Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 12:02:05 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 415943 times)
saturnix2025
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 11:33:36 PM
 #3261

Your CPU May fall into that AMD black hole where SIMD support was inconsistent. I recently optimized bytswap to use shuffle
which is available in SSSE3. Your CPU's specs have SSSE3 but apparently not support for _mm_shuffle_epi8.

Have you tried compiling with -march=core2?

I'll try to come up with a fix for next release but it's hard to get motivated for old CPUs, especially old AMD CPUs.

Thank you very much for your reply! I have now tried with "core2" but that gives the very same error.

Quote
I recently optimized bytswap to use shuffle which is available in SSSE3.

Forgive the stupid question: does this mean that without this optimization it should work on this particular CPU and that it is available on older versions?

Quote
I'll try to come up with a fix for next release but it's hard to get motivated for old CPUs, especially old AMD CPUs.

If this is of any help, this is a CPU that I've been assigned when renting a server with OVH. It mainly sits idle all day so I figured why not using it for CPU mining? Many other people may face the same need, unless it is possible to get assigned a different CPU just by asking (I'll try to do that now).

Many thanks for your help again! If there's anything I could do to help you test compatibility, don't hesitate to ask!


EDIT: by the way, I'm only interested in mining YescryptR16. Is there anyway to disable all the things I don't need or is the particular feature not in my CPU needed also for this?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539734525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539734525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539734525
Reply with quote  #2

1539734525
Report to moderator
1539734525
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539734525

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539734525
Reply with quote  #2

1539734525
Report to moderator
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 12:09:09 AM
 #3262

Quote
I'm having a similar error to that of @shvch and ran the same commands to install the required depencies. Total newbie here.

I believe this is the relevant portion of errors:

Code:
In file included from algo/cryptonight/cryptonight-aesni.c:6:0:
./avxdefs.h: In function ‘mm_byteswap_64’:
./avxdefs.h:296:3: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘_mm_shuffle_epi8’ [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
./avxdefs.h:296:3: error: incompatible types when returning type ‘int’ but ‘__m128i’ was expected
./avxdefs.h: In function ‘mm_byteswap_32’:
./avxdefs.h:303:3: error: incompatible types when returning type ‘int’ but ‘__m128i’ was expected
./avxdefs.h: In function ‘mm_byteswap_16’:
./avxdefs.h:310:3: error: incompatible types when returning type ‘int’ but ‘__m128i’ was expected
algo/cryptonight/cryptonight-aesni.c: At top level:
algo/cryptonight/cryptonight-aesni.c:107:33: warning: ‘ctx’ defined but not used [-Wunused-variable]
mv -f algo/cryptonight/.deps/cpuminer-cryptonight-common.Tpo algo/cryptonight/.deps/cpuminer-cryptonight-common.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -Iyes/include -fno-strict-aliasing  -I. -Iyes/include -Wno-pointer-sign -Wno-pointer-to-int-cast   -O3 -march=native -Wall  -Iyes/include -MT algo/cubehash/cpuminer-sph_cubehash.o -MD -MP -MF algo/cubehash/.deps/cpuminer-sph_cubehash.Tpo -c -o algo/cubehash/cpuminer-sph_cubehash.o `test -f 'algo/cubehash/sph_cubehash.c' || echo './'`algo/cubehash/sph_cubehash.c
make[2]: *** [algo/cryptonight/cpuminer-cryptonight-aesni.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
mv -f algo/cryptonight/.deps/cpuminer-cryptonight.Tpo algo/cryptonight/.deps/cpuminer-cryptonight.Po
mv -f algo/bmw/.deps/cpuminer-sph_bmw.Tpo algo/bmw/.deps/cpuminer-sph_bmw.Po
mv -f algo/cubehash/.deps/cpuminer-sph_cubehash.Tpo algo/cubehash/.deps/cpuminer-sph_cubehash.Po
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-opt'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/cpuminer-opt'
make: *** [all] Error 2
strip: 'cpuminer': No such file

Your CPU May fall into that AMD black hole where SIMD support was inconsistent. I recently optimized bytswap to use shuffle
which is available in SSSE3. Your CPU's specs have SSSE3 but apparently not support for _mm_shuffle_epi8.

