Bitcoin Forum
March 22, 2019, 09:35:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 [158] 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419087 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 05:43:39 PM
 #3141

Btw, I've found an issue while testing...

i3-7350k @ 4.2 GHz, HT on, 8Gb RAM @ DDR4-2400 dual channels, WIN 10

The test below produces no output!

cpuminer-aes-avx -a lyra2z330 -t 4 --cpu-affinity 15

I got 100% load for all of 4 logical cpus, then it drops to 0% after 2 minutes, and stays there. Miner does not log any hashrate, and dooes not crash either. It reproduces stable - 10 out of 10 tests.

AVX2 build works okay with same settings.

Benchmark or pool?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nizzuu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100

Cryptocurrency enthusiast


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 03:25:03 PM
Last edit: December 29, 2017, 03:38:49 PM by nizzuu
 #3142

Btw, I've found an issue while testing...

i3-7350k @ 4.2 GHz, HT on, 8Gb RAM @ DDR4-2400 dual channels, WIN 10

The test below produces no output!

cpuminer-aes-avx -a lyra2z330 -t 4 --cpu-affinity 15

I got 100% load for all of 4 logical cpus, then it drops to 0% after 2 minutes, and stays there. Miner does not log any hashrate, and dooes not crash either. It reproduces stable - 10 out of 10 tests.

AVX2 build works okay with same settings.

Benchmark or pool?

Benchmark and getwork.

So I tested cryptonight with the latest 3.7.7 on my Ryzen 1800X and the speed is about 60 Kh/s per thread, this is with Hyper-threading disabled and using 7 threads (7 cores).
This was with cpuminer-aes-avx (so AES and AVX). Quite a bit lower than the 80-81 Kh/s per thread I get with xmr-stak. Is this normal speed these days or should I be getting higher with cpuminer?

Well, this speed is the same speed you get with stack or xmrig if you disable huge pages support for them (while getting higher hashrate if you do not). As cpminer-opt has a lack of huge pages support, that's what you get. So it's normal.

Another thing that could help cpuminer-opt is compiling NOT with gcc. Xmrig and stack both work faster when they are compiled with Intel compiler or MSVC (up to 5-10% faster depending on CPU and mem). Cpuminer-opt may benefit more, as it has multiple algos which are bound of different things (not only L3 cache).

I personally use xmrig compiled with trial Intel compiler from Parallel Studio XE 2018. It has Linux version as well, and as I personally gave up trying to compile cpuminer-opt as MSVC solution (using msvc 2017 compiler), somebody may give a try using Intel compiler under linux. So to compile same way as joblo does, but using Intel compiler. Of course I cannot make someone to do it, but I'm noob in linux building. But I'll try on these holidays Wink
seb5049
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 06:00:07 PM
 #3143

Can someone ELI5 me on how to set up multi-algo switch mining with MiningPoolHub? I can't figure it out for the life of me what to put in the bat file (or what exe to use). I'm using a Ryzen 5 1500X.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:12:10 PM
 #3144

Benchmark and getwork.

Both are provided as is. Getwork seems to work with most algos but is not guaranteed. I don't even know
if the coin supports it. If you can find a miner that works I'll look into fixing it in cpuminer-opt.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 09:36:48 PM
 #3145

It's my turm to ask fr help. I'm fine tuning the new Windows crposs compile environment
and I'd like to remove one ugly workaround, editting configure.ac.

This code should properly link pthreadGC2 when cross compiling:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthread",[])
fi

but the procedure requires the following edit:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
fi

suggesting the logic isn't working.

Any suggestions to make the logic work?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 444
Merit: 17


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 07:32:19 AM
 #3146

It's my turm to ask fr help. I'm fine tuning the new Windows crposs compile environment
and I'd like to remove one ugly workaround, editting configure.ac.

This code should properly link pthreadGC2 when cross compiling:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthread",[])
fi

but the procedure requires the following edit:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
fi

suggesting the logic isn't working.

