Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 02:37:52 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 [289] 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 ... 1240 »
  Print  
Author Topic: CCminer(SP-MOD) Modded GPU kernels.  (Read 2347498 times)
myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 05:04:05 PM
 #5761

I dug around the Kopiemtu thread for the relevant bits, and seems this is the most important one:
In xorg.conf, just before the coolbits statement:
Code:
Option         "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "True"

If I read right, this is how one sets up fake monitors on headless systems.

This will not work for every driver version. Will probably require this command to setup a fresh xorg.conf if a driver update is needed.
Code:
sudo nvidia-xconfig −−enable-all-gpus

I dunno, since I don't have a Linux system currently to test this on. I'd already been able to setup fake monitors (manually) before, so I know didn't use this at the time, but I did have 1 monitor attached to the 1st GPU, so mine was not a fully headless setup.

Edit: better yet, check the source. Hashbrown looks to be doing good stuff over there!  Smiley
https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16800.msg266088#msg266088

Cheers!

Even if you use Bitcoin through Tor, the way transactions are handled by the network makes anonymity difficult to achieve. Do not expect your transactions to be anonymous unless you really know what you're doing.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714660672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714660672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714660672
Reply with quote  #2

1714660672
Report to moderator
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1094


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 05:23:58 PM
 #5762

Thanks everyone, I'll give all this a try asap.
Hopefully I'll then be able to test small kernel enhancements :-)

scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1793
Merit: 1028



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2015, 05:25:22 PM
Last edit: September 10, 2015, 01:09:47 PM by scryptr
 #5763

Or maybe on windows it's different...

Yeps. On Windows it is extremely simple to set fixed clocks, fans, overclocking, so you can easily have a "benchmark platform".

With a headless Linux system I don't think there's any solution for fixed fans yet, others might know differently. I previously had fixed fans and clocks on Linux, but I perfectly recall that I specifically had to configure/attach a monitor in order to get that working at the time.

to set the fan on linux just test this

https://gist.github.com/squadbox/e5b5f7bcd86259d627ed

Thanks, but I fear it needs a monitor or the x session will not start... Or will it?

NOT ANY MORE--

If you have one of the latest driver packages, you can use nvidia-config to enable cards without monitors to be adjusted:

"sudo nvidia-xconfig -a --cool-bits=28 --allow-empty-initial-configuration" (Source: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=826901.msg12279696#msg12279696)

The numbeer "28" is a bitsum that signifies clocks, fanspeed, and power controls.

This was in this thread, earlier. I think that "-a" and the longer "--allow-empty-initial-configuration" are equivalent. THEY ARE NOT EQUIVALENT!  Command "-a"  = "--enable-all-gpus"  

--scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
Grim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 252


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 05:29:17 PM
 #5764

Final release of CUDA 7.5 toolkit (including some fixes)!
t-nelson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 05:58:05 PM
 #5765

I remember getting the number of SMM/SMXs in the CryptoNight miner... can't remember how, though.

Yep. TSIV's Cryptonight ccminer complains whenever the blocks/threads (don't recall which one now) is not a multiple of the SMX/SMM on the card. IIRC, it does this also accurately for cards that did not exist when it was released, so the approach is not LUT based.

Right - I can't remember if I wrote that or not.

Nice, I'll have to dig into these APIs a bit deeper once I get all of the cleanup I have planned done.

BTC:   1K4yxRwZB8DpFfCgeJnFinSqeU23dQFEMu
DASH: XcRSCstQpLn8rgEyS6yH4Kcma4PfcGSJxe
myagui
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1154
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 06:30:51 PM
 #5766

@t-nelson: extending the invite that every cuda miner developer has probably received at some point:
Some of the usual suspects (both developers & community) hang out at #ccminer @freenode. It is not the most active channel in freenode, but it is a great place to exchange ideas with the other developers and the few of us there always try to help each other out (testing, etc).

In case that IRC is not your usual thing, maybe webchat will get you there: #ccminer webchat

DragonSlayer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 06:53:47 PM
 #5767

TPB52 7 is best for mining. My gtx 980 make 11.2-11.6 Mh. 960 gtx make 6 Mh. Super!
For rig (2x980+1x960) hash is 28500!
PS. It is LYRA2v2! +100 git 1052 works!

