Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2019, 07:01:55 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419411 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 10:59:11 PM
 #3361

I'm baffled.

If you ignore the TR with affinity 1 it makes sense. I don't understand that one. Maybe the TR
has some kind of override that won't let you set stupid affinity. Wink

The CI only accepts decimal or hex at this time. I don't think it's worth the effort to support it
as converting from binary to hex is trivial.

Regarding the technicalities of the CCX and modular cache, it has nothing to do with the logical
CPU mapping. AMD could just have easily mapped them so that cores 0 to n/2-1 would all be on different
physical cores and n/2 to n-1 would be SMT (hyperthreaded). That's how it works on my Haswell.

You seem to confirm that AMD has messed things up, not only compared to Intel but within their own
products.

The need to use alternating cores with Ryzen seems consistent, TR should be the same. I don't know
if it carries to their older CPUs, or their servers.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
1556132515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556132515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556132515
Reply with quote  #2

1556132515
Report to moderator
1556132515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556132515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556132515
Reply with quote  #2

1556132515
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 05, 2018, 11:50:32 PM
 #3362

I'm baffled.

If you ignore the TR with affinity 1 it makes sense. I don't understand that one. Maybe the TR
has some kind of override that won't let you set stupid affinity. Wink

The CI only accepts decimal or hex at this time. I don't think it's worth the effort to support it
as converting from binary to hex is trivial.

Regarding the technicalities of the CCX and modular cache, it has nothing to do with the logical
CPU mapping. AMD could just have easily mapped them so that cores 0 to n/2-1 would all be on different
physical cores and n/2 to n-1 would be SMT (hyperthreaded). That's how it works on my Haswell.

You seem to confirm that AMD has messed things up, not only compared to Intel but within their own
products.

The need to use alternating cores with Ryzen seems consistent, TR should be the same. I don't know
if it carries to their older CPUs, or their servers.

"More research is needed." (c)

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 03:21:35 AM
 #3363

cpuminer-opt-3.8.0.1 fixes X16R AVX2 low hashrate.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.0.1

There were actually 2 bugs. The first one prevented any shares from being submitted from
lanes 1 to 3 which hid the second bug that caused only rejects from those lanes. As a result
only the valid shares were submitted and the only symptom was the low hashrate reported
by the pool. A strange coincidence.

Thanks to 4ward for noticing and reporting the problem.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
stevascha
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:33:06 AM
 #3364

cpuminer-opt-3.8.0.1 fixes X16R AVX2 low hashrate.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.0.1

There were actually 2 bugs. The first one prevented any shares from being submitted from
lanes 1 to 3 which hid the second bug that caused only rejects from those lanes. As a result
only the valid shares were submitted and the only symptom was the low hashrate reported
by the pool. A strange coincidence.

Thanks to 4ward for noticing and reporting the problem.

thanks!! currently i use v3.8.0 and doing fine
ryzen 7 1700x yescryptR16 1300khs with cpu affinity 5555

YENTEN - YescryptR16 - NO PREMINE - ASIC RESISTANT - WALLET MINING - COMMUNITY MANAGED - ADULT MALES
Yenten is a Japanese cryptocurrency of the cpu, by the cpu, for the cpu.
No ASIC. ASIC is for girls and kids. Join us!
nizzuu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100

Cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:40:17 AM
 #3365

hi,
possible to use in solo mining for ZOI?

Yes, getwork in cpuminer-opt does work for lyra2z330

Hi. I have only ~650H/s with my 4690k (lyra2z330), what's wrong?

Hi. Make shure you do not use -t 4 setting for your CPU. Use avx2 build with "-t 2 -cpu-affinity 3" to get the maximum hashrate.

4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 17


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:46:20 AM
 #3366

cpuminer-opt-3.8.0.1 fixes X16R AVX2 low hashrate.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.0.1

There were actually 2 bugs. The first one prevented any shares from being submitted from
lanes 1 to 3 which hid the second bug that caused only rejects from those lanes. As a result
only the valid shares were submitted and the only symptom was the low hashrate reported
by the pool. A strange coincidence.

Thanks to 4ward for noticing and reporting the problem.

Significant improvement on pools side now
Thank you for the swift fix )

nizzuu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100

Cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:50:01 AM
Last edit: February 06, 2018, 09:01:07 AM by nizzuu
 #3367

v3.8.0.1, -a x16r, sse2 build at rvn.suprnova.cc - rejects only Undecided Pool reports about low difficulty shares.

No issues with avx2 and aes-sse42 builds.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 04:42:14 PM
 #3368

v3.8.0.1, -a x16r, sse2 build at rvn.suprnova.cc - rejects only Undecided Pool reports about low difficulty shares.

No issues with avx2 and aes-sse42 builds.

Too bad you didn't find it yesterday. It'll be fixed in 3.8.1.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
ol92
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 432
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:05:47 PM
 #3369

I'm baffled.

If you ignore the TR with affinity 1 it makes sense. I don't understand that one. Maybe the TR
has some kind of override that won't let you set stupid affinity. Wink

The CI only accepts decimal or hex at this time. I don't think it's worth the effort to support it
as converting from binary to hex is trivial.

Regarding the technicalities of the CCX and modular cache, it has nothing to do with the logical
CPU mapping. AMD could just have easily mapped them so that cores 0 to n/2-1 would all be on different
physical cores and n/2 to n-1 would be SMT (hyperthreaded). That's how it works on my Haswell.

You seem to confirm that AMD has messed things up, not only compared to Intel but within their own
products.

The need to use alternating cores with Ryzen seems consistent, TR should be the same. I don't know
if it carries to their older CPUs, or their servers.

