Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:25:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 [219] 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1624609 times)
surebet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 496



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:06:29 AM
 #4361


Fuck if I know, I think it's from reddit. From time to time I post stuff from another site.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481120723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481120723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481120723
Reply with quote  #2

1481120723
Report to moderator
xandercrewz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:53:43 AM
 #4362


nice focusrites! i have a sapphire pro 40
Walking Glitch
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Amateur Professional


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 07:27:11 AM
 #4363

My first dedicated LTC mining rig:


I'm jelly of you and your 0.0000001 khash ! Grin

Oooh.. is that an S3 Savage 4 gpu ? 0.0000002 khash.. Roll Eyes

I know bubl3s irl. I saw that rig in person. This is back before the solidcoin devs came out with scrypt support on reaper, so at this time LTC was CPU only. The CPU in use there escapes my mind, though I think it may have been an old Athlon 64.
mrbubl3s
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 282


Professional Ameteur


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 07:28:40 AM
 #4364

My first dedicated LTC mining rig:


I'm jelly of you and your 0.0000001 khash ! Grin

Oooh.. is that an S3 Savage 4 gpu ? 0.0000002 khash.. Roll Eyes

I know bubl3s irl. I saw that rig in person. This is back before the solidcoin devs came out with scrypt support on reaper, so at this time LTC was CPU only. The CPU in use there escapes my mind, though I think it may have been an old Athlon 64.

Yeah it was an Athlon at like 1ghz. That pic was taken right after I got windows XP setup.
Walking Glitch
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Amateur Professional


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 07:37:57 AM
 #4365

My first dedicated LTC mining rig:


I'm jelly of you and your 0.0000001 khash ! Grin

Oooh.. is that an S3 Savage 4 gpu ? 0.0000002 khash.. Roll Eyes

I know bubl3s irl. I saw that rig in person. This is back before the solidcoin devs came out with scrypt support on reaper, so at this time LTC was CPU only. The CPU in use there escapes my mind, though I think it may have been an old Athlon 64.

Yeah it was an Athlon at like 1ghz. That pic was taken right after I got windows XP setup.
All .8KHs then. Now where's my Athlon 1GHz?
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:54:40 AM
 #4366



OK that wins the prize for the worst rig I have seen, and I've read every single post in this thread.  It looks like it fell though the ceiling or something yet somehow is stacked semi neatly.  Is that a wasp nest or beehive developing on it!?!

demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:16:38 AM
 #4367



OK that wins the prize for the worst rig I have seen, and I've read every single post in this thread.  It looks like it fell though the ceiling or something yet somehow is stacked semi neatly.  Is that a wasp nest or beehive developing on it!?!

possible roof cave in on it? Shocked

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:54:24 AM
 #4368



OK that wins the prize for the worst rig I have seen, and I've read every single post in this thread.  It looks like it fell though the ceiling or something yet somehow is stacked semi neatly.  Is that a wasp nest or beehive developing on it!?!

possible roof cave in on it? Shocked

My guess they put too much load on a wire, it melted, shorted and set on fire, then burned through the ceiling causing the collapse. Before you put rigs together learn the load capacity AWG (Americican Wire Gauge) of your power cables.

Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:07:21 AM
 #4369

Quote
My guess they put too much load on a wire, it melted, shorted and set on fire, then burned through the ceiling causing the collapse. Before you put rigs together learn the load capacity AWG (Americican Wire Gauge) of your power cables.

Unfortunately there are many reasons why that equipment could've caught on fire. You can't just put it down to overloaded cables.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
mcscotty89
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:14:08 AM
 #4370

Not the prettiest looking thing! In total, the rack only cost about $15 to build from scratch. So far it has a 7970, (2) 280x's and a single 290. About to order 6 more GPU's to cram into this thing  Wink

http://i.imgur.com/ETg54sl.jpg

BTC   ->  ​1AwNPo2WggqPv2TJdnyfSQfgtxcRsjZLHv
USDE ->  GPQUc3t6pxLSgWeYLiqNH99Q9bGMTSjBvh
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:26:29 AM
 #4371

Quote
My guess they put too much load on a wire, it melted, shorted and set on fire, then burned through the ceiling causing the collapse. Before you put rigs together learn the load capacity AWG (Americican Wire Gauge) of your power cables.