Any suggestions to make the logic work?

perhaps moving it to the case clause starting on line 45?

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 30, 2017, 01:24:31 PM
 #3147

It's my turm to ask fr help. I'm fine tuning the new Windows crposs compile environment
and I'd like to remove one ugly workaround, editting configure.ac.

This code should properly link pthreadGC2 when cross compiling:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthread",[])
fi

but the procedure requires the following edit:

Code:
# GC2 for GNU static
if test "x$OS" = "xWindows_NT" ; then
   # MinGW
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
else
   AC_CHECK_LIB([pthread], [pthread_create], PTHREAD_LIBS="-lpthreadGC2",[])
fi

suggesting the logic isn't working.

Any suggestions to make the logic work?

perhaps moving it to the case clause starting on line 45?

That's kinda what I'm looking for but that tests $MINGW_TARGET and it returns Linux.
What I really want to test is the host as specified by "--host=x86_64-w64-mingw32"
but I can't figure out how.




cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 12:28:23 AM
 #3148

cpuminer-opt-3.7.8 add partial 4way optimizations to most X algos including c11, x11gost,
xevan, phi1612, hsr.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.8

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 05:00:39 AM
Last edit: December 31, 2017, 06:11:20 AM by guytechie
 #3149

cpuminer-opt-3.7.8 add partial 4way optimizations to most X algos including c11, x11gost,
xevan, phi1612, hsr.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.8

Awesome!  And I see official SHA support!  Should also add that to the "what's new". Smiley

I'm going to test avx-sha vs 4-way-sha on my Ryzen to see which is more quicker.  And just for kicks, will compare to just straight avx.

Thanks, and hope you have a happy new year!

Update:
Either it's reporting incorrectly, or there's other optimizations going on.

Mining yescrypt:

Code:

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.7.8  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X 16-Core Processor .
SW built on Dec 30 2017 with GCC 5.3.1.
CPU features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
SW features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 4WAY.
Algo features: SSE2 SHA.
Start mining with SSE2.

This is using avx-sha.exe - it doesn't list SHA in SW features.  However, there is definitely an improvement in performance, though not really with yescrypt.  Went from the previous avx-only EXE of 15.22 kH/s to now 15.32 kH/s, but within margin of error.

However, xevan went from a 409.3 kH/s to 453.6 kK/s!!!

What's interesting is that it lists 4WAY as a feature, which I thought wasn't a part of the avx-sha.exe build.

Just to see if the avx-sha.exe build was any different than just avx only, I tried the closes avx-only build. With aes-avx.exe, I get about 14.9 kH/s for yescrypt and 413.8 kH/s for xevan.

So definitely an improvement, but not on the algo I expected.

Update 2:
Also noticed some mismatched builds from Readme.txt.

Actual builds:
Code:
cpuminer-4way-sha.exe
cpuminer-4way.exe
cpuminer-aes-avx.exe
cpuminer-aes-avx2.exe
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe
cpuminer-avx-sha.exe
cpuminer-sse2.exe
cpuminer-sse42.exe

From readme.txt"
Code:
Exe name                Compile flags              Arch name

cpuminer-sse2.exe      "-march=core2"              Core2  
cpuminer-sse42.exe     "-march=corei7"             Nehalem
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe "-maes -msse4.2"            Westmere
cpuminer-avx.exe       "-march=corei7-avx"         Sandybridge, Ivybridge
cpuminer-avx2.exe      "-march=core-avx2"          Haswell...
cpuminer-avx-sha       "-march=corei7-avx -msha"   Ryzen...
cpuminer-4way.exe      "-march=core-avx2 -DFOUR_WAY"       same as avx2
cpuminer-4way-sha.exe  "-march=core-avx2 -msha -DFOUR_WAY" same as avx2-sha

Perhaps the names just needs to be matched up.

