Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2019, 04:46:21 PM *
News: Help collect the most notable posts made over the last 10 years.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ALLMINE INC - FPGA Cryptominer  (Read 48847 times)
phobik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2018, 03:36:06 PM
 #61


Those aren't in mass production yet.


You have said in the other thread that you mine using AWS and own a couple FPGAs yourself....  Could you please display them working before you start asking people about money?

Here's one of my VCU118 mining NIST5 with a PCI-E interface. Couple caveats... 1) This board is only 80A 0.85V vccint, so I need to stay under that to keep from frying it. The NIST5 design is operating at a fraction of it's maximum frequency because I can't operate it faster on this board. 2) Never completed / fully optimized nist5 because literally the day I was planning to start mining it baikal started mining it with their x10. 3) The picture says "AWS FPGA" because I use the same software on both.

Excuse the dust, that case was a GPU miner back in 2011. It's the only case I had that was big enough to fit the VCU118 and still put the side on it.

https://imgur.com/a/tmebe6W

And if you're curious why I named the software SuperMiner 31337, I was getting sick of pool operators getting curious about about my Fpgaminer software version string and superior hashrates. Moral of that story, pool server operators are watching and checking hashrates to try to gain an edge by seeing what's possible.

I'll see if I can make a video at some point showing it working with a monitor.


according to WTM that's about a $0.05/day return
https://whattomine.com/coins/224-bwk-nist5

what am I missing
1571849181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571849181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571849181
Reply with quote  #2

1571849181
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571849181
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571849181

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571849181
Reply with quote  #2

1571849181
Report to moderator
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 18, 2018, 12:45:24 AM
 #62

what am I missing

Everything i said in my post

phobik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 01:28:52 PM
 #63

what am I missing

Everything i said in my post


Ok, so it works. Do does mining bitcoin on FPGA. Or on cpu. I think what previous posters and myself were looking for was some demonstration with a multiple of efficiency of GPU mining, since that's been the whole premise of this topic, otherwise it's a waste of time as best/scam at worse.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 18, 2018, 02:23:39 PM
 #64

Hi Senseless, if I order a few of these: https://www.xilinx.com/products/boards-and-kits/vcu1525-a.html

Am I good to go with those plus your mining software?

Let me know ASAP because I'm extremely interested. Thanks!

You'd need to use whitefire's software.


senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 18, 2018, 02:39:57 PM
 #65

Gotcha, so are you just selling better priced versions of the VCU1525 by buying bulk chips & putting the boards together yourself?

Yes. Exactly.

We are looking into the possibility of developing software. But there are no definite plans to do so at this point.


namelessaaa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 03:16:10 PM
 #66

I think that FPGA have 70-200 days ROI, is a very good choice.
If available, I'll try to buy one, and consider sell my GPU miner to player.
But it may like ASIC, break the whole market of small coin, and the dev of small coin have no way to reject FPGA because hard fork is useful.
That will be a new nightmare for the dev.
 
NeroZyF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 03:59:19 PM
 #67

I live in Russia and I know that we have problems at the customs for ASIC devices. They are not allowed across the border without certain permits.
Perhaps this will be the same with the FPGA cards
I have a question for you.
you did not think that you can install cards of other people in the same place as your? providing access to the RDP or TeamViewer.
for example at least 8 pieces and Monthly Payment for maintenance costs

If you find my message helpful, please click +Merit
kahc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 11


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 04:20:38 PM
 #68

I live in Russia and I know that we have problems at the customs for ASIC devices. They are not allowed across the border without certain permits.
Perhaps this will be the same with the FPGA cards
I have a question for you.
you did not think that you can install cards of other people in the same place as your? providing access to the RDP or TeamViewer.
for example at least 8 pieces and Monthly Payment for maintenance costs

I guess a lot of people are willing to provide such service for FPGA-rig, but the question is who can you trust.
androstan1234
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 250
Merit: 6


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 04:36:08 PM
 #69

I'll try one and see how it goes.
Ironeinstein
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 1


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 05:47:01 PM
 #70

Definitely interested in both developing for this project and building an FPGA rig.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 18, 2018, 06:54:05 PM
 #71

I live in Russia and I know that we have problems at the customs for ASIC devices. They are not allowed across the border without certain permits.
Perhaps this will be the same with the FPGA cards
I have a question for you.
you did not think that you can install cards of other people in the same place as your? providing access to the RDP or TeamViewer.
for example at least 8 pieces and Monthly Payment for maintenance costs

Yes, I won't be shipping outside of USA most likely. This is due to export controls on these devices.

I won't be able to provide any sort of hosting option. It's possible for the community to arrange a group buy.

NeroZyF
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 07:23:36 PM
 #72

I live in Russia and I know that we have problems at the customs for ASIC devices. They are not allowed across the border without certain permits.
Perhaps this will be the same with the FPGA cards
I have a question for you.
you did not think that you can install cards of other people in the same place as your? providing access to the RDP or TeamViewer.
for example at least 8 pieces and Monthly Payment for maintenance costs

Yes, I won't be shipping outside of USA most likely. This is due to export controls on these devices.

I won't be able to provide any sort of hosting option. It's possible for the community to arrange a group buy.

Thank you! I'll keep an eye on your topic, maybe there will be the same questions and we can come up with something.

If you find my message helpful, please click +Merit
bartjeyayo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 09:19:55 PM
 #73

Put me down for 6 of these cards. I can pay in any crypto.
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1003



View Profile
May 19, 2018, 05:33:01 AM
 #74

who will reprogram this if a new algo is born?
Way2Paradise
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 1


View Profile
May 19, 2018, 03:26:03 PM
 #75

I live in Russia and I know that we have problems at the customs for ASIC devices. They are not allowed across the border without certain permits.
Perhaps this will be the same with the FPGA cards
I have a question for you.
you did not think that you can install cards of other people in the same place as your? providing access to the RDP or TeamViewer.
for example at least 8 pieces and Monthly Payment for maintenance costs

Yes, I won't be shipping outside of USA most likely. This is due to export controls on these devices.

I won't be able to provide any sort of hosting option. It's possible for the community to arrange a group buy.

just wanted to ask whether the shipment goes to europe, but as i see, that does not seem to work.

would be nice if someone makes a group buy that ships worldwide.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 19, 2018, 03:31:54 PM
 #76

who will reprogram this if a new algo is born?

Whitefire would release a software update with the new bitstream included.


Fanpant
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 19, 2018, 03:35:19 PM
 #77

who will reprogram this if a new algo is born?

How about the DEVFee?
GPUHoarder
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 37


View Profile
May 19, 2018, 04:02:00 PM
 #78

who will reprogram this if a new algo is born?

Whitefire would release a software update with the new bitstream included.



As well as others of us.
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 541



View Profile
May 19, 2018, 04:35:36 PM
 #79

who will reprogram this if a new algo is born?

How about the DEVFee?

The devfee depends on the dev, as gpuhoarder eluded to in the previous post... There will likely be many devs coming out with bitstreams and software. Whitefire was just the first to announce. We are considering developing a platform that would allow any dev to develop firmwares for the boards and provide the development environment. The devfee collected on our software would depend on what devfee the dev wanted to set.


Etherion
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 500
Merit: 260



View Profile
May 19, 2018, 05:04:19 PM
 #80

Ccminer is GNU, so any fork source must be published. How will the fpga programmer prevent his work from being copied? I understand that the Bitstream is a not GNU but surly the fpga can't replace the management app which will combine and coordinate the mining process.

I can see it being like a driver but what stops someone else from just using the driver and using your Bitstream
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!