Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2019, 03:11:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 2139 2140 2141 2142 2143 2144 2145 2146 2147 2148 2149 2150 2151 2152 2153 2154 2155 2156 2157 2158 2159 2160 2161 2162 2163 2164 2165 2166 2167 2168 2169 2170 2171 2172 2173 2174 2175 2176 2177 2178 2179 2180 2181 2182 [2183] 2184 2185 2186 2187 2188 2189 2190 2191 2192 2193 2194 2195 2196 2197 2198 2199 2200 2201 2202 2203 2204 2205 2206 2207 2208 2209 2210 2211 2212 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [30-400PH] KanoPool kano.is 0.9%fee 3.9of10BTC giveaway 🐈 US,NL,JP,NYA,OR,SG  (Read 5216665 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (2 posts by 2 users deleted.)
Stryfe
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 224
Merit: 34

Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2018, 08:42:58 PM
 #43641


Cool man,  the electric company made me buy and put 2x600 amp, one next to the transformer and one inside the building, as well as one 200 amp fuse.  The wire cables that I got running to the 600amps is 350mcm which is as thick as 4 fingers put together, that wire was hella expesive!  I don’t remember the exact price but it was around 3-4K just to run it from the transformer to the inside of the farm.  It was a lot longer to runit to the main line outside.  Pretty much I’ve spent a fortune to install all of it!  Not to mention the price of the transformer.  Lips sealed


It was my plan to build a 60x100 building and fill it with miners but right now, that is not cost effective and with the electric company giving me so much crap, I am starting to lose my enthusiasm for it.

Happily mining at https://www.kano.is
Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin and altcoin farm - working on expanding!
Bitcoin donation address:   1LD6V8VNXfCTNzRyV6bj2vBhNg6VLTA2Ps
1555945916
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555945916

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555945916
Reply with quote  #2

1555945916
Report to moderator
1555945916
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555945916

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555945916
Reply with quote  #2

1555945916
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
December 03, 2018, 08:44:36 PM
 #43642

well I am currently stuck - the electric company has suspended my service to my mining building for the time being.... and that is why my miners were no longer mining. My building is located on my residential property (about 3 acres) but has it's own and separate meter/panel box - due to my high consumption, I have had multiple visits from the electric company (even a couple from law enforcement who detected the heat on thermal and thought I might have a grow house) and now they want me to convert my residential service to commercial and state they need to install a new/different meter and I will have to pay for the changes... now mind you, I have been trying to get a transformer installed so I can expand and they have been delaying/blocking that and NOW they pull this move... So, I am pushing for them to install the transformer that way I can build a larger building to house more of my miners and to possibly do hosting...

but for time being, I am temporarily shut down. I may try to relocate a few of my miners to a location nearby in the meantime just too keep accruing BTC, but I doubt I can do them all and keep it profitable.

 

isnt it a option to pull a extention wire with enough capacity from your house connection to the other location temporarily?

Extension wire? Lmao  Cheesy.  Bro, i don’t think he is trying to hook up one vacuum cleaner  Grin

hahahaha, dutch is so clueless.
dutchlincoln
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 30


View Profile
December 03, 2018, 09:11:56 PM
 #43643


isnt it a option to pull a extention wire with enough capacity from your house connection to the other location temporarily?

I dont think I can pull 400 amps with an extension cord lol



Well, if its 400 amps divided over 3 phase it isnt too bad. 220 volts i presume (single phase voltage)
I dont know the actual lenth you have to overcome, but i've done crazyer things like that.....

I've pulled an (temporarily) extention cord for 3x450 amps over 600 meters (approx. 1800 feet) for a huge chiller of a company i worked for. That was a nice challenge.. Smiley

















(rifle. I know you havn't had any education, but i'm a certified electrotechnical engineer... I couldn't expect a decent answer from a guy like you other than b.s.)
minergain.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 285
Merit: 10

Free mining equipment tracking and reporting


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2018, 10:32:09 PM
 #43644

hahahaha.....
(rifle. I know you havn't had any education, but i'm a certified electrotechnical engineer... I couldn't expect a decent answer from a guy like you other than b.s.)
Lets not let the stresses of the BTC market get to us folks.  Although "technically" correct, I suspect a lot of us small miners think of an extension cord as the typical 14 guage 25 footer...  I think when you are into multiple zeros for your wire gauge, it is a bit more planning than stringing holiday lights...

www.minergain.com - Free miner equipment tracking and reporting
Mike is a tiny miner: 8 S9, 1 D3, 6 RX470
I mine at Kano Pool, for better BTC Profits!
dutchlincoln
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 30