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 07:22:50 AM
 #3150

cpuminer-opt-3.7.8 add partial 4way optimizations to most X algos including c11, x11gost,
xevan, phi1612, hsr.

https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt/releases/tag/v3.7.8

Awesome!  And I see official SHA support!  Should also add that to the "what's new". Smiley

I'm going to test avx-sha vs 4-way-sha on my Ryzen to see which is more quicker.  And just for kicks, will compare to just straight avx.

Thanks, and hope you have a happy new year!

Update:
Either it's reporting incorrectly, or there's other optimizations going on.

Mining yescrypt:

Code:

         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.7.8  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX2 and SHA extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT

CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X 16-Core Processor .
SW built on Dec 30 2017 with GCC 5.3.1.
CPU features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 SHA.
SW features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 4WAY.
Algo features: SSE2 SHA.
Start mining with SSE2.

This is using avx-sha.exe - it doesn't list SHA in SW features.  However, there is definitely an improvement in performance, though not really with yescrypt.  Went from the previous avx-only EXE of 15.22 kH/s to now 15.32 kH/s, but within margin of error.

However, xevan went from a 409.3 kH/s to 453.6 kK/s!!!

What's interesting is that it lists 4WAY as a feature, which I thought wasn't a part of the avx-sha.exe build.

Just to see if the avx-sha.exe build was any different than just avx only, I tried the closes avx-only build. With aes-avx.exe, I get about 14.9 kH/s for yescrypt and 413.8 kH/s for xevan.

So definitely an improvement, but not on the algo I expected.

Update 2:
Also noticed some mismatched builds from Readme.txt.

Actual builds:
Code:
cpuminer-4way-sha.exe
cpuminer-4way.exe
cpuminer-aes-avx.exe
cpuminer-aes-avx2.exe
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe
cpuminer-avx-sha.exe
cpuminer-sse2.exe
cpuminer-sse42.exe

From readme.txt"
Code:
Exe name                Compile flags              Arch name

cpuminer-sse2.exe      "-march=core2"              Core2  
cpuminer-sse42.exe     "-march=corei7"             Nehalem
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe "-maes -msse4.2"            Westmere
cpuminer-avx.exe       "-march=corei7-avx"         Sandybridge, Ivybridge
cpuminer-avx2.exe      "-march=core-avx2"          Haswell...
cpuminer-avx-sha       "-march=corei7-avx -msha"   Ryzen...
cpuminer-4way.exe      "-march=core-avx2 -DFOUR_WAY"       same as avx2
cpuminer-4way-sha.exe  "-march=core-avx2 -msha -DFOUR_WAY" same as avx2-sha

Perhaps the names just needs to be matched up.


That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 08:50:57 AM
 #3151

That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

The output I posted for yescrypt is from the avx-sha executable, not the avx2 executable.  That's why I'm confused as well.

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 04:42:07 PM
 #3152

That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

The output I posted for yescrypt is from the avx-sha executable, not the avx2 executable.  That's why I'm confused as well.

That's really weird, I'm getting the same thing. I also getting lower hashrate with the 4way build. They were all built using
the winbuild-cross.sh script that clearly shows the compile options and asociated file names.

It looks like trial and error until I sort this out.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 05:22:15 PM
 #3153

That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

The output I posted for yescrypt is from the avx-sha executable, not the avx2 executable.  That's why I'm confused as well.

That's really weird, I'm getting the same thing. I also getting lower hashrate with the 4way build. They were all built using
the winbuild-cross.sh script that clearly shows the compile options and asociated file names.

It looks like trial and error until I sort this out.

More data points, now that m7m is back on ahashpool:

cpuminer-4way-sha.exe getting around 590 kH/s
cpuminer-avx-sha.exe getting around 565 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx.exe getting around 575 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx2.exe getting around 567 kH/s
cpuminer-4way.exe getting around 543 kH/s
cpuminer-sse2.exe getting around 550 kH/s
cpuminer-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s



Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
December 31, 2017, 08:10:39 PM
 #3154

That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

The output I posted for yescrypt is from the avx-sha executable, not the avx2 executable.  That's why I'm confused as well.