Would you share your command line?  I am running a 1x980 and 1x960 in a box.  I have the hardest time to configuring both together.

Thanks

Slava_K
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 08, 2015, 07:02:43 PM
Last edit: September 08, 2015, 07:30:05 PM by Slava_K
 #5768

TPB52 7 is best for mining. My gtx 980 make 11.2-11.6 Mh. 960 gtx make 6 Mh. Super!
For rig (2x980+1x960) hash is 28500!
PS. It is LYRA2v2! +100 git 1052 works!

Would you share your command line?  I am running a 1x980 and 1x960 in a box.  I have the hardest time to configuring both together.

Thanks
All works by default, card OC'd to 1380 Mhz. Ccminer recompiled with TBP52=7 setted in lyra2REve.cu. Thanks to _SP!

                                 
                  █████████████████████████████▒
               ▒███████████████████████████████▓░
             ▒████▓                         ░▓███▒░
         ░▒▓████▓                             ░▓███▓▓▒▒░
▓▓▓▓▓████████▓▒               ░░░▒▒▒▒▒░         ░▒█████████▓▓▓▓▓
████████▓▒                ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒         ░░▒▒████████
▓██▓                   ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓███▒░             ███▓
▒███                 ░▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓█████▒░         ▓▓█░
░█▓█                ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓█████▓██░     ▓███
 ▓██▓             ▒██▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░  ░▓█▓      ███▓
 ▒█▓█            ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░░░░░▒▒░ ░▒░░▓███▓      ▒███▒
  █▓█▓          ▓█▓▒▓▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒▒░░▒▒▓█████░      ███▓
  ▒█▓█░        ░██▓▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒░ ░░░ ░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓█▒█░     ▓███▒
   ▓▓▓▓        ███▒░░░░░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓ █░    ▒███▒
   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▒▒ █▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▒░▒░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓ ▒█    ░████
    ░▓▒▓▒ ░▓████▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒  ██   ░████
     ▒▓▓██  ▓████▓▒▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒▒░ ░██▒  ░████▒
      ▓████  ░██████▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░  ░███▓  ░████░
       ▒████   ▓█▓░█████▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░▒▓████░  ▒████▒
        ░████▒  ▒░   ▒██████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓██████▓░   ▓████▒
          ████▓         ░▒▓██████████████▓░░    ░████▓
           ▒████▒                              ▓████░
             ▓████░                          ▒████▒
              ░████▓░                      ▒████▓
                ░████▓░                  ▒████▓░
                  ░████▓░              ▒████▓
                     ░▓████▒          ▓████▒
                       ░▒████▓░    ▒████▓
                          ░▓████▓▓████▓░
                             ▒█████▓░
                               ░▒▒░
✬✬✬✬✬















[/cen
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1051


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 08:51:29 PM
 #5769

frames? ... i build them custom ...

the frame ( 1.5mm square aluminium tubing ) - edge connectors - screws and lugs - angle iron ( 90 degree edging ) ... all this comes to approx $70.00aud ...

but initially i had to buy the cutting and measuring equipment as well as the files and mallets ( yes plastic head mallets - not hammers ) ...

parts alone - not counting labour - if you are looking at adding teh countless hours to design the thing in the first place ...

prototype 1 - prototype 2 and now prototype 3 is probably the design we are going with ...

hope that helps bathrobehero ...

#crysx

Thanks, it does. I have similar prices but personally, I don't find that to be worth it and I'm much more comfortable spending that ~50 USD into better PSUs.

I must say that I didn't have any problem benchmarking amd cards: if the room was hot, I'd put the fans at high speed, run the miner and wait a couple minute to stabilize, and that's it. I could make 100 changes to a kernel in a day and check them all, accurately.