View Profile
December 03, 2018, 10:53:44 PM
 #43645

hahahaha.....
(rifle. I know you havn't had any education, but i'm a certified electrotechnical engineer... I couldn't expect a decent answer from a guy like you other than b.s.)
Lets not let the stresses of the BTC market get to us folks.  Although "technically" correct, I suspect a lot of us small miners think of an extension cord as the typical 14 guage 25 footer...  I think when you are into multiple zeros for your wire gauge, it is a bit more planning than stringing holiday lights...

true. i'm not native english, so extention cord might be the wrong term, but i think in a forum like this we all know what we are talking about, right? Surely you'll need some big cable, but when the distance is not too long, it should be doable. I think it would be terrible to have miners, and not being able to profit their rewards and lower difficulty.

Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 802


Blokforge Affiliate- see profile


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2018, 11:10:57 PM
 #43646

That's just it a misunderstanding lost in translation. There are also a lot of the smaller miners who maybe haven't worked in or seen a large industrial building who dont grasp the size or concept behind a large service cable.

You are talking essentially running a service line like people do from their homes to their garage panel, but on a much larger scale. That's how j mine in my garage for the summer.

The problem for stryfe if I read correctly us that they had 2 separate services to the property, so their home service likely won't have the available amps, or possibly no panel space.


Stryfe
Good luck getting up and running what a BS situation with your provider. I'd be livid waiting on approval for an upgrade and then coming back to a disconnection.

minergain.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 285
Merit: 10

Free mining equipment tracking and reporting


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2018, 11:11:12 PM
 #43647

Lets not let the stresses of the BTC market get to us folks.  Although "technically" correct, I suspect a lot of us small miners think of an extension cord as the typical 14 guage 25 footer...  I think when you are into multiple zeros for your wire gauge, it is a bit more planning than stringing holiday lights...

true. i'm not native english, so extention cord might be the wrong term, but i think in a forum like this we all know what we are talking about, right? Surely you'll need some big cable, but when the distance is not too long, it should be doable. I think it would be terrible to have miners, and not being able to profit their rewards and lower difficulty.


I suspected the language was the case (plus I mess up words all the time) - which was why I felt everyone should just let it slide (and I probably should have skipped the post too).  I totally agree there is lots of upside here.  I also get that it is hard in these times to invest a couple thousand worth of power cable when his house probably has a 200 amp panel with only have a hundred or so amps to spare.  Other than an apology if I overstepped, all I can say is Mine On to those who can!

www.minergain.com - Free miner equipment tracking and reporting
Mike is a tiny miner: 8 S9, 1 D3, 6 RX470
I mine at Kano Pool, for better BTC Profits!
BSGMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 16

1xA921 + Backups-->1xA741 + 1xA6


View Profile
December 03, 2018, 11:26:17 PM
 #43648

Dudes, between the language barriers and edgy characters, yer crackin' me up! HA! Grin

WHERE'S THE BLOCK ALREADY?!?! It's starting to get as cut-throat as February 'round these parts. Wink

Kano Island is about to turn into Lord of the Flies. Hehe

The BTCest mining pool (<1% fee): KanoPool
***PPLNS payouts averaged over the 5Nd to reduce variance***
Stryfe
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 224
Merit: 34

Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2018, 02:09:05 AM
 #43649

yea - I am a bit pissed about it and yea, if I run a temp line over to the miners - they will see my main residential service increase as they did on the secondary. My solar panels can run maybe a couple of miners during sunlight :/ Makes me really wish I had a battery installed on the system.

Happily mining at https://www.kano.is
Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin and altcoin farm - working on expanding!
Bitcoin donation address:   1LD6V8VNXfCTNzRyV6bj2vBhNg6VLTA2Ps
NomadGroup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 04:39:52 AM
 #43650


Cool man,  the electric company made me buy and put 2x600 amp, one next to the transformer and one inside the building, as well as one 200 amp fuse.  The wire cables that I got running to the 600amps is 350mcm which is as thick as 4 fingers put together, that wire was hella expesive!  I don’t remember the exact price but it was around 3-4K just to run it from the transformer to the inside of the farm.  It was a lot longer to runit to the main line outside.  Pretty much I’ve spent a fortune to install all of it!  Not to mention the price of the transformer.  Lips sealed


It was my plan to build a 60x100 building and fill it with miners but right now, that is not cost effective and with the electric company giving me so much crap, I am starting to lose my enthusiasm for it.

