Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 04:58:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681007 times)
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:46:01 AM
 #761

HI everybody. Im totally new to this linux thing and Arch has been a nice learning curve . Ive had to power cycle and reinstall OS on SD card a few times..Also the NTP Time thing was driving me nuts....I dont know If this was the answer or not.. But I want to share it anyways...

When I used        sudo /usr/bin/ntpd -s      The time was current but on wrong time zone... So I just tryed to set the correct time...Arch displayed a message about with changing this come great responsability...So I did it anyways....I guess it didnt like the time that far in the future...My BFL 30gh went unresponsive and would not mine....after pulling the plug on the RPi a few times, I reinstalled minepeon ....

I have no real clue if this is what is suppose to happen or not....but this time

I used                Sudo ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/New_York /etc/localtime     
then I used         sudo /usr/bin/ntpd -s

Now I can cycle the power and It will always show the correct time....I have been up and running with no problems for almost 4 days

Keep up the good work ...Mineforman


You can change the time zone in the settings tab on the webpage

Message me if you have any problems
1510981095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981095
Reply with quote  #2

1510981095
Report to moderator
1510981095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981095
Reply with quote  #2

1510981095
Report to moderator
1510981095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981095
Reply with quote  #2

1510981095
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510981095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981095
Reply with quote  #2

1510981095
Report to moderator
1510981095
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510981095

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510981095
Reply with quote  #2

1510981095
Report to moderator
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 02:07:22 AM
 #762

When I used        sudo /usr/bin/ntpd -s      The time was current but on wrong time zone...

It always will be in MinePeon.

There is an old standard in Unix/Linux that all time/dates on a server OS are in GMT (Or UTC) if you prefer, and since I am an old Unix/Linux guy it is a standard that I still adhere to (Modern Desktop Linux OS's don't anymore).  Its all about working in a synchronized timezone no matter where your server is etc... (quite a few internet services log files work in GMT regardless of what you set it to, look at qmail or ftp for example)

Its only when it gets to the application layer where you interact with users that TimeZone is important and that is why you can set it through the WebUI and that setting is used at the application layer.

It wont hurt it though if you set it at the OS level manually, just make sure that you set it in the WebUI as well Wink .

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
BG4
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 830


PaperSafe.org


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 02:13:59 AM
 #763


You can change the time zone in the settings tab on the webpage
[/quote]


I did set the time on the web interface .....But when I would monitor cgminer through screen -r , The time on the cgminer would be off by , something like , 9 hours .  Now both are now correct....

Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:14:22 AM
 #764

I just tried to set up my first RasPi with Minepeon. But when I open the Adress in the Browser there is just tha Message:

Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-1978) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-84778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-603178) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-2676778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-31534378)

Were you able to setup your pools?  If you did your mining.

There are two reasons for those date messages;-

1. There is no data in the graph files yet, wait 5 minutes.

2. An annoying NTP problem that will be fixed next version.  (sudo ntpd -s will fix it temporarily)

When I tried to log in with Terminal, I was prompted for a Password (no user) and Peon didn't work. Anyone an Idea what to do?

Is Terminal a SSH program or are you trying to log via a keyboard and screen (commonly called the console).  Either way it should be asking for a user first.

Neil
Terminal is the cmd equivalent on mac

Message me if you have any problems
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 02:15:39 AM
 #765

Quote
You can change the time zone in the settings tab on the webpage


I did set the time on the web interface .....But when I would monitor cgminer through screen -r , The time on the cgminer would be off by , something like , 9 hours .  Now both are now correct....


Hmm it worked fine for me when I was setting up my pi yesterday.

Message me if you have any problems
BG4
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 830


PaperSafe.org


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 02:20:27 AM
 #766

One thing I would like to see Added to web interface is.....Highest difficulty share found to date and if a high enough difficulty share is found , What block number is it..

The highest difficulty share found ..is lost each night.. when minepeon goes into donate mode..
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 03:39:24 AM
 #767

One thing I would like to see Added to web interface is.....Highest difficulty share found to date and if a high enough difficulty share is found , What block number is it..

The highest difficulty share found ..is lost each night.. when minepeon goes into donate mode..

One day I will get around to recording the highlights of the "Nice to look at but effectively meaningless" data.  Forgive me if it is at a far lower priority to just about everything else though Tongue .

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 06:16:05 AM
 #768

I just tried to set up my first RasPi with Minepeon. But when I open the Adress in the Browser there is just tha Message:

Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-1978) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-84778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-603178) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-2676778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-31534378)

When I tried to log in with Terminal, I was prompted for a Password (no user) and Peon didn't work. Anyone an Idea what to do?

