Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 07:35:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 [279] 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 ... 1240 »
  Print  
Author Topic: CCminer(SP-MOD) Modded GPU kernels.  (Read 2347498 times)
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 02:17:08 PM
 #5561

I'm seeing regression in pool-side hash rates as well.

ypool.ca, X11 algo, git at 562f049 with 7a47e66 reverted.

Some fun new (to me) log messages like this:

Code:
[2015-09-03 07:11:42] accepted: 4950/4995 (99.10%), 5218 kH/s yes!
[2015-09-03 07:11:46] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 960, 5224 Temp= 60C Fan= 10%
[2015-09-03 07:11:54] accepted: 4951/4996 (99.10%), 5224 kH/s yes!
[2015-09-03 07:12:00] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 960, 5224 Temp= 60C Fan=  8%
[2015-09-03 07:12:08] nonce ee4b0e00 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:10] nonce b6f40e00 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:13] nonce 672b0d00 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:15] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 960, 5224 Temp= 60C Fan=  6%
[2015-09-03 07:12:20] nonce d34d0700 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:23] nonce 9fae0c00 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:29] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 960, 5222 Temp= 60C Fan=  5%
[2015-09-03 07:12:29] nonce 223a0300 was already sent 115 seconds ago
[2015-09-03 07:12:33] stratum connection reset
[2015-09-03 07:12:33] mine.xpool.ca:2000 x11 block 330186
[2015-09-03 07:12:34] accepted: 4952/4997 (99.10%), 5223 kH/s yes!
[2015-09-03 07:12:36] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 960, 5224 Temp= 64C Fan=  5%

The drop off is pretty apparent.



I think I'll look into a component-izing refactor as my next contribution.  There are too many globals being tickled all over the show to have confidence that any changes (outside the kernels) aren't going to have side effects.

my 50cents:  the miners may find several nonce per loop, and I would bet that it restart mining at the nonce of the 1st one even when it finds a second one, which means it finds it again, in the next iteration.

there never been any real duplicate problem (may-be zrc but it a bit special on itself), just some screw up in the miner...

This is bug I have been tracking, the bug is not present in release 63. After a while the miner will start to work on data it worked on 2 minutes ago. causing duplicate shares) You should get the latest version of the sourcecode though, I disabled the duplicate checking because it slows down the mining. Bether to let the pool find out and reset the connection.

In release 64, Lya2v2 seems to be affected. Quark is fine.

edit: It doesn't happen on pools/coins wich is switching blocks or difficulty rapidly.


Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
1714678556
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714678556

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714678556
Reply with quote  #2

1714678556
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714678556
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714678556

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714678556
Reply with quote  #2

1714678556
Report to moderator
t-nelson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 02:39:11 PM
 #5562

I'm seeing regression in pool-side hash rates as well.

ypool.ca, X11 algo, git at 562f049 with 7a47e66 reverted.

Some fun new (to me) log messages like this:

-- SNIP --

The drop off is pretty apparent.

-- SNIP --

I think I'll look into a component-izing refactor as my next contribution.  There are too many globals being tickled all over the show to have confidence that any changes (outside the kernels) aren't going to have side effects.

my 50cents:  the miners may find several nonce per loop, and I would bet that it restart mining at the nonce of the 1st one even when it finds a second one, which means it finds it again, in the next iteration.

there never been any real duplicate problem (may-be zrc but it a bit special on itself), just some screw up in the miner...

This is bug I have been tracking, the bug is not present in release 63. After a while the miner will start to work on data it worked on 2 minutes ago. causing duplicate shares) You should get the latest version of the sourcecode though, I disabled the duplicate checking because it slows down the mining. Bether to let the pool find out and reset the connection.

In release 64, Lya2v2 seems to be affected. Quark is fine.

edit: It doesn't happen on pools/coins wich is switching blocks or difficulty rapidly.

Yup.  I'm seeing a bunch of dupe shares now at HEAD.  It seems to start ~2min after the last difficulty adjustment, like you suggest.  https://github.com/sp-hash/ccminer/blob/windows/ccminer.cpp#L1974  is starting to look suspect...