On nvidia I have throttling problems I can't easily fix (the cards reduce clock speed in a number of situations I just can't predict), overclocking/downclocking is more difficult as the cards tend to change clocks by themselves, and the hashrates fluctuates wildly, and even changes between ccminer runs.
The rig is headless so I only have nvidia-smi to work with, and it can't set the fan speed.
So when I make a little kernel speedup, I spend more time benchmarking it (to be sure it's indeed an improvement), than making the improvement itself :-/
Maybe there are some nvidia-smi settings to make it more stable?
Or maybe on windows it's different...
Finally I may need a workstation with a nvidia as main card, and work on it.

You should probably disable boost in the bios of the card. Or even set custom fan speed/clock speeds if you want.

Not your keys, not your coins!
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 09:03:53 PM
 #5770

TPB52 7 is best for mining. My gtx 980 make 11.2-11.6 Mh. 960 gtx make 6 Mh. Super!
For rig (2x980+1x960) hash is 28500!
PS. It is LYRA2v2! +100 git 1052 works!
Would you share your command line?  I am running a 1x980 and 1x960 in a box.  I have the hardest time to configuring both together.
Thanks

I have submitted a fix to autoconfig bether launch configs on the gtx 980 and the gtx 960. The 980ti and the 950 is probobly off. @latest github

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2898
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 09:09:15 PM
 #5771

It may be time for me to use multiple work items on one Lyra2 execution... but I'm worried the increased memory accesses for the matrix (which I've worked to eliminate) will eat me alive.

In my latests fixes I added more memory accesses and speed.. Smiley

Perhaps this is the opposite of what you are supposed to do when doing a modded kernal, but I think it was fun..
Only latency wankers working for NVIDIA it seems...


Still slow though. You know the opensource is slow, because the market makes it not profitable to mine.

Your optimized kernals might end up here wolf0, And I think they can afford to pay you enough:


Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
hashbrown9000
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 09:41:24 PM
 #5772

@myagui, yes you are on point about enabling the fake X screens on multiple cards, (which then allows you to set fan speeds, mem clocks and core clocks with Nvidia X Server settings program).  Details here: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=16800.msg266088#msg266088.

I am running an older driver (346.59 with CUDA 6.5.19, LUbuntu 14.04), so the attribute names and procedure may be slightly different.

Pinkcoin:
ETH:
VTC:
BTC:
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2015, 03:25:30 AM
 #5773

anybody got the standard and sp_ mod hashrate for Monero on the new 950?

and anyone know if there's a way in linux to get this card to overclock?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121980&ignorebbr=1&cm_re=PPSSKQKDFPGTFN-_-14-121-980-_-Product


< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1793
Merit: 1028



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2015, 09:44:17 AM
 #5774

anybody got the standard and sp_ mod hashrate for Monero on the new 950?

and anyone know if there's a way in linux to get this card to overclock?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121980&ignorebbr=1&cm_re=PPSSKQKDFPGTFN-_-14-121-980-_-Product



LINUX OVERCLOCKING--

You will need to do some web research.  It depends on your Linux drivers.  HashBrown has written and posted on this topic in the Kopiemtu blog thread, his work is for slightly older drivers.  Only a few posts back in this thread, I mentioned how to use nvidia-xconfig to set CoolBits.  This is possible with the very latest nVidia drivers.

Frankly, I would write a tutorial but I haven't updated my drivers and actually done it myself.  My system is stable, my 970 cards are getting 16.5-17Mh/s on Quark as is.  I have been reading all over the web about Linux overclocking, though.  Useful search terms include CoolBits, nvidia-smi,  nvidia-xconfig.  The very latest nVidia drivers simplify things; some of the posts that are 2-3 years old are outdated and involve more complicated configuration editing.

Apparently, the "nvidia-xconfig" command will write out a config for your system, but only with the latest drivers.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
blue-yu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 12:29:05 PM
 #5775

Question from a friend: He have a couple of Nvidia GT 9600. Can he mine anything with them?
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1793
Merit: 1028



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2015, 12:40:21 PM
 #5776

Question from a friend: He have a couple of Nvidia GT 9600. Can he mine anything with them?

I have a 9800 GTX+ card, the top of the line for the series.  It mined script at 14kh/s using CudaMiner.  My 550ti got 90kh/s, and the 520 that came in the system got 21kh/s.        --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
blue-yu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 02:01:42 PM
 #5777

Question from a friend: He have a couple of Nvidia GT 9600. Can he mine anything with them?