I agree, the current situation would make anyone loose enthusiasm for it, not to mention the 27% import tax they got on the miners coming into the U.S now, which makes you want to quit even more if you don’t have the miners on hand already. 

In my case I’ve finished installing everything and the miners are just sitting here so I have to try to see what happens, after all the work has been done. 
NomadGroup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 04:45:11 AM
 #43651


isnt it a option to pull a extention wire with enough capacity from your house connection to the other location temporarily?

I dont think I can pull 400 amps with an extension cord lol



Well, if its 400 amps divided over 3 phase it isnt too bad. 220 volts i presume (single phase voltage)
I dont know the actual lenth you have to overcome, but i've done crazyer things like that.....

I've pulled an (temporarily) extention cord for 3x450 amps over 600 meters (approx. 1800 feet) for a huge chiller of a company i worked for. That was a nice challenge.. Smiley

Damn!  More than half of a kilometer!  That extension must have costed more than the chiller itself?  Cheesy

















(rifle. I know you havn't had any education, but i'm a certified electrotechnical engineer... I couldn't expect a decent answer from a guy like you other than b.s.)
Stryfe
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 224
Merit: 34

Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2018, 05:34:00 AM
 #43652


I agree, the current situation would make anyone loose enthusiasm for it, not to mention the 27% import tax they got on the miners coming into the U.S now, which makes you want to quit even more if you don’t have the miners on hand already. 

In my case I’ve finished installing everything and the miners are just sitting here so I have to try to see what happens, after all the work has been done. 

I keep hoping to see Japan come out with ASIC's so can avoid the import tax, though even with it - Bitmain S9's are super cheap, especially when having a shit ton of coupons that are just expiring left and right lol

Happily mining at https://www.kano.is
Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin and altcoin farm - working on expanding!
Bitcoin donation address:   1LD6V8VNXfCTNzRyV6bj2vBhNg6VLTA2Ps
dutchlincoln
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 30


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 03:46:12 PM
 #43653


I agree, the current situation would make anyone loose enthusiasm for it, not to mention the 27% import tax they got on the miners coming into the U.S now, which makes you want to quit even more if you don’t have the miners on hand already. 

In my case I’ve finished installing everything and the miners are just sitting here so I have to try to see what happens, after all the work has been done. 

I keep hoping to see Japan come out with ASIC's so can avoid the import tax, though even with it - Bitmain S9's are super cheap, especially when having a shit ton of coupons that are just expiring left and right lol

if i recall correct, its a percentage of 27% right?
Why not buy from some local companies there and have them change the initial purchase price? Saves a lot of taxes...  Cool
Stryfe
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 224
Merit: 34

Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2018, 03:48:58 PM
 #43654


if i recall correct, its a percentage of 27% right?
Why not buy from some local companies there and have them change the initial purchase price? Saves a lot of taxes...  Cool

I believe it is a 27% tariff of the total - I wouldnt know for sure as I have not bought any since - I would buy locally if they were not asking for twice the price and if they were new not used, had a warranty, and were actually trustworthy sellers.

I have spent over 10k on purchases where the seller never shipped what they were selling... I now only buy from manufacturers

Happily mining at https://www.kano.is
Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin and altcoin farm - working on expanding!
Bitcoin donation address:   1LD6V8VNXfCTNzRyV6bj2vBhNg6VLTA2Ps
BSGMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 16

1xA921 + Backups-->1xA741 + 1xA6


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 05:01:14 PM
 #43655

if i recall correct, its a percentage of 27% right?
Why not buy from some local companies there and have them change the initial purchase price? Saves a lot of taxes...  Cool
Also in other news, they said there was just a US-China trade war truce for 90 days that started on 12/1. Not sure how much of a nightmare that's gonna be for companies like Blokforge, but it seems like those tariffs shouldn't be applicable if purchased ≥ 12/1/18 & < 3/1/19... We shall see how they handle this, I suppose.

The BTCest mining pool (<1% fee): KanoPool
***PPLNS payouts averaged over the 5Nd to reduce variance***
hold-coins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 21

<a href="http://www.freebiebitcoin.com">Earn free


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 05:44:02 PM
 #43656


Cool man,  the electric company made me buy and put 2x600 amp, one next to the transformer and one inside the building, as well as one 200 amp fuse.  The wire cables that I got running to the 600amps is 350mcm which is as thick as 4 fingers put together, that wire was hella expesive!  I don’t remember the exact price but it was around 3-4K just to run it from the transformer to the inside of the farm.  It was a lot longer to runit to the main line outside.  Pretty much I’ve spent a fortune to install all of it!  Not to mention the price of the transformer.  Lips sealed

It was my plan to build a 60x100 building and fill it with miners but right now, that is not cost effective and with the electric company giving me so much crap, I am starting to lose my enthusiasm for it.
I know nothing about mining, I have a friend who is quite familiar though. How much would I need to invest to have a decent miner? Tired of buying btc. And how much electricity a month does it cost? I am trying to get a wallet back up over .01 or so?
Must I have the most advance video cards to pool mine? I just do not have much to invest. I live off $800 a month?