I tried about three Times to set up the SD Card, but nothing changed...

I had that on my Mac with Chrome as browser the first time I ran Minepeon. Tried another browser then, still got the error messages, but everything else on the page was shown and working!
So it could simply be your browser!

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
Scorpia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 08:28:53 AM
 #769

someone got an easy fix?

I DO!!!  Next version (very soon now) checks every 5 minutes and if the year is before 2013 it runs a "/usr/bin/ntpd -s" all by itself.

It is a bit of a brute fix but it seems that there are just too many reasons that it might not get time off the network at boot.  This fix will take care of all of them.

Neil

any reason you don't just run it rather than checking first?

(im not trying to tell you what to do, im just interested to find out why)

edit: I added ntpd to the crond.hourly file and it seems to update the time within a few minutes at startup. its probably a bad way of doing it but it will do until you get the next version out.

Also I have just installed my 6 block erupters and now for some reason the webpage is showing them all but they are all doing 0 hashing. but on the console and according to my pool they are hashing fine. so something has happened to the graphing. weird but not the end of the world.

edit : scratch that on the graphs, I resubmitted my credentials and it restarted cgminer and the graphs are all good now. Awesome distro.
teletobi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 698



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:18:09 AM
 #770

I just tried to set up my first RasPi with Minepeon. But when I open the Adress in the Browser there is just tha Message:

Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-1978) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-84778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-603178) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-2676778) Graph error: the first entry to fetch should be after 1980 (-31534378)

Were you able to setup your pools?  If you did your mining.

There are two reasons for those date messages;-

1. There is no data in the graph files yet, wait 5 minutes.

2. An annoying NTP problem that will be fixed next version.  (sudo ntpd -s will fix it temporarily)

When I tried to log in with Terminal, I was prompted for a Password (no user) and Peon didn't work. Anyone an Idea what to do?

Is Terminal a SSH program or are you trying to log via a keyboard and screen (commonly called the console).  Either way it should be asking for a user first.

Neil

1. No, nothing.
2. What's NTD?

I'm trying to set it Up without keyboard and screen but via Network on my MacBook. I tried Safari and Firefox, but it's always the same Graph Error and nothing else to see.

In Terminal, the Mac Cmd Line Tool, it looks like this:

Tobiass-MacBook-Pro:~ Tobi$ ssh -l pi 192.168.1.17
pi@192.168.1.17's password:
Permission denied, please try again.
pi@192.168.1.17's password:

So I can't get in and though can't change the Time.

Any other Ideas?

Join the Elastic revolution!  Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC WEBSITE | NEW ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:30:26 AM
 #771

pi@192.168.1.17's password:

isn't it supposed to be "minepeon@..." ?


try: "ssh -l minepeon 192.168.1.17"  (not sure if you need the -l in your command, though)

Password: "peon"


Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:35:50 AM
 #772

I have this hub on order from ebay.co.uk seller orico_pc:
ORICO 10-Port Aluminium USB3.0 Powered Hub

Ordered on 2013-07-16, before I'd done more research to know that USB3 may have problems with cgminer / Rasp Pi.  I'll let you know if it works with MinePeon.
It doesn't.  Shame, such a nice piece of kit...

Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
How to compile and run bitcoind on a Raspberry Pi
Its About Sharing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Antifragile


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:38:46 AM
 #773

Hello Neil,

Thanks again for the great work. My V2.2 MinePeon withe CGMiner has been up for 17 days (since update) and running flawlessly. The only problem I've had is from running a card rated at 4 (speed rating), only running 10's now.

Question, it was said on the Burnin Mining hardware thread by Burnin that voltage regulation for overclocking into CGMiner is being incorporated. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=179769.msg2828622#msg2828622  It might be "reasonably stable" by next week, as Burnin said.

Do you have any knowledge of or are you following this? I imagine this will eventually make it into MinePeon... Great news.

Thanks,
IAS

BTC = Black Swan.
BTC = Antifragile - "Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Robust is not the opposite of fragile.
Scorpia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 11:12:53 AM
 #774

someone got an easy fix?

I DO!!!  Next version (very soon now) checks every 5 minutes and if the year is before 2013 it runs a "/usr/bin/ntpd -s" all by itself.

It is a bit of a brute fix but it seems that there are just too many reasons that it might not get time off the network at boot.  This fix will take care of all of them.

Neil

any reason you don't just run it rather than checking first?

