had to warm it up and then do a few cg restarts to get it back to 1.4TH.

Sounds like my experience is pretty normal, but for those of you with a few of these how do you deal with the stability?

They do seem to like being restarted once in a while. I reboot my Pi every 24 hours but haven't figured out the best way to power cycle the Prisma yet, so I'm just doing it manually for now.
I've found that my Prismas don't like to run for much longer than 48-hours in the DC.  I've had to restart them from the rPi three consecutive times now, through Minera.  That said, if you catch them before they cool down, you don't have to restart cgminer as many times before it "catches."

I'm playing with the auto-restart function in Minera--we'll have to wait for it to die again before I can test the settings.

Cheers.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!