Bitcoin Forum
June 30, 2024, 09:45:24 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 [371] 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining  (Read 417965 times)
Rig4p
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 01:25:29 AM
 #7401

See this post: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg29350878#msg29350878

Hope it helps.
taltom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 04:55:05 PM
 #7402

Been a while since I've popped my head in here...been running rather uneventfully with nvOC and my auto-switcher, watching coin pile up.

The auto-switcher writes its activity to a file, algo-log.  Yesterday, I got around to knocking together a simple tool that looks at the algo-log file and tells you what you've been mining recently:

Code:
#!/usr/bin/env python3

from datetime import datetime, timedelta
import sys
import operator

end=datetime.now().replace(microsecond=0)
try:
  start=end-timedelta(days=int(sys.argv[1]))
except:
  start=end-timedelta(days=1)

l={}

with (open("algo-log", "r")) as f:
  for i in f:
    curr=datetime.strptime(i[0:19], "%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")
    curr_algo=i[28:].split(" ")[0]
    if (curr>start):
      try:
        l[curr_algo]+=curr-last
      except:
        l[curr_algo]=curr-last
    last=curr
    last_algo=curr_algo
try:
  l[last_algo]+=end-last
except:
  l[last_algo]=end-last

for i in sorted(l.items(), key=operator.itemgetter(1), reverse=True):
  print(i[0]+" {0:0.3f}".format(i[1].days*24+i[1].seconds/3600))

By default, it counts up which coins have been mined over the past day and prints a sorted list.  Here's what I've been mining:

Code:
feathercoin 6.901
monacoin 5.013
digibyte-skein 4.043
vertcoin 4.014
zencash 4.010
bitcoin-gold 1.508

Follow it with a number to get that many days' worth of analysis.  Here's my past week (./top-algos.py 7):

Code:
feathercoin 48.667
monacoin 22.975
vertcoin 17.542
zencash 16.712
digibyte-skein 16.211
groestlcoin 12.701
zclassic 8.029
bitcoin-gold 7.022
ethereum 4.514
monero 4.020
zcash 3.511
maxcoin 3.511
ethereum-classic 3.009



That looks quite handy to have.  I hate to ask, but how do I go about running that?  I'm not familiar with python at all.

Thanks,
Terry
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2018, 05:26:02 PM
 #7403

Been a while since I've popped my head in here...been running rather uneventfully with nvOC and my auto-switcher, watching coin pile up.

The auto-switcher writes its activity to a file, algo-log.  Yesterday, I got around to knocking together a simple tool that looks at the algo-log file and tells you what you've been mining recently:

Code:
#!/usr/bin/env python3

from datetime import datetime, timedelta
import sys
import operator

end=datetime.now().replace(microsecond=0)
try:
  start=end-timedelta(days=int(sys.argv[1]))
except:
  start=end-timedelta(days=1)

l={}

with (open("algo-log", "r")) as f:
  for i in f:
    curr=datetime.strptime(i[0:19], "%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")
    curr_algo=i[28:].split(" ")[0]
    if (curr>start):
      try:
        l[curr_algo]+=curr-last
      except:
        l[curr_algo]=curr-last
    last=curr
    last_algo=curr_algo
try:
  l[last_algo]+=end-last
except:
  l[last_algo]=end-last

for i in sorted(l.items(), key=operator.itemgetter(1), reverse=True):
  print(i[0]+" {0:0.3f}".format(i[1].days*24+i[1].seconds/3600))

By default, it counts up which coins have been mined over the past day and prints a sorted list.  Here's what I've been mining:

Code:
feathercoin 6.901
monacoin 5.013
digibyte-skein 4.043
vertcoin 4.014
zencash 4.010
bitcoin-gold 1.508

Follow it with a number to get that many days' worth of analysis.  Here's my past week (./top-algos.py 7):

Code:
feathercoin 48.667
monacoin 22.975
vertcoin 17.542
zencash 16.712
digibyte-skein 16.211
groestlcoin 12.701
zclassic 8.029
bitcoin-gold 7.022
ethereum 4.514
monero 4.020
zcash 3.511
maxcoin 3.511
ethereum-classic 3.009



That looks quite handy to have.  I hate to ask, but how do I go about running that?  I'm not familiar with python at all.

Thanks,
Terry


Save it to a file (top-algos.py) then chmod it
Code:
chmod a+x top-algos.py

Then as salfter said run it followed by day numbers:

Code:
./top-algos.py 7

or dont chmod and run :
Code:
python3 top-algos.py 7

infowire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 02:51:41 AM
 #7404

So if i let my miner run 24/7 my disks get full.
I thought it was the logs but i made a cron job to delete them.