That's really weird, I'm getting the same thing. I also getting lower hashrate with the 4way build. They were all built using
the winbuild-cross.sh script that clearly shows the compile options and asociated file names.

It looks like trial and error until I sort this out.

More data points, now that m7m is back on ahashpool:

cpuminer-4way-sha.exe getting around 590 kH/s
cpuminer-avx-sha.exe getting around 565 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx.exe getting around 575 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx2.exe getting around 567 kH/s
cpuminer-4way.exe getting around 543 kH/s
cpuminer-sse2.exe getting around 550 kH/s
cpuminer-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s

I found the problem. The avx-sha build is just a copy of the avx2 build. There was a "make clean" missing
in the script so it didn't recompile for avx-sha and just reused the previous build. Your test results make more sense now.

I'm rebuilding now and will upload a windows v2 build.

Thanks for finding this.

Regarding the planned name changes, I'm waiting because I intend to remove 4way as a seperate build if
it's stable. The AVX2 builds will automatically have 4way enabled which will help reduce the number of
targets I have to build. I'll finalize the naming afterward.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
guytechie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 01, 2018, 04:00:28 AM
 #3155

That's very confusing. The output you posted for yescrypt is from the 4way build (avx2 but no sha). There is no
4way in the avx-sha build. I double checked the names just to make sure. They don't match those in README.txt
but that's only the the inclusion of aes in the name. The important features are correct.

The output I posted for yescrypt is from the avx-sha executable, not the avx2 executable.  That's why I'm confused as well.

That's really weird, I'm getting the same thing. I also getting lower hashrate with the 4way build. They were all built using
the winbuild-cross.sh script that clearly shows the compile options and asociated file names.

It looks like trial and error until I sort this out.

More data points, now that m7m is back on ahashpool:

cpuminer-4way-sha.exe getting around 590 kH/s
cpuminer-avx-sha.exe getting around 565 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx.exe getting around 575 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-avx2.exe getting around 567 kH/s
cpuminer-4way.exe getting around 543 kH/s
cpuminer-sse2.exe getting around 550 kH/s
cpuminer-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s
cpuminer-aes-sse42.exe getting around 540 kH/s

I found the problem. The avx-sha build is just a copy of the avx2 build. There was a "make clean" missing
in the script so it didn't recompile for avx-sha and just reused the previous build. Your test results make more sense now.

I'm rebuilding now and will upload a windows v2 build.

Thanks for finding this.

Regarding the planned name changes, I'm waiting because I intend to remove 4way as a seperate build if
it's stable. The AVX2 builds will automatically have 4way enabled which will help reduce the number of
targets I have to build. I'll finalize the naming afterward.

Thanks, mate.  Have a happy new year.

Put something in my tip jar if I made your day. Smiley
BTC:
1MkmBHDjonAFXui6JEx9ZmEemfMtUo9Cmu
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 444
Merit: 17


View Profile
January 04, 2018, 01:43:38 PM
 #3156

looks like there is a regression in 3.7.8:
4way lyra2z started throwing low difficulty shares error

aes-avx2 works fine, and 3.7.7 4way worked fine


Code:
[2018-01-04 15:17:07] 4 miner threads started, using 'lyra2z' algorithm.
[2018-01-04 15:17:07] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://europe.lyra2z-hub.miningpoolhub.com:17025
[2018-01-04 15:17:08] Stratum difficulty set to 5
found 2
[2018-01-04 15:33:44] 4 WAY hash nonces submitted: 1
[2018-01-04 15:33:44] Rejected 1/1 (100.0%), 17.73 MH, 370.84 kH/s
[2018-01-04 15:33:44] reject reason: low difficulty share of 6.130744886502982e-8
[2018-01-04 15:33:44] factor reduced to : 0.67

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 04, 2018, 03:18:33 PM
 #3157

looks like there is a regression in 3.7.8:
4way lyra2z started throwing low difficulty shares error

Lyra2z 4way is a mess, that's why the warning is displayed on startup.