(im not trying to tell you what to do, im just interested to find out why)

edit: I added ntpd to the crond.hourly file and it seems to update the time within a few minutes at startup. its probably a bad way of doing it but it will do until you get the next version out.

Also I have just installed my 6 block erupters and now for some reason the webpage is showing them all but they are all doing 0 hashing. but on the console and according to my pool they are hashing fine. so something has happened to the graphing. weird but not the end of the world.

edit : scratch that on the graphs, I resubmitted my credentials and it restarted cgminer and the graphs are all good now. Awesome distro.

ok after having some reboots tonight which I think is due to running to much off the powered hub,
I defiantly have an issue with the graphs. every reboot the web page does see any mining stats from my erupters. its only once I resubmit my pool login and it restarts cgminer that it comes good. keeping in mind that the pool is having no issue receiving the work there is something wrong with the graphs on my system at least.

just thought I should mention it.

on a brighter note adding the ntpd to the cron job seems to work well. (I hope its not causing my issue)
teletobi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 698



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:05:45 PM
 #775

pi@192.168.1.17's password:

isn't it supposed to be "minepeon@..." ?

try: "ssh -l minepeon 192.168.1.17"  (not sure if you need the -l in your command, though)

Password: "peon"

Me stupid, thats workin. But it still won't mine. It looks like it wouldnt take the Time set. And Erupters seem not to be seen USB Erupters are listed when using "lsusb". But the green Light is shining bright.

As I asked for the miner Status the second or third Time it hang up:

...
Jan 01 01:00:39 minepeon systemd[1]: Started cgminer.
Jan 01 01:00:39 minepeon systemd[1]: Starting cgminer...
Jan 01 01:00:39 minepeon systemd[1]: Started cgminer.
Jan 01 01:00:39 minepeon systemd[1]: Starting cgminer...
Jan 01 01:00:39 minepeon systemd[1]: Started cgminer.Write failed: Broken pipe

What does broken Pipe mean?

After reboot that was gone, but I still can't Log In via Browser

Join the Elastic revolution!  Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC WEBSITE | NEW ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:16:25 PM
 #776

try with a fresh install and don't try to fix the time problem  Smiley

(doing "sudo /usr/bin/ntpd -s" once after the start is ok, though Wink )

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 06:49:52 PM
 #777

any reason you don't just run it rather than checking first?

Efficiency!  Every clock cycle and network packet is valuable!!!

Not so much in this case I know Smiley but whenever I do a change to MinePeon I keep that mantra in the back of my head (Efficiency!  Every clock cycle and network packet is valuable!!!) and I actively try to maintain it.

Its more of a design philosophy than anything else but it is very hard to de-bloat things after the fact.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 07:00:09 PM
 #778

Question, it was said on the Burnin Mining hardware thread by Burnin that voltage regulation for overclocking into CGMiner is being incorporated. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=179769.msg2828622#msg2828622  It might be "reasonably stable" by next week, as Burnin said.

Do you have any knowledge of or are you following this? I imagine this will eventually make it into MinePeon... Great news.

I am keeping an eye on it, and it will probably make it in.

Not because anything I do though.  Sooner or later one of the cgminer guys will have to buy one of those things in order to support it and the code changes.

IMO miner developers should just be sent one so they can maintain support but it never happens that way (with the exception of BFL, they make sure the people writing the software for their products actually have one).

Neil

P.S.  I am not saying send me one by the way, just send one to the guys who write the core of the software that the bit of hardware is useless without.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
Tinua
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 858



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 07:53:20 PM
 #779

Hi Neil

Yesterday I forgot to thank you for your patience with a Windows user.  Grin
I deleted my changes in the '/usr/lib/systemd/system/cgminer-service' folder, after it did not work.
Will therefore wait for your changes in the Gui.

Best regards
Tinu

P.S. An indication of the chip rate and the fan speed, would also be a nice Gui feature.  Wink
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2013, 08:15:48 PM
 #780

Hi Neil

Yesterday I forgot to thank you for your patience with a Windows user.  Grin
I deleted my changes in the '/usr/lib/systemd/system/cgminer-service' folder, after it did not work.
Will therefore wait for your changes in the Gui.

Best regards
Tinu

No worries, I try to encourage people to learn new things (instead of giving one word answers that don't help).  I will try to get it into the next release.

P.S. An indication of the chip rate and the fan speed, would also be a nice Gui feature.  Wink

Those are Avalon specific, unfortunately is is very hard to develop features for hardware that I don't actually own so don't hold your breath Tongue .  I will do what I can though.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!