Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:35:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1423GH] ABCPool PPS - Proxy Pool For High & Steady Mining Rewards  (Read 140777 times)
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 09, 2012, 11:33:50 AM
 #1021


Please remember that ABC IS A PROXY. It is not a pool.

what does that mean? utilizes other pools?
Just as individual miners goes to a pool to limit their risk, ABCPool also employs other pools to limit risk. That way we can offer you our risk free PPS service for such a low fee.

If a block is found at any of the pools we direct your hashes to, we receive a small payout. Many small payouts even out to a more predictable payout pattern than the several big payouts we would have when purely running our own bitcoind for mining. We use these payouts to pay your fixed PPS rewards.

A word about the term 'proxy'. Technically we're not a proxy, as we don't act on your behalf; look it up in the dictionary. Since it's now common vocabulary/jargon in the mining business, for now we'll stick with being described as a proxy. The first mining proxies were actually proxies in the dictionary-sense of the word, passing through both work and earnings directly, some running on your own computer, and some on a server. That also means that risk was passed on 1:1. When pools like ours emerged people also started calling them proxies, though we in fact establish a seperate and very different contract with our miners for a fixed PPS fee, thus transforming the risk of mining at DGM, Prop, Score, etc. pools to the risk free reward model of PPS.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481207746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207746
Reply with quote  #2

1481207746
Report to moderator
1481207746
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481207746

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481207746
Reply with quote  #2

1481207746
Report to moderator
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 09, 2012, 07:39:54 PM
 #1022

Hi guys,

We've hit another checkpoint on our way up the GH/s scale. That means registration has closed again while we analyze load patterns and prepare our systems for further scaling.

Registration will most likely open up again after the weekend. If you'd like a heads up, send chlorine or me a PM and you'll be the first to know when signing up is possible again.

MC

MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 09, 2012, 08:47:48 PM
 #1023

do you prohibit your address to be pinged? it doesn't respond (pool.abcpool.co)
Missed your post initially; to answer your question: Our systems are behind Amazon's load balancers, which cannot be pinged. To gauge response time you may time a fetch of http://www.abcpool.co/ping.php; it should be comparable to ping response time.

EDIT: This made me think.. why wouldn't the load balancers be pingable? So I poked around until I poked a little hole; and now pool.abcpool.co can be pinged Smiley

By the way, for those concerned about ping times: each 100ms of ping-time translates to only 0.017% invalid shares. In the grand scheme of things quite insignificant.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 09, 2012, 11:51:02 PM
 #1024

... or you can use cgminer and load-balance the pools and look at the API stats to determine which is best for you Smiley
It will of course be different for each person
It contains a set of fields starting with 'Pool' that show each pool performance (for each pool and each device)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 10, 2012, 10:57:23 AM
 #1025

I've been mining on abcpool for a couple of days and everything seems fine so far.  I did notice that the miner effectiveness page hasn't displayed any real data yet.  Is this implemented?
Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

Chlorine
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


Chlorine - keeps your pool in top condition


View Profile
August 11, 2012, 08:54:37 PM
 #1026

Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

I didn't know about the user-agent header.  I'm using cgminer with the diablo kernel.  How is that combination reported?  As cgminer or diablo?

It seems like the kernel you're using is more important than the client.

How the combination is reported depends on the User-Agent header your miner sends to ABCPool. Please let us now which User-Agent header is sent and we will sort it out.

Chlorine.

ABCPool.co - Bitcoin Mining with steady rewards.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=33586.msg419612#msg419612

1J3ZiBDN7z9WCRYL79z3youw1Bz1buhbGu
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
August 12, 2012, 05:53:59 AM
 #1027

Thanks for letting us know. The miner effectiveness page was broken because of an over-tight security setting. I just fixed it, enjoy!

MC

I didn't know about the user-agent header.  I'm using cgminer with the diablo kernel.  How is that combination reported?  As cgminer or diablo?

It seems like the kernel you're using is more important than the client.

cgminer. kernel is irrelevant when reporting the miner. it will report diablominer if you're using diablominer.

BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584



View Profile
August 12, 2012, 06:20:54 PM
 #1028

do you prohibit your address to be pinged? it doesn't respond (pool.abcpool.co)
Missed your post initially; to answer your question: Our systems are behind Amazon's load balancers, which cannot be pinged. To gauge response time you may time a fetch of http://www.abcpool.co/ping.php; it should be comparable to ping response time.

EDIT: This made me think.. why wouldn't the load balancers be pingable? So I poked around until I poked a little hole; and now pool.abcpool.co can be pinged Smiley

By the way, for those concerned about ping times: each 100ms of ping-time translates to only 0.017% invalid shares. In the grand scheme of things quite insignificant.

Thanks for fixing the pingability Cheesy. Its just that BFL devices are more sensitive about delays, trashing more shares on every LP compared to GPUs.

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:49:42 AM
 #1029

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:52:11 AM
 #1030

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

yes like BitMinter at lest

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:55:07 AM
 #1031

What is ABC proxy going to do with its mining power now that ozcoin is going fee based? Certainly it seems you won't be able to mine there and pay fees and keep PPS rate so high? I guess there are still other no fee options for now.

yes like BitMinter at lest

Yeah and Eclipse. I guess for now it will be OK, but when there are fewer and fewer no fee options, it seems keeping variance down will become more and more difficult.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 01:29:09 AM
 #1032

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:23:10 AM
 #1033

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.

NorCalEinstein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 06:10:54 AM
 #1034

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.

Whenever you guys roll out patches/fixes/features, do we have to restart our clients to take advantage of them? Or is that not necessary?
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 10:06:01 AM
 #1035

Tons of problems today with "pool not providing work fast enough"  Sad
Sorry about that JWU42. Tomorrow we'll be rolling out the first in a series of patches that will alleviate your issue.
Whenever you guys roll out patches/fixes/features, do we have to restart our clients to take advantage of them? Or is that not necessary?
Usually, it's not necessary. In some transitions the LP connection is not severed neatly, which consequently causes buggy miners to fail doing LP from that point on. They never recover from that one broken LP. So the essence is: If you are missing log messages about LP and are suddenly experiencing an elevated amount of invalid shares, try restarting your miner.

This can actually happen at any pool, even during normal operation, when the connection has a hickup. Therefore it's wise to check for it now and then anyway.

I remember seeing this problem with Phoenix v1, but only because I was using it myself. I have not tested other mining software, or more recent versions of Phoenix.

When we see elevated invalid shares pool-wide after a patch, we always post a message here on the board asking you to restart your miners.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
August 14, 2012, 10:32:09 AM
 #1036

Thanks MC!

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 02:35:43 PM
 #1037

Pool is showing 0 GH/s

Can we expect this to be resolved soon or should we switch to back-ups? 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:03:40 PM
 #1038

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.

my btc address 1LRWTJS3rf8ubG2oMjcm7CmGGDJQSomdRP
Mining tools and Drivers
MintCondition
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 03:43:51 PM
 #1039

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.
It's quite a comprehensive patch we're rolling out today, and there were some issues with it. The pool was unavailable for a while, and some shares have not been accounted for yet. We will adjust your balances for that in the coming days.

Things have stabilized now it seems, but I can't promise that we're out of the woods for today. We'll continue to monitor the pool closely.

I'm sorry we didn't provide you with more advanced warning of this.

MC

BlackPrapor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584



View Profile
August 14, 2012, 04:38:32 PM
 #1040

hmm is the pool having problems i noticed my hash rate is only showing 235 should be around 1600+ and it seems my coins are lower then they should be right now.
It's quite a comprehensive patch we're rolling out today, and there were some issues with it. The pool was unavailable for a while, and some shares have not been accounted for yet. We will adjust your balances for that in the coming days.

Things have stabilized now it seems, but I can't promise that we're out of the woods for today. We'll continue to monitor the pool closely.

I'm sorry we didn't provide you with more advanced warning of this.

MC

But they will, right? hope everything goes well

There is no place like 127.0.0.1
In blockchain we trust
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!