First it is not expected to be fast, only a small portion of the algo (blake256) can be paralleled.
The overhead of converting from 4way for blake256 to serial for lyra2 may be greater than the
gain of blake256 4way. I'm using lyra2z as a test bed for blake256. 4way for the lyra2 code is not
being seriously considered because it's already using AVX2.

Blake256 has problems. Only 2 of the 4 lanes produce valid hash, the other 2 always invalid.
In effect it is only working as 2way, when it works at all.

I made a change in 3.7.8 but was unable to test it at the time. It seems it made things worse.
I'm still working on it but there is no guarantee it will be fixed soon.

Thanks for testing.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
l33tcryptoboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 04, 2018, 04:41:41 PM
 #3158

Hi there !

It's my first message as registered user, but I follow this project for months now Smiley.

I tried to (cross-)compile this project for windows 7 32bits version with no success.

I am a vet' sysadmin but not a good programmer at all :p. I installed some VMs with Linux ubuntu LTS 16.04.3 and mingw32 : no success.
I tried to install "native" mingw32 environment on my win7 64 with no success ...
I installed everything needed, I get a good curl install, I get a good openssl install, everything seems right but I get strange messages (yet perfectly understandable but I don't know what to do with mingw32 and msys from there) :

Code:
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I/home/XXXX/usr/lib/curl/include -I/home/XXXX/usr/lib/openssl/include (...)
cpu-miner.c:40:25: fatal error : openssl/sha.h : No such file or directory
 #include <openssl/sha.h>
                          ^

So, clearly, my directory for include sucks. But what am I doing wrong ? Curl and Openssl are installed and working. I did correctly set up the PATH environment variables in windows (adding every possible /bin from mingw32 and msys). I don't have any /usr/lib directory. The sha.h is in ./include/openssl/sha.h (means c:\mingw\include\openssl\) while curl is in ./include/curl/curl.h.

Where do I specify the good directory ? I tried to mess with the configure and configure.ac file with no success.

Thank you very much for your work and your passion Smiley !

(obviously, if someone could make 32bit march=core2 version out of these sources, it would be awesome Cheesy ).

Regards,
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
January 04, 2018, 05:09:34 PM
 #3159

Hi there !

It's my first message as registered user, but I follow this project for months now Smiley.

I tried to (cross-)compile this project for windows 7 32bits version with no success.


I guess you missed the requirements section in the OP which states a 64 bit CPU & OS are required.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
l33tcryptoboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 04, 2018, 06:42:20 PM
 #3160

I guess you missed the requirements section in the OP which states a 64 bit CPU & OS are required.

Quote
Requirements:

1. A x86_64 architecture CPU with a minimum of SSE2 support. This includes Intel
Core2 and newer and AMD equivalents. In order to take advantage of AES_NI
optimizations a CPU with AES_NI is required. This includes Intel Westbridge
and newer and AMD equivalents. Further optimizations are available on some algos
for CPUs with AVX and AVX2, Sandybridge and Haswell respectively.

Older CPUs are supported by cpuminer-multi by TPruvot but at reduced performance.

2. 64 bit Linux OS. Ubuntu and Fedora based distributions, including Mint and Centos are known
to work and have all dependencies in their repositories. Others may work but may require
more effort.

64 bit Windows OS is supported using the pre-compiled binaries package or may be compiled
with mingw_w64 and msys.

Where does it say that we can't produce 32bit executable for 64bits cpu's ?
I got core2 cpu's with windows 7 32 bits installed.

It does not explain why it does not want to compile despite giving the good directories (imho) to include, though Smiley .

I did not even tried yet to compile 32bit executables but just wanted to succeed to compile windows executable through mingw32 with the windows-cross.sh provided.

Regards,
Pages: « 1 ... 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 [158] 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!