Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2017, 12:02:39 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Announcement] Block Erupter USB  (Read 240969 times)
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 06:57:01 PM
 #641

You running it off 2.0 or 3.0 port?
The device negotiates as USB 1.1, plugged into my USB 2.0 hub.
Without an adapter, you cannot plug USB 1.1/2.0 devices into USB 3.0 ports.

Excuse me?Huh
Yeah, nevermind that... I was looking at some other kind of port the whole time.
My USB 3.0 ports are occupied by keyboard/mouse so I didn't see them >_<
Now I'm curious what these other ports are Shocked

Edit: Apparently my motherboard has 2 eSATA ports I wasn't aware of Cheesy

1495627359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495627359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495627359
Reply with quote  #2

1495627359
Report to moderator
1495627359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495627359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495627359
Reply with quote  #2

1495627359
Report to moderator
1495627359
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495627359

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495627359
Reply with quote  #2

1495627359
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HTML5 Gordon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 06:57:29 PM
 #642

Without an adapter, you cannot plug USB 1.1/2.0 devices into USB 3.0 ports.

LOLWUT ?!

Looks like I've been doing this wrong all this time!  I better go an disconnect all my USB 2.0 devices that are plugged into USB 3.0 ports!   Shocked

Edit:  just saw Luke's post while I was responding.  No harm, no foul.  Wink
SilentSonicBoom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 07:03:23 PM
 #643

Are these dimensions of the sample USB emerald version or the final sapphire version? Thank you.

Can you measure the thickness of the board+sink?

Also, how wide is the board?
________________MeasurementTonalImperialSI
Thickness: 9 Mˢ0.23in6mm
Width: 29 Mˢ1in25mm
Length: 68 Mˢ2.4in60mm
Length protruding from USB port: 5 Mˢ2.1in53mm
Length of PCB: 4 Mˢ1.8in45mm

You running it off 2.0 or 3.0 port?
The device negotiates as USB 1.1, plugged into my USB 2.0 hub.


Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 07:06:09 PM
 #644

________________MeasurementTonalImperialSI
Thickness: 9 Mˢ0.23in6mm
Width: 29 Mˢ1in25mm
Length: 68 Mˢ2.4in60mm
Length protruding from USB port: 5 Mˢ2.1in53mm
Length of PCB: 4 Mˢ1.8in45mm
Are these dimensions of the sample USB emerald version or the final sapphire version? Thank you.
Emerald. My Sapphire isn't here yet.

af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 07:09:07 PM
 #645

Can you measure the thickness of the board+sink?

Also, how wide is the board?
________________MeasurementTonalImperialSI
Thickness: 9 Mˢ0.23in6mm
Width: 29 Mˢ1in25mm
Length: 68 Mˢ2.4in60mm
Length protruding from USB port: 5 Mˢ2.1in53mm
Length of PCB: 4 Mˢ1.8in45mm

You running it off 2.0 or 3.0 port?
The device negotiates as USB 1.1, plugged into my USB 2.0 hub.


Thanks Luke.  1/4" that is slim!!!
They should fit into power bar hubs and leave some gap for air flow, right?

Can you measure the current draw?  It is ok to put one in the 2.0 hub, but 10 might be too much for most 2.0 hubs as they usually don't deliver more than 20W (4A@5V) from their power supplies.

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 07:35:58 PM
 #646

1/4" that is slim!!!
They should fit into power bar hubs and leave some gap for air flow, right?
I'm not sure how much thickness the heatsink adds, however.

Can you measure the current draw?  It is ok to put one in the 2.0 hub, but 10 might be too much for most 2.0 hubs as they usually don't deliver more than 20W (4A@5V) from their power supplies.
It reports 100mA to the USB interface, but I'm sure it's really closer to the 560mA friedcat announced.
I don't have any easy way to measure actual current use.

af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 07:37:46 PM
 #647

1/4" that is slim!!!
They should fit into power bar hubs and leave some gap for air flow, right?
I'm not sure how much thickness the heatsink adds, however.

