Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 11:34:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Announcement] Block Erupter USB  (Read 250575 times)
alibert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 22, 2013, 11:41:54 AM

There are lots of tutorials, for example https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=121253.0

1513078485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513078485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513078485
Reply with quote  #2

1513078485
Report to moderator
1513078485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513078485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513078485
Reply with quote  #2

1513078485
Report to moderator
1513078485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513078485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513078485
Reply with quote  #2

1513078485
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- gmaxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513078485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513078485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513078485
Reply with quote  #2

1513078485
Report to moderator
1513078485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513078485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513078485
Reply with quote  #2

1513078485
Report to moderator
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 11:45:26 AM

There are lots of tutorials, for example https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=121253.0

i should have clarified: i'm on windows.

i'm quite nervous about all this cause i'm getting the first of these, besides the units the devs and such got, and i've never touched cgminer or such with any success. i've used guiminer for my amd/nvidia cards. (i know, nvidia bad.) i kinda feel like i'm wading into uncharted waters.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 11:55:21 AM

any clue about the software that can be used for mining? Preferably on linux.
BFGMiner from git will work.
and... how will it work? as in, settings, menu options? tiny hint?
Figure out what COM port Windows assigns it, then use:
Code:
bfgminer --scan-serial \\.\COM1 -o poolhostname:port -O user:pass
To build from git, it's probably a pain on Windows - check out the docs, though they might not be completely up to date.
If you can't get it to build once yours has arrived, ping me and I'll make a special build...

DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 11:57:09 AM

any clue about the software that can be used for mining? Preferably on linux.
BFGMiner from git will work.

and... how will it work? as in, settings, menu options? tiny hint?

I'm running that on a WinXP 32 bit with a ModMiner... As long as these things get a com port assigned by windows when you plug them in it should be fine

(not sure if I need to recompile or get another version, I'll look at that if it doesn't work as is)


PS - what Luke said!

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile
May 22, 2013, 12:01:16 PM

oh. well ok then. well, i feel dumb. hopefully there aren't any issues.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 12:31:19 AM

oh. well ok then. well, i feel dumb. hopefully there aren't any issues.

I'm a windows guy.  I intend to use cgminer.  I'll post my experience and tips if no one else has.

ps.  I'd install linux and use cgminer before I'd use bfgminer.  It's a matter of principle you see. 

And I can't stand linux.

M

Check out Helium!  Referral for Cryptopia.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 12:37:04 AM

oh. well ok then. well, i feel dumb. hopefully there aren't any issues.

I'm a windows guy.  I intend to use cgminer.  I'll post my experience and tips if no one else has.

ps.  I'd install linux and use cgminer before I'd use bfgminer.  It's a matter of principle you see.  

And I can't stand linux.

M
What principle is there in using cgminer over BFGMiner?
You prefer to only support trolls?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:18:08 AM

Heh funny, I guess I missed this thread when I posted about the cgminer code when I got the USB last week Tongue

I'll link back to it and repost here in the right thread Smiley
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99497.msg2137231#msg2137231
A final update from yesterday on the USB Erupter performance.

17 hour run statistics on ozcoin using direct Stratum and
 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=80
(see further below for more optimal settings)

Code:
[SUMMARY] =>
(
   [0] => SUMMARY
   [Elapsed] => 61325
   [MHS av] => 334.00
   [Found Blocks] => 0
   [Getworks] => 2779
   [Accepted] => 4686
   [Rejected] => 5
   [Hardware Errors] => 44
   [Utility] => 4.58
   [Discarded] => 5433
   [Stale] => 4
   [Get Failures] => 2
   [Local Work] => 15895
   [Remote Failures] => 0
   [Network Blocks] => 115
   [Total MH] => 20482802.5584
   [Work Utility] => 4.64
   [Difficulty Accepted] => 4686.00000000
   [Difficulty Rejected] => 5.00000000
   [Difficulty Stale] => 4.00000000
   [Best Share] => 11913
)

So - less than 1% HW errors.
I'm not sure if the earlier higher figure yesterday was burn in or overnight being cooler - I'll see today - but certainly don't expect it to get over 1.5% (Ambient temperature for the last 24hours has been around 21C or less)

Accepted hash rate: Difficulty Accepted / Elapsed = 328MH/s

Work utility (4.64) = 332MH/s

So all in all performing ~10% above the expected 300MH/s

Based on those figures I'd suggest the cgminer options to get it to report a little closer to accurate MH/s:
 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.012=100

The actual timing for mine would be 3.012=128 but I'm not sure what sort of variance there will be with the final product.
The 3.012 number helps get the MH/s display correct but doesn't affect the device performance.
The =100 number determines how long it should hash (100 = 10.0seconds) before restarting work, so if it is too long, it will allow it to go idle and thus reduce performance.
However, being a bit low (in this case 100 is 22% below the expected figure of 128 for me) has a very minor ignorable effect but allows for a large 22% performance variance with devices.

Soon I'll be updating the cgminer Icarus driver to use USB direct (it's the last untouched cgminer serial-USB driver) so these will be HotPlug also soon.

Screen cap at the same time as the above numbers:


Edit: much later edit with a few updates:
Size: 24.5mm wide
Board alone is 45mm long
Board+USB plug is 59.5mm (of course the plug isn't removable)
Weight: 6g
Height; 6mm (the highest component)

Errors: between 1% and 1.5%
Hash rate: 336MH/s

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:29:55 AM

And for a screen copy (almost 12 hours at 256 diff) using the newer Icarus direct USB HotPlug:
Code:
cgminer version 3.1.1o - Started: [2013-05-23 00:46:50]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):6.608G (avg):6.533Gh/s | A:241  R:0  HW:34  U:0.3/m  WU:91.1/m
 ST: 2  SS: 1  NB: 61  LW: 72867  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to au.ozco.in diff 256 with stratum as user
 Block: 005d1fb2a7b92