Have you tried compiling with -march=core2?

I'll try to come up with a fix for next release but it's hard to get motivated for old CPUs, especially old AMD CPUs.

I may have a simple solution as long as cryptonight is the only culprit. Can you check if other files have similar errors
with avxdefs?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
saturnix2025
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 01:28:25 AM
 #3263

Managed to mine Yenten anyway, using the default miner. Didn't do that from the start since the tutorial I was following was pointing me to this one, cpuminer-opt, which is much more complete but incompatible with my CPU.

Off course I went through all the hassle of figuring out how to compile and run the default miner, just to then find out that the pool I chose (absolutely at random) provides you with a neatly pre-packaged, pre-compiled debian executable.

Basically, I did every single step in the most useless and time consuming way although I now have a rough knowledge of how to compile stuff on Linux, something which (as you may have noted) has always eluded me.


Back to the point, if you're still interested in a fix for this particular AMD CPU...

Quote
Can you check if other files have similar errors with avxdefs?

I don't understand your question completely: are you asking me if I see similar errors within other files during compilation? As far as I can tell, no: avxdefs is the only file giving errors (other stuff only looks like warnings).

I did another run, configuring with -march=core2, so that I could give you a complete transcript of the compile report. Here: https://pastebin.com/raw/ckhcAcYD

Please let me know if I didn't understand your question correctly and you're asking me for something else.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 04:13:31 AM
 #3264

Managed to mine Yenten anyway, using the default miner. Didn't do that from the start since the tutorial I was following was pointing me to this one, cpuminer-opt, which is much more complete but incompatible with my CPU.

Off course I went through all the hassle of figuring out how to compile and run the default miner, just to then find out that the pool I chose (absolutely at random) provides you with a neatly pre-packaged, pre-compiled debian executable.

Basically, I did every single step in the most useless and time consuming way although I now have a rough knowledge of how to compile stuff on Linux, something which (as you may have noted) has always eluded me.


Back to the point, if you're still interested in a fix for this particular AMD CPU...

Quote
Can you check if other files have similar errors with avxdefs?

I don't understand your question completely: are you asking me if I see similar errors within other files during compilation? As far as I can tell, no: avxdefs is the only file giving errors (other stuff only looks like warnings).

I did another run, configuring with -march=core2, so that I could give you a complete transcript of the compile report. Here: https://pastebin.com/raw/ckhcAcYD

Please let me know if I didn't understand your question correctly and you're asking me for something else.

Thanks for posting the complete compile session. Cryptonight is the only problem so my fix should work.

For yenten the default miner is probably equal to cpuminer-opt.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
JoeBobJr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 06:29:20 PM
 #3265

Does this miner not have a web api? I've seen that it binds to port 4048 and when I try to access the api from my browser I get errors every time. localhost:4048 isn't working.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 07:36:15 PM
 #3266

Does this miner not have a web api? I've seen that it binds to port 4048 and when I try to access the api from my browser I get errors every time. localhost:4048 isn't working.

No, just a raw socket.

Code:
telnet localhost 4048
help

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
JoeBobJr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 07:56:44 PM
 #3267

Does this miner not have a web api? I've seen that it binds to port 4048 and when I try to access the api from my browser I get errors every time. localhost:4048 isn't working.

No, just a raw socket.

Code:
telnet localhost 4048
help

As soon as I connect with telnet and hit any key it disconnects. I can't type help.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 08:18:57 PM
 #3268

Does this miner not have a web api? I've seen that it binds to port 4048 and when I try to access the api from my browser I get errors every time. localhost:4048 isn't working.

No, just a raw socket.

Code:
telnet localhost 4048
help

As soon as I connect with telnet and hit any key it disconnects. I can't type help.

Don't hit any key just enter a comand.

Code:
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 4048
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to 127.0.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.
help
summary
threads
seturl
quit
|Connection closed by foreign host.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
JoeBobJr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 09:01:42 PM
 #3269

Does this miner not have a web api? I've seen that it binds to port 4048 and when I try to access the api from my browser I get errors every time. localhost:4048 isn't working.

No, just a raw socket.

Code:
telnet localhost 4048
help

As soon as I connect with telnet and hit any key it disconnects. I can't type help.

