Bitcoin Forum
June 28, 2017, 10:49:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1423GH] ABCPool PPS - Proxy Pool For High & Steady Mining Rewards  (Read 146488 times)
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 09, 2012, 07:39:54 PM
 #1021

Hi guys,

We've hit another checkpoint on our way up the GH/s scale. That means registration has closed again while we analyze load patterns and prepare our systems for further scaling.

Registration will most likely open up again after the weekend. If you'd like a heads up, send chlorine or me a PM and you'll be the first to know when signing up is possible again.

MC

1498646964
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498646964

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498646964
Reply with quote  #2

1498646964
Report to moderator
Join the Crowdfunding Revolution ►► FundYourselfNow.com ◄◄ Crowdsale with
attractive rewards
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 09, 2012, 08:47:48 PM
 #1022

do you prohibit your address to be pinged? it doesn't respond (pool.abcpool.co)
Missed your post initially; to answer your question: Our systems are behind Amazon's load balancers, which cannot be pinged. To gauge response time you may time a fetch of http://www.abcpool.co/ping.php; it should be comparable to ping response time.

EDIT: This made me think.. why wouldn't the load balancers be pingable? So I poked around until I poked a little hole; and now pool.abcpool.co can be pinged Smiley

By the way, for those concerned about ping times: each 100ms of ping-time translates to only 0.017% invalid shares. In the grand scheme of things quite insignificant.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 09, 2012, 11:51:02 PM
 #1023

... or you can use cgminer and load-balance the pools and look at the API stats to determine which is best for you Smiley
It will of course be different for each person
It contains a set of fields starting with 'Pool' that show each pool performance (for each pool and each device)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 10, 2012, 10:57:23 AM
 #1024

I've been mining on abcpool for a couple of days and everything seems fine so far.  I did notice that the miner effectiveness page hasn't displayed any real data yet.  Is this implemented?
Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

Chlorine
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


Chlorine - keeps your pool in top condition


View Profile
August 11, 2012, 08:54:37 PM
 #1025

Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

I didn't know about the user-agent header.  I'm using cgminer with the diablo kernel.  How is that combination reported?  As cgminer or diablo?

It seems like the kernel you're using is more important than the client.

How the combination is reported depends on the User-Agent header your miner sends to ABCPool. Please let us now which User-Agent header is sent and we will sort it out.

Chlorine.

ABCPool.co - Bitcoin Mining with steady rewards.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=33586.msg419612#msg419612

1J3ZiBDN7z9WCRYL79z3youw1Bz1buhbGu
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
August 12, 2012, 05:53:59 AM
 #1026

Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

I didn't know about the user-agent header.  I'm using cgminer with the diablo kernel.  How is that combination reported?  As cgminer or diablo?

It seems like the kernel you're using is more important than the client.

cgminer. kernel is irrelevant when reporting the miner. it will report diablominer if you're using diablominer.

BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 590



View Profile
August 12, 2012, 06:20:54 PM
 #1027

do you prohibit your address to be pinged? it doesn't respond (pool.abcpool.co)
Missed your post initially; to answer your question: Our systems are behind Amazon's load balancers, which cannot be pinged. To gauge response time you may time a fetch of http://www.abcpool.co/ping.php; it should be comparable to ping response time.

EDIT: This made me think.. why wouldn't the load balancers be pingable? So I poked around until I poked a little hole; and now pool.abcpool.co can be pinged Smiley

By the way, for those concerned about ping times: each 100ms of ping-time translates to only 0.017% invalid shares. In the grand scheme of things quite insignificant.

Thanks for fixing the pingability Cheesy. Its just that BFL devices are more sensitive about delays, trashing more shares on every LP compared to GPUs.

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:49:42 AM
 #1028

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:52:11 AM
 #1029

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

yes like BitMinter at lest

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:55:07 AM
 #1030

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

yes like BitMinter at lest

Yeah and Eclipse. I guess for now it will be OK, but when there are fewer and fewer no fee options, it seems keeping variance down will become more and more difficult.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 01:29:09 AM
 #1031

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:23:10 AM
 #1032

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.

NorCalEinstein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:10:54 AM
 #1033

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.

Whenever you guys roll out patches/fixes/features, do we have to restart our clients to take advantage of them? Or is that not necessary?
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 10:06:01 AM
 #1034

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.
Whenever you guys roll out patches/fixes/features, do we have to restart our clients to take advantage of them? Or is that not necessary?
Usually, it's not necessary. In some transitions the LP connection is not severed neatly, which consequently causes buggy miners to fail doing LP from that point on. They never recover from that one broken LP. So the essence is: If you are missing log messages about LP and are suddenly experiencing an elevated amount of invalid shares, try restarting your miner.

This can actually happen at any pool, even during normal operation, when the connection has a hickup. Therefore it's wise to check for it now and then anyway.

I remember seeing this problem with Phoenix v1, but only because I was using it myself. I have not tested other mining software, or more recent versions of Phoenix.

When we see elevated invalid shares pool-wide after a patch, we always post a message here on the board asking you to restart your miners.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 10:32:09 AM
 #1035

Thanks MC!

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 02:35:43 PM
 #1036

Pool is showing 0 GH/s

Can we expect this to be resolved soon or should we switch to back-ups? 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:03:40 PM
 #1037

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
MintCondition
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:43:51 PM
 #1038

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.
It's quite a comprehensive patch we're rolling out today, and there were some issues with it. The pool was unavailable for a while, and some shares have not been accounted for yet. We will adjust your balances for that in the coming days.

Things have stabilized now it seems, but I can't promise that we're out of the woods for today. We'll continue to monitor the pool closely.

I'm sorry we didn't provide you with more advanced warning of this.

MC

BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 590



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 04:38:32 PM
 #1039

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.
It's quite a comprehensive patch we're rolling out today, and there were some issues with it. The pool was unavailable for a while, and some shares have not been accounted for yet. We will adjust your balances for that in the coming days.

Things have stabilized now it seems, but I can't promise that we're out of the woods for today. We'll continue to monitor the pool closely.

I'm sorry we didn't provide you with more advanced warning of this.

MC

But they will, right? hope everything goes well

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
Dalkore
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


ASIC Miner Hosting: www.bitcoinasichosting.com


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2012, 05:07:21 PM
 #1040

Should we use another pool until your patched up?   We need to know if we are getting credited for the shares correctly?

[Winter Fire Sale] Hosting: $60.00 per KW) [6-month contracts] - Link
Transaction List: jayson3 +5 - ColdHardMetal +3 - Nolo +2 - CoinHoarder +1 - Elxiliath +1 - tymm0 +1 - Johnniewalker +1 - Oscer +1 - Davidj411 +1 - BitCoiner2012 +1 - dstruct2k +1 - Philj +1 - camolist +1 - exahash +1 - Littleshop +1 - Severian +1 - DebitMe +1 - lepenguin +1 - StringTheory +1 - amagimetals +1 - jcoin200 +1 - serp +1 - klintay +1 - -droid- +1 - FlutterPie +1
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!