Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 12:41:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681026 times)
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 07:30:23 PM
 #101

lot of failed authentication attempts

I assume you are port forwarding to you peon (please tell me your not running it on the internet).

But yeah, ssh guard is the way to go.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
1511008885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511008885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511008885
Reply with quote  #2

1511008885
Report to moderator
1511008885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511008885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511008885
Reply with quote  #2

1511008885
Report to moderator
1511008885
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511008885

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511008885
Reply with quote  #2

1511008885
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 07:47:21 PM
 #102

lot of failed authentication attempts

I assume you are port forwarding to you peon (please tell me your not running it on the internet).

But yeah, ssh guard is the way to go.


Yeah port forwarding for ssh. I suppose switching ssh port would also help a lot to get rid of all those bot attempts to connect.

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 26, 2013, 10:10:39 PM
 #103

Hi Guys,

Just a quick update since you guys are talking, I am getting close to a new release, I will be cutting myself off from the world over this Easter break and spending as much time as I can on it, there are sooooo many fixes that need to be included as well as the privilege separation so working through my test cases is my main issue but I am actually quite confidant that the next update will be the first non alpha release!

In the mean time I have started a wiki at http://minepeon.com/ an I have put a bit of information into it but I have never run a wiki before and I need a few testers, contributors, helpers and possibly an administrator or two so if you want to help out set yourself up an account and drop me an email (neil@mineforeman.com) and I will start you off with some basic rights.

Thanks for all your guys help and hears hoping for the next release being mostly ASIC ready!

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 26, 2013, 11:18:46 PM
 #104

lot of failed authentication attempts

I assume you are port forwarding to you peon (please tell me your not running it on the internet).

But yeah, ssh guard is the way to go.


Yeah port forwarding for ssh. I suppose switching ssh port would also help a lot to get rid of all those bot attempts to connect.

I was port forwarding for some time too, but then got nervous once I had apache going too. Started looking at the logs and was like...nope, done with that. Switched to Hamachi and now it's all private IP. Check it out, it's free. http://vpn.net It's beta, but has been working for me for about 2 weeks now.
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 623


View Profile
March 29, 2013, 09:18:17 PM
 #105

Just stumbled about this today.
I have 3 X6500 FPGA running well for the last few hours.

This distribution makes my life as a hobby miner much easier.

Keep up the good work!

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 29, 2013, 09:29:11 PM
 #106

Keep up the good work!

Your welcome and thanks for your testing I think your the first that has reported to me that the X6500 FPGA's work, you just made the thanks page on the wiki.

As promised I have locked myself away for the weekend to push the next version out, there are lots of fixes and improvements on the way.

I am hoping to make this Release Candidate 1 of the beta.


Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
Bernd33-1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 02:43:30 PM
 #107

Hi all,

I'm testing MinePeon on my RaspPi and till now it goes very easy. The Image is written with Win32Diskimager to a 4GB SD-Card and the RaspPi boots up. Fine. Logon with minepeon/peon works also.

From an other PC I started a browser and make a http://RaspPi_IP and I can see 5 graphs with the stats from your account? I have already changed the mining account to my settings. But the graphs are the same. No change. I have already "systemctl stop cgminer.service" and then "systemctl start cgminer.service" and the reloaded the webpage. But no changes at the graphs. Do I see always your graphs?

Second question, how can I see if my miner is working? I mean realtime. Is this possible?

Third question, actually I have a Ztex 1.15y FPGA. Next week I get a BFL-FPGA. Is it possible to mix FPGAs? Dose MinePeon handle 2 different FPGAs at the same time?

Sorry, but I'm a absolute Windows user and I have zero Linux skills :-) But I have no problems to bring up MinePeon. This is a big positive for MinePeon. Respect! Works great so far. Thanks for that.

Greetings, Bernd
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 03:01:32 PM
 #108

Hi all,

I'm testing MinePeon on my RaspPi and till now it goes very easy. The Image is written with Win32Diskimager to a 4GB SD-Card and the RaspPi boots up. Fine. Logon with minepeon/peon works also.

From an other PC I started a browser and make a http://RaspPi_IP and I can see 5 graphs with the stats from your account? I have already changed the mining account to my settings. But the graphs are the same. No change. I have already "systemctl stop cgminer.service" and then "systemctl start cgminer.service" and the reloaded the webpage. But no changes at the graphs. Do I see always your graphs?

Second question, how can I see if my miner is working? I mean realtime. Is this possible?

Third question, actually I have a Ztex 1.15y FPGA. Next week I get a BFL-FPGA. Is it possible to mix FPGAs? Dose MinePeon handle 2 different FPGAs at the same time?

Sorry, but I'm a absolute Windows user and I have zero Linux skills :-) But I have no problems to bring up MinePeon. This is a big positive for MinePeon. Respect! Works great so far. Thanks for that.

Greetings, Bernd

#1 - The graphs are not working yet, a new version is being worked on, stay tuned for that.
#2 - Download a free tool called "putty" and SSH to your Pi, once you login an are at a command line, type "sudo screen -r cgminer" that will bring up the cgminer console. But don't hit Q to quit or you will have to start it again, or reboot, use CTRL-AD to detach from the screen session, that way it will continue to run in the background.
#3 I believe the cgminer that was included with the current build was compiled with Ztex and BFL support so you're good for running both. (I only have BFL's so I just going of what I have read.)

