Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 03:38:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE][AMD][NVIDIA][CPU][XMR]How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏  (Read 145044 times)
BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 10:12:20 PM
 #381

the cards can´t be run in a single system? U mean they wount outmax performance when in  a single rig? why is that?

plus: is nicehash still athing?
im a little sceptical if a see it on top of whattomine results ..

I doubt that you even get HD6970 and VEGA running in a single system, let alone with maximum performance. 970 may also be a bit tricky along with AMD.
I think so, you would need at least 3 different drivers, it might be doable, but won't be stable probably.

I am itching to try several Docker containers in a single hardware system, each with a separate driver and miner setup. Something like one with Win10, AMD 15.7 and Claymore 9.7 for old HD6xxx, one for Nvidia and the last with latest AMD drivers and XMR-STACK 2.2.0
Was trying to shchedule a meeting with Docker's stuff last fall but to no avail. Docker's overhead is pretty small, no security concerns for mining and pretty easy to setup every next system from a Docker image.
1524368303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524368303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524368303
Reply with quote  #2

1524368303
Report to moderator
1524368303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524368303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524368303
Reply with quote  #2

1524368303
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:21:53 PM
 #382

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2018, 12:49:51 PM
 #383

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
Vlizzjeffrey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 503


Bitcoin King BTC


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 04:21:38 PM
 #384

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

but the 6 year old fx8120 is still a beast, 420 hash, but it does use more power then new gen cpu's ofcourse.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 04:59:49 PM
 #385

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

Good tip. It actually uses 12 threads, I suppose cryptonight-lite requires less cache per thread.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 05:01:03 PM
 #386

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

but the 6 year old fx8120 is still a beast, 420 hash, but it does use more power then new gen cpu's ofcourse.

Impressive. That's why I expected a bit more performance of a 6 core AES CPU.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2018, 06:16:03 PM
 #387

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

Good tip. It actually uses 12 threads, I suppose cryptonight-lite requires less cache per thread.
Yeah, half.

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 12:39:37 PM
 #388

Are older CPU's really that slow in cryptonight?

I have a rig with an old Xeon 5645 (2.4 Ghz, 6 core, 12 Mb cache AES, SSE 4.2) that gives 200 H/s with xmr-stak / xmrig.

A tiny mobile i7 7500u 2 cores makes 135 and a Ryzen 1700 around 530.

Are newest CPU's really more efficient using AES, does software use other instructions for cryptonight, or what?

I was really expecting more from a 6 core / 12 Mb CPU, but I already checked, and yes, it's average for this CPU.

I think all of them uses AES, I don't know if there are some revisions that makes it faster, but generally newer CPUs are faster every generation and with better power consumption. For CPU mining try AEON, much better for CPU, hashrate is 4x higher then on XMR and only 2x times higher with GPU.

Good tip. It actually uses 12 threads, I suppose cryptonight-lite requires less cache per thread.
Yeah, half.

Anyway, I'm not seeing 4x HR increase from monero, but around 3x, from ~200 to ~600. Using XMR-Stak 2.1.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2018, 03:17:55 PM
 #389

Anyway, I'm not seeing 4x HR increase from monero, but around 3x, from ~200 to ~600. Using XMR-Stak 2.1.
I don't know about this new version I haven't done with that anything, but port of XMR-STAK-CPU doing 4x.

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 06:57:55 PM
 #390

Anyway, I'm not seeing 4x HR increase from monero, but around 3x, from ~200 to ~600. Using XMR-Stak 2.1.
I don't know about this new version I haven't done with that anything, but port of XMR-STAK-CPU doing 4x.

And it does on my Ryzen it goes from ~500 to almost 2000 and from 130 to 500+ on my i7 7500u laptop.

But that old Xeon that I thought would be a beast in mining - 6 core, 12 threads, 12 Mb L3, AES, triple channel memory is really a turd...

Oh well, at least it costed me something like $15...  Grin


★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 13, 2018, 08:12:12 PM
 #391

But I'll take this discussion to the How to mine Aeon thread.

★★★ INTENSE COIN ★★★
BLOCKCHAIN BACKED DECENTRALISED P2P VPN
MediumTwitterSlackDiscordRedditFacebookWhitepaperBitcointalk Ann
cryptodunno
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 09:30:20 AM
 #392

Hi guys, can you help me to figure out why my xmr stack miner crashes after some time on nvidia rig?
It just pops out with windows error that application is terminated and will be closed maybe in an hour or so after launch.

BSAlex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 18, 2018, 11:18:04 AM
 #393

Hi guys, can you help me to figure out why my xmr stack miner crashes after some time on nvidia rig?
It just pops out with windows error that application is terminated and will be closed maybe in an hour or so after launch.

You'd better fill proper form of ISSUE request on github.
https://github.com/fireice-uk/xmr-stak/issues
 More chances to get a valid responce. Developers pay close attention and if it is not a hardware issue you have good chances to get good advise or even code modification that will help to eliminate your issue.
KK120
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 19, 2018, 05:40:05 PM
 #394

I was about to flash the modded bios for my RX470 (knowing that I have Samsung memory I presumed that the manufacturer was Gigabyte) but after running SRB Polaris, I found out that my card is a Sapphire but with Samsung memory!

