Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2018, 11:02:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 410270 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 01:56:30 AM
 #3261

I don't see much potential for ARM mining. It's intended for low power devices so it probably has
a bigger performance penalty than a performance oriented architecture. The cost of scaling to x86_64
performance woulbe higher. It's also limited to 128 bit vectors (NEON) at this time while Intel will
have 512 bit vectors on mainstream CPUs later this year. On the software side all the optimized
x86_64 code would have to be rewritten for NEON. That's a huge task. When it comes to mining,
the bigger the better, like a Xeon Phi.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529751777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529751777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529751777
Reply with quote  #2

1529751777
Report to moderator
1529751777
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529751777

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529751777
Reply with quote  #2

1529751777
Report to moderator
speedyrazor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 09:53:17 AM
 #3262

Hi, I have two Xeon E5-2695 v4. When I run this miner, it only seems to want to use one physical CPU. Is there any way to use both?

Kind regards.
ronnylov
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 13


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 01:42:20 PM
 #3263

Hi, I have two Xeon E5-2695 v4. When I run this miner, it only seems to want to use one physical CPU. Is there any way to use both?

Kind regards.

Try -t 36 --cpu-affinity 0x555555555555555555
or -t72 --cpu-affinity 0xffffffffffffffffff
speedyrazor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 02:50:52 PM
 #3264

Hi, I have two Xeon E5-2695 v4. When I run this miner, it only seems to want to use one physical CPU. Is there any way to use both?

Kind regards.

Try -t 36 --cpu-affinity 0x555555555555555555
or -t72 --cpu-affinity 0xffffffffffffffffff

Thanks for the suggestion, I just tried both of the above, and neither worked, still only one physical CPU being used.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 04:47:47 PM
 #3265

I getting fed up with people who don't know how to use their system then come here whining without
providing any useful information. I will no longer ask. If the initial post has insufficient information I
will simply ignore it.

Dual CPU systems and their operating systems are much more complicated that regular desktops.
Learn how to use them properly before complaining here.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
speedyrazor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2018, 05:10:05 PM
 #3266

I getting fed up with people who don't know how to use their system then come here whining without
providing any useful information. I will no longer ask. If the initial post has insufficient information I
will simply ignore it.

Dual CPU systems and their operating systems are much more complicated that regular desktops.
Learn how to use them properly before complaining here.

I apologise for making you fed up, it wasn't my intention. Thanks for your help.
ElpidioMC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 05:57:28 AM
 #3267

I keep getting the following error:

./cpuminer -a x11 --benchmark

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.7.9  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU:         Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz.
SW built on Jan 16 2018 with GCC 7.2.0.
CPU features: SSE2 AVX.
SW features: SSE2 AVX.
Algo features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 4WAY.
A CPU with AES and AVX2 is required!

Thank you in advance for the effort and work dedicated to this software.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 02:00:33 PM
 #3268

I keep getting the following error:

./cpuminer -a x11 --benchmark

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.7.9  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU:         Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz.
SW built on Jan 16 2018 with GCC 7.2.0.
CPU features: SSE2 AVX.
SW features: SSE2 AVX.
Algo features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 4WAY.
A CPU with AES and AVX2 is required!

Thank you in advance for the effort and work dedicated to this software.

I had incorrectly assumed a CPU with AVX also has AES. The i3-2100 doesn't have AES.
I'll fix that in the next release (very soon).
In the meantime you can use an older version or compile with only SSE42

Thanks for reporting.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 08:20:32 PM
 #3269

cpuminer-opt-3.7.10

4way optimizations for lyra2rev2, lyra2h, quark, timetravel8, timetravel10
   x11evo, blakecoin.
Faster x13sm3 (hsr).
Added share difficulty to accepted message.

Also fixed support for i3-2100 (AVX but no AES).

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.10

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
alucard20724
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 09:11:33 PM
 #3270

cpuminer-opt-3.7.10

4way optimizations for lyra2rev2, lyra2h, quark, timetravel8, timetravel10
   x11evo, blakecoin.
Faster x13sm3 (hsr).
Added share difficulty to accepted message.

Also fixed support for i3-2100 (AVX but no AES).

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.10

the link is downloading 3.6.10
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 09:24:20 PM
 #3271

cpuminer-opt-3.7.10

4way optimizations for lyra2rev2, lyra2h, quark, timetravel8, timetravel10
   x11evo, blakecoin.
Faster x13sm3 (hsr).
Added share difficulty to accepted message.

Also fixed support for i3-2100 (AVX but no AES).

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.10

the link is downloading 3.6.10

Silly mistake, fixed.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
alucard20724
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 09:28:58 PM
 #3272

cpuminer-opt-3.7.10

4way optimizations for lyra2rev2, lyra2h, quark, timetravel8, timetravel10
   x11evo, blakecoin.
Faster x13sm3 (hsr).
Added share difficulty to accepted message.

Also fixed support for i3-2100 (AVX but no AES).

