Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:21:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 [199] 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1621138 times)
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 02:39:21 PM
 #3961


Depends on your region. Their designed max load (in watts) varies with your countries line voltage and frequency. They are 2 KW where I live.

How did you convert their standard slot output to conventional molex connectors? Is there an adapter for that?


Like all things worth having, looks like this is one of those things you need to DIY. I've managed to find this...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?s=df0f47814eafda8ebe596d2979d25fc7&p=18086061&postcount=602

That makes me think I should at least be able to get 12V from it. Finding the other terminals should be pretty easy once it's running.

This thread here is super handy, going to order all the pins and connectors from digikey
http://www.overclock.net/t/1136451/molex-atx-power-supply-connectors-and-part-numbers

Plan on just stealing 12V off the server power supply for the cards, then using a cheap 300W power supply to run the motherboard  Grin

Does anyone know where I can find a PEG 8 pin connector? Molex doesn't seem to make them, though I have found the 6+2. No biggie, would just look "prettier" with the 8 pin.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
1480702886
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702886

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702886
Reply with quote  #2

1480702886
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 03:19:16 PM
 #3962

Yes it is definitely a DIY job. I am sorry if I mislead some others thinking you can just pick up a cable to convert it... you can't. There is lots of information and huge forum threads if you just google "hotswap psu pinout" and I can see you've already found some relevant threads.

The detailed way to do it is:

1. Make a strong double shot of espresso
2. Obtain multimeter, soldering iron
3. ....
4. Profit! Power!

I used the modular cables from a friends failed modular PSU to make the leads. It was a just a matter of desoldering the hotswap connector and soldering in the cables. I don't have that setup anymore but it was a IBM (Delta Electronics) PSU 2000 watt I'm pretty sure it was rated to put out over 120 amps 12v DC which should satisfy your needs. To power it on: find a ground pin (via traces) and then short it to all each of the smaller sense pins until it turned on. You could also look carefully at the traces as there are only a handful of them that lead to the 'smart' components of the circuit: most are current carrying for loads and connected to the high power electronic components.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 03:21:30 PM
 #3963

Thank you for the lead Trillium, I'll post some results here in a few days once stuff starts showing up.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=18117345&postcount=611

 Grin

I just put in an order for $80 bucks worth of molex connectors and pins, and some good 18 gauge wire.

Now one last thing - finding a 220V cable to plug the supply in. Looks like the same connector as my 1500W EVGA supernova. Shouldn't be too hard  Smiley








Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 03:32:40 PM
 #3964

That's a C19/C20 connection.  It's an easy-to-find cable, as most UPS over 2kVA use that connection.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 03:34:31 PM
 #3965

That socket is called a Type E  C19 16 amp IEC socket or also called "15 amp IEC" since they often come with 15/20 amp cable and 15 amp extra-large earth pin here in Australia.

Good electronics enthusiast & parts stores have them, or eBay, or any company specializing in cables. If your region has different sized or designed domestic mains outlets, you can sometimes find these high-amp cables in varieties that allow you to run them off 'normal' designed outlets (with the idea being the load is actually using fewer watts than expected and will NOT cause a fire to start somewhere or blow breakers).

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 03:55:01 PM
 #3966

Thanks guys, I'll see if I can't find some of those at the hardware store here in town. Have a few days waiting for other parts to show up anyway.

The cable that came with the supernova is actually 110V, so the PSU is "rated" 1300W for losses on a 15A 110V US circuit. Supposed to do a full 1500W "overclock" at 220V though.

Wonder if the 1800watter would even turn over to ~1200W or so on 110v, sure would make it cost effective for the US guys that don't want to move the clothes dryer to mine  Cheesy

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Nemesis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 04:47:09 PM
 #3967


Depends on your region. Their designed max load (in watts) varies with your countries line voltage and frequency. They are 2 KW where I live.

How did you convert their standard slot output to conventional molex connectors? Is there an adapter for that?


Like all things worth having, looks like this is one of those things you need to DIY. I've managed to find this...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?s=df0f47814eafda8ebe596d2979d25fc7&p=18086061&postcount=602

That makes me think I should at least be able to get 12V from it. Finding the other terminals should be pretty easy once it's running.

This thread here is super handy, going to order all the pins and connectors from digikey
http://www.overclock.net/t/1136451/molex-atx-power-supply-connectors-and-part-numbers

Plan on just stealing 12V off the server power supply for the cards, then using a cheap 300W power supply to run the motherboard  Grin

Does anyone know where I can find a PEG 8 pin connector? Molex doesn't seem to make them, though I have found the 6+2. No biggie, would just look "prettier" with the 8 pin.

Please update us when you're done, its really interested to see whats your solution is.
clarkey2013
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 05:16:36 PM
 #3968

swapped my lego setup to this  Cheesy

Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1331



View Profile
November 19, 2013, 05:34:44 PM
 #3969

swapped my lego setup to this  Cheesy


That looks cool!!!!

