Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:48:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 [323] 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1627162 times)
phillipsjk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

Let the chips fall where they may.


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2014, 11:38:56 AM
 #6441

anyone built an outdoor mining cabinet? I want to put some S1 or S3 units outdoors for the winter, but am afraid that wayward snow/slush/debris on my balcony (its an apartment) might get sucked in or otherwise contact the equipment.

The solution in my mind is a 4-walled box (bottom,top,sides) with 1-2 fabric filters over the inlet/exhaust sides of the box (mostly the inlet). Main concerns are the inlet fabric icing over (if heat removal is too effective) or being the target of pigeon intrusion (yeah these guys are a messy problem - and a huge source of dust and debris on the balcony)

pfft, nobody reads a 323 page thread before posting? (I used the search feature to save time.)

James' OpenPGP public key fingerprint: EB14 9E5B F80C 1F2D 3EBE  0A2F B3DE 81FF 7B9D 5160
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 12:52:51 PM
 #6442

anyone built an outdoor mining cabinet? I want to put some S1 or S3 units outdoors for the winter, but am afraid that wayward snow/slush/debris on my balcony (its an apartment) might get sucked in or otherwise contact the equipment.

The solution in my mind is a 4-walled box (bottom,top,sides) with 1-2 fabric filters over the inlet/exhaust sides of the box (mostly the inlet). Main concerns are the inlet fabric icing over (if heat removal is too effective) or being the target of pigeon intrusion (yeah these guys are a messy problem - and a huge source of dust and debris on the balcony)

pfft, nobody reads a 323 page thread before posting? (I used the search feature to save time.)

That is one.  There is an older one that I cannot find now that was a sealed cube with inlet and outlet vents in like 2ft of snow working perfectly.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
November 17, 2014, 12:57:02 PM
 #6443

these work a treat:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/170925541892?limghlpsr=true&hlpv=2&ops=true&viphx=1&hlpht=true&lpid=108&chn=ps&device=c&adtype=pla&crdt=0&ff3=1&ff11=ICEP3.0.0-L&ff12=67&ff13=80&ff14=108&ff19=0

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
firewire2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile WWW
November 17, 2014, 07:28:13 PM
 #6444

Hoping to add to this every month  Grin



Nice mining rig. Simple yet effective. Not just need to turn that laptop into a raspberry pi and ur good to go.

Thank-you all for your interest.
The PSU is a Dell 2100Watt and its quite loud but rock solid, the cables and unit doesn’t even get hot, I made all the cables using 16awg and 14awg, in the end I soldered the cables onto the rear of the PSU because the terminals are tapered not squared, also this will make more reliable connection.

The router is a Cisco 2811 which is modular, allowing me to add more interfaces when required, this is instead of the crappy TalkTalk broadband router from the ISP. This setup is running 30 miles away from my house in my dad’s Pub loft, and I have made an IPSEC VPN tunnel from my home using a Cisco ASA 5505 firewall. This allows me to access all the devices remotely.
 
Interesting how people are asking "why the laptop", it’s not clear from the picture but the laptop has a console cable plugged into the router allowing me to have a "physical" presence if for some reason the VPN tunnel fails and I need to access the router, also Team Viewer is installed which again is just in case there is a VPN or Telnet/SSH problem (Basically I’m a tinkering bastard and sometimes mess things up).

Quote
a. What's the laptop for?

b. Why don't you put the router/switch just on top/beneath of the S3's?

PS I like your recycling of the packaging material...  Cheesy

The reuse of foam packaging is deaden the vibrations from the dell PSU and Cisco router.

The router does get warm and was concered about warming the ants Smiley

All miners are overclocked at 250 with a total hash rate of 1950-2000GH

PSU costs: £25
Connector block cable and Plugs/Pins = £20
Below is the wiring setup.



BTC: 1BbJmzqcxnJEc3gPcBFbjoUnRB9WGHZ3Cf
Study Website: http://kickassconfigs.com
Connect on LinkedIn https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jamesbowler
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 07:44:09 PM
 #6445

anyone built an outdoor mining cabinet? I want to put some S1 or S3 units outdoors for the winter, but am afraid that wayward snow/slush/debris on my balcony (its an apartment) might get sucked in or otherwise contact the equipment.

