Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 01:59:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 173 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][YAC] YACoin ongoing development  (Read 353762 times)
coke
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:10:49 AM
 #101

Hey guys, just wanted to let you know that I haven't forgotten about YAC, and I'm amazed at the work that is done here to actively support this coin.
Also I got a tiny bit of good news, the pushpoold changes I made are indeed working, my testpool just mined a block. After I cleaned up the code I will put up a repository on github.

As for the mmcfe frontend, I still have to wait for 520 confirmations to see if I didn't screw up and everything is working as it should.

Regards,
cK'
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
1534514378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534514378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534514378
Reply with quote  #2

1534514378
Report to moderator
evilscoop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:19:57 AM
 #102

It's already being mined on GPU and has been likely for a while.  The OpenCL is still being optimized though.



proof, link Huh?

dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 07:55:41 AM
 #103

Yeah.. But I'm stuck on the scrypt thingy (some other ppl to...)
Code:
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:23: Warning: .type pseudo-op used outside of .def/.endef ignore
d.
...

Still haven't found a fix for this..

This rabbit hole seems to go pretty deep.  (Unless there is a magic define I'm missing).

The error messages are because as 2.22 on Linux uses the ELF x86 assembly dialect and as 2.22 on mingw32 uses the PE/COFF assembly dialect.

In src/scrypt-jane/code/scrypt-jane-portable-x86.h, replace the macro definitions around line 170 for asm_naked_* through asm_gcc_end() with:

Code:
#if defined(WIN32)
        #define asm_naked_fn_proto(type, fn) extern type STDCALL fn
        #define asm_naked_fn(fn) ; __asm__ (".intel_syntax noprefix;\n.text\n.globl " #fn "\n    .def " #fn "; .scl   2; .align   32;\n.endef\n" #fn ":\n"
        #define asm_naked_fn_end(fn) );
        #define asm_gcc() __asm__ __volatile__(".intel_syntax noprefix;\n"
        #define asm_gcc_parms() ".att_syntax prefix;"
        #define asm_gcc_trashed() __asm__ __volatile__("" :::
        #define asm_gcc_end() );
#else
        #define asm_naked_fn_proto(type, fn) extern type STDCALL fn
        #define asm_naked_fn(fn) ; __asm__ (".intel_syntax noprefix;\n.text\n" asm_align16 GNU_ASL(fn)
        #define asm_naked_fn_end(fn) ".att_syntax prefix;\n.type  " #fn ",@funct
ion\n.size " #fn ",.-" #fn "\n" );
        #define asm_gcc() __asm__ __volatile__(".intel_syntax noprefix;\n"
        #define asm_gcc_parms() ".att_syntax prefix;"
        #define asm_gcc_trashed() __asm__ __volatile__("" :::
        #define asm_gcc_end() );
#endif

And that will get you further, but equally as stuck:

Code:
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:400: Error: no such instruction: `pushl %esi'
{standard input}:403: Error: no such instruction: `movl %eax,%esi'
{standard input}:404: Error: no such instruction: `movl %edx,%eax'
mingw32-make: *** [build/scrypt-jane.o] Error 1

Those line numbers are not very instructive on where or why these att syntax lines are not valid.

Hopefully, someone with more x86 assembly-fu can set all this straight.  I'm not particularly confident that my macro changes are 100% correct either.

1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:40:41 AM
 #104

And that will get you further, but equally as stuck:

Code:
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:400: Error: no such instruction: `pushl %esi'
{standard input}:403: Error: no such instruction: `movl %eax,%esi'
{standard input}:404: Error: no such instruction: `movl %edx,%eax'
mingw32-make: *** [build/scrypt-jane.o] Error 1

Those line numbers are not very instructive on where or why these att syntax lines are not valid.

Hmm, those instructions look like perfectly valid AT&T x86 assembly to me.  If I have a chance tomorrow or during the weekend, my assembly-fu may need to spring into action.
tyrion70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 934
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:50:07 AM
 #105

I'm going to try to compile it with mingw on my linux machine instead.. If you can't beat them... *sigh*..

evilscoop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 01:01:10 PM
 #106

is yac client meant to be connecting to irc...
Im sat in the chatroom with a load of clients

I thought the old bootstrap stuff was stopped...

wesleyrbk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 04:10:18 PM
 #107

When is the N increase?
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:48:06 PM
 #108

is yac client meant to be connecting to irc...
Im sat in the chatroom with a load of clients

I thought the old bootstrap stuff was stopped...

