Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 08:51:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Announcement] Block Erupter USB  (Read 248228 times)
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:36:22 AM
 #681

http://www.amazon.co.uk/D-Link-DUB-H7-Port-USB-External/dp/product-description/B0002AFZVM/ref=dp_proddesc_0?ie=UTF8&n=340831031&s=computers

would 1 of these work, with another 7 identical hubs attached, then 7miners in each hub?

1508359862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359862
Reply with quote  #2

1508359862
Report to moderator
1508359862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359862
Reply with quote  #2

1508359862
Report to moderator
1508359862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359862
Reply with quote  #2

1508359862
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508359862
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359862

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359862
Reply with quote  #2

1508359862
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2240


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 02:14:35 PM
 #682

So, I'd be safe to run 5 on this hub right?  You guys think we need to blow a fan on 'em?

I saw at least one person over in Arklan's group buy who claims that hub will run 10 sticks. Arklan said he's running 9 sticks in one (he didn't try 10).
I have a fan moving some air over my sticks. I doubt that it's really necessary, but it makes me feel better so I do it anyway.
If you're getting 1% or more errors (on cgminer), with emerald that means temperature
(as you know emerald has no heat sink)
So yeah use that as a rough guide to decide if sapphire needs fans I guess
(unless someone with a sapphire has more specific info about it?)

Of course there's no way of dealing with that in the code other than to stop mining - there's no temperature information or anything to control (i.e. obviously no fan)
... hmm ... external usb fan control ... anyone got any good USB fans that you can control the power levels ... hmm I could see that possibly being useful but also possibly being a can of worms for coding ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 02:19:15 AM
 #683

What brand is the USB hub on the first page, and where can I get one?


dinogenes
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 07:05:32 AM
 #684

Anyone find a suitable USB hub that is powered and has enough spacing to allow for adequate cooling?

I found this one but the power supply only provides 2A @ 5V, meaning if each port pulls 500mA you'd only have enough power to run 4 USB Block Eruptors:
http://www.satechi.net/index.php/satechi-12-port-usb-hub-with-power-adapter-2-control-switches

Also saw this one, but could find no details as to its power supply specs:
http://www.rosewill.com/products/1604/ProductDetail_Overview.htm#/Mgnt/Uploads/ImagesForProduct/ImgPrd-1604-Cm[7d4d1f39bfc64a01b8705e5227fc75cf].jpg

Last this one, but the side ports don't seem useable. Also, no power supply specs either:
http://www.digitalinnovations.com/connect-charge-7-port-hub.html

I'm going to use an Anker 10 port hub.  4A @ 12V.  They make good quality stuff.

I got a 6000mah usb battery from "Anker" with a integrated flashlight, which died after 3-4 months of usage. (battery is fine, just the flashlight isn`t working anymore)
On these grounds i wouldn't stick my usb miners into a very cheap usb hub.

btc: 1MFCsfuPk1NYZj2uTCRd7F6T61ZWy1ZnVi
life is to short to dance with fat chicks
better update your kernel at home
joae1975
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:56:22 AM
 #685


I got a 6000mah usb battery from "Anker" with a integrated flashlight, which died after 3-4 months of usage. (battery is fine, just the flashlight isn`t working anymore)
On these grounds i wouldn't stick my usb miners into a very cheap usb hub.
You think the bulb just went out?  And these usb's are 2.0 right?  Not 3.0

1CTRG2ozX9ugneLeGjwDWDSNimpghTdLJm
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 09:15:33 AM
 #686

And these usb's are 2.0 right?  Not 3.0
Again, they're USB 1.1.

tvbcof
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2296


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:42:00 PM
 #687

And these usb's are 2.0 right?  Not 3.0
Again, they're USB 1.1.

Really?  Cool!  They might even run on the pile of Soekris net4801's I have kicking around.


HTML5 Gordon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:12:52 PM
 #688

Anyone find a suitable USB hub that is powered and has enough spacing to allow for adequate cooling?

I found this one but the power supply only provides 2A @ 5V, meaning if each port pulls 500mA you'd only have enough power to run 4 USB Block Eruptors:
http://www.satechi.net/index.php/satechi-12-port-usb-hub-with-power-adapter-2-control-switches

Also saw this one, but could find no details as to its power supply specs:
http://www.rosewill.com/products/1604/ProductDetail_Overview.htm#/Mgnt/Uploads/ImagesForProduct/ImgPrd-1604-Cm[7d4d1f39bfc64a01b8705e5227fc75cf].jpg

Last this one, but the side ports don't seem useable. Also, no power supply specs either:
http://www.digitalinnovations.com/connect-charge-7-port-hub.html

I'm going to use an Anker 10 port hub.  4A @ 12V.  They make good quality stuff.

I got a 6000mah usb battery from "Anker" with a integrated flashlight, which died after 3-4 months of usage. (battery is fine, just the flashlight isn`t working anymore)
On these grounds i wouldn't stick my usb miners into a very cheap usb hub.

Ah, okay, let me change that.  I've found they make good quality hubs.  I haven't had any issues with their hubs, and I haven't ever used any of their other products.
FiiNALiZE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 10:54:26 PM
 #689

Are you selling these to the public?


elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:28:46 AM
 #690

I am having trouble getting my units to run on cgminer for windows.... no usb device found. Works on bitminter though. Any help would be appreciated!
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:32:14 AM
 #691

I am having trouble getting my units to run on cgminer for windows.... no usb device found. Works on bitminter though. Any help would be appreciated!
cgminer doesn't work with standard drivers - if you really want it, you'll need to remove the normal driver and install a non-standard one.

BFGMiner works similarly to cgminer, but has better ASIC support (including working with standard drivers).

elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:33:46 AM
 #692

I downliaded bfminer also but after compiling the .bat nothing happens on start
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:34:47 AM
 #693

I am having trouble getting my units to run on cgminer for windows.... no usb device found. Works on bitminter though. Any help would be appreciated!
cgminer doesn't work with standard drivers - if you really want it, you'll need to remove the normal driver and install a non-standard one.

BFGMiner works similarly to cgminer, but has better ASIC support (including working with standard drivers).

where do I get a none standard driver?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:38:58 AM
 #694

I am having trouble getting my units to run on cgminer for windows.... no usb device found. Works on bitminter though. Any help would be appreciated!

See here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=220450.0

M

I'm X-Fueled.  Are you?  I mine BTC at Kano's Pool, the best BTC pool on the planet!
Tip for NiceHash: use their wallet to decrease fees!  Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:39:06 AM
 #695

I downliaded bfminer also but after compiling the .bat nothing happens on start
Did you put the -S all option?

elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:40:46 AM
 #696

 Huh scratches head.... say what?? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Huh Huh
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:42:03 AM
 #697

Quote
bfgminer -o http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u elasticband.noobie1   -p blank
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:50:03 AM
 #698

Quote
bfgminer -o http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u elasticband.noobie1   -p blank

Code:
bfgminer -o http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u elasticband.noobie1   -p blank -S all

elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:52:21 AM
 #699

it loads for a second with my details then closes
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 12:54:10 AM
 #700

-S all now keeps the cmd. window open but nothing shows
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!