Can you measure the current draw?  It is ok to put one in the 2.0 hub, but 10 might be too much for most 2.0 hubs as they usually don't deliver more than 20W (4A@5V) from their power supplies.
It reports 100mA to the USB interface, but I'm sure it's really closer to the 560mA friedcat announced.
I don't have any easy way to measure actual current use.

Thanks Luke.
wizkid057
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1198


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 08:12:26 PM
 #648

I don't have any easy way to measure actual current use.

Grab a cheap USB extension cable (male and female ends), and a cheap multi-meter with mA measuring capability.  Slice the sheath of the extension cable somewhere in the middle, but don't break any wires.  Get the wires nice and separate, then cut the red wire.  Strip both new ends, and put one to each lead of your multi-meter in mA mode. (You can safely hold the exposed wires... its only 5V  Wink )

Fire it all up, and look at the reading. Smiley

-wk

Tips: 1LDQrLr6dPVqNJmpZm82eZVKqDFRk7ERW8
Operator of the Eligius Mining Pool - 0% Fee, SAPPLNS, GBT, Stratum, IRC+Phone Support, Share Market (coming soon), Generation payouts, and more.
Don't feed the trolls. Science Confirms: Internet Trolls Really Are Narcissistic, Psychopathic, and Sadistic (1)
CumpsD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 08:16:00 PM
 #649

I don't have any easy way to measure actual current use.

Grab a cheap USB extension cable (male and female ends), and a cheap multi-meter with mA measuring capability.  Slice the sheath of the extension cable somewhere in the middle, but don't break any wires.  Get the wires nice and separate, then cut the red wire.  Strip both new ends, and put one to each lead of your multi-meter in mA mode. (You can safely hold the exposed wires... its only 5V  Wink )

Fire it all up, and look at the reading. Smiley

-wk

Don't break any wires is good advice, I wasted an USB cable :p
Rant2112
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 09:53:15 PM
 #650

For people like me who leave their mining host computer on all the time anyway it might be more useful to measure at the wall with a Kill A Watt - with the miner mining and the miner unplugged.

If you don't leave the host computer on all of the time then you would possibly want to measure the whole setup.

It depends on what you are trying to measure but I suspect one of the two methods in this post is probably what you are looking for.  Cool
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 11:20:17 PM
 #651

regarding the heatsink: it's flat, less then a 8th of an inch. i'vegot mine (sapphires) plugged in to an anker 10 port hub and there's plenty of space between them. http://www.amazon.com/Anker%C2%AE-Uspeed-10-Port-Adapter-Chipset/dp/B005NGQWL2
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 11:37:48 PM
 #652

For people like me who leave their mining host computer on all the time anyway it might be more useful to measure at the wall with a Kill A Watt - with the miner mining and the miner unplugged.

I'd suggest the current draw of the USB device is below the Kill-A-Watt meters accuracy level - you'd need to plug in a whole bunch of then (10 or 20) and then average it out - and even then you're measuring at 120v or 230v, so you need to account for power supply efficency, etc, as well.

The multimeter method will give you the exact current draw.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 11:55:30 PM
 #653

Question to Kano (or any other member that actually have Erupter(s)),

Can you measure the thickness of the board+sink?

Also, how wide is the board?  If you can, can you measure how much current it is pulling from the USB port?

You running it off 2.0 or 3.0 port?

Yeah I posted the dimensions back on the 19th in the original asicminer thread Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99497.msg2137231#msg2137231

And here on the 23rd:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195004.msg2241307#msg2241307

Quote
Edit: much later edit with a few updates:
Size: 24.5mm wide
Board alone is 45mm long
Board+USB plug is 59.5mm (of course the plug isn't removable)
Weight: 6g
Height; 6mm (the highest component)

Errors: between 1% and 1.5%
Hash rate: 336MH/s

But yes that's without a heat sink. emerald

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 11:58:59 PM
 #654

You make it sound like BFGMiner is some sort of original product?  Didn't you just fork his code and then now you are bashing the original devs?
BFGMiner is based on cgminer-the-GPU-miner which is based on cpuminer.
Present day cgminer is a fork of BFGMiner, created by trolls for trolling.