Free Coins - 🍒🍉🌼 Free Game🌼🍉🍒
BEST FAUCET EVER!!! - Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 06:28:10 PM
 #3970

swapped my lego setup to this  Cheesy


Wooo I aint the only one using Knex..

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 07:35:54 PM
 #3971

Hi there,

i got interested in Bitcoins and i ordered some USB Miners - i don't expect profit - i just do it for curiosity and hobby.

my Setup at the moment:

MSI u100 Netbook (Windows XP SP3) - admin via VNC
D-Link DUB-H7 - but will be replaced with 2x LogiLink UA0124 (after successful testing)
1 (perhaps 2) Arctic USB Breezers
I ordered 8 USB ASIC Miners for the first step

i suppose, that the first 5 USB Miners will arrive tomorrow - so i can start :-)
Already tried GPU Mining but with a geForce GTX660 it's a pain in the a** Sad

perhaps i get a RaspberryPI for my birthday from my girlfriend *gg*



demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 08:20:51 PM
 #3972

Hi there,

i got interested in Bitcoins and i ordered some USB Miners - i don't expect profit - i just do it for curiosity and hobby.

my Setup at the moment:

MSI u100 Netbook (Windows XP SP3) - admin via VNC
D-Link DUB-H7 - but will be replaced with 2x LogiLink UA0124 (after successful testing)
1 (perhaps 2) Arctic USB Breezers
I ordered 8 USB ASIC Miners for the first step

i suppose, that the first 5 USB Miners will arrive tomorrow - so i can start :-)
Already tried GPU Mining but with a geForce GTX660 it's a pain in the a** Sad

perhaps i get a RaspberryPI for my birthday from my girlfriend *gg*





looks like your ready. Stick with the dlink hub but only put in 5 erupters into it. or look into the anker 9+1 hubs.

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 08:36:34 PM
 #3973

my "8-stick-plan" is to use 2x LogiLink UA0124 (http://www.logilink.eu/showproduct/UA0124.htm?seticlanguage=en) with 2x4 USB Miners.
i will return the DLink Hub to Amazon

we will see if i buy more sticks in the future ... don't know  Huh
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


1Pn3gpQ9hXBaJuY1Ccr7R2G4ge1pq9j3gN


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 08:49:14 PM
 #3974

my "8-stick-plan" is to use 2x LogiLink UA0124 (http://www.logilink.eu/showproduct/UA0124.htm?seticlanguage=en) with 2x4 USB Miners.
i will return the DLink Hub to Amazon

we will see if i buy more sticks in the future ... don't know  Huh

you *may* need to swap to a different OS if you plan on using a lot of miners with XP - my NB200 (XP SP3) has issues with anything over 15 miners - something to do with the way XP handles device IDs or something Smiley
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 08:50:57 PM
 #3975

thank you for the tip! i will have an eye on it.

i will/can try it...

a.) Netbook with some Unix-OS
b.) RaspberryPI with MinePeon or something like this (would be better --> less power consumption *gg*)
demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
November 19, 2013, 09:07:15 PM
 #3976

my "8-stick-plan" is to use 2x LogiLink UA0124 (http://www.logilink.eu/showproduct/UA0124.htm?seticlanguage=en) with 2x4 USB Miners.
i will return the DLink Hub to Amazon

we will see if i buy more sticks in the future ... don't know  Huh

you *may* need to swap to a different OS if you plan on using a lot of miners with XP - my NB200 (XP SP3) has issues with anything over 15 miners - something to do with the way XP handles device IDs or something Smiley

idk what you are talking about... i got 51 on one machine and 70+ on another machine that is both windows...

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 01:20:34 PM
 #3977

yay got my sticks now :-)


i hope the HW Errors will fall a little bit ... or are then "in the range"?
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 20, 2013, 02:24:12 PM
 #3978

Hm, doesn't look too crazy. Give it more time, they should average out to about 1/2 a percent for each.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
gamefixer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 03:41:11 PM
 #3979

LOL! I BIN'd 5 of those IBM supplies without looking closely at them!  Grin

Didn't realize they were 200-240VAC until after I started reading this thread (and here I am in the US). Dont really feel like running a 220VAC line over to the miners so I guess I wont be suing these things unless theres an internal switch to change them to 120VAC.

Oops.... 1800watts at that price is hard to beat though.
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


1Pn3gpQ9hXBaJuY1Ccr7R2G4ge1pq9j3gN


View Profile
November 20, 2013, 09:18:42 PM
 #3980

my "8-stick-plan" is to use 2x LogiLink UA0124 (http://www.logilink.eu/showproduct/UA0124.htm?seticlanguage=en) with 2x4 USB Miners.
i will return the DLink Hub to Amazon

we will see if i buy more sticks in the future ... don't know  Huh

you *may* need to swap to a different OS if you plan on using a lot of miners with XP - my NB200 (XP SP3) has issues with anything over 15 miners - something to do with the way XP handles device IDs or something Smiley

idk what you are talking about... i got 51 on one machine and 70+ on another machine that is both windows...

is that windows XP though? i have all mine running on 7 with no issues. Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 [199] 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!