Nothing unusual on attached pictures but your 75GB partition is fully used even though it doesn't show when you use df.

The only explanation is that your rig was "hacked" and rootkit installed to hide folders and files (hence the 75GB usage) and probably used as torrent sandbox or streaming box Sad
I wrote hacked in quotes because no real hacking is required when you don't change the password and leave the default one which is publicly available.

What I suggest is to reimage your SSD, unplug the network cable, boot up from freshly imaged SSD, as soon as gnome terminal starts close it to prevent nvoc scripts startup and watchdog restarting. Then press F12 to start guake and change password with:
Code:
passwd
then change root password as well:
Code:
sudo su
passwd
Plug your Ethernet cable and reboot.
Make note of your m1 and root passwords as you might need them sometime.
If you have multiple rigs do this for all of them as the "hacker" has your IP and will try to regain access again.


But why it deletes files on reboot ? If it was 'hacked'
leenoox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 101



View Profile
February 24, 2018, 03:12:24 AM
 #7405

So if i let my miner run 24/7 my disks get full.
I thought it was the logs but i made a cron job to delete them.


Nothing unusual on attached pictures but your 75GB partition is fully used even though it doesn't show when you use df.

The only explanation is that your rig was "hacked" and rootkit installed to hide folders and files (hence the 75GB usage) and probably used as torrent sandbox or streaming box Sad
I wrote hacked in quotes because no real hacking is required when you don't change the password and leave the default one which is publicly available.

What I suggest is to reimage your SSD, unplug the network cable, boot up from freshly imaged SSD, as soon as gnome terminal starts close it to prevent nvoc scripts startup and watchdog restarting. Then press F12 to start guake and change password with:
Code:
passwd
then change root password as well:
Code:
sudo su
passwd
Plug your Ethernet cable and reboot.
Make note of your m1 and root passwords as you might need them sometime.
If you have multiple rigs do this for all of them as the "hacker" has your IP and will try to regain access again.


But why it deletes files on reboot ? If it was 'hacked'

You didn't mention anything about deleting files on reboot. Anyway, I am not sure what's going on there, some of your screenshots show the root partition as 8.6GB and some as 74GB. Either way, both of them are full, no free space. Even if it's not "hacked" it seems something is corrupted there. I can understand 8.6GB partition (which is kinda small) being full but on other screenshots it shows 74GB being full which is unlikely at normal operation. Reimaging should help.

WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 09:06:23 AM
 #7406

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 10:31:40 AM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 10:45:49 AM by papampi
 #7407

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh

WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 09:22:44 PM
 #7408

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Thanks Papampi. I will do this.
WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 04:14:25 PM
 #7409

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Hello,
I flash the image, the rig boots into Ubuntu and everything goes fine until the next reboot when Ubuntu cannot load and gets into rescue mode:
Code:
error: unknown filesystem
Entering rescue mode
grub rescue >
Checking the volume, it show shows that somehow it didn't expand the filesystem
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2018, 05:56:58 PM
 #7410

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Hello,
I flash the image, the rig boots into Ubuntu and everything goes fine until the next reboot when Ubuntu cannot load and gets into rescue mode:
Code:
error: unknown filesystem
Entering rescue mode
grub rescue >
Checking the volume, it show shows that somehow it didn't expand the filesystem

I imaged many SSD and USB's with it and none get to problems.
Did it expanded the partition on first boot and rebooted after 5 seconds?

WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 06:12:58 PM
 #7411

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Hello,
I flash the image, the rig boots into Ubuntu and everything goes fine until the next reboot when Ubuntu cannot load and gets into rescue mode:
Code:
error: unknown filesystem
Entering rescue mode
grub rescue >
Checking the volume, it show shows that somehow it didn't expand the filesystem

I imaged many SSD and USB's with it and none get to problems.
Did it expanded the partition on first boot and rebooted after 5 seconds?
Hi Papampi,
At first reboot it goes straight into rescue mode.

If I image the standard nvOC image (not the Shrinkied Image) and if I follow the "SSD-USB resize guide for nvOC" document, I run into a problem when I execute the command
Code:
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

as I get the error:
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

(process:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.

(gksudo:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:

The system works pretty fine without extending the partition, so I guess I can leave everything like it is
infowire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 06:19:17 PM
 #7412

sudo: ./expand_rootfs.sh: command not found
i downloaded and i am in the directory.
hallzero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 07:39:26 PM
 #7413

Hi guys,

as a newbie to linux i have to thank all developers for their work. Thank you guys and please don´t stop, if you did, you would leave people like me hanging in the cold.

A problem i encountered with the new community release version 2.0 is the following.