Don't hit any key just enter a comand.

Code:
$ telnet 127.0.0.1 4048
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to 127.0.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.
help
summary
threads
seturl
quit
|Connection closed by foreign host.


It must not be actually making a connection then. When I type in the telnet command the screen goes black and all I see is a cursor. I'll look into it thanks for the info.
cojsolorzano
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 04:07:31 AM
 #3270

I think there should be an SSE2-AVX EXE for i3 proccesors under windows , I saw it working only in linux,
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 06:21:04 AM
 #3271

I think there should be an SSE2-AVX EXE for i3 proccesors under windows , I saw it working only in linux,

I need a better reason than "I think". Show me the performance difference from just sse2.
I'm trying to reduce then number of builds, not increase them. Old and crippled CPUs do not
interest me. I want to focus on AVX2 and AVX512.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
nizzuu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 100

Cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 07:05:23 AM
 #3272

I need a better reason than "I think". Show me the performance difference from just sse2.
I'm trying to reduce then number of builds, not increase them. Old and crippled CPUs do not
interest me. I want to focus on AVX2 and AVX512.

Well, I cannot call the Xeon E5 v2 & v3 line (it lacks AVX2 support) like "Old and crippled" because people nowadays purchase these ones for less than 200$.

E5-1650V2 costs <180$ but kicks some newer i7 asses.

So the time to upgrade will come with Intel's release of mainstream CPUs with AVX512. They claim it in 2018, but the price and working temp should be seen first. People won't go for i3 which needs watercooling under AVX512 load. If the avx offset will be a must-have, then why should people go for these high-freq cpus?
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 05:01:39 PM
 #3273

If someone really wants me to provide a special binary build I can be bribed. My tip jar has been
empty for a while. I expected some consideration for the hard work implementing 4way,
not to mention my quick response to real issues.

I can build all possible combinations of x86_64 architectures from SSE2 to AVX2 with and without
AES or SHA if sufficiently motivated. I might even put some more effort into figuring out how to
build for the older AMD CPUs.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
agavrilyk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 08:50:00 PM
 #3274

Good afternoon joblo.
And what do you say about the Opteron 6282 SE?
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldozer/AMD-Opteron%206282%20SE.html
I want to try it.
Thank you
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 16


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 09:42:13 PM
 #3275

can you add x16r in next version?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2752467.0

p.s. Add LTC or ETH wallet for donations. BTC fees nowadays are way too high Wink

Mr.Spider703
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 280
Merit: 2

accelerated your transactions BTC


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2018, 09:50:13 PM
 #3276

thanks for the update, after it the speed on the m7m algorithm grew from 1.5 kh to 2 kh

donate BTC - 1ETPsixbwuDNJH5XvDb3kMrCr69ZFePSdK  ETH - 0xDd48FE784Ac7d4e39C8cEE96BF0dB5269753b22E write to me https://t.me/spider703
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 23, 2018, 10:46:06 PM
 #3277

can you add x16r in next version?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2752467.0

p.s. Add LTC or ETH wallet for donations. BTC fees nowadays are way too high Wink


Testing x16r now, can't argue about fees.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 01:48:53 AM
 #3278

Good afternoon joblo.
And what do you say about the Opteron 6282 SE?
http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldozer/AMD-Opteron%206282%20SE.html
I want to try it.
Thank you

I don't own any AMDs si I don't have any personal experience. Based on the specs it should
work well with AES and AVX.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 02:15:41 AM
 #3279

cpuminer-opt-3.8.0 released.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.0

4way no longer a seperate feature, included in AVX2.
Added x16r algo for Ravencoin, anime algo for Animecoin.
More 4way optimizations for X13 and up.
Tweaked CPU affinity to better support more than 64 CPUs.
Fixed compile problem on some old AMD CPUs.

This release is a major milestone for cpuminer-opt. It essentially marks the end of
4way phase 1. 15 of the 17 functions in X17 have some form of optimization. Only
fugue and whirlpool still use unoptimized code and 4 way seems impossible on
these functions using SIMD.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 24, 2018, 02:45:29 AM
 #3280

p.s. Add LTC or ETH wallet for donations. BTC fees nowadays are way too high Wink

Good idea, in my sig.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!