Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:38:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681574 times)
netfun2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 02:34:32 AM
 #961

..............................
1511545127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511545127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511545127
Reply with quote  #2

1511545127
Report to moderator
1511545127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511545127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511545127
Reply with quote  #2

1511545127
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511545127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511545127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511545127
Reply with quote  #2

1511545127
Report to moderator
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:15:12 AM
 #962

Those little LCDs are sweet! Anyone know if there's a place that sells them for BTC?

Also, any thoughts on including support for the Adafruit LCD (used in this cool guide) in MinePeon?

EDIT: PiMiner (https://github.com/adafruit/PiMiner) is what is used, just was curious if you planned to include it in the future

I'm pretty sure that will work fine with MinePeon. The software in the adafruit article used the cgminer as far as I recall. We got the USB LCD Python code working well with MinePeon - I can't see any reason that Python script wouldn't work also.

BTW, I have one here, but STILL haven't soldered it together :/ Doing that and testing it is probably pushed to next week's list...

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:21:52 AM
 #963

Those little LCDs are sweet! Anyone know if there's a place that sells them for BTC?

Also, any thoughts on including support for the Adafruit LCD (used in this cool guide) in MinePeon?

EDIT: PiMiner (https://github.com/adafruit/PiMiner) is what is used, just was curious if you planned to include it in the future

I'm pretty sure that will work fine with MinePeon. The software in the adafruit article used the cgminer as far as I recall. We got the USB LCD Python code working well with MinePeon - I can't see any reason that Python script wouldn't work also.

BTW, I have one here, but STILL haven't soldered it together :/ Doing that and testing it is probably pushed to next week's list...

Come to think of it, I'd probably sell mine for bitcoins!   Tongue

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 08:21:09 AM
 #964


Your idea is great... i "invented" a cable, but I'm connecting the 10 ports HUB to the HD molex cable and 2 or 3 of the Gizmos were in error... perhaps not enaph current... Better to connect again to the Velleman 7,5 amperes PU.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/892509_10201891454475179_629596273_o.jpg
I done almost the same as you, was just about to solder to them and then thought "That cable is way to thin for 5A"

If nothing else cut the leads down to a couple of inch's - its still a bottle neck though..

bzh
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 12:23:17 PM
 #965

https://github.com/notro/fbtft/wiki/FBTFT-image-build-process

Can someone help me adapt these instructions to arch linux/minepeon? I'd be grateful. If a bounty is necessary I would consider one.

I tried to do it, but as it was written for Debian and I'm a linux noob, my build totally failed.
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:25:56 PM
 #966

Guys, am having issues.....

Not all pi related.

I got a good quality SD Card today and started from scratch.

All was looking good until a reboot.
Am now convinced that the script for the lcd is good but issues start after..

sudo pacman -Syu

The system update seams to break peon. It runs ok till a reboot.
On reboot it starts - then reboots in a cycle. If I unplug the usb's it is stable until I plug a usb in. This was never a problem on stock Peon with my setup.

Am away tomorrow so will run stock until I return and will probably order a second Pi next week so i can test without disruption.

My issues have been complicated today by problems with pools going down, internet connections issues, my router playing up and firefox kept freezing on me.

So nothing is clear at the moment, everything to go wrong has and i`ll start a fresh next week..

Anyone else having issues???  Am wondering if something was changed with Syu since I last done it 4 days ago???

Mavy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:16:08 PM
 #967

The system update seams to break peon. It runs ok till a reboot.
On reboot it starts - then reboots in a cycle. If I unplug the usb's it is stable until I plug a usb in. This was never a problem on stock Peon with my setup.

What your describing sounds allot like a power issue for the RasPi. Especially the problems starting after loads of writes (pacman -Syu).

I used to get loads of corrupted SD cards and weird issues when I had my PI running of the same hub as the Erupters.
After moving to a dedicated 1A powersuply the Pi has been stable.

Those little LCDs are sweet! Anyone know if there's a place that sells them for BTC?

Also, any thoughts on including support for the Adafruit LCD (used in this cool guide) in MinePeon?

EDIT: PiMiner (https://github.com/adafruit/PiMiner) is what is used, just was curious if you planned to include it in the future

I have it working on my Pi with peon. Just make sure you also get the files for the LCD display from the adafruit repo. The PiMiner scripts are sourcing some of those files.

ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 05:14:13 PM
 #968


Your idea is great... i "invented" a cable, but I'm connecting the 10 ports HUB to the HD molex cable and 2 or 3 of the Gizmos were in error... perhaps not enaph current... Better to connect again to the Velleman 7,5 amperes PU.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/892509_10201891454475179_629596273_o.jpg
I done almost the same as you, was just about to solder to them and then thought "That cable is way to thin for 5A"

If nothing else cut the leads down to a couple of inch's - its still a bottle neck though..
Yep. My error was re-using the cables of 2 5V/1A transformers that came with my 7 port HUB's...

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 10:41:04 PM
 #969


What your describing sounds allot like a power issue for the RasPi. Especially the problems starting after loads of writes (pacman -Syu).

I used to get loads of corrupted SD cards and weird issues when I had my PI running of the same hub as the Erupters.
After moving to a dedicated 1A power suply the Pi has been stable.


I no is sounds exactly like those power issues, however the PI is the only kit with a dedicated power supply it runs fine through all the writes..
It was over an hour running before I thought hey I should give it a reboot.. then bam...put the image on a different card repeat.

I  think I wrote the image to 3 cards about twice each yesterday  Angry  I'll get to the bottom of it but I really need a second PI to screw with..

Mavy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 05:44:58 AM
 #970

I no is sounds exactly like those power issues, however the PI is the only kit with a dedicated power supply it runs fine through all the writes..
It was over an hour running before I thought hey I should give it a reboot.. then bam...put the image on a different card repeat.

I  think I wrote the image to 3 cards about twice each yesterday  Angry  I'll get to the bottom of it but I really need a second PI to screw with..

Only things I can think of is either a dodgy psu, or the usb hubs backfeeding the PI.
If its neither of those then its probably a hardware issue of some sort.
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450



View Profile
August 09, 2013, 12:51:38 PM
 #971

Well after about 2 months of running Minepeon (about 1 month running v2.1) and the disk image seems to have eaten itself. Archlinux failed to start the wicd network manager, dhcp and the journal service (and probably one or two others that im forgetting)

Noticed my miner was down on my pool and checked on it. My arduino watchdog said it had attempted 217 restarts since it went down. Wiped the SD and reloaded the same version. Seems to be working fine again

I tried to download the latest version from your site but got 404 errors.
Fallout
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 01:54:28 PM
 #972

So I got everything working at the moment ... WiFi on the Pi, 10 Erupter USBs on 3 DLink Hubs ... everything works fine for some hours after which the LEDs on all Sticks are going into a constant green light, and I cannot ping or access the raspberry any more ... so kind of a freeze ...

Anyone has an idea what may be causing this? And how to prevent it?

As a workaround, I was thinking to have a script running, which is rebooting the pi every hour or two, but have to clue how to setup this in linux ... my last use of linux is like ten or more years ago

Any help would be appreciated.
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2013, 02:09:16 PM
 #973

Help...

My Linux knowledge sucks...

Trying to update MinePeon, I get the following error. What do I do?

Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ sudo -i
[sudo] password for minepeon:
[root@minepeon ~]# cd /opt/minepeon/
[root@minepeon minepeon]# git pull
Updating b6df3c5..565c05c
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
        etc/miner.conf.donate
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting
[root@minepeon minepeon]#

UPDATE: Forget. I made some more shit and destroyed the MinePeon software.

I got a new 0.2.2 image in the SD and trying again to do more shit...

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
funkymunky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283



View Profile
August 09, 2013, 03:14:25 PM
 #974

This worked for me earlier:

Code:
git checkout HEAD^ etc/miner.conf.donate
git pull

Help...

My Linux knowledge sucks...

Trying to update MinePeon, I get the following error. What do I do?

Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ sudo -i
[sudo] password for minepeon:
[root@minepeon ~]# cd /opt/minepeon/
[root@minepeon minepeon]# git pull
Updating b6df3c5..565c05c
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
        etc/miner.conf.donate
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting
[root@minepeon minepeon]#

UPDATE: Forget. I made some more shit and destroyed the MinePeon software.

I got a new 0.2.2 image in the SD and trying again to do more shit...
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2013, 03:56:14 PM
 #975

Ok, with a fresh copy of MinePeon 0.2.2, I did a Arch Linux update, then tried the git pull of MinePeon and got same error. Going to try your solution, funkymunky.