Enjoy and remember to check out the MinePeon wiki at http://minepeon.com for more info and tips.
Bernd33-1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 05:25:36 PM
 #109

Thanks for quick help BitMinerN8.

One more question: Your hint with putty works fine. So I can see that the RaspPi mines with 128kHs. I think this is the CPU. When I connect the Ztex, dose it automatically disable CPU mining and switch over to the Ztex?

And maybe a stupid question. But how do I shutdown correctly the RaspPi?  Roll Eyes Sorry.... I'm a Linux noob...

Regards, Bernd
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 05:56:19 PM
 #110

Thanks for quick help BitMinerN8.

One more question: Your hint with putty works fine. So I can see that the RaspPi mines with 128kHs. I think this is the CPU. When I connect the Ztex, dose it automatically disable CPU mining and switch over to the Ztex?

And maybe a stupid question. But how do I shutdown correctly the RaspPi?  Roll Eyes Sorry.... I'm a Linux noob...

Regards, Bernd
No problem, I'm here to help the best I can. I heard that MineForman was going to be releasing a new build soon, so that is something to look forward to.

Yes, it should stop CPU and switch to your FPGA. That has been how it works for me. As far as turning off the Pi, just pull the power cord or put the power supply on a power strip. (There are no stupid questions, only information you don't have yet.)  Grin
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 08:41:14 PM
 #111

Thanks for quick help BitMinerN8.

One more question: Your hint with putty works fine. So I can see that the RaspPi mines with 128kHs. I think this is the CPU. When I connect the Ztex, dose it automatically disable CPU mining and switch over to the Ztex?

And maybe a stupid question. But how do I shutdown correctly the RaspPi?  Roll Eyes Sorry.... I'm a Linux noob...

Regards, Bernd
No problem, I'm here to help the best I can. I heard that MineForman was going to be releasing a new build soon, so that is something to look forward to.

Yes, it should stop CPU and switch to your FPGA. That has been how it works for me. As far as turning off the Pi, just pull the power cord or put the power supply on a power strip. (There are no stupid questions, only information you don't have yet.)  Grin

Yes, I was wrong about that shutdown suggestion. Embarrassed I guess I have had mine on for so long, the only time I ever need to shut it down is if it should lock up, like if you can't get into it from the console or remote.
More tips here: http://raspi.tv/2012/how-to-safely-shutdown-or-reboot-your-raspberry-pi
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:01:38 PM
 #112

It's designed to be fairly resilient, so pulling the power plug should be OK, I do it myself as part of my testing (I try to never shut it down correctly).

If you want to do it the nice way try this;-

sudo halt (will shutdown and unmount everything so you can pull the plug)

sudo reboot (will reboot it)

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 09:19:43 PM
 #113

Code:
sudo /sbin/shutdown -h now
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
March 31, 2013, 09:21:25 PM
 #114

Did you build cgminer on the target or did you cross-compile it? Was it pretty straight forward or was there a lot of quirks?
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:26:06 PM
 #115

Still works (sudo init 0)  Grin

Kudos for your work. I'm not using it myself but it looks to be good stuff.

Strangely enough 'init 0' no longer works  Tongue !

With most distributions ditching System V init for systemd (for many reasons, fedora has already made the change Debian and its forks are making it soon) I decided to start with systemd instead of starting with System V and making the painful transition.

Thanks for the words of encouragement, even though your not using it.  I fully realise that us Linux nerds will probably make their own OS's (I did after all), minepeon is for everyone else who just want it to 'work'.

EDIT: sudo telinit 0 does the trick though.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:28:47 PM
 #116

Did you build cgminer on the target or did you cross-compile it? Was it pretty straight forward or was there a lot of quirks?

cgminer compiles onbard with no modifications, I added a few things and bfgminer does as well (It uses different serial-usb drivers).

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2013, 09:37:31 PM
 #117

The nice thing about unix/linux was its backwards compatibility.

There are compatibility packages packages, I just have not bothered installing them.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
kingcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
April 01, 2013, 06:50:28 AM
 #118

The Pi is tons of fun and it's cheap. But as a miner interface I would like to trade the unused video codec for a little more memory, and a faster storage interface. There's also a several others like the APC Rock and the Cubieboard, which is available with 1GB RAM, 4GB NAND FLASH and a SATA port, but it's almost twice as expensive as the Pi  Smiley
Bernd33-1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
April 01, 2013, 09:11:44 AM
 #119

Hi,

to gave you a feedback. Now I connected the Ztex to my RaspPi and all works well. No problem no dealing with "How can I...?". It's realy  Plug and Play :-) thanks for that.

Now lets see, how it works in long term. Next week I will get a BFL. Then I will connect the Ztex and the BFL at the same time.

Thanks again!

Regards, Bernd



kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 01, 2013, 10:27:17 AM
 #120

Hi,

to gave you a feedback. Now I connected the Ztex to my RaspPi and all works well. No problem no dealing with "How can I...?". It's realy  Plug and Play :-) thanks for that.

Now lets see, how it works in long term. Next week I will get a BFL. Then I will connect the Ztex and the BFL at the same time.

Thanks again!

Regards, Bernd

What are you using to mine?
Cgminer (2.11.3) uses the one driver (libusb) for both devices BFL & Ztex - no FTDI driver.

I also have an rpi binary of it here: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries

There have been reported problems with using the FTDI driver on a BFL and a Ztex on libusb at the same time:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1437666#msg1437666

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!