Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 10:00:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] ASICMiner Prisma 1.4th/s - 1.47 BTC  (Read 48355 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 02:05:47 AM
 #741

A10 Cubie install is looking very good. Using Cubian as base and installed from my repository with manual installation steps, no modifications. 2 Prismas chained through 1 usb-uart adapter. Avg 2.9 to 3 th/s at base clock.





ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 08:44:19 PM
 #742

I can happily say that after 4 days of pain its hashing properly Smiley

I split the power into two PSU's after all , so i can sleep without being worried.

http://i.imgur.com/nBEoEAx.png


To CrazyGuy:
I might try that Cubian later if my miners arrive, looks like you're getting some extra hashrate with that Smiley
Chris_Sabian
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:01:20 PM
 #743

What did you do to fix it?
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 09:15:33 PM
 #744

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?
Chris_Sabian
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 10:29:45 PM
 #745

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 04:22:21 AM
 #746

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 05:37:12 AM
 #747

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 07:36:11 AM
 #748

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 07:46:20 AM
 #749

Seems to be too cold in my garage with the other miners for it.  It just does not boot the boards anymore.  Really frustrating.  It is too loud for the basement LOL
Plus a fire hazzard with the dam boards burning up.

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 09:15:59 AM
 #750

Ok on the Prisma not running end.
It is 21 degrees F in my mining room.  So yes below freezing.  I used a fan speed control and slowed the fan way down and the Prisma finally starts up.  So it does not like the old or too warm.  On the same hand other miners like the SP30, Bitcrane, S4 and more run massively well at these temps.
It does not like to stay running long though.  I will keep adjusting the fan to find the sweet spot in temp for it.
I may boost the freq to see if the extra heat helps.  I have it at 240 now.

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 10:18:32 AM
 #751

Interesting development.  Since I could not get it to stay running with the fan control I hooked it back up to the normal board control and plugged it in.  At first it did not find the boards or they would not hash.  After a couple restarts of the controller it started hashing.
Left the room and a little while later the smoke detector goes off.  The board that had been dropping out first when it was running, a side board caught fire.  It was quick and nothing big but pop it did.  So it is disconnected after testing the other three boards which again came up ok just dont want to hash at low temps.  I am going to have to write an update to my initial review as these are not very safe.  Something is wrong in the string design I think.  The Tube and Rockminer T1 are working great at the lower temps better than when it was 80 degrees f out.
FriedCat if you or any of you partners are reading this, I have tried to contact you through several channels and PMs here. You gave a response to a vendor who is not sure I can use your response or not. I understand you are busy but I would like to have an official response before I publish my update about the Prismas.  Many people are worried they will burn their homes down.  You can PM me here or contact me through my email on my articles.  Also let me know how to RMA this unit please.
Thank you.

DigitalPackrat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 11:43:12 AM
 #752

Well that image is becoming a bit too common. Do you know if the cap was there before the incident?
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 12:17:16 PM
 #753

Yes all caps were accounted.
The fan was on full and working fine.  It was not heat that did this but a popping cap.  I have seen so many of them over the years in different computer gear.

Well that image is becoming a bit too common. Do you know if the cap was there before the incident?

CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 02:41:54 PM
 #754

Yes all caps were accounted.
The fan was on full and working fine.  It was not heat that did this but a popping cap.  I have seen so many of them over the years in different computer gear.

Well that image is becoming a bit too common. Do you know if the cap was there before the incident?

Please post the details in friedcat's thread as I don't believe he's following mine. You'll need to contact the reseller you purchased from and they should provide you with details for RMA. If you purchased directly from friedcat I'll see if I can get him to respond to you.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 02:59:45 PM
 #755

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

I agree on that , i could not boot it up when i had the miner outside where its colder, was not possible to boot it up at all. But now its inside with open windows and working, i thought that was just my imagination , good to know that i was right.
Chris_Sabian
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 03:43:29 PM
 #756

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

I agree on that , i could not boot it up when i had the miner outside where its colder, was not possible to boot it up at all. But now its inside with open windows and working, i thought that was just my imagination , good to know that i was right.

This is interesting.  I had my prisma in my workshop where it is currently ~35F.  I brought the miner inside to warm up. 

I ran cgminer 4.7.0 for about 2-5 min each time.  maybe that wasn't enough time.

With that popped cap, did you have the older shipment or the most recent one?  Supposedly the most recent shipment was packaged much better.  There were issues with popping caps from the 1st shipment.
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 03:59:52 PM
 #757

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

I agree on that , i could not boot it up when i had the miner outside where its colder, was not possible to boot it up at all. But now its inside with open windows and working, i thought that was just my imagination , good to know that i was right.

