Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2019, 11:13:44 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 [185] 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419388 times)
andnet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 07:21:12 AM
 #3681



And Argon-unitus is quickly on cpu-opt than unitusminer
cpu-opt 950h/s
unitusminer 750 h/s
Good result. +++
"Apparently, so I am told, there exist "people" who prefer to wipe sitting down. From the front. Initial research indicates it could be up to half the population." -- benjamindees
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555888424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555888424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555888424
Reply with quote  #2

1555888424
Report to moderator
jukKas
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 10:47:43 AM
 #3682

Is it possible to run cpuminer in background? I think that every time I close my SSH-window, mining stops. I'm using UbuntuVM.

-B

Ok, where should I put '-B'? At the end of the command?

I'm trying to run command: ./cpuminer -a yescrypt -o stratum+tcp://[POOLADDRESS:PORT] -u [WALLETADDRESS]

Can somebody confirm which is the correct way to run this miner background on UbuntuVM?

I need to know where to put that -B in my command. Thanks in advance.

Anybody? I want to know how to run miner in background.
./cpuminer -a yescrypt -o stratum+tcp://[POOLADDRESS:PORT] -u [WALLETADDRESS] --background

Thanks a lot!

Bitcoin
stevascha
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 06:19:10 AM
 #3683

hi joblo
what option best performance yescryptr16 algo for ryzen?

i already used avx2-sha, but if you give other suggest, i would try it

YENTEN - YescryptR16 - NO PREMINE - ASIC RESISTANT - WALLET MINING - COMMUNITY MANAGED - ADULT MALES
Yenten is a Japanese cryptocurrency of the cpu, by the cpu, for the cpu.
No ASIC. ASIC is for girls and kids. Join us!
_Django05_
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267
Merit: 250


Commander of the Armies of the North


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2018, 02:49:54 PM
 #3684

Rejected on the monero algorithm continue...

The new cryptonightv7 isn't supported yet.

is there a plan in supporting cryptonight v7 in the future?

FFI2013
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 894
Merit: 507


View Profile
April 18, 2018, 02:19:09 AM
 #3685

I'm very surprised that a man like Joblo has only 2 personns who gave him merit !!!

I am the third : +5 merit for you Joblo and I think it is not so much for all you kindly job.
I invite each person who use your CPUMiner-opt to give you some merit : it is a minimum.
Thank you Joblo/JayDDee for your job ;-).

You're right, the problem is for me Merit System is crap so I tend to not support or use it because it basically froze my rank, so I'm holding a bit - to use an euphemenism - of a grudge against it.

Also he's already Legendary so I don't think he needs more merits anyway.

By the way I gave him one Cheesy
I agree with you about the merit system because some ppl abused ranking for ICO purposes we all have to suffer because the mods are to lacy to do their jobs and investigate so I choose to do signature campaigns I will never get merit sorry for going off topic Joblo 
maxime506
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 12:22:27 PM
 #3686

Hi there,

I love your miner for YescryptR16 algo. I have some interesting observations.

On my i7-2600, if I use 8 threads I only have like 40h/s per thread. But if I drop down to two I have 90h/s instead per thread

On my miners which mostly feature dual core CPU, I have 100-150h/thread.

I wonder if Hyper-threading hurts the hashrate per thread, or the algorithm doesn't scale well on multi-core CPU. The CPU usage on 8 threads are like 97% on average. SO as the one in dual-core CPU.

Did I miss something I need to optimize, or that's it? I'd love to upgrade my miners to quad-core or even i7 (Sandy bridge CPUs are cheap these days), but I want it to be worth of my investment.


Thanks
fanisk21
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 20, 2018, 02:50:24 PM
 #3687

Hi there,

I love your miner for YescryptR16 algo. I have some interesting observations.

On my i7-2600, if I use 8 threads I only have like 40h/s per thread. But if I drop down to two I have 90h/s instead per thread

On my miners which mostly feature dual core CPU, I have 100-150h/thread.

I wonder if Hyper-threading hurts the hashrate per thread, or the algorithm doesn't scale well on multi-core CPU. The CPU usage on 8 threads are like 97% on average. SO as the one in dual-core CPU.

Did I miss something I need to optimize, or that's it? I'd love to upgrade my miners to quad-core or even i7 (Sandy bridge CPUs are cheap these days), but I want it to be worth of my investment.


Thanks

That it's because the L3 cache of the processors i think that is the reason why that happens. More threads dont always mean best perfomance. 
stas260385
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2018, 08:09:29 AM
 #3688

Argon work, but slow. Beastpoolminer +10%
Cpu-opt 3.8.72

There is no AVX targetted code anywhere in cpuminer-opt so there must be some better compiler
generated optimizations possible on Sandybridge vs Westmere. Most HW improvements on Sandybridge
should be transparent to the SW.

The only thing I found was a new instruction encoding format in AVX. Some (many?) of the
legacy SSE instructions have new encoding for AVX and they are possibly faster on a Sandybridge
CPU than the legacy SSE encoding of the same instructions. The new encoding would only be used if compiling
for AVX which would result in different binaries between Westmere SSE4.2 and Sandybridge AVX.

This is somewhat speculative but I can't think of any other reason the AVX compiler switch makes all
the difference.

It looks like I can't kill off the AVX build after all. It will return in th enext release, however, there will still
be no reporting of AVX algo features. AVX may affect some algos or all algos or may affect different algos
differently. They are the ghost optimizations. They exist, their effects can be felt, but they can't be seen.

