Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 10:20:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 169 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][YAC] YACoin ongoing development  (Read 345748 times)
erpbridge
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 960


View Profile
June 05, 2013, 04:17:10 AM
 #501

General question: I have an i5 2550k, and an i7 3770. Both are profitable per calculators mining most of the gpu minable coins. I usually let them just run cpuminer, and mine on an LTC pool all the time, racking up a little here and there.

Being Yacoin is optomized for CPU mining and NO GPU mining, would I be better off mining a GPU coin with these CPUs... or is Yacoin more profitable all things being equal for these CPUs? There just aren't any calculators that would answer this one way or another.
1508538017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508538017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508538017
Reply with quote  #2

1508538017
Report to moderator
1508538017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508538017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508538017
Reply with quote  #2

1508538017
Report to moderator
1508538017
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508538017

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508538017
Reply with quote  #2

1508538017
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
June 05, 2013, 02:57:52 PM
 #502

General question: I have an i5 2550k, and an i7 3770. Both are profitable per calculators mining most of the gpu minable coins. I usually let them just run cpuminer, and mine on an LTC pool all the time, racking up a little here and there.

Being Yacoin is optomized for CPU mining and NO GPU mining, would I be better off mining a GPU coin with these CPUs... or is Yacoin more profitable all things being equal for these CPUs? There just aren't any calculators that would answer this one way or another.

Taking into account these numbers:
Currently, for my i5 2500k, the hashrate for LTC is double what it is for YAC

To compare their values to BTC, I did the following:
The current difficulty for LTC is 604.6 (as taken from allchains.info) and the current highest bid price on bter.com is .02397
The current difficulty for YAC is 0.851425 (as taken from the YAC wallet) and the current highest bid price on bter.com is .000382

The LTC difficulty is 710 time higher than YAC's.
The LTC value is 62.75 times higher than YAC's.
The hashrate for LTC is 2 times highen than YAC's
This tells me that YAC should make you 5.5x (710 / 62.75 / 2) more than mining LTC on those CPU's

(Doing it based on network hashrate may be more accurate, so I've included both)
The current network hashrate for LTC is 17,633 MH/sec (as taken from my LTC pool) and the current highest bid price on bter.com is .02397
The current mean network hashrate for YAC is 44 MH/sec(as taken from http://yacexplorer.tk/graphs.htm) and the current highest bid price on bter.com is .000382

The LTC hashrate is 400 time higher than YAC's.
The LTC value is 62.75 times higher than YAC's.
The hashrate for LTC is 2 times highen than YAC's
This tells me that YAC should make you 3.2x (400 / 62.75 / 2) more than mining LTC on those CPU's

I may have really simplified this or my logic may be really wrong, but I couldn't think of any other way to estimate this other than running two identical machines mining different coins for a period of time, and then sell the results and compare...  Ain't nobody got time for that!

EDIT: apparently, hashrate for YAC is half of what it is for LTC for my machine - updated values above
EDIT2: added calcs based on network hash rate

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
wesleyrbk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
June 06, 2013, 01:55:44 AM
 #503

Did you add the N value in your calculations?
Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
June 06, 2013, 02:45:45 AM
 #504

Did you add the N value in your calculations?

N is irrelevant as everyone is using the same value for N - earnings do not go down when N goes up.
 

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
Joe_Bauers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 783


GCVMMWH


View Profile
June 06, 2013, 03:59:48 PM
 #505

Looks like he wanted to save space and removed SHA512, Blake and Skein. Why Salsa64 was removed if Salsa is needed is beyond me.

I see what happened now - if you run clean project in QT Creator, it removes those files.
sunnyl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 12:16:05 PM
 #506

I compiled a version of win64 from windmaster's git branch, if you have 64-bit windows installed, you can try it.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/hnindev/files/yacoin-qt-0.4.0.0-g32a928e-winx64.zip

Hi Peers, I have built a new winx64 binary based on the latest GIT repo and turned on the SSE & AVX optimizations by adding this option -DCPU_X86_FORCE_INTRINSICS.

The complete options for gcc is:
Quote
DEFINES       = -DUNICODE -D__INSURE__ -DQT_GUI -DBOOST_INTERPROCESS_HAS_WINDOWS_KERNEL_BOOTTIME -DBOOST_USE_WINDOWS_H -DBOOST_THREAD_USE_LIB -DBOOST_THREAD_BUILD_LIB -DBOOST_SPIRIT_THREADSAFE -DBOOST_NO_ANSI_APIS -DCPU_X86_FORCE_INTRINSICS -DSCRYPT_CHACHA -DSCRYPT_KECCAK512 -DUSE_UPNP=1 -DSTATICLIB -DUSE_IPV6=1 -DWIN32 -D_MT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN

Try this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/hnindev/files/yacoin-qt-0.4.0.0-g2nd-winx64.zip

For viruses or malwae precaution, please scan it by yourself.  Wink

Used, Working well.
smilez
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:07:01 PM
 #507

We need a place where people can buy and sell real items for yacoins Smiley

Stuff like steam accounts, games & whatnot.

hanzac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 377


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:52:53 PM
 #508

We need a place where people can buy and sell real items for yacoins Smiley

Stuff like steam accounts, games & whatnot.