<a href="http://www.freebiebitcoin.com">Earn free bitcoin</a>
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1151


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 06:06:18 PM
 #43657


Cool man,  the electric company made me buy and put 2x600 amp, one next to the transformer and one inside the building, as well as one 200 amp fuse.  The wire cables that I got running to the 600amps is 350mcm which is as thick as 4 fingers put together, that wire was hella expesive!  I don’t remember the exact price but it was around 3-4K just to run it from the transformer to the inside of the farm.  It was a lot longer to runit to the main line outside.  Pretty much I’ve spent a fortune to install all of it!  Not to mention the price of the transformer.  Lips sealed

It was my plan to build a 60x100 building and fill it with miners but right now, that is not cost effective and with the electric company giving me so much crap, I am starting to lose my enthusiasm for it.
I know nothing about mining, I have a friend who is quite familiar though. How much would I need to invest to have a decent miner? Tired of buying btc. And how much electricity a month does it cost? I am trying to get a wallet back up over .01 or so?
Must I have the most advance video cards to pool mine? I just do not have much to invest. I live off $800 a month?


ASICs only ... see the Help pages on the web site

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 07:22:22 PM
 #43658


isnt it a option to pull a extention wire with enough capacity from your house connection to the other location temporarily?

I dont think I can pull 400 amps with an extension cord lol



Well, if its 400 amps divided over 3 phase it isnt too bad. 220 volts i presume (single phase voltage)
I dont know the actual lenth you have to overcome, but i've done crazyer things like that.....

I've pulled an (temporarily) extention cord for 3x450 amps over 600 meters (approx. 1800 feet) for a huge chiller of a company i worked for. That was a nice challenge.. Smiley

















(rifle. I know you havn't had any education, but i'm a certified electrotechnical engineer... I couldn't expect a decent answer from a guy like you other than b.s.)

Nah, you're certified alright.   
BSGMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 16

1xA921 + Backups-->1xA741 + 1xA6


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 07:44:52 PM
 #43659


Here we go again... Wink

The BTCest mining pool (<1% fee): KanoPool
***PPLNS payouts averaged over the 5Nd to reduce variance***
NomadGroup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 04, 2018, 07:47:56 PM
 #43660

if i recall correct, its a percentage of 27% right?
Why not buy from some local companies there and have them change the initial purchase price? Saves a lot of taxes...  Cool
Also in other news, they said there was just a US-China trade war truce for 90 days that started on 12/1. Not sure how much of a nightmare that's gonna be for companies like Blokforge, but it seems like those tariffs shouldn't be applicable if purchased ≥ 12/1/18 & < 3/1/19... We shall see how they handle this, I suppose.

The 27% on the miners have been aplicable since like July 8th I think,  and I even heard that some people recieved a bill from UPS, even on the packages that they got before that date and already payed the previous duties on the miners (crazy,).   Actually I received one too not too long ago for the miners that I got like in April and was already charged the duties by the UPS upon he delivered!

I watched the G20 news the other day and they said that Trump put a hold on the trade war with China and that for now they aren’t going to double the import tax from China. Which from what it looks they were going to do.

 So the 27% is just a little taste, they haven’t really raised the tax to what they wanted to on thousands of products that are imported from China.  Shopping in Wall Mart won’t be a favorite thing for low income people anymore if this sh... keeps on going in that direction!   Cheesy.

Since all of the taxes will be passed on to the end buyers!
Pages: « 1 ... 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 2139 2140 2141 2142 2143 2144 2145 2146 2147 2148 2149 2150 2151 2152 2153 2154 2155 2156 2157 2158 2159 2160 2161 2162 2163 2164 2165 2166 2167 2168 2169 2170 2171 2172 2173 2174 2175 2176 2177 2178 2179 2180 2181 2182 [2183] 2184 2185 2186 2187 2188 2189 2190 2191 2192 2193 2194 2195 2196 2197 2198 2199 2200 2201 2202 2203 2204 2205 2206 2207 2208 2209 2210 2211 2212 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!