Quote
%
[root@minepeon ~]# cd /opt/minepeon/
[root@minepeon minepeon]# git pull
remote: Counting objects: 117, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (67/67), done.
remote: Total 103 (delta 46), reused 87 (delta 32)
Receiving objects: 100% (103/103), 486.24 KiB | 236.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (46/46), completed with 8 local objects.
From https://github.com/MineForeman/MinePeon
   b6b94a1..565c05c  master     -> origin/master
Updating b6b94a1..565c05c
error: Your local changes to the following files would be overwritten by merge:
        etc/miner.conf.donate
Please, commit your changes or stash them before you can merge.
Aborting
[root@minepeon minepeon]#
UPDATE: it worked! Thanks, funkymunky.   Grin
Quote
[root@minepeon minepeon]# git checkout HEAD^ etc/miner.conf.donate
[root@minepeon minepeon]# git pull
Updating b6b94a1..565c05c
Fast-forward
 README.md                        |   5 ++++
 bin/bfgminer                     | Bin 393945 -> 409320 bytes
 bin/cgminer                      | Bin 417490 -> 428288 bytes
 etc/cron.d/5min/0ntp             |   2 +-
 etc/cron.d/5min/1monitor         |  58 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 etc/cron.d/5min/ALERTdeviceCount |  59 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 etc/cron.d/5min/ALERThashrate    |  45 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 etc/cron.d/5min/hashrate         |   2 +-
 etc/cron.d/5min/temp             |   2 +-
 etc/cron.d/hourly/donate         |  47 ++++++++++++++++++++-----------
 etc/miner.conf.donate            |  32 ++++++++++++++++++++-
 11 files changed, 231 insertions(+), 21 deletions(-)
 create mode 100755 etc/cron.d/5min/1monitor
 create mode 100755 etc/cron.d/5min/ALERTdeviceCount
 create mode 100755 etc/cron.d/5min/ALERThashrate
[root@minepeon minepeon]#

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 04:04:53 PM
 #976

Is there an easy way to upgrade to the newer cgminer (3.3.2) on the current MinePeon build? I looked around but did not find specific instructions. Or should we just wait for a new MinePeon build? Thanks. Cool
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2013, 04:06:36 PM
 #977

One more thing... I recommend that the password must be asked 2 times, to validate that we didn't pushed the wrong key...  Cry

How can I reset the web password?  Huh

UPDATE: I discovered the "new" password and it's not the one I put... it blanked the password, when I tried to put a new one. Trying again...

NEW UPDATE: I can't insert a new password @ the settings page (no error but still keeps blank password) but I can insert new password @ advanced / settings page.

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
yxzq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 04:16:54 PM
 #978

This worked for me earlier:

Code:
git checkout HEAD^ etc/miner.conf.donate
git pull


This should also do the trick. All remotely tracked files will be overwritten. Graph data will remain.
Code:
git fetch --all
git reset --hard origin/master

If you pulled MinePeon in the last 2 days, you should also pull MinePeonWebUI, check your settings and then save them. The donation code has been updated to use (only) the new settings. If the new settings have not been set, the script will end before initiating a donation.
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 04:27:39 PM
 #979

Is there an easy way to upgrade to the newer cgminer (3.3.2) on the current MinePeon build? I looked around but did not find specific instructions. Or should we just wait for a new MinePeon build? Thanks. Cool

If everything is working so far, wait like I do Wink

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 04:31:20 PM
 #980

One more thing... I recommend that the password must be asked 2 times, to validate that we didn't pushed the wrong key...  Cry

How can I reset the web password?  Huh

UPDATE: I discovered the "new" password and it's not the one I put... it blanked the password, when I tried to put a new one. Trying again...

NEW UPDATE: I can't insert a new password @ the settings page (no error but still keeps blank password) but I can insert new password @ advanced / settings page.

If you get locked out of your UI you can create a new username password by doing this in ssh:

Code:
cd /opt/minepeon/etc
sudo vim uipassword

hit 'i' to insert, go to 2nd line and add a new username/password such as test:$apr1$/Im3z9gz$acpCIVRjD2Rn5l2WwQIha0 (username=test password=test). You can generate usernames/passwords here: http://www.htaccesstools.com/htpasswd-generator/

Hit esc after you paste in your htpasswd, type :wq and hit enter to write and quit. log in with that username/password.

Edit: you probably should also delete the first line of uipassword file if it is a blank password for you

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!