Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2019, 02:36:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 [343] 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256123 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 05:53:02 AM
 #6841

Hey, we've got a p2pool node up for testing. Anyone want to try it out?

74.82.237.66:9332

0% fees, 0% author contribution, hosted in central WA on one of our 100 Mbps symmetrical fiber links. IP address will change eventually, and we might be rebooting it, so don't expect it to be reliable just yet.

Glad to see another doing this. We offer it as a option as well, and its a great contribution.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566138982
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566138982

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566138982
Reply with quote  #2

1566138982
Report to moderator
faraway
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 08:29:34 AM
 #6842

Hey, we've got a p2pool node up for testing. Anyone want to try it out?

74.82.237.66:9332

0% fees, 0% author contribution, hosted in central WA on one of our 100 Mbps symmetrical fiber links. IP address will change eventually, and we might be rebooting it, so don't expect it to be reliable just yet.

Glad to see another doing this. We offer it as a option as well, and its a great contribution.

Very good. I am using p2pool too, there are so many advantages - Low DOA, easy redundancy setup, low orphan block count.... And it helps to keep the network decentralized. Anyway the only difficulty, is the merged mining setup….
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


Wanna buy a Tesla? Visit TeslaBargain.com first!


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 08:37:52 AM
 #6843

Very good. I am using p2pool too, there are so many advantages - Low DOA, easy redundancy setup, low orphan block count.... And it helps to keep the network decentralized. Anyway the only difficulty, is the merged mining setup….

p2pool merged mining? I didn't know that was even an option. Any more info on that?

faraway
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 08:45:57 AM
 #6844

Very good. I am using p2pool too, there are so many advantages - Low DOA, easy redundancy setup, low orphan block count.... And it helps to keep the network decentralized. Anyway the only difficulty, is the merged mining setup….

p2pool merged mining? I didn't know that was even an option. Any more info on that?

This is fully supported. Anyway, the local p2pool node has to find a block to get the merged coins.
BitCoin Operated Boy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 11:46:12 AM
 #6845

Does anyone know if there has been some national holiday in Israel since yesterday?

No more holidays in Israel for the rest of the year.

http://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/israel/

(New Year's, Rosh Hashana, starts on September 25th.)

I asked because no one has been responding to my e-mails for last few days :-)
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1267



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 12:14:40 PM
 #6846

Does anyone know if there has been some national holiday in Israel since yesterday?

No more holidays in Israel for the rest of the year.

http://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/israel/

(New Year's, Rosh Hashana, starts on September 25th.)

I asked because no one has been responding to my e-mails for last few days :-)

nobody responded to my emails, but they send me email today, so I guess that they have a lot of emails.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 02:25:29 PM
 #6847

Does anyone know if there has been some national holiday in Israel since yesterday?

No more holidays in Israel for the rest of the year.

http://www.timeanddate.com/holidays/israel/

(New Year's, Rosh Hashana, starts on September 25th.)

I asked because no one has been responding to my e-mails for last few days :-)

nobody responded to my emails, but they send me email today, so I guess that they have a lot of emails.

We are contacting each and every customer about their compensation, responses will be a bit slower than usual this week.

Your patience is much appreciated.

Gadi

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 03:41:01 PM
 #6848

so I got my hands on a few cheap metered APC pdus :
Input: 208V , Connection: NEMA L6-30P , Cord Length: 12 feet
Output: 208V , Connections: IEC 320 C13,IEC 320 C19


I have an electrician coming in to wire to new cicuits for  and he said this :
Quote
Now, are these dryers and or ranges you are installing?  Do you have the model numbers?  The old 3 pronged outlets are grandfathered in for repairs only, but for new installs you need (and probably want, for increased safety reasons) 4 prong outlets. This requires 10/3 wire (which has 4 conductors) as opposed to 10/2 (3 conductors).

my questions to experts here :
-the NEMA L6-30P is three prong, but really only good for pdu's and computer stuff, should i let him do the 4 prong outlet and look for an adapter ?

-I don't want to pay another $100 for an adapter for each outlet.  he said something about buying pigtails from APC to convert the outlet but that looks expensive.

-Anoying thing is do wire up the  NEMA L6-30P, seems to require a permit pull which i don't want to pay for.

There should be no problem installing a NEMA L6-30 outlet in a home or business without a specific permit. The outlet is about $50 and the wires to your fuse panel maybe $3/foot. Circuit breaker is about $40. If it's a simple run without cutting holes in walls or running wiring through tricky spots it shouldn't be any more than $350 installed for a 30ft wire run. If he quotes higher get someone else to give you a quote or do it yourself if you have basic handyman skills. (remember electrical safety rules and shut off the main panel before touching wires)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 04:30:49 PM
 #6849

so I got my hands on a few cheap metered APC pdus :
Input: 208V , Connection: NEMA L6-30P , Cord Length: 12 feet
Output: 208V , Connections: IEC 320 C13,IEC 320 C19


I have an electrician coming in to wire to new cicuits for  and he said this :
Quote
Now, are these dryers and or ranges you are installing?  Do you have the model numbers?  The old 3 pronged outlets are grandfathered in for repairs only, but for new installs you need (and probably want, for increased safety reasons) 4 prong outlets. This requires 10/3 wire (which has 4 conductors) as opposed to 10/2 (3 conductors).

my questions to experts here :
-the NEMA L6-30P is three prong, but really only good for pdu's and computer stuff, should i let him do the 4 prong outlet and look for an adapter ?