BTC:   1K4yxRwZB8DpFfCgeJnFinSqeU23dQFEMu
DASH: XcRSCstQpLn8rgEyS6yH4Kcma4PfcGSJxe
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 03:36:55 PM
 #5563

Found the bug I think. I put the reset flag in the change difficulty method in utils.cpp. Again testing something and it got commited. There is a problem when the pool is changeing the difficulty rapidly. ccminer will submit shares with the old difficulty, and you get reject rates.. Try lyra2v2 on p2pool.pl 5% reject rate.

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
kama
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 03:46:03 PM
 #5564

sp_ i want to ask you something buddy

why don't you compile it with mingw64 for windows ? it is more good than visual studio's compiler because the program that compiled with mingw64 gives more good hashrate or it can be mingw32 too

NiceHashSupport
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 501



View Profile WWW
September 03, 2015, 03:48:57 PM
 #5565

Found the bug I think. I put the reset flag in the change difficulty method in utils.cpp. Again testing something and it got commited. There is a problem when the pool is changeing the difficulty rapidly. ccminer will submit shares with the old difficulty, and you get reject rates.. Try lyra2v2 on p2pool.pl 5% reject rate.


I hope you know that by stratum specifications, when miner receives new diff, that diff shall be used for every next job. And NOT current jobs as so many miners (even official cgminer) and many pools work wrong way.

When coding a miner, it is simply best to have another variable in job/work structure called diff. Compare each share to this diff.

When pool provides new diff, you just save this diff and apply it to every next job that arrives.

If you make it like this (by official stratum specifications), you will also reach maximum efficiency on NiceHash.

If you use old/wrong principle where new diff is immediately applied, your miners will be loosing few percent of hashrate on NiceHash and causing slight rejects with share above target.

NiceHash.com - Largest Crypto-Mining Marketplace
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 03:52:32 PM
 #5566

sp_ i want to ask you something buddy
why don't you compile it with mingw64 for windows ? it is more good than visual studio's compiler because the program that compiled with mingw64 gives more good hashrate or it can be mingw32 too

x86 builds are always faster on windows. 32bit.

The latest cuda compiler (7.5 rc1) shows a drop in hashrate of 10% in 64 bit and 30% in 32 bit. (x11)

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2015, 03:53:06 PM
 #5567

sp_ i want to ask you something buddy

why don't you compile it with mingw64 for windows ? it is more good than visual studio's compiler because the program that compiled with mingw64 gives more good hashrate or may be it can be mingw32 too
actually the compilation is done with nvcc not visual studio compiler and it would still be the case with mingw32 or 64 (unless you recompile cuda entirely...)

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 513



View Profile
September 03, 2015, 03:56:10 PM
 #5568

 sp  could you please put the http protocol back in the source code. I can't wallet mine. And djm lyra2v2 is the same. thx    
Well I still can't wallet mine with latest versions.  http protocol failed.

Does it work in the 1.6.6 fork by tvpruvot?
I don't know sp . Do you mean 1.5.64   ?
my version works with solomining (and was tested with...) so it is probably on your hand (wrong rpc port, username or password)
I know someone who is using your older version because the new ones won't work solo mining.
maybe cuda build app files have changed ..because about the same time sp releases aren't working either.
I'm going to try an older version of lyra2v2  of yours djm.
older ? there are 4 releases which are mostly bug correction (and compatibility issues) and none of these changes are related to solo mining.
all are there, and all are working: https://github.com/djm34/ccminer-lyra/releases

regarding solo mining, I don't know what is the default vtc port, I use a custom config file to define which port are used and some other settings.
(make sure as well, that you are using the latest wallet...  Grin)

also I am using --api-bind 0 (as it becomes problematic when there are several instances) and obviously don't use the same port for api-bind and the wallet

edit: there was a changed pushed by pallas to bmw256, however I don't think it would break solo mining, you can probably test that with testnet
Ok thank you djm. The other person had to use your version before ver4 to make it work.
But still something happened , related?, to solo mining about the time your oldest version was released I think. Will try your oldest tomorrow.
But to clarify ... sp r43 solo mining a coin works....now with exactly the same bat file and using r55 or r60 or r62 it won't work.
Will try again tomorrow. thx
I have tested solo mining Quarkcoin with release 64 now on my system.
Command line: ccminer -O name:password -o http://localhost:8372 -a quark --no-gbt
This happened:


ccminer actually crashed:
Quote
Unhandled exception at 0x00C99824 in ccminer.exe: Stack cookie instrumentation code detected a stack-based buffer overrun.

sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 04:08:30 PM
 #5569

If you use old/wrong principle where new diff is immediately applied, your miners will be loosing few percent of hashrate on NiceHash and causing slight rejects with share above target.