For linux, physical cores and logical ones are divided as you said, but on windows numbers pairs are for physical cores and impairs for logical even for intel.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 06, 2018, 08:36:43 PM
 #3370

For linux, physical cores and logical ones are divided as you said, but on windows numbers pairs are for physical cores and impairs for logical even for intel.

It appears you are right. I just did a test with cryptonight on Windows. The total hash rate was the same but the per-thread
hash rates had 2 high and 2 low with default affinity, all 4 threads showed the same rate with affinity 0x55.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 07, 2018, 09:57:55 PM
 #3371

cpuminer-opt-3.8.1

Fixes x16r on CPUs with only SSE2.
More Optimizations for X algos, qubit & deep.
Corrected algo optimizations for scrypt and yescrypt, no new optimizations.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.8.1

I have reviewed the scrypt algos for potential optimizations and updated the
specs to show the actual optimizations currently available in the algo.
No new optimizations were added, performance has changed.

Scrypt was taken from pooler and is highly optimized with AVX2.
No further optimizations seem possible at this time.

Yescrypt uses SSE4.1 (128 bit vectors) and also SHA which is also 128 bit. This suffers
the same problem as AES algos because the HW acceleration of SHA is limited to 128 bits.

Neoscrypt may have some potential. It currently uses some SSE2 but may have the potential
for full paralization. It will be lot of work and has some instances of data dependent memory accesses
which could kill performance. No results are expected any time soon.

Scrypt-Jane seems dead, Nicehash has zero activity, can't find it on any of the major pools. No plans.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
wurzelsepp1982
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2018, 09:23:34 AM
 #3372

Hi all,

what is the best config for "Xeon E5 5465v4" and "Xeon E5 2620v2"
Trying to mine verium, but hasrate is really slow (80H/s)

at the moment im running with:
virtual memory is 32000Gb and Large Page is enabled

Xeon E5 5465v4 --> -t 20  = 50H/s
Xeon E5 2620v2 --> -t 10  = 24H/s

Best regards
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 06:00:39 AM
 #3373

With 3.8.1, trying to mine xevan it would start, but then exits without any errors.

I tried on different pools, and same behavior.

Code:
F:\Miners\CPU>cpuminer-avx2-sha.exe -a xevan -o stratum+tcp://xevan.mine.zpool.ca:3739 -u 1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu -p c=BTC

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.8.1  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X 16-Core Processor .
SW built on Feb  7 2018 with GCC 5.3.1.
CPU features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
SW features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
Algo features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2.
Start mining with AES AVX2.

[2018-02-08 23:50:41] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://xevan.mine.zpool.ca:3739
[2018-02-08 23:50:41] 32 miner threads started, using 'xevan' algorithm.
[2018-02-08 23:50:41] Stratum difficulty set to 0.062
[2018-02-08 23:50:47] xevan block 223318, diff 39.822

F:\Miners\CPU>

This is also happening for bitcore.  I don't know what other algos this could be happening to since I didn't test it all.

I do know that yescrypt, m7m, cryptonight, and lyra2z is working fine though.

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 17


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 06:54:43 AM
 #3374

With 3.8.1, trying to mine xevan it would start, but then exits without any errors.

I tried on different pools, and same behavior.

Code:
F:\Miners\CPU>cpuminer-avx2-sha.exe -a xevan -o stratum+tcp://xevan.mine.zpool.ca:3739 -u 1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu -p c=BTC

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.8.1  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X 16-Core Processor .
SW built on Feb  7 2018 with GCC 5.3.1.
CPU features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
SW features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
Algo features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2.
Start mining with AES AVX2.

[2018-02-08 23:50:41] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://xevan.mine.zpool.ca:3739
[2018-02-08 23:50:41] 32 miner threads started, using 'xevan' algorithm.
[2018-02-08 23:50:41] Stratum difficulty set to 0.062
[2018-02-08 23:50:47] xevan block 223318, diff 39.822

F:\Miners\CPU>

This is also happening for bitcore.  I don't know what other algos this could be happening to since I didn't test it all.

I do know that yescrypt, m7m, cryptonight, and lyra2z is working fine though.

3.8.1 crashes also on x16r and x17. didnt test others yet

somaton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 07:19:49 AM
 #3375

Same problems here. Using Awesome Miner with 3.8.0.1 and no problems. Updated to 3.8.1 and run benchmarks with Awesome Miner -> 10 benchmarks crashed (c11, neoscrypt, timetravel, all X, xevan). So, 5 min of testing was enought to see that this version is not working Smiley Back to 3.8.0.1.
phuocduong
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 08:33:21 AM
 #3376

useful for mining RVN algo x16r, thanks dev
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 02:24:54 PM
 #3377

And not a single one of you mentioned which operating system you are using. How 'bout it?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 17


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 02:35:09 PM
 #3378

And not a single one of you mentioned which operating system you are using. How 'bout it?

Windows 10 Smiley

ps. judging from "F:\Miners\CPU>", guytechie also uses windows

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 02:47:53 PM
Last edit: February 09, 2018, 04:34:33 PM by joblo
 #3379

And not a single one of you mentioned which operating system you are using. How 'bout it?

Windows 10 Smiley

ps. judging from "F:\Miners\CPU>", guytechie also uses windows

Thank you. That's important because I tested on Linux and it worked there. I now have a lead to the problem.
I suspect a data alignment problem as it has happened before with Windows and not Linux. I now know where
to look.

Edit: I've reproduced it but it's going to be a PITA to debug. I see no obvious alignment issues in the code so I have
to localize it by trial and error. It's cross compiled on a different machine on a different floor and I can't use gdb.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
somaton
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 2


View Profile
February 09, 2018, 05:47:11 PM
 #3380

i'm using win 8.1 64-bit, but i think it does not matter that much which version of windows. Thanks.
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!