@Mattthev being very helpful, will upload in the coming days a modded BIOS for this version of RX470 Sapphire with Samsung memory in https://mining-bios.eu


BIOS was updated, a very straightforward process based on the guide provided.

Observations so far: with timings 1240/2000 and 850v AMD_XMR_STAK 2.2 delivers about 950 H/s per GPU, but after some hours the software is frozen and I have to restart the software not the rig (with the default GPU bios always I had to restart the rig). I think it is a matter of tweaking and testing to achieve stability.

Anyway the good thing is that Claymore is running perfectly without any freezes etc.

I do have noticed though that temperatures are pretty low for AMD_XMR_STAK (47c max) where Claymore is much higher (close to 60c) and also GPU power draw for XMR_STAK is lower vs Claymore (~73v vs ~97v).

DeepOnion ⚡ Anonymous & Untraceable Cryptocurrency
⚡ Join DeepOnion Airdrop NOW! ⚡ (https://deeponion.org/apply.php?ref=1639973)
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2018, 08:03:01 AM
 #395

I was about to flash the modded bios for my RX470 (knowing that I have Samsung memory I presumed that the manufacturer was Gigabyte) but after running SRB Polaris, I found out that my card is a Sapphire but with Samsung memory!

@Mattthev being very helpful, will upload in the coming days a modded BIOS for this version of RX470 Sapphire with Samsung memory in https://mining-bios.eu


BIOS was updated, a very straightforward process based on the guide provided.

Observations so far: with timings 1240/2000 and 850v AMD_XMR_STAK 2.2 delivers about 950 H/s per GPU, but after some hours the software is frozen and I have to restart the software not the rig (with the default GPU bios always I had to restart the rig). I think it is a matter of tweaking and testing to achieve stability.

Anyway the good thing is that Claymore is running perfectly without any freezes etc.

I do have noticed though that temperatures are pretty low for AMD_XMR_STAK (47c max) where Claymore is much higher (close to 60c) and also GPU power draw for XMR_STAK is lower vs Claymore (~73v vs ~97v).
You may try our latest version 2.2.1 https://github.com/IndeedMiners/xmr-aeon-stak/releases Or build from original sources.
XMR-STAK is not so power hungry. You may also try lower intensity https://mining-bios.eu/guides-and-miners/cryptonight-xmr-etn-sumo-aeon-mining-guides-and-miners-configs/

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
sexontoast
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 06:46:14 AM
 #396

Is it possible to launch XMR with alternate configurations, rather than either renaming the config.txt or having multiple folders ?

For example

xmr-stak.exe --config c:\configs\config-coinblah.txt

Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2018, 08:47:59 AM
 #397

Is it possible to launch XMR with alternate configurations, rather than either renaming the config.txt or having multiple folders ?

For example

xmr-stak.exe --config c:\configs\config-coinblah.txt


Yeah it is. Like almost always it's in the first post...

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
cryptodunno
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 21, 2018, 10:37:02 AM
 #398

Hi guys, can you help me to figure out why my xmr stack miner crashes after some time on nvidia rig?
It just pops out with windows error that application is terminated and will be closed maybe in an hour or so after launch.

You'd better fill proper form of ISSUE request on github.
https://github.com/fireice-uk/xmr-stak/issues
 More chances to get a valid responce. Developers pay close attention and if it is not a hardware issue you have good chances to get good advise or even code modification that will help to eliminate your issue.
even forgot abt my post once changed the pool. definately was a pool problem as no issue with mining on another pool.

zevlove
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2018, 03:57:38 PM
 #399

How can I disable 1 gpu from mining when I want to use it for gaming? I am using xmr-stak. Cards are Nvidia 1080 ti and 1070 ti.

I just need two seperate xmr-stak folders with different config files correct?

One will be setup to mine from CPU + Both GPUs

One will be setup to mine from CPU + Second GPU only (comment out the GPU I don;t want mining??)
Mattthev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 292


Mining-bios.eu


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2018, 04:34:49 PM
 #400

How can I disable 1 gpu from mining when I want to use it for gaming? I am using xmr-stak. Cards are Nvidia 1080 ti and 1070 ti.

I just need two seperate xmr-stak folders with different config files correct?

One will be setup to mine from CPU + Both GPUs

One will be setup to mine from CPU + Second GPU only (comment out the GPU I don;t want mining??)
Not index it, if it's first so not to use card with index 0.

Buy Mining Bios with Performance Timings 👍 Mining-Bios.eu │👉 XMR-AEON-STAK ⛏ miner 1% dev fee + support POW forks, MoneroV7, CN-Heavy (SUMO, Haven), Lite V3, V7 (AEON, IPBC),... │ Guides:RX 470/480/570/580, VEGA Bios Mod Tutorial - SRB, PBE 💰💲│How to Mine Monero / Sumokoin + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine AEON + Miners Downloads ⛏│Guides:How to Mine ⚡️Electroneum + Miners Downloads ⛏Bios mods and performance timings Cool E-mail: monerobiosedit@gmail.com│ Did I help you? Hit +Merit on my post. 🤜🤛👌
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!