Yes, the client uses IRC to locate other peers.  There aren't any seed nodes, so this is currently the only way the client finds other peer the first time the client is started (and thus does not yet have a local database of peers).  Perhaps when we have a sufficient number of seed nodes operated in the long-term by independent parties, this can change (maybe).  Note that all the other altcoins are still using IRC to bootstrap the process of initially finding peers even if they have seed nodes hard-coded in the client.  I haven't checked the most recent 0.9.x Bitcoin clients to see if Bitcoin still uses IRC as well.
evershawn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


Vod is a liar


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 07:54:20 PM
 #109

YAC4EVER! It's a great coin, there are naysayers for every alt coin (a lot of times the same persons).

YAC will be at .02 soon, it's on the way.
mtrlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 10:22:56 PM
 #110

On question (a), I doubt 512MB needed to hash is enough to exclude GPU's, especially a decade out

512MB is overkill. A HD6970 has 1536 cores. One hash needing 512MB memory would mean a HD6970 would have to have 768 GB of memory, without a TMTO, which kills performance quite rapidly. I think the N increase should be capped way before 512MB is reached. Maybe 16MB?

Quote
The possibility also exists that other technologies other than CPU and GPU options come into existence and widespread application during that timeframe that we can't yet anticipate, or that someone could identify a TMTO shortcut in scrypt+chacha20/8, as happened with the TMTO shortcut for scrypt+salsa20/8 that made GPU's practical for calculating Litecoin hashes.

The same TMTO that works for LTC, works for YAC.
Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 1000


GCVMMWH


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 10:28:25 PM
 #111


The possibility also exists that other technologies other than CPU and GPU options come into existence and widespread application during that timeframe that we can't yet anticipate, or that someone could identify a TMTO shortcut in scrypt+chacha20/8, as happened with the TMTO shortcut for scrypt+salsa20/8 that made GPU's practical for calculating Litecoin hashes.

That's why it is so important what WM is doing. With active development, things like this can be mitigated rather than the alternative.
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 11:34:48 PM
 #112

512MB is overkill. A HD6970 has 1536 cores. One hash needing 512MB memory would mean a HD6970 would have to have 768 GB of memory, without a TMTO, which kills performance quite rapidly. I think the N increase should be capped way before 512MB is reached. Maybe 16MB?

Killing hash rate performance rapidly is the goal.  Why would we want to cap the N increase before 512MB is reached?  It'll be reached in the vicinity of 10 years from now, and I suspect no one is going to be bothering with today's 6xxx series Radeon GPU's a decade from now.  In my opinion, the rate of N increasing is actually probably a bit low, and N started at too low a number, if the original developer's intent was to level the playing field between GPU's and CPU's.  Starting N at a level where 512MB is needed to calculate a hash actually would've been an interesting approach right from the start of the coin.


Quote
The same TMTO that works for LTC, works for YAC.

For clarification, are we talking about the TMTO shortcut currently used by cgminer for scrypt+salsa20/8, in which a lookup gap allows you to access external RAM half as often by adding an extra salsa round20/8 to calculate the missing value 50% of the time?
Puycheval
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:16:42 AM
 #113

Great work going on here, long live the YAC !

I'm new to cryptocoins but I feel really interested and I'd like to help, a little.

First, I computed the N graph over time with Matlab from C code. I've found exactly the same changing days that rbdrbd found (in fact, I verified the first and the last  (13/05/2030 !) ones)
Then I tried to understand why we have that ugly curve. I made the assumption that it had to be simple. The C code is strange but it's obviously  an integer algorithm approximating a real function.
It could be the Moore's law for the first years, so let's try N=t2 with t being time in seconds since The Beginning.
As you know, N=2Nfactor+1 so we can derive Nfactor=2.log(t)/log(2)-1. I tried many tweaks and long story short, here are plots for Nfactor=f(days)  and 2.5log(days) :



EDIT : So finally it would mean that N=22.5log(days)+1 or N=2.days2.5

So, what does that mean ? I don't know and I suppose I didn't find the original equation but we get the idea.