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.10

the link is downloading 3.6.10

Silly mistake, fixed.

thanks... much appreciated
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 09:36:35 PM
 #3273

V3.7.10 will likely be the last release with 4way as a distinct feature. It will now be included
in AVX2 when avaiable.

As a result I will no longer compile seperate 4way Windows binaries.

In addition I will no longer produce sse42 or avx-sha builds. Nehalem CPUs will use the sse2 build
while Ryzen will use avx2-sha.

I will also refine (shorten) the file names. Any other listed feature will include SSE2. AVX2 will include AVX,
AES and SSE2.

All features will be listed at program startup.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2018, 10:54:44 PM
 #3274

Small question: is it possible to autodetect the cpu features on startup and just select the "best" - most appropriate - version?

As the miner itself detects the features already this should be possible in theory but maybe not that easy to implement with the "loading" of the correct binary/code

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 11:08:22 PM
 #3275

Small question: is it possible to autodetect the cpu features on startup and just select the "best" - most appropriate - version?

As the miner itself detects the features already this should be possible in theory but maybe not that easy to implement with the "loading" of the correct binary/code

Not worth the effort to think about it. Any run time checking would increase bloat (a growing issue (pun intended)) and
slow things down. Optimizing means doing as much as possible at compile time to reduce the decisions made at run time.
It's the classic generalization vs specialization dilema.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 638
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 16, 2018, 11:22:31 PM
 #3276

Small question: is it possible to autodetect the cpu features on startup and just select the "best" - most appropriate - version?

As the miner itself detects the features already this should be possible in theory but maybe not that easy to implement with the "loading" of the correct binary/code

Try this:
http://web.inter.nl.net/hcc/J.Steunebrink/chkcpu.htm

Create a batch file using this to detect the features of the CPU and select the appropriate EXE.

Code:
CHKCPU32.exe /x > CHKCPU32.LOG

find "<avx2>1</avx2>" CHKCPU32.LOG
if %errorlevel% == 0 goto AVX2

find "<avx>1</avx>" CHKCPU32.LOG
if %errorlevel% == 0 goto AVX

find "<aes>1</aes>" CHKCPU32.LOG
if %errorlevel% == 0 goto AES

find "<sse42>1</sse42>" CHKCPU32.LOG
if %errorlevel% == 0 goto SSE42

GOTO SSE


Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
shvck
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 03:36:06 PM
 #3277

After cloning the rep and runnig ./build.sh in ubuntu I am getting errors

Code:
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/shvchk/cpuminer-opt'
Makefile:818: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2
strip: 'cpuminer': No such file

what am I doing wrong ?

SnowGem.org - Improve upon great ideas of other cryptocurrencies
Equihash - No Premine - No ICO - Masternodes soon
cryptodao
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 04:09:37 PM
 #3278

help me configure for the processor E5450
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1016


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 07:10:24 PM
 #3279

After cloning the rep and runnig ./build.sh in ubuntu I am getting errors

Code:
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/shvchk/cpuminer-opt'
Makefile:818: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2
strip: 'cpuminer': No such file

what am I doing wrong ?

I assume you're a first timer. It always helps to mention that up front.
Have you read the instructions and ensure all dependencies are installed?
Find the first few errors, read them, try to understand what it means. If you can't figure it out
post it here. It also helps if you mention your CPU.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
shvck
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 08:35:50 AM
 #3280

I assume you're a first timer. It always helps to mention that up front.
Have you read the instructions and ensure all dependencies are installed?
Find the first few errors, read them, try to understand what it means. If you can't figure it out
post it here. It also helps if you mention your CPU.


These are dependencies I am installing and commands I am running:

Code:
1. sudo apt-get install automake autoconf pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev libssl-dev libgmp-dev -y

2. sudo apt-get install autotools-dev automake make libcurl4-openssl-dev g++ libssl-dev libgmp3-dev -y

3. sudo apt-get install build-essential screen automake m4 openssl libssl-dev git libjson0 libjson0-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev autoconf python-software-properties -y

4. sudo git clone https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt

5. cd cpuminer-opt

6. sudo ./build.sh

These are some of the errors I am getting:

Code:
In file included from algo/echo/aes_ni/vperm.h:20:0,
                 from algo/echo/aes_ni/hash.c:21:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/include/tmmintrin.h:136:1: error: inlining failed in call to always_inline ‘_mm_shuffle_epi8’: target specific option mismatch
 _mm_shuffle_epi8 (__m128i __X, __m128i __Y)

Code:
In file included from algo/echo/aes_ni/hash.c:21:0:
algo/echo/aes_ni/vperm.h:77:5: error: called from here
  t3 = _mm_shuffle_epi8(*((__m128i*)_k_inv + 0), t4);\

There are dozens of errors like this. Unfortunatelly I am not that proficient with ubuntu to try to understand those errors.

Anyways running build always finish with these lines:
Code:
Makefile:818: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2
strip: 'cpuminer': No such file

BTW with previous versions there were no such problems and build was successful.

SnowGem.org - Improve upon great ideas of other cryptocurrencies
Equihash - No Premine - No ICO - Masternodes soon
Pages: « 1 ... 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 [164] 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!