Yes and this is a problem since the threads continue to mine for a while and send results. T Nelson and Pallas have submitted some changes to make the miner exit quicker. Hopefully the next ccminer will be bether.

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 04:09:46 PM
 #5570

ccminer actually crashed:
Quote
Unhandled exception at 0x00C99824 in ccminer.exe: Stack cookie instrumentation code detected a stack-based buffer overrun.

same crash if you run ccminer with a paramater that is not recognized.. like

ccminer --not-implemented

crash. Doesn't exit properly on windows.

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
NiceHashSupport
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 501



View Profile WWW
September 03, 2015, 04:13:26 PM
 #5571

If you use old/wrong principle where new diff is immediately applied, your miners will be loosing few percent of hashrate on NiceHash and causing slight rejects with share above target.

Yes and this is a problem since the threads continue to mine for a while and send results. T Nelson and Pallas have submitted some changes to make the miner exit quicker. Hopefully the next ccminer will be bether.


I do not think you understood me what I wrote, please read again.

Here is more about this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg12165885#msg12165885 (with example what is wrong)

We submitted this even to official cgminer, at first, they included the patch, but later revoked as there are many pools that don't work correctly, even ckpool. And since creators of ckpool = creators of cgminer, patch will probably never be in cgminer.

But hopefully, you will not make the same mistake.

NiceHash.com - Largest Crypto-Mining Marketplace
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 513



View Profile
September 03, 2015, 04:31:19 PM
 #5572

ccminer actually crashed:
Quote
Unhandled exception at 0x00C99824 in ccminer.exe: Stack cookie instrumentation code detected a stack-based buffer overrun.

same crash if you run ccminer with a paramater that is not recognized.. like

ccminer --not-implemented

crash. Doesn't exit properly on windows.
Without --no-gbt it crashes too:
Code:
[2015-09-03 18:18:28] 1 miner thread started, using 'quark' algorithm.
[2015-09-03 18:18:28] Binding thread 0 to cpu 0 (mask 1)
[2015-09-03 18:19:37] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 14004
[2015-09-03 18:20:49] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 13897
[2015-09-03 18:22:16] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 13907
[2015-09-03 18:23:37] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 13879
[2015-09-03 18:24:52] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 13712
[2015-09-03 18:26:02] GPU #0: GeForce GTX 970, 13762
[2015-09-03 18:26:57] JSON-RPC call failed: Invalid parameter
[2015-09-03 18:26:57] submit_upstream_work json_rpc_call failed
I think it happens when ccminer is trying to send a result.

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 04:51:47 PM
Last edit: September 03, 2015, 05:08:36 PM by joblo
 #5573

linux guys, check out the kopiemtu thread on litecoin.org. i solved the overclocking multiple cards issue around page 60-65 or so.  i run driver 346.59 and cuda 6.5

I finally got OC and fan control on a second card. I initially tried a dummy plug but that didn't work.
However, with the dummy plug still connected to the second card I was able to get coolbits to
work by doing the following:

nvidia-xconfig -a

edit xorg.conf to add the following to each screen section:

    Option         "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "True"
    Option         "Coolbits" "12"

This is essentially the same procedure referenced by hashbrown,, without the detailed explanation.
He states a monitor needs to be connected for the initial config so I think the dummy plug was useful.
It still works after removing the plug.