Currently, I think you can go to marketplace of yacointalk.com/.
nonameo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:15:05 PM
 #509

We need a place where people can buy and sell real items for yacoins Smiley

Stuff like steam accounts, games & whatnot.

shameless plug for my marketplace thread Tongue its not perfect/ideal and it's not exclusively for yacoins but, at least its something. hopefully if there's enough traffic then everyone will benefit Smiley

turtles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:04:57 PM
 #510

couple questions . .

Is yacoin still a secret Linux wizard club?

do the windows binaries at yacoin.org work or is that bs? if bs is someone working on a windows build?
if not, will a Linux VM work for mining? all hardware I have access to requires windows Huh

have you considered changing the name of this coin to CSWCMWLNHRFAWCoin confusingsowecanminewithlownetworkhashrateforawhilecoin?

since this is cpu mined only I feel like ALOT more people would get involved long term if it were easier, I know I would.
Boing7898
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:31:14 PM
 #511

couple questions . .

Is yacoin still a secret Linux wizard club?

do the windows binaries at yacoin.org work or is that bs? if bs is someone working on a windows build?
if not, will a Linux VM work for mining? all hardware I have access to requires windows Huh

have you considered changing the name of this coin to CSWCMWLNHRFAWCoin confusingsowecanminewithlownetworkhashrateforawhilecoin?

since this is cpu mined only I feel like ALOT more people would get involved long term if it were easier, I know I would.

There are windows binaries for both the miner and the client, and YACoin isn't confusing at all.

Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 693



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:50:23 PM
 #512

couple questions . .

Is yacoin still a secret Linux wizard club?

do the windows binaries at yacoin.org work or is that bs? if bs is someone working on a windows build?
if not, will a Linux VM work for mining? all hardware I have access to requires windows Huh

have you considered changing the name of this coin to CSWCMWLNHRFAWCoin confusingsowecanminewithlownetworkhashrateforawhilecoin?

since this is cpu mined only I feel like ALOT more people would get involved long term if it were easier, I know I would.


unfortunately it appears the guy who set up yacoin.org disappeared and isn't really updating his site.

Here are some links to the posts with the windows executables I am recommending:

Windows CPU Miner : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=201027.0
Windows 64 binary (compiled by hanzac): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=206577.msg2356931#msg2356931

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
turtles
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 06:09:51 PM
 #513

couple questions . .

Is yacoin still a secret Linux wizard club?

do the windows binaries at yacoin.org work or is that bs? if bs is someone working on a windows build?
if not, will a Linux VM work for mining? all hardware I have access to requires windows Huh

have you considered changing the name of this coin to CSWCMWLNHRFAWCoin confusingsowecanminewithlownetworkhashrateforawhilecoin?

since this is cpu mined only I feel like ALOT more people would get involved long term if it were easier, I know I would.


unfortunately it appears the guy who set up yacoin.org disappeared and isn't really updating his site.

Here are some links to the posts with the windows executables I am recommending:

Windows CPU Miner : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=201027.0
Windows 64 binary (compiled by hanzac): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=206577.msg2356931#msg2356931


Thank you kind sir, don't know why I couldn't find either of those threads
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 09:54:57 PM
 #514

Looks like the network hashrate is steady at 40Mhash. Anyone happen to know when the POS blocks are due to pop up in the wallets?
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:14:15 PM
 #515

Looks like the network hashrate is steady at 40Mhash. Anyone happen to know when the POS blocks are due to pop up in the wallets?

soon™

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
liteuser
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:17:49 PM
 #516

Looks like the network hashrate is steady at 40Mhash. Anyone happen to know when the POS blocks are due to pop up in the wallets?

soon™

First POS today:

http://yacexplorer.tk/block/683ae9d8b201e2ffd9c0b509f7ef053d07fe49e61dbbc7b5931bc5c28d2131a7

BTC: 13GtfEPpEiq6jGCFJGCXAUVDehCFVvTaov
http://www.vultr.com/?ref=6838137
smilez
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:26:33 PM
 #517

What exactly is this PoS ?

sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:35:12 PM
 #518

What exactly is this PoS ?

Proof of Stake, basically you get a small percentage as a bonus to the coins you're already holding for more than 30 days.

some more info:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Proof_of_Stake
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=187714.0
http://www.ppcoin.org/static/ppcoin-paper.pdf

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
digger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 01:46:07 PM
 #519

have some body have already got Proof of Stake?

doge pool: http://dog.ltcoin.net ,yac pool: http://yac.ltcoin.net ,bbq pool: http://bbq.ltcoin.net ,Litecoin pool, http://ltcoin.net dig feathercoin , http://fc.ltcoin.net bitbar pool: http://btb.ltcoin.net wdc pool: http://wdc.ltcoin.net
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 02:14:56 PM
 #520

have some body have already got Proof of Stake?

yes, for example:
http://yacexplorer.tk/block/683ae9d8b201e2ffd9c0b509f7ef053d07fe49e61dbbc7b5931bc5c28d2131a7

address Y2e1VP9ZpwYCbVMk7RRhGDLwRKyuQwjzGQ staked 357.59 YAC and got 1.45 YAC as interest after 30 days of holding.

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 169 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!