I have a 9800 GTX+ card, the top of the line for the series.  It mined script at 14kh/s using CudaMiner.  My 550ti got 90kh/s, and the 520 that came in the system got 21kh/s.        --scryptr


Good old cudaminer Smiley I assume that ccminer don't work with old cards like that?
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1793
Merit: 1028



View Profile WWW
September 09, 2015, 02:29:30 PM
 #5778

Question from a friend: He have a couple of Nvidia GT 9600. Can he mine anything with them?

I have a 9800 GTX+ card, the top of the line for the series.  It mined script at 14kh/s using CudaMiner.  My 550ti got 90kh/s, and the 520 that came in the system got 21kh/s.        --scryptr


Good old cudaminer Smiley I assume that ccminer don't work with old cards like that?

COMPUTE 1.0 -

CCminer works with compute 2.0 and up, depending on the coder who wrote it.  A 550ti is "Compute 2.1".  SP_ codes for compute 5.0 (Maxwell, 750ti) and later. A 9800 is Compute 1.0.  So, no luck, for any practical mining with the 9XXX series.  You could play Tomb Raider with ease, though.         --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
GingerAle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1008


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2015, 03:19:54 PM
 #5779

anybody got the standard and sp_ mod hashrate for Monero on the new 950?

and anyone know if there's a way in linux to get this card to overclock?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121980&ignorebbr=1&cm_re=PPSSKQKDFPGTFN-_-14-121-980-_-Product



LINUX OVERCLOCKING--

You will need to do some web research.  It depends on your Linux drivers.  HashBrown has written and posted on this topic in the Kopiemtu blog thread, his work is for slightly older drivers.  Only a few posts back in this thread, I mentioned how to use nvidia-xconfig to set CoolBits.  This is possible with the very latest nVidia drivers.

Frankly, I would write a tutorial but I haven't updated my drivers and actually done it myself.  My system is stable, my 970 cards are getting 16.5-17Mh/s on Quark as is.  I have been reading all over the web about Linux overclocking, though.  Useful search terms include CoolBits, nvidia-smi,  nvidia-xconfig.  The very latest nVidia drivers simplify things; some of the posts that are 2-3 years old are outdated and involve more complicated configuration editing.

Apparently, the "nvidia-xconfig" command will write out a config for your system, but only with the latest drivers.       --scryptr

awesome, thanks for the leads. Hrm, forgot the 950 needs a 6 pin power line...

< Track your bitcoins! > < Track them again! > <<< [url=https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/1qomqt/what_a_landmark_legal_case_from_mid1700s_scotland/] What is fungibility? >>> 46P88uZ4edEgsk7iKQUGu2FUDYcdHm2HtLFiGLp1inG4e4f9PTb4mbHWYWFZGYUeQidJ8hFym2WUmWc p34X8HHmFS2LXJkf <<< Free subdomains at moneroworld.com!! >>> <<< If you don't want to run your own node, point your wallet to node.moneroworld.com, and get connected to a random node! @@@@ FUCK ALL THE PROFITEERS! PROOF OF WORK OR ITS A SCAM !!! @@@@
frazier34567
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 09, 2015, 04:03:17 PM
Last edit: September 09, 2015, 04:13:21 PM by frazier34567
 #5780

Noticed something interesting on my 6 card EVGA 750ti SC miner.  When I use -C I get about 39250 Kh/s (No OC).   If I do not use it I get about 39000-39190 Kh/s.  Now if I mine Axiom with the nicehash cpu launch miner with just one thread running (No -C 30% load on CPU).  https://github.com/nicehash/cpuminer-multi/releases  I get 39235-39240 Kh/s  I am running a Intel i3 4330 (dual Core 4 thread CPU)

This is with 1.5.66 commit. 1056  Cuda 6.5 Windows 8.1 Pro Driver 355.60

my command line is ccminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://stratum.nicehash.com:3345 -a quark -q -u bitcoinaddress.2 -p d=0.04 --cpu-priority 3

 



Pages: « 1 ... 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 [289] 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 ... 1240 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!