Hey, Joblo!
How about to add the argon2i algo for Arionum coin: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2710248.0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 04:53:16 PM
 #3689

cpuminer-opt-3.8.8

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.8

Added cryptonightv7 for Monero.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
alexzerg111
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 06:31:51 PM
 #3690

cpuminer-opt-3.8.8

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.8

Added cryptonightv7 for Monero.


Big thank's! And for processors with instructions AES and AVX which miner under the monero_v7 will be better? cpuminer-avx.exe or cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe? or for monero_v7 are equivalent?
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 06:38:53 PM
 #3691

Big thank's! And for processors with instructions AES and AVX which miner under the monero_v7 will be better? cpuminer-avx.exe or cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe? or for monero_v7 are equivalent?

How 'bout you tell me? As previously explained there are no code differences between the two builds but
some users have reported a significant performance difference with some algos.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
FlowLive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 27, 2018, 06:13:32 AM
 #3692

Joblo I got a question. (or anyone that could)

I just changed my ram from 3200 (Only able to run 2666Mhz, it is dual rank ram) 16-18-18 to 3200 14-14-14 Samsung B-Die to be able to run full speed of 3200 on Ryzen...

I mine YescryptR32 or R16. On R32 I get speeds of 585H/s with the 2666 CL16 vs 450H/s with the 3200 CL14...
I read it could be that this algo has memory requirements... but can't get any more info than this...

Do you know?
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 451
Merit: 17


View Profile
April 27, 2018, 08:33:47 AM
 #3693

Joblo I got a question. (or anyone that could)

I just changed my ram from 3200 (Only able to run 2666Mhz, it is dual rank ram) 16-18-18 to 3200 14-14-14 Samsung B-Die to be able to run full speed of 3200 on Ryzen...

I mine YescryptR32 or R16. On R32 I get speeds of 585H/s with the 2666 CL16 vs 450H/s with the 3200 CL14...
I read it could be that this algo has memory requirements... but can't get any more info than this...

Do you know?

If I understand correctly, you went from dual channel memory to single.
Math would say that the throughput is now (3200 / 2666 / 2) ~= 60% of the original, so the more memory dependent the algo, the more speed you loose

You can also take a look at the CPU load/temps/power consumption, if it is lower that it was before, this means that you dont have enough memory bandwidth to feed cpu with enough work

Yescrypt algo is bandwidth hard, since it performs memory lookups

If interested, see more in the whitepaper https://password-hashing.net/submissions/specs/yescrypt-v2.pdf


FlowLive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 03:42:04 AM
 #3694

Joblo I got a question. (or anyone that could)

I just changed my ram from 3200 (Only able to run 2666Mhz, it is dual rank ram) 16-18-18 to 3200 14-14-14 Samsung B-Die to be able to run full speed of 3200 on Ryzen...

I mine YescryptR32 or R16. On R32 I get speeds of 585H/s with the 2666 CL16 vs 450H/s with the 3200 CL14...
I read it could be that this algo has memory requirements... but can't get any more info than this...

Do you know?

If I understand correctly, you went from dual channel memory to single.
Math would say that the throughput is now (3200 / 2666 / 2) ~= 60% of the original, so the more memory dependent the algo, the more speed you loose

You can also take a look at the CPU load/temps/power consumption, if it is lower that it was before, this means that you dont have enough memory bandwidth to feed cpu with enough work

Yescrypt algo is bandwidth hard, since it performs memory lookups

If interested, see more in the whitepaper https://password-hashing.net/submissions/specs/yescrypt-v2.pdf



No it's still dual channel, running @ 1.35V like it should, I'll take a look at this paper thanks!
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 04:00:54 AM
 #3695

No it's still dual channel, running @ 1.35V like it should, I'll take a look at this paper thanks!

Make sure your Ryzen has the latest BIOS, there have been issues with higher speed memory.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
FlowLive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 28, 2018, 07:27:47 AM
 #3696

No it's still dual channel, running @ 1.35V like it should, I'll take a look at this paper thanks!

Make sure your Ryzen has the latest BIOS, there have been issues with higher speed memory.

Yes of course it is up to date... But still this is B-Die ram 2x8GB, even on older bios it works fine.

The question is, why or how is CPU hashing less on YescryptR16 / R32 ?
FFI2013
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 894
Merit: 507


View Profile
April 29, 2018, 02:44:52 PM
 #3697

I'm mining DYN on a fx-8350 and fx-8320 for some reason after mining a little while cpuminer shows my temps 0 on the fx-8320 it starts up showing the temps I tried restarting a few times but always goes back to 0. The fx-8350 shows my temps all the time
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 29, 2018, 05:37:54 PM
 #3698

I'm mining DYN on a fx-8350 and fx-8320 for some reason after mining a little while cpuminer shows my temps 0 on the fx-8320 it starts up showing the temps I tried restarting a few times but always goes back to 0. The fx-8350 shows my temps all the time

cpuminer just reads the temperature from the /sys file system, zero means read failed.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
April 29, 2018, 05:38:49 PM
Last edit: April 29, 2018, 08:02:44 PM by joblo
 #3699

I'm mining DYN on a fx-8350 and fx-8320 for some reason after mining a little while cpuminer shows my temps 0 on the fx-8320 it starts up showing the temps I tried restarting a few times but always goes back to 0. The fx-8350 shows my temps all the time

You might have better luck in a memory overclocking forum.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
ULF
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 29, 2018, 06:22:54 PM
 #3700

      Which CPU Miner version best, most stable for BTX Bitcore?
      I am using Nvidia GTX 1060 and GTX 1080ti rigs.
      Let me know, Please
Pages: « 1 ... 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 [185] 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!