This is interesting.  I had my prisma in my workshop where it is currently ~35F.  I brought the miner inside to warm up. 

I ran cgminer 4.7.0 for about 2-5 min each time.  maybe that wasn't enough time.

With that popped cap, did you have the older shipment or the most recent one?  Supposedly the most recent shipment was packaged much better.  There were issues with popping caps from the 1st shipment.

35F ?! Put that poor thing inside ! And try it there Smiley
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 04:04:50 PM
 #758

What did you do to fix it?

As i said before.  Instead of using AM cgminer from crazy's minera,  i compiled another one from github.com/blockerupter.  Worked much better for me,  filtered some of the errors and seemed to be booting the boards much better than before,  i still had to do few restarts and after it boots up everything,  i just leave it to do some work.  From the beggining i thought it would be something terribly wrong,  but it just the miner being stupid and not booting up properly. And also rather than spamming the miner restart button.  Its better to keep reopening  the cgminer through the terminal, more info,  quicker and finding the boards better than through  minera for some reason.. 
So whats up with yours atm.?  Still struggling to start it up at all?  Or do you get some hashrate going at least?

Ops.  I actually replied to your post:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=795477.msg9571067#msg9571067

So I tried cgminer 4.7.0 like you suggested and I'm still getting the BET0 errors.  I tried re-starting cgminer ~20 times and still the same error.

When it starts do you leave it running for a while ? I'm still getting the errors also its spamming cgminer with it , but it stops at some point then it starts accepting shares and the hashrate shows up after that, sometimes its hashing very slow , usually when it boots up more than 500gh/s i leave it , then it slowly starts up all the chips on the boards , but eventually hashes on full power.
Do you get any accepted shares at all ?

is this what  happens chris ?  do you wait 10 minutes to see if it improves

I recommend this as well, especially from a cold boot. I find they are a bit harder to get started when it's really cold, but once the prisma starts warming up, boards start coming to life.

I agree on that , i could not boot it up when i had the miner outside where its colder, was not possible to boot it up at all. But now its inside with open windows and working, i thought that was just my imagination , good to know that i was right.

This is interesting.  I had my prisma in my workshop where it is currently ~35F.  I brought the miner inside to warm up. 

I ran cgminer 4.7.0 for about 2-5 min each time.  maybe that wasn't enough time.

With that popped cap, did you have the older shipment or the most recent one?  Supposedly the most recent shipment was packaged much better.  There were issues with popping caps from the 1st shipment.

35F ?! Put that poor thing inside ! And try it there Smiley
 

 yeah it will run in 35f but not start in 35f  had the same issue.  I need to close my garage door and warm the room to start it. once it runs for 10 minutes I could open the door and let it get cool.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 04:42:56 PM
 #759

That stinks! I noticed it is right by the handle which gets very hot. On mine I bent the handles back so the chips can get more air. It looks like the chips don't like to be near any metal.

Interesting development.  Since I could not get it to stay running with the fan control I hooked it back up to the normal board control and plugged it in.  At first it did not find the boards or they would not hash.  After a couple restarts of the controller it started hashing.
Left the room and a little while later the smoke detector goes off.  The board that had been dropping out first when it was running, a side board caught fire.  It was quick and nothing big but pop it did.  So it is disconnected after testing the other three boards which again came up ok just dont want to hash at low temps.  I am going to have to write an update to my initial review as these are not very safe.  Something is wrong in the string design I think.  The Tube and Rockminer T1 are working great at the lower temps better than when it was 80 degrees f out.
FriedCat if you or any of you partners are reading this, I have tried to contact you through several channels and PMs here. You gave a response to a vendor who is not sure I can use your response or not. I understand you are busy but I would like to have an official response before I publish my update about the Prismas.  Many people are worried they will burn their homes down.  You can PM me here or contact me through my email on my articles.  Also let me know how to RMA this unit please.
Thank you.


that metal is shiny and could reflect heat back towards the caps.  I reversed my handles for running the prisma
I also placed some ceramic tiles under it and behind it.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
aluam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 05:15:35 PM
 #760

I don't know if you guys thought of this, but i think its better to make the miner stand sideways , rather than leaving it on one of the side. Works for me and stands rock solid.
No need to worry about the heat under the board anymore ? :

http://i.imgur.com/Hl7Wj0bs.png

Just unplugged it to reverse that handles just to be safer. And going back to mine.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!