The solution in my mind is a 4-walled box (bottom,top,sides) with 1-2 fabric filters over the inlet/exhaust sides of the box (mostly the inlet). Main concerns are the inlet fabric icing over (if heat removal is too effective) or being the target of pigeon intrusion (yeah these guys are a messy problem - and a huge source of dust and debris on the balcony)

pfft, nobody reads a 323 page thread before posting? (I used the search feature to save time.)

I don't intend to make a copy of that outdoor setup, as it's likely inadequate for my use, largely due to the high risk of pidgin intrusion. I don't doubt that a warm enclosed area would become infested with sky rats on my balcony, and as such a more per meant design is preferred.

Imo, might buy some plywood and furnace filters to build something. The furnace filters leave lots of room for airflow, and are fairly thick so icing over is unlikely.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 08:21:47 PM
 #6446

Hoping to add to this every month  Grin


Clean setup !
BGkockata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 08:37:12 PM
 #6447

lenovo w510 10 mhash/sec and its like,3 yrs old,cant post pics atm
sbogovac
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 924


I don't believe in denial.


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 09:10:57 PM
 #6448

[...] Thank-you all for your interest.[...]
Thank you for the elaborate answer (and the inspiration)!  Grin

Want to read the FTC vs. BFL  court docs. yourself? Just go to: http://ia902308.us.archive.org/32/items/gov.uscourts.mowd.117531/gov.uscourts.mowd.117531.docket.html
Want to read the FTC's final orders for BFL's principals yourself? Just go to: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/cases-proceedings/142-3058/bf-labs-inc
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


^ will code for bitcoins


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 12:37:50 PM
 #6449

Interesting how people are asking "why the laptop", it’s not clear from the picture but the laptop has a console cable plugged into the router allowing me to have a "physical" presence if for some reason the VPN tunnel fails and I need to access the router, also Team Viewer is installed which again is just in case there is a VPN or Telnet/SSH problem (Basically I’m a tinkering bastard and sometimes mess things up).

I still don't get what's the laptop for. Why would you need VPN to access the router? Even if VPN connection fails you would still have access to router through connection without VPN, on regular port. The only time you'll ever need RS-232 cable to access the router is during the initial setup, no mater how much tinkering you do it's just not right to have laptop close to the router. People are trying to tell you out of good intentions that if for some reason you need to have them close you are doing something wrong. Just my 0.00000002 BTC.
phillipsjk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

Let the chips fall where they may.


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 01:42:26 PM
 #6450


I still don't get what's the laptop for. Why would you need VPN to access the router? Even if VPN connection fails you would still have access to router through connection without VPN, on regular port. The only time you'll ever need RS-232 cable to access the router is during the initial setup, no mater how much tinkering you do it's just not right to have laptop close to the router. People are trying to tell you out of good intentions that if for some reason you need to have them close you are doing something wrong. Just my 0.00000002 BTC.

I have my console for accessing my miner within 1m. Sometimes it is convenient to cluster your equipment.

That said, I should be getting that miner working, rather than posting here Tongue

PS: I eventually want to use an RS-232 cable to do initial setup on a second router: with tor and IPv6 support.

James' OpenPGP public key fingerprint: EB14 9E5B F80C 1F2D 3EBE  0A2F B3DE 81FF 7B9D 5160
Undefeatable
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 02:54:58 PM
 #6451

The beginning on this thread is much more interesting then the end. GPU placement can be so unique and cool and ASIC is just simple and same...

SunnyIgor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 356


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 04:09:13 PM
 #6452



2 gpu rigs in the back

3 ASIC rigs in the front
kingscrown
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


http://fuk.io - check it out!


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 05:16:26 PM
 #6453

watch out my riser burnt - http://instagram.com/p/vhrWFFwqvF/ luckily i was there

firewire2013
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 05:28:18 PM
 #6454

Interesting how people are asking "why the laptop", it’s not clear from the picture but the laptop has a console cable plugged into the router allowing me to have a "physical" presence if for some reason the VPN tunnel fails and I need to access the router, also Team Viewer is installed which again is just in case there is a VPN or Telnet/SSH problem (Basically I’m a tinkering bastard and sometimes mess things up).

