Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:39:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official Open Source FPGA Bitcoin Miner (Last Update: April 14th, 2013)  (Read 402751 times)
gingernuts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 11:21:36 PM
 #821

BTW, can the Minimodule plus work without the baseboard or is the baseboard required to make the MMP work?

It needs some sort of baseboard to supply it with the 8 different power supply voltages it wants - Avnet seem to want $500 for the baseboard and $300 for the PSU board, so it might be worth the effort of designing your own, especially as the MMP FPGA board seems to sell below the cost of a 7k325 FPGA, and seems to come with a license file to unlock the 7k325 device in the Xilinx tools!

The MMP board does look interesting, but it seems to only have 10A 1.0v core supply - can someone please tell me what the current KC705 design is using at 400MH/s?

Xilinx vivado estimates the power draw of the 7K325 Chip is ~11W. It's infact hashing at 500MH/s right now with minor modification to the code. The VCCInt power module is getting a bit hot for my liking at 500MH/s. IMO the voltage reg chips on that module need heatsinks.

Thanks for that - according to the manual the MMP power board only has 6A of VCCINT - which at 1.0v is just 6W Sad - have you got a fan you can point at the regulator chips?

1481135943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135943
Reply with quote  #2

1481135943
Report to moderator
1481135943
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135943

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135943
Reply with quote  #2

1481135943
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 11:33:03 PM
 #822

BTW, can the Minimodule plus work without the baseboard or is the baseboard required to make the MMP work?

It needs some sort of baseboard to supply it with the 8 different power supply voltages it wants - Avnet seem to want $500 for the baseboard and $300 for the PSU board, so it might be worth the effort of designing your own, especially as the MMP FPGA board seems to sell below the cost of a 7k325 FPGA, and seems to come with a license file to unlock the 7k325 device in the Xilinx tools!

The MMP board does look interesting, but it seems to only have 10A 1.0v core supply - can someone please tell me what the current KC705 design is using at 400MH/s?

Xilinx vivado estimates the power draw of the 7K325 Chip is ~11W. It's infact hashing at 500MH/s right now with minor modification to the code. The VCCInt power module is getting a bit hot for my liking at 500MH/s. IMO the voltage reg chips on that module need heatsinks.

Thanks for that - according to the manual the MMP power board only has 6A of VCCINT - which at 1.0v is just 6W Sad - have you got a fan you can point at the regulator chips?



So I am using the KC705 board, it's got a 1.0V @ 20A Vccint regulator. The chips are so small (smaller than my smallest thumbnails Smiley) , that it's very difficult to affix a heatsink w/o shorting something. Any ideas would be appreciated. Right now I have placed the board next to the airconditioner.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
hagenees
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 04:54:06 AM
 #823

Sorry, I repeat my question: can somebody help me to run minert on ztex fpga board 1.11?
asjfdlksfd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 01:02:14 PM
 #824

Thanks for that - according to the manual the MMP power board only has 6A of VCCINT - which at 1.0v is just 6W Sad - have you got a fan you can point at the regulator chips?
I've bought TI Simple switcher board for the AVNET. I'm unsure how much amperes they can deliver. At the moment I've downclocked to 350 MHz and got now stable near by 350 MHs without invalid nonces anymore.
Viavados Report Power means the chip needs aprox. 7.4 W but it's still the DSP design from the site.

Are they allready updates with faster code available? I read here something but I'm unsure that they are allready uploaded.
asjfdlksfd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 01:48:54 PM
 #825

Thanks for that - according to the manual the MMP power board only has 6A of VCCINT - which at 1.0v is just 6W Sad - have you got a fan you can point at the regulator chips?
I've bought TI Simple switcher board for the AVNET. I'm unsure how much amperes they can deliver. At the moment I've downclocked to 350 MHz and got now stable near by 350 MHs without invalid nonces anymore.
Viavados Report Power means the chip needs aprox. 7.4 W but it's still the DSP design from the site.
Now I understand why I get invalid nonces...:

Xilinx power bank / FMC VoltageVoltage (V)Max Current (A)Tolerance
Vccint/Vccbram163.00%
Vcco1.5 / 1.3545.00%
Vccaux/Vccaux_io/Vccadc/Vcco/MGTVccaux1.865.00%
Vccaux_io223.00%
Vcco2.585.00%
Vcco3.385.00%
MGTAVcc163.00%
MGTAVtt/MGTAVTTrcal1.242.50%

I'm unsure we will get more power to the mmp by resoldering the second 1V line. Maybe or not... Tongue
But generally it is better to use 1V with an higher rate. I guess again D12F200A looks good and costs are not so high (est. 19 EUR + VAT + transport).


kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 05:54:29 PM
 #826

I've been getting a lot of these errors lately:

Code:
[05/22/2013 04:08:33] ERROR: Unable to getwork. Reason: can't read "state(status)": no such variable

Is this a common/known problem?

The getwork is timing out (probably the pool server is not responding). It happened a lot with BtCGuild when it was under DDOS attack.  I changed to using a stratum proxy server which is much more stable. Just install the proxy from https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy , configure it to point to your preferred pool and start it up. Then (assuming you're using the mine.tcl script) set the config.tcl to connect to localhost:8332 (leave the login details the same as the proxy just passes them through to the pool).

