Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2017, 05:16:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Announcement] Block Erupter USB  (Read 245569 times)
ThickAsThieves
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 09:57:01 PM
 #601

Luke, I don't like you, but thanks for helping.
LOL, geez...

BTW, reinvested all my ASICMINER-PT dividends into TAT.ASICMINER Wink

(hugs)
1503422178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503422178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503422178
Reply with quote  #2

1503422178
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503422178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503422178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503422178
Reply with quote  #2

1503422178
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:05:09 PM
 #602


which doesn't crash on my 64 bit win7. heh.

ok, i've got mining working now. luke-jr helped me out on IRC.

luke-jr:1  kano:0

Now that it's mining away I guess you can get to work stuffing those package, yes?  Or go you need to see how many will mine on your USB stick Smiley



they're pre-packed (as you see in my pics) in boxes of ten, so it'll be a lot easier then i thought. yea, i'll get started.
Sorry, was busy getting my kids ready for school Smiley

I'd guess the COM numbers didn't match your devices?
You can also use just -S COM1 etc for numbers less than 10
You'll need to look in the device manager for the correct numbers
Yeah the old serial-USB design was rather annoying
(lack of proper working auto on linux or at all on windows and no hotplug)
I'm glad to be rid of it.

Anyway, no big deal, as I said the next version of cgminer will auto detect everything and hotplug (hotplug all but ztex ... and GPUs Cheesy)
It also tells you what the devices all are ... the full list: AMU, GPU, ICA, BLT, LLT, AVA, CMR, BAJ, BAL, BAS, BAM, BFL, MMQ, ZTX
AMU is of course Asicminer USB (BEU sounds weird Tongue)
Just gotta sort out some hotplug issues on windows that I've been working on.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:06:18 PM
 #603

i'll give it a try when the new codes out. thanks all.
HTML5 Gordon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:46:46 PM
 #604

ok, i've got mining working now. luke-jr helped me out on IRC.

Awesome, congrats!  What hash rates are you seeing?
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:49:29 PM
 #605

right in line with what kano saw. bout 330 each.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 10:52:09 PM
 #606

Here's the build arklan ended up using: Win64 | Win32

Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:04:51 PM
 #607

For my BFL FPGA I had to find which COM port my unit was using,in my case #3.Go to device manger & look in USB devices,click that device to find COM port #.

Since I installed libwidi driver & 3.1.0 cgminer,the COM port dosen't seem to show now & no longer have to use -S  Cool

Hope that helps  Wink

i'm using 3.1.1, i think... what's this libwidi driver? can use on win7?
It's a non-standard driver. You'll break compatibility with all standard software if you install it.
I hear undoing it is a pain.

Really?? Not sure what you mean,software ??

Yeah,Win7 64 bit.

Oh well,my BFL FPGA seems to work with it,I'll find out if my BFL ASIC works with......someday  Roll Eyes

Probably will find out sooner when my Avalon chips arrive & I assemble boards  Cheesy

I can always do an OS reinstall in about an hour or 2,so no problem for me  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:11:29 PM
 #608

For my BFL FPGA I had to find which COM port my unit was using,in my case #3.Go to device manger & look in USB devices,click that device to find COM port #.

 Strange :| My BFL FPGA is instantly recognized when launching CGMiner under Windows Sad YMMV I guess Sad

Yeah,I was using an older version of CGminer then.Had to manually find the port,it was easy though  Wink

The newer version,back about 2 months ago was said to need the weird driver,so................it works,all I care  Cheesy

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
tvbcof
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:12:06 PM
 #609

right in line with what kano saw. bout 330 each.

You running with or without the heatsink (for enough time for things to stabilize)?

What are the temps you are feeling (if you've touched part of the device)?


arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:19:42 PM
 #610

With heat sink. By themselves, touching the heat sink if burning hot. I put them near a fan,  and no problems. I do not have a temp sensor,  but only warm to the touch in the moving air.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:49:11 PM
 #611

Here's the build arklan ended up using: Win64 | Win32

good to see this! will be easy to pair up with my ModMiner rig


Arklan, if you get to try out your hub that will help a lot of people from guessing on that too

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 11:52:03 PM
 #612

Here's the build arklan ended up using: Win64 | Win32

good to see this! will be easy to pair up with my ModMiner rig


Arklan, if you get to try out your hub that will help a lot of people from guessing on that too

The 12 port sitechi handles 3... I haven't  gotten the anker yet. Should be here soon.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 12:05:21 AM
 #613

For my BFL FPGA I had to find which COM port my unit was using,in my case #3.Go to device manger & look in USB devices,click that device to find COM port #.

Since I installed libwidi driver & 3.1.0 cgminer,the COM port dosen't seem to show now & no longer have to use -S  Cool

Hope that helps  Wink

i'm using 3.1.1, i think... what's this libwidi driver? can use on win7?
It's a non-standard driver. You'll break compatibility with all standard software if you install it.
I hear undoing it is a pain.
The WinUSB driver is simply a replacement driver that allows USB access to the device instead of blocking it.

This works with the standard mining software called cgminer.

This doesn't work with the rarely used non-standard cgminer clone.

Undoing it is simple but unnecessary.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
NR3000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 06:50:33 AM
 #614

Any ideas how to run in mac? Thanks.

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:43:36 AM
 #615

Any ideas how to run in mac? Thanks.
BFGMiner can be compiled for Mac if you disable GPU mining, at least.
I think it's part of Homebrew now.

alibert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:50:35 AM
 #616

For Linux (Raspberry Pi, Sheevaplug, Guruplug and so on) I tested it here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195037.msg2253534#msg2253534

GreatBug
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 11:31:57 AM
 #617

Has BitMinter's Java client been tested yet?

While I mine using bfgminer, BitMinter's pretty graphics and 'click on the button to start mining on any OS' ease would be great as an intro to mining for first timers with a USB erupter.

alibert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 11:39:27 AM
 #618

Why would you ran a full blown computer with this? If your electricity bill doesn't matter, you better get a GPU and mine with it. IMHO these devices only make sense with embedded devices like Routers or Sheevaplug/Guruplug/Raspberry Pi/Beagleboard/whatever

alibert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 12:01:39 PM
 #619

Get a GPU then, my 7950 was 230€ and does 550 MH/s

bigbeninlondon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 12:47:37 PM
 #620

Get a GPU then, my 7950 was 230€ and does 550 MH/s

And once you fill up all of your PCIe slots, add a couple of Erupters. Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!