If i try to connect any of my rigs (doesn´t matter whether nvidia or amd cards) to any etn pool (doesn´t matter as well which pool it is) nvOC uses KTccminer as the miner but once i connect the pool always sets the difficulty at 19, exactly at 19 and this repeats no matter what rig i connect to what etn pool. I had all rigs running under 19. 1.4 and everything was good, now i can´t connect to any of the etn pools.

Any suggestions?
damNmad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 104


nvOC forever


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 07:54:38 PM
 #7414

Hi guys,

as a newbie to linux i have to thank all developers for their work. Thank you guys and please don´t stop, if you did, you would leave people like me hanging in the cold.

A problem i encountered with the new community release version 2.0 is the following.

If i try to connect any of my rigs (doesn´t matter whether nvidia or amd cards) to any etn pool (doesn´t matter as well which pool it is) nvOC uses KTccminer as the miner but once i connect the pool always sets the difficulty at 19, exactly at 19 and this repeats no matter what rig i connect to what etn pool. I had all rigs running under 19. 1.4 and everything was good, now i can´t connect to any of the etn pools.

Any suggestions?

It uses 'KTccminer-cryptonight'

Can you paste result of this command (type in guake)

Quote
ps aux | grep miner

Paste the result over here.

Can you also paste the ETN coin details you have in 1bash?



DeepOnion    ▬▬  Anonymous and Untraceable  ▬▬    ENJOY YOUR PRIVACY  •  JOIN DEEPONION
▐▐▐▐▐▐▐▐   ANN  Whitepaper  Facebook  Twitter  Telegram  Discord    ▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌
Get $ONION  (✔Cryptopia  ✔KuCoin)  |  VoteCentral  Register NOW!  |  Download DeepOnion
WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 08:26:22 PM
 #7415

Hello,
Probably the question has been asked zillions of time, but, is there a way to infer the memory manufacturer of a GPU card from Linux/Ubuntu?
I know I can do this using GPU-Z on Windows, but is it really impossible on Linux?
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2018, 08:49:49 PM
 #7416

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Hello,
I flash the image, the rig boots into Ubuntu and everything goes fine until the next reboot when Ubuntu cannot load and gets into rescue mode:
Code:
error: unknown filesystem
Entering rescue mode
grub rescue >
Checking the volume, it show shows that somehow it didn't expand the filesystem

I imaged many SSD and USB's with it and none get to problems.
Did it expanded the partition on first boot and rebooted after 5 seconds?
Hi Papampi,
At first reboot it goes straight into rescue mode.

If I image the standard nvOC image (not the Shrinkied Image) and if I follow the "SSD-USB resize guide for nvOC" document, I run into a problem when I execute the command
Code:
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

as I get the error:
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

(process:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.

(gksudo:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:

The system works pretty fine without extending the partition, so I guess I can leave everything like it is


If on first boot it goes to rescue mode then there should be a problem with downloaded image, have you checked it's SHA-256?

You ran "gksudo gedit" from local machine or some remote like TeamViewer or vnc?
What happens if you run the expand_rootfs.sh script on normal image?

papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2018, 08:52:20 PM
 #7417

Hello,
Probably the question has been asked zillions of time, but, is there a way to infer the memory manufacturer of a GPU card from Linux/Ubuntu?
I know I can do this using GPU-Z on Windows, but is it really impossible on Linux?

Don't think there is way to do so under Linux yet.

hallzero
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 10:18:03 PM
 #7418

Hi guys,

as a newbie to linux i have to thank all developers for their work. Thank you guys and please don´t stop, if you did, you would leave people like me hanging in the cold.

A problem i encountered with the new community release version 2.0 is the following.

If i try to connect any of my rigs (doesn´t matter whether nvidia or amd cards) to any etn pool (doesn´t matter as well which pool it is) nvOC uses KTccminer as the miner but once i connect the pool always sets the difficulty at 19, exactly at 19 and this repeats no matter what rig i connect to what etn pool. I had all rigs running under 19. 1.4 and everything was good, now i can´t connect to any of the etn pools.

Any suggestions?

It uses 'KTccminer-cryptonight'

Can you paste result of this command (type in guake)

Quote
ps aux | grep miner

Paste the result over here.



Can you also paste the ETN coin details you have in 1bash?