PS1 : sorry for the english, that's not my first language
PS2 : can someone tell me where the difficulty is hidden in the source code ?


yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:18:08 AM
 #114

Great stuff! Keep up the good work. Smiley
digger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2013, 12:26:04 AM
 #115

good work.
come to mine Yacoin here http://yac.ltcoin.net

here need some hash.

How can I know when next N change?

i know N now is 6, when next?

doge pool: http://dog.ltcoin.net ,yac pool: http://yac.ltcoin.net ,bbq pool: http://bbq.ltcoin.net ,Litecoin pool, http://ltcoin.net dig feathercoin , http://fc.ltcoin.net bitbar pool: http://btb.ltcoin.net wdc pool: http://wdc.ltcoin.net
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:36:43 AM
 #116

How can I know when next N change?

Read back a page to find plenty of info and even some spreadsheets of N values over time prepared by rbdrbd.  Or you can look at the function that actually decides the N factor, in main.cpp, called GetNfactor().


Quote
i know N now is 6, when next?

That's the N factor, not N.  To go from N factor to the actual N, calculate it like so:
N = (1 << (Nfactor + 1));
seleme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 12:50:57 AM
 #117

WindMaster, what can be done to make bter remove that stupid warning they have on yac on their site? I'm not tech person and don't have a clue about that but why was yac the only one to get it and s there something it could be done to give them a proof so they can remove it?

I think that should be one of priorities for you guys that know a thing or two about tech stuff, it might have an effect for other exchanges to not add it too as well on people to invest more in it.

▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████████▄▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████████████▄▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████ ██ ████████▄▀█▄
█ ███████▄▄ ▌ ▄▄▄ ▀██████ █
█ █████████ ▌ ████ ██████ █
█ █████████ ▌ ▄▄▄▄ ▀█████ █
█ █████████ ▌ █████ █████ █
█ █████▄▀▀  ▌ ▀▀▀▀ ▄█████ █
▀█▄▀███████ ██ ████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▀███████████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▀███████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
.JINBI..

merges gold’s investment
holding value
with
blockchain technology
.
...T H E   G O L D E N   I C O...
.────────     WHITEPAPER     ────────.
▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████████▄▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████████████▄▀█▄
▄█▀▄███████ ██ ████████▄▀█▄
█ ███████▄▄ ▌ ▄▄▄ ▀██████ █
█ █████████ ▌ ████ ██████ █
█ █████████ ▌ ▄▄▄▄ ▀█████ █
█ █████████ ▌ █████ █████ █
█ █████▄▀▀  ▌ ▀▀▀▀ ▄█████ █
▀█▄▀███████ ██ ████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▀███████████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▀███████████▀▄█▀
▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 07:23:41 AM
 #118

How can I know when next N change?

i know N now is 6, when next?

BTW - If anyone needs to find out the current value of N and the N factor, my version of the YACoin client on github (link in first post of this thread) adds that information in the data reported by the getmininginfo RPC command:

Quote
yacoin@blah:~$ ./yacoind getmininginfo
{
    "blocks" : 65142,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 6.74541496,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : 8,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "Nfactor" : 6,
    "N" : 128
}
dragon2nd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 10:55:50 AM
 #119

How can I know when next N change?

i know N now is 6, when next?

BTW - If anyone needs to find out the current value of N and the N factor, my version of the YACoin client on github (link in first post of this thread) adds that information in the data reported by the getmininginfo RPC command:

Quote
yacoin@blah:~$ ./yacoind getmininginfo
{
    "blocks" : 65142,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 6.74541496,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : 8,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "Nfactor" : 6,
    "N" : 128
}

How about adding network hashrate?
yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 11:21:34 AM
 #120

Its worth noting the official windows client says "WARNING: Checkpoint is too old. Wait for block chain to download or notify developers"
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 173 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!