Unfortunately there are many reasons why that equipment could've caught on fire. You can't just put it down to overloaded cables.

on top of that the AWG is usually on Electrition code to install enough for that circut braker. so If a circut braker is 15 amp they will run a 12-14 guage wire.

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 01:05:10 PM
 #4372

Quote
My guess they put too much load on a wire, it melted, shorted and set on fire, then burned through the ceiling causing the collapse. Before you put rigs together learn the load capacity AWG (Americican Wire Gauge) of your power cables.
Unfortunately there are many reasons why that equipment could've caught on fire. You can't just put it down to overloaded cables.
We almost had a fire on our test rig the other day from a shitty power cable. It was only powering ONE 290, and my Kill-a-watt said it was pulling less than 450W at the wall. Yet the cable was so cheap, and it was getting so hot, it was melting and discoloring and charring the testbench it was sitting on. After we unplugged it, it was so brittle you could bend it and snap it in half! As I said, this was pulling less than 450W for less than 24 hours, and the cable was toast.

So yes, it's easier than you think, and only takes one bad cable to ruin everything.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 01:38:10 PM
 #4373

Quote
My guess they put too much load on a wire, it melted, shorted and set on fire, then burned through the ceiling causing the collapse. Before you put rigs together learn the load capacity AWG (Americican Wire Gauge) of your power cables.
Unfortunately there are many reasons why that equipment could've caught on fire. You can't just put it down to overloaded cables.
We almost had a fire on our test rig the other day from a shitty power cable. It was only powering ONE 290, and my Kill-a-watt said it was pulling less than 450W at the wall. Yet the cable was so cheap, and it was getting so hot, it was melting and discoloring and charring the testbench it was sitting on. After we unplugged it, it was so brittle you could bend it and snap it in half! As I said, this was pulling less than 450W for less than 24 hours, and the cable was toast.

So yes, it's easier than you think, and only takes one bad cable to ruin everything.

it can be easy but that is why its a good idea to feel your cables after a few hours run to see if they are getting hot.  Shocked   Cool

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
robertsu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 02:37:35 PM
 #4374

My very simple and easy to made mining rig. I just wanted to be simple as possible and low cost to made. On this image there is no PSU but they are just behind GPU's.

What's up with all the molex connectors?

No need to use them
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980

Hacking KNC stuff because it goes FOOM well.


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:00:05 PM
 #4375

it can be easy but that is why its a good idea to feel your cables after a few hours run to see if they are getting hot.  Shocked   Cool
I would agree. 12 volts can start fires quite easily if the amperage is high enough (try shorting a car battery with a coat hanger. Wait, don't). Given that some of us are using 1,000+ watt supplies they can feed plenty of current into a dead short, enough to start fires and fun stuff.

Speaking of which, something I noticed in the BFL Jalapeno community: The crap power supplies they send with these things typically put out 12 volts at 7 amps. Nice, and when there is a short on the board the supply crowbars because the components can take 12 volts at 10 amps.

However when someone wires into a big-assed 600 watt power supply, a short will produce 600/12=50 amps of current into the short. Exceeding the capacity of the components, leading to small explosions as the FETs blow up.

This is why I recommend putting a fuse in line with any component rated to the max current the component can take. Yes it costs a buck for a fuse holder and a nickel for the fuse, but it could save your gear. Note: Although this is not really a problem for 12 volt systems plugging into walls, if you are hooking up to a big battery array make sure your fuse can clear the maximum Amp capacity of your pack (Amp-Interrupt-Rating)

Learned this lesson working on electric car controllers, where a 2 amp rated circuit would be exposed to 10,000 amps of current from a battery pack. Hilarity ensues when you have a plasma ball on your bench....