Thanks.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 05:22:30 PM
Last edit: September 03, 2015, 05:36:59 PM by sp_
 #5574

On p2pool.pl I get this when a block is changed and the diff is low. As you can see ccminer uses 0.8 second to shut down the threads, and by that time it has found alot of solutions.. The hashrate is also lower when the default diff is as low as this..

you can reproduce with this bat:

ccminer.exe -a lyra2v2 -u Vpir9UQWjDmajnC81eNS6nXVH2qAGos6Ma -p d=x -o http://eu.p2pool.pl:9171

I will try to solve it.




Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 05:30:22 PM
 #5575

I do not think you understood me what I wrote, please read again.
Here is more about this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg12165885#msg12165885 (with example what is wrong)
We submitted this even to official cgminer, at first, they included the patch, but later revoked as there are many pools that don't work correctly, even ckpool. And since creators of ckpool = creators of cgminer, patch will probably never be in cgminer.
But hopefully, you will not make the same mistake.

A you can see in the picture above. CCminer has a problem when the pool changes the difficulty, but on Nicehash we get few rejects since the default difficulty is much higher than in the p2pool.pl example.


Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1094


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 05:45:13 PM
 #5576

Found the bug I think. I put the reset flag in the change difficulty method in utils.cpp. Again testing something and it got commited.

That pretty much fixed the low hashrate on pool AND hashrate flooding! :-)
You can revert the "prevent hashrate flooding" fix, now it's kinda reporting dry Wink

NiceHashSupport
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 501



View Profile WWW
September 03, 2015, 05:57:15 PM
 #5577

Found the bug I think. I put the reset flag in the change difficulty method in utils.cpp. Again testing something and it got commited. There is a problem when the pool is changeing the difficulty rapidly. ccminer will submit shares with the old difficulty, and you get reject rates.. Try lyra2v2 on p2pool.pl 5% reject rate.


I hope you know that by stratum specifications, when miner receives new diff, that diff shall be used for every next job. And NOT current jobs as so many miners (even official cgminer) and many pools work wrong way.

When coding a miner, it is simply best to have another variable in job/work structure called diff. Compare each share to this diff.

When pool provides new diff, you just save this diff and apply it to every next job that arrives.

If you make it like this (by official stratum specifications), you will also reach maximum efficiency on NiceHash.

If you use old/wrong principle where new diff is immediately applied, your miners will be loosing few percent of hashrate on NiceHash and causing slight rejects with share above target.

I'm quite familiar with them, and I'm also rather sure this is incorrect. You do NOT apply it to every next job that arrives, it only takes effect after a new job with cleanjobs = true has arrived.

Cleanjobs flag set to true only signals miners to drop all current work and start this new job. It doesn't have anything to do with diff. I don't exactly understand what you are trying to say here with "NOT apply" ?

I do not think you understood me what I wrote, please read again.
Here is more about this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg12165885#msg12165885 (with example what is wrong)
We submitted this even to official cgminer, at first, they included the patch, but later revoked as there are many pools that don't work correctly, even ckpool. And since creators of ckpool = creators of cgminer, patch will probably never be in cgminer.
But hopefully, you will not make the same mistake.

A you can see in the picture above. CCminer has a problem when the pool changes the difficulty, but on Nicehash we get few rejects since the default difficulty is much higher than in the p2pool.pl example.



This more looks like a stale share, since shares were sent after pool informed you about the new block.

NiceHash.com - Largest Crypto-Mining Marketplace
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 06:04:50 PM
 #5578

This more looks like a stale share, since shares were sent after pool informed you about the new block.

Yes it is.
I am working on code that will exit the miner threads faster after a new block/diff change.

Ccminer with -i 19 will mine 2048 hashes every round. In the current version it has to wait untill all the 2048 hashes are done, and there are no test to exit before the cpu-test.

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 07:53:23 PM
 #5579

I improved it abit with the last commit. The fix is a stupid fix. Inserted alot of tests.. Must be a bether way to do this.

Kill the thread? I will build another release, since 64 had bugs.



Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 03, 2015, 08:08:09 PM
 #5580

I point my rig to nicehash I have 26,5Mhash for the rig verified on the pool with no rejects..
p2pool takes some time to get stable. (when de difficulty reaches a good value)

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
Pages: « 1 ... 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 [279] 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 ... 1240 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!