Yes as usual lying about it - and the usual proof he is lying using his own words:
https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/commit/b9df56511c7bd1a2e1f075e9c184c1a4b0f1ba20
2012-04-26 Fork as BFGMiner
Where he renamed all the words from cgminer to brickminer and changed the donation address by removing ckolivas who wrote most of the code and replacing it with himself.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:43:15 AM
 #655

Question to Kano (or any other member that actually have Erupter(s)),

Can you measure the thickness of the board+sink?

Also, how wide is the board?  If you can, can you measure how much current it is pulling from the USB port?

You running it off 2.0 or 3.0 port?

Yeah I posted the dimensions back on the 19th in the original asicminer thread Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99497.msg2137231#msg2137231

And here on the 23rd:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195004.msg2241307#msg2241307

Quote
Edit: much later edit with a few updates:
Size: 24.5mm wide
Board alone is 45mm long
Board+USB plug is 59.5mm (of course the plug isn't removable)
Weight: 6g
Height; 6mm (the highest component)

Errors: between 1% and 1.5%
Hash rate: 336MH/s

But yes that's without a heat sink. emerald

Thanks Kano.  

You wouldn't happen to have ammeter and spare usb extension cable to measure current to device while mining?
Just curious if I can use 2.0 USB hub (5V & 4A) to run 10 of these.  Looks like 8 is max.  

Specs say 500mA (or 560mA) but the real world measurement might be different.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 03:26:32 AM
 #656

...
Thanks Kano.  

You wouldn't happen to have ammeter and spare usb extension cable to measure current to device while mining?
Just curious if I can use 2.0 USB hub (5V & 4A) to run 10 of these.  Looks like 8 is max.  

Specs say 500mA (or 560mA) but the real world measurement might be different.

Sorry I don't have either.
I have a very old ammeter in a box somewhere that I wouldn't trust to be accurate.
As for USB cables, that would require a USB extension cable to slice up - which I don't have any spare of these either at the moment.

However, if I did, I'd expect the results would not be reliable for deciding about the sapphire hardware.
The emerald and sapphire are slightly different power usage as far as I understand.

I think there are people who have a few sapphire already, so hopefully one of them might see your question.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 04:27:49 AM
 #657

...
Thanks Kano.  

You wouldn't happen to have ammeter and spare usb extension cable to measure current to device while mining?
Just curious if I can use 2.0 USB hub (5V & 4A) to run 10 of these.  Looks like 8 is max.  

Specs say 500mA (or 560mA) but the real world measurement might be different.

Sorry I don't have either.
I have a very old ammeter in a box somewhere that I wouldn't trust to be accurate.
As for USB cables, that would require a USB extension cable to slice up - which I don't have any spare of these either at the moment.

However, if I did, I'd expect the results would not be reliable for deciding about the sapphire hardware.
The emerald and sapphire are slightly different power usage as far as I understand.

I think there are people who have a few sapphire already, so hopefully one of them might see your question.

i have some - but i too lack the ammeter.

i think a few of those i shipped out should arrive tomorrow though.
tvbcof
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 04:38:19 AM
 #658


i have some - but i too lack the ammeter.

i think a few of those i shipped out should arrive tomorrow though.

I have some long ago recollection that current (DC) can be deduced by introducing a resistor and measuring the voltage drop across it.

Maybe I'll try...or would if I were one of the lucky ones receiving my device tomorrow <sniffle>  (kidding.)


daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 04:50:40 AM
 #659

Yes, using Ohm's law, but if you're going to do that you might as well just put an ammeter in line.

Edit: Because, virtually every single multimeter built in the last however many years (30?) includes both a voltmeter and ammeter.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
GuiltySpark343
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:12:04 PM
 #660

Does the Block Erupter require a USB driver? I'm running Win7 x64. Where does one download the required driver for it? Thanks!

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
Ƀ:17wbDetEw2aESM5oWXbm5ih9NSdDruyWNT
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!