C
g0re79
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


I´ve got a picture! Haha!


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 07:17:58 PM
 #4376


The story is described here: http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoin/comments/1umydr/this_is_why_you_should_have_an_offsite_backup_my/

Quote
I had a house fire yesterday morning. It started in the attic and the fire department went in and took care of it. Unfortunately, they had to tear down the celing to get to the fire and hose everything down.
I lost all my servers and mining rig. The usb backups I had in my closet in onther room were also destroyed Sad

Don´t deal with crappy shitcoins and stop wasting electricity
Support real science instead
[/url]
g0re79
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


I´ve got a picture! Haha!


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 07:34:02 PM
 #4377

it can be easy but that is why its a good idea to feel your cables after a few hours run to see if they are getting hot.  Shocked   Cool
I would agree. 12 volts can start fires quite easily if the amperage is high enough (try shorting a car battery with a coat hanger. Wait, don't). Given that some of us are using 1,000+ watt supplies they can feed plenty of current into a dead short, enough to start fires and fun stuff.

Speaking of which, something I noticed in the BFL Jalapeno community: The crap power supplies they send with these things typically put out 12 volts at 7 amps. Nice, and when there is a short on the board the supply crowbars because the components can take 12 volts at 10 amps.

However when someone wires into a big-assed 600 watt power supply, a short will produce 600/12=50 amps of current into the short. Exceeding the capacity of the components, leading to small explosions as the FETs blow up.

This is why I recommend putting a fuse in line with any component rated to the max current the component can take. Yes it costs a buck for a fuse holder and a nickel for the fuse, but it could save your gear. Note: Although this is not really a problem for 12 volt systems plugging into walls, if you are hooking up to a big battery array make sure your fuse can clear the maximum Amp capacity of your pack (Amp-Interrupt-Rating)

Learned this lesson working on electric car controllers, where a 2 amp rated circuit would be exposed to 10,000 amps of current from a battery pack. Hilarity ensues when you have a plasma ball on your bench....

C

eg. R9 280x  takes up to 250W continuously (maybe even more in spikes) and thats almost 21A. 75W (6.25A) is drawn from PCIE slot when the card is plugged right to mobo or via non-powered riser, rest is taken from PSU branch and thats up to 175W (14.5A). If You put several molex to 6/8Pin adapters on one branch to feed 2 VGAs, it have to deal with 350W (almost 30A). No matter how quality Your PSU is, theese wires will heat like hell and if you entangle them together or lead them close to VGAs heatpipes, its just matter of time when they´ll burn.

Don´t deal with crappy shitcoins and stop wasting electricity
Support real science instead
[/url]
Biggen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:46:02 PM
 #4378

My Scrypt coin farm.



Rest of the album can be seen here: http://imgur.com/a/TnZlH#0
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:03:16 PM
 #4379

My Scrypt coin farm.



Rest of the album can be seen here: http://imgur.com/a/TnZlH#0

Don't MSI 7950's and Sapphires exhaust out the back (through the bracket vents)?  If so, aren't the box fans on the wrong side of the the rigs?  Essentially it looks like you're blowing back into the exhausts.

Unless those box fans are facing the other way and you're actually pulling the hot air away... hard to tell.

pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:05:27 PM
 #4380

My Scrypt coin farm.



Rest of the album can be seen here: http://imgur.com/a/TnZlH#0

Don't MSI 7950's and Sapphires exhaust out the back (through the bracket vents)?  If so, aren't the box fans on the wrong side of the the rigs?  Essentially it looks like you're blowing back into the exhausts.

Unless those box fans are facing the other way and you're actually pulling the hot air away... hard to tell.

None of those cards dump heat out the back, they just toss it out whichever way they feel like. Look at the cooler design on any 280x (or 7950TF3) you'll see what I mean.

Only the ref cards really exhaust out the back.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Pages: « 1 ... 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 [219] 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!