[EDIT] Oops. I just saw your other post at https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=212246.0 so it looks like you're on to this already. Anyway slush's proxy is pretty easy to set up (I'm using it on raspberry-pi linux).
Mark

It's better now. Hopefully the proxy will improve the situation further. Thanks!
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 12:44:11 AM
 #827

Hey I got the KC705 board  working at 600MH/s. Anybody interested in the 600MH/s bitstream? I can share it for download.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
asjfdlksfd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 01:42:07 AM
 #828

Hey I got the KC705 board  working at 600MH/s. Anybody interested in the 600MH/s bitstream? I can share it for download.
It is possible to upload them to git?
What do you have changed? Is this still the DSP design or do you replaced some dsps by simple lut adders to become 2 parallel rings?

Cheers...
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 01:58:22 AM
 #829

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
asjfdlksfd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:14:42 AM
 #830

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.
Can you share the vivado files you've changed? Possible upload to https://github.com/progranism/Open-Source-FPGA-Bitcoin-Miner/tree/master/projects? I'm interested in to check them on my KC705.
Whats power consumption?
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:31:37 AM
 #831

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.
Can you share the vivado files you've changed? Possible upload to https://github.com/progranism/Open-Source-FPGA-Bitcoin-Miner/tree/master/projects? I'm interested in to check them on my KC705.
Whats power consumption?

Link pmed.
I have requested a pull for the open-source fpga project on github. once approved i will upload the project there as well. Power on chip according to vivado is 12.5W.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:52:46 AM
 #832

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.

Is that a single hash core reporting 600MHz operation in the static timing analysis using a -2 speed device?

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:31:48 AM
 #833

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.

Is that a single hash core reporting 600MHz operation in the static timing analysis using a -2 speed device?


It's the KC705 experimental design from github which used DSP48E blocks on the K7. The reported speed is actual hashing speed.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:51:08 AM
 #834

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.

Is that a single hash core reporting 600MHz operation in the static timing analysis using a -2 speed device?


It's the KC705 experimental design from github which used DSP48E blocks on the K7. The reported speed is actual hashing speed.

Does the static timing analysis show that all paths are below 1.6ns? Or did you just check that your particular device runs at 600MHz?
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 12:24:46 PM
 #835

Just re-implemented the DSP design by fpgaminer for 600MHz operation. Nothing major. It needs -2 or -3 speed grade chips for that speed.

Is that a single hash core reporting 600MHz operation in the static timing analysis using a -2 speed device?


It's the KC705 experimental design from github which used DSP48E blocks on the K7. The reported speed is actual hashing speed.

Does the static timing analysis show that all paths are below 1.6ns? Or did you just check that your particular device runs at 600MHz?

Nope the FIFO / BRAM doesn't meet timing specs. The Fmax for K7 speed grade -2 FIFO is 543.77MHz. But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
I guess it's stretching the limits. Also it could vary chip to chip, since -3 speed grade has a Fmax of 601.32MHz.
  

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/data_sheets/ds182_Kintex_7_Data_Sheet.pdf, Pg 32, Table 31

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 12:50:26 PM
 #836

Nope the FIFO / BRAM doesn't meet timing specs. The Fmax for K7 speed grade -2 FIFO is 543.77MHz. But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
I guess it's stretching the limits. Also it could vary chip to chip, since -3 speed grade has a Fmax of 601.32MHz.

Thanks. I was wondering if the full fabric was running at 600MHz. BTW, was this using Vivado for synthesis?
asjfdlksfd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:24:10 PM
 #837

Nope the FIFO / BRAM doesn't meet timing specs. The Fmax for K7 speed grade -2 FIFO is 543.77MHz. But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
Whats your target temperature ? I've load now the bitstream from your project and the temp is grown to >76 °C which is to near to 80° C(?) limit of the commercial chips which are used I mean on KC705.
I've put an old cpu 8cm fan so little air flow is from the pdc side to the kintex.

Better I will clock to 550 MHz so temp of pdcs and kintex will not override.

Cheers...
kidgorgeous
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:37:57 PM
 #838

Quote
But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
I guess it's stretching the limits. Also it could vary chip to chip, since -3 speed grade has a Fmax of 601.32MHz

Did you just modify the clock on fpgaminers code? I upped the clock to 450mhz and it was running stable at 70C. The chip is rated to 85C, what temperature were you at at 600mhz

1KHxCRniFNmS7ChiPqaewmokuCABk2PRQn
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:28:52 PM
 #839

Nope the FIFO / BRAM doesn't meet timing specs. The Fmax for K7 speed grade -2 FIFO is 543.77MHz. But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
Whats your target temperature ? I've load now the bitstream from your project and the temp is grown to >76 °C which is to near to 80° C(?) limit of the commercial chips which are used I mean on KC705.
I've put an old cpu 8cm fan so little air flow is from the pdc side to the kintex.

Better I will clock to 550 MHz so temp of pdcs and kintex will not override.

Cheers...


Does your k7 have a heatsink + fan? Something like this. http://sls.smugmug.com/Professional/Platform-Blue/5440422_d6JQGF/1530805068_bv3hrdM#!i=1530805068&k=bv3hrdM

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:31:15 PM
 #840

Quote
But my FPGA still runs fine at 600MHz.
I guess it's stretching the limits. Also it could vary chip to chip, since -3 speed grade has a Fmax of 601.32MHz

Did you just modify the clock on fpgaminers code? I upped the clock to 450mhz and it was running stable at 70C. The chip is rated to 85C, what temperature were you at at 600mhz

Very minor mods.
I modified settings of the FIFO, and the Clock multiplier. I can PM you my vivado project. Moreover I implemented various implementation  strategies to cherry pick get a good bitstream running stable at 550MHz+.
The temperature is between 30 to 45 C depending on the time of day. My KC705 came with a heatsink + fan though.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!