I still don't get what's the laptop for. Why would you need VPN to access the router? Even if VPN connection fails you would still have access to router through connection without VPN, on regular port. The only time you'll ever need RS-232 cable to access the router is during the initial setup, no mater how much tinkering you do it's just not right to have laptop close to the router. People are trying to tell you out of good intentions that if for some reason you need to have them close you are doing something wrong. Just my 0.00000002 BTC.


I think you may have miss read that fact this setup is 30 miles away from my house. Without a connection via VPN tunnel from my house to the location of the miners, I would have no access what so ever, other than using Team Viewer through the laptop. Team Viewer on the laptop is backup access, also there are a select few commands that cant be done via tenet or SSH and you need console access.


BTC: 1BbJmzqcxnJEc3gPcBFbjoUnRB9WGHZ3Cf
Study Website: http://kickassconfigs.com
Connect on LinkedIn https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jamesbowler
jvol
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 07:15:51 PM
 #6455

Antminer S1s with standard cp2102 usb to TTL serial connections, undervolted, underclocked:



where's the heatsink??? temps??
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 07:34:29 PM
 #6456

Interesting how people are asking "why the laptop", it’s not clear from the picture but the laptop has a console cable plugged into the router allowing me to have a "physical" presence if for some reason the VPN tunnel fails and I need to access the router, also Team Viewer is installed which again is just in case there is a VPN or Telnet/SSH problem (Basically I’m a tinkering bastard and sometimes mess things up).

I still don't get what's the laptop for. Why would you need VPN to access the router? Even if VPN connection fails you would still have access to router through connection without VPN, on regular port. The only time you'll ever need RS-232 cable to access the router is during the initial setup, no mater how much tinkering you do it's just not right to have laptop close to the router. People are trying to tell you out of good intentions that if for some reason you need to have them close you are doing something wrong. Just my 0.00000002 BTC.


I think you may have miss read that fact this setup is 30 miles away from my house. Without a connection via VPN tunnel from my house to the location of the miners, I would have no access what so ever, other than using Team Viewer through the laptop. Team Viewer on the laptop is backup access, also there are a select few commands that cant be done via tenet or SSH and you need console access.


+10 for diagram

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
November 18, 2014, 07:51:19 PM
 #6457

Antminer S1s with standard cp2102 usb to TTL serial connections, undervolted, underclocked:



where's the heatsink??? temps??

These have been undervolted and undercooked to the point that the boards act as their own heatsinks with a few fans to help.

Each blade is putting out 50 or so ghs. No idea on temps since this particular setup isn't capable of reading the temp sensor

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
CHAOSiTEC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 04:49:32 PM
 #6458

Antminer S1s with standard cp2102 usb to TTL serial connections, undervolted, underclocked:



where's the heatsink??? temps??

These have been undervolted and undercooked to the point that the boards act as their own heatsinks with a few fans to help.

Each blade is putting out 50 or so ghs. No idea on temps since this particular setup isn't capable of reading the temp sensor

temp is aprox 50 degrees celcius, but also running in a room temp of 31 celcius

btc: 3M2GmgnRKW41R3i6pfmjTUMnkuz85TcvNM | Join xbt.social for live trading advice / discussion
TheCrazyMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
November 19, 2014, 08:18:51 PM
 #6459

Here's my setup. From top to bottom:

CCD-600 (Not Visible)
KnC October Saturn w/ two upgrade boards
Batch 2 Avalon
Server (running proxy software)
7GH Jalapeño (Not visible)
AntMiner S1 / 28GH Little Single
CCD-1000
Server Case with AntMiner S1 and 6-board megapower bitfury

~4.5KW for 3TH/s overall.

http://i.imgur.com/2Ac3vzV.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/p5felOS.jpg
What is the thing with the red sliders on the bottom photo? Is it by any chance a PSU? Huh Huh

1LXxaZwd9nvpxAuqfQNG7nnQWw7D5L3bzY Saving for rig!
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 869



View Profile
November 19, 2014, 09:13:16 PM
 #6460

Sort of, on the right and in the middle, those are the release latches for Supermicro raid hotswap hard disk drive racks installed on the server he mentioned on the left are 2 hotswap psu's with one open rack for a third.
Pages: « 1 ... 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 [323] 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!