-I don't want to pay another $100 for an adapter for each outlet.  he said something about buying pigtails from APC to convert the outlet but that looks expensive.

-Anoying thing is do wire up the  NEMA L6-30P, seems to require a permit pull which i don't want to pay for.

There should be no problem installing a NEMA L6-30 outlet in a home or business without a specific permit. The outlet is about $50 and the wires to your fuse panel maybe $3/foot. Circuit breaker is about $40. If it's a simple run without cutting holes in walls or running wiring through tricky spots it shouldn't be any more than $350 installed for a 30ft wire run. If he quotes higher get someone else to give you a quote or do it yourself if you have basic handyman skills. (remember electrical safety rules and shut off the main panel before touching wires)

Yeah your right he  quoted me $325 using his breakers , the outlets were around $19 a piece the wires were expensive though I had to buy 100ft since they run in 20 50 100ft increments.  We will see how the install goes today
and thanks.

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 04:52:33 PM
 #6850

Very good. I am using p2pool too, there are so many advantages - Low DOA, easy redundancy setup, low orphan block count.... And it helps to keep the network decentralized. Anyway the only difficulty, is the merged mining setup….

p2pool merged mining? I didn't know that was even an option. Any more info on that?

This is fully supported. Anyway, the local p2pool node has to find a block to get the merged coins.
There's a ton of information about p2pool and merged-mining coins.  Currently you can merge-mine the following coins with p2pool: NMC, IXC, I0C, FSC, DVC, HUC.  The way it works is that the node runs all of the appropriate *coind processes and submits shares to try and solve for blocks of each of the merged coins.  To note: the node gets the blocks of coins, not the individual miners.  It is up to the node operator to try and devise a system to payout those coins to miners if that's what they want to do.

Check out the following threads:
Complete Guide to Merged Mining and P2Pool
Setting Up P2Pool and Merged Mining in Ubuntu 14.04

Hope this helps.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 07:08:02 PM
 #6851

So with the  Oct. SP31 @ .00150 gh/s (BTC ~ 471, $3920, 5.5TH, excluding hosting) and the Bitmain cloud @ .00135 gh/s today,
are those of you pre-ordering SP31 machines getting a better deal than the website listed price ?
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 07:32:22 PM
 #6852

hmm

CISCO PDU RP208-30-1P-U-2 74-8669-01 POWER
data sheet:
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/servers-unified-computing/rp-series-power-distribution-units/data_sheet_c78-638923.html

I got two of these really cheap on ebay $80 plus local pickup  hope these work
another local guy is selling this :

APC AP7811
data sheet
http://www.apc.com/products/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=AP7811

for $85 tempted to grab that one as well retail is $500 wow


I think the cisco would provide more power since it rates 200-240 output while the APC is 208V

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 07:38:02 PM
 #6853

So with the  Oct. SP31 @ .00150 gh/s (BTC ~ 471, $3920, 5.5TH, excluding hosting) and the Bitmain cloud @ .00135 gh/s today,
are those of you pre-ordering SP31 machines getting a better deal than the website listed price ?

I think alot of people are using coupons from their previous orders

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 08:23:32 PM
 #6854

hmm

CISCO PDU RP208-30-1P-U-2 74-8669-01 POWER
data sheet:
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/servers-unified-computing/rp-series-power-distribution-units/data_sheet_c78-638923.html

I got two of these really cheap on ebay $80 plus local pickup  hope these work
another local guy is selling this :

APC AP7811
data sheet
http://www.apc.com/products/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=AP7811

for $85 tempted to grab that one as well retail is $500 wow


I think the cisco would provide more power since it rates 200-240 output while the APC is 208V

Is the Cisco one with circuit breakers ? The spec says they're 20A .. so the whole PDU will power only one SP30 .. (2x8A max at the wall)

The APC one is METERED .. more value for the buck (i.e. you connect to it via SSH and can monitor the power usage). Tripplite sells those for $1500 ..

http://www.apcmedia.com/salestools/RZAN-7NWRWD/RZAN-7NWRWD_R1_EN.pdf << here's a picture for the APC one. If you buy it, ask for the passwords.