Thanks for trying to help this is the result of your command

m1@m1-desktop:~$ ps aux | grep miner
m1       10259  288  0.6 564212 49368 pts/17   Sl+  22:37   2:15 /home/m1/cpuOPT/cpuminer -a cryptonight -o stratum+tcp://pool.etnminers.com:3333 -u etnkEv3h8DxMLSWMBYTmMLfKNgnaQf6k7hGbkEbK6hbeGku69dh8Lm7iihpV4dg3BRXcJFAKfGUaNac isz4bmS6E8HRgEA2cJZ.1600.19_2_ASGT405XE3 -p x -t 3
m1       10553  0.0  0.0  27188  2896 ?        Ss   22:37   0:00 SCREEN -dmSL miner /home/m1/KTccminer-cryptonight/ccminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.etnminers.com:7777 -u etnkEv3h8DxMLSWMBYTmMLfKNgnaQf6k7hGbkEbK6hbeGku69dh8Lm7iihpV4dg3BRXcJFAKfGUaNac isz4bmS6E8HRgEA2cJZ.19_2_ASGT405XE3 -p x
m1       10554 12.5  5.1 64984620 414744 pts/24 Ssl+ 22:37   0:04 /home/m1/KTccminer-cryptonight/ccminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.etnminers.com:7777 -u etnkEv3h8DxMLSWMBYTmMLfKNgnaQf6k7hGbkEbK6hbeGku69dh8Lm7iihpV4dg3BRXcJFAKfGUaNac isz4bmS6E8HRgEA2cJZ.19_2_ASGT405XE3 -p x
m1       10702  0.0  0.0  14224   944 pts/16   R+   22:38   0:00 grep --color=auto miner


I also tried to connect to etn.easyhash.io:3631 with the same result, diff gets set at exactly 19 and stays there. I can however set the diff manually by adding it to my etn address as "...address.20000" This works but then the diff stays at that at all times. Once again everything worked fine in 19_1.4

As for the details of my 1bash settings for the etn coin. I have my etn address in there as shown above as well as the port. I use port 3333 for the cpu threads and 7777 for the gpu´s in the rig i am using right now to get back online. There are 4 1050 ti`s in there.

When i look at at the outcome above it adds the diff 1600 for the cpu thread (which i set manually by adding it to 1bash) and it puts my custom worker name right behind the etn address. Seeing this now i just converted back to HOST instead of CUSTOM worker name but that doesn´t help a lot. In that case the diff gets set to 100, stays there and the miner never starts mining. The cpu works but only because i set it manually to a 1600 diff. KTccminer-cryptonight never starts mining even though it shows accepted shares.

Unfortunately i don´t know enough about Linux to get anywhere close to resolving this.
bobguy22
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 12:15:05 AM
 #7419

Sorry If this is posted somewhere on this fourm or the website but is there a way to setup profit switching and wifi?
WaveFront
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 02:09:58 AM
 #7420

Hello :-)
After I flash a hard disk with the nvOC image, is there an easy way to expand the filesystem to occupy the full capacity of the hard drive?



Flash with latest nvOC v19-2.0 Shrinked Image


Info:
Code:
Image size: 11 GB
Download ZIP size: 3.8 GB
Auto Expand to full size on first boot
Fixed copy 1bash from fat partition to SSD/HDD on first boot
SHA256: ACCA9787169E6E722ED74FB02DBE1C44E7760CEB537CB79D4C61C7FFF8AD3057


Or :

Code:
cd /home/m1/Downloads
wget -N https://raw.githubusercontent.com/papampi/nvOC_by_fullzero_Community_Release/19-2.1/expand_rootfs.sh
sudo /home/m1/Downloads/expand_rootfs.sh
Hello,
I flash the image, the rig boots into Ubuntu and everything goes fine until the next reboot when Ubuntu cannot load and gets into rescue mode:
Code:
error: unknown filesystem
Entering rescue mode
grub rescue >
Checking the volume, it show shows that somehow it didn't expand the filesystem

I imaged many SSD and USB's with it and none get to problems.
Did it expanded the partition on first boot and rebooted after 5 seconds?
Hi Papampi,
At first reboot it goes straight into rescue mode.

If I image the standard nvOC image (not the Shrinkied Image) and if I follow the "SSD-USB resize guide for nvOC" document, I run into a problem when I execute the command
Code:
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

as I get the error:
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:~$ gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

(process:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.

(gksudo:20027): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:

The system works pretty fine without extending the partition, so I guess I can leave everything like it is


If on first boot it goes to rescue mode then there should be a problem with downloaded image, have you checked it's SHA-256?

You ran "gksudo gedit" from local machine or some remote like TeamViewer or vnc?
What happens if you run the expand_rootfs.sh script on normal image?
Hi Papampi,
I didn't explain myself correctly.
The image SHA-256 is correct.
Ubuntu boot a first time normally displaying the window with the message "resizing partition at next boot..." (cannot remember the exact message). After this it reboots into rescue mode.
I didn't run "gksudo gedit" directly from the local machine, but through an SSH session
Pages: « 1 ... 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 [371] 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!