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 08:56:50 PM
 #6855

hmm

CISCO PDU RP208-30-1P-U-2 74-8669-01 POWER
data sheet:
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/servers-unified-computing/rp-series-power-distribution-units/data_sheet_c78-638923.html

I got two of these really cheap on ebay $80 plus local pickup  hope these work
another local guy is selling this :

APC AP7811
data sheet
http://www.apc.com/products/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=AP7811

for $85 tempted to grab that one as well retail is $500 wow


I think the cisco would provide more power since it rates 200-240 output while the APC is 208V

Is the Cisco one with circuit breakers ? The spec says they're 20A .. so the whole PDU will power only one SP30 .. (2x8A max at the wall)

The APC one is METERED .. more value for the buck (i.e. you connect to it via SSH and can monitor the power usage). Tripplite sells those for $1500 ..

http://www.apcmedia.com/salestools/RZAN-7NWRWD/RZAN-7NWRWD_R1_EN.pdf << here's a picture for the APC one. If you buy it, ask for the passwords.


Argh  thanks I thought even the APC unit could only do : 208x30A which would barely be enough to run two sp30s

So these Ciscos have 20A circuit breakers what is the point of that when it inputs 30A and outputs up to 240V. 

I guess I need the metered one after all.

Thanks

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1267



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 09:00:55 PM
 #6856

So with the  Oct. SP31 @ .00150 gh/s (BTC ~ 471, $3920, 5.5TH, excluding hosting) and the Bitmain cloud @ .00135 gh/s today,
are those of you pre-ordering SP31 machines getting a better deal than the website listed price ?

1. price is lower with coupon, naturally
2. cloud hashing will end as soon as cost=earnings, and you have no residual rights (to machine)

i don't want to belittle bitmain, as I use them and like their equipment, but i see this cloud as a way for them to get rid of S2 just before the indroduction of something else.
Cloud hashing is for someone who wants to play with bitcoins a little without wanting to mine or buy through coinbase or other exchange.
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 09:35:34 PM
 #6857

So with the  Oct. SP31 @ .00150 gh/s (BTC ~ 471, $3920, 5.5TH, excluding hosting) and the Bitmain cloud @ .00135 gh/s today,
are those of you pre-ordering SP31 machines getting a better deal than the website listed price ?

1. price is lower with coupon, naturally
2. cloud hashing will end as soon as cost=earnings, and you have no residual rights (to machine)

i don't want to belittle bitmain, as I use them and like their equipment, but i see this cloud as a way for them to get rid of S2 just before the indroduction of something else.
Cloud hashing is for someone who wants to play with bitcoins a little without wanting to mine or buy through coinbase or other exchange.

You are talking about the 'compensation' coupons, right ? They represent BTC or fiat already spent. Nothing free there.
And I very much doubt that the Bitmain cloud is based on the S2.


Why would I buy at .00150 (plus hosting) when I could buy at .00135 ? So that I could have a doorstop at the end of the day ?

~L)L~
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 1267



View Profile
September 03, 2014, 09:41:33 PM
 #6858

So with the  Oct. SP31 @ .00150 gh/s (BTC ~ 471, $3920, 5.5TH, excluding hosting) and the Bitmain cloud @ .00135 gh/s today,
are those of you pre-ordering SP31 machines getting a better deal than the website listed price ?

1. price is lower with coupon, naturally
2. cloud hashing will end as soon as cost=earnings, and you have no residual rights (to machine)

i don't want to belittle bitmain, as I use them and like their equipment, but i see this cloud as a way for them to get rid of S2 just before the indroduction of something else.
Cloud hashing is for someone who wants to play with bitcoins a little without wanting to mine or buy through coinbase or other exchange.

And I very much doubt that the Bitmain cloud is based on the S2.


yes, it is (plus old A1), just check the relevant thread.

Quote
Why would I buy at .00150 (plus hosting) when I could buy at .00135 ? So that I could have a doorstop at the end of the day ?

Maybe because if you will not produce more btc that you bought "cloud hosting" for, then once cost=expenses, you will have negative equity and NOTHING else.
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 03, 2014, 10:00:06 PM
Last edit: September 03, 2014, 10:18:05 PM by DevonMiner
 #6859

Err ... I thought this was the Spondoolies thread ... posts are going a bit AWOL ...  Shocked

Back to business, really happy with my SP30s, hashing on average (at toom.im) above 4.5Ths and had a very good day today with my pool.

Also had confirmation of coupon/voucher codes for the GB compensation, thanks Sponds, all looks in order.

Devon

s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2014, 10:22:14 PM
 #6860

Quote
Why would I buy at .00150 (plus hosting) when I could buy at .00135 ? So that I could have a doorstop at the end of the day ?

Maybe because if you will not produce more btc that you bought "cloud hosting" for, then once cost=expenses, you will have negative equity and NOTHING else.


Well, if I am in a negative position having spent .00135, I am in an even more negative position if I spend .00150.

And seriously, NOTHING beats a doorstop any day of the week, especially a door stop that cost you a couple of hundred bucks a month to host.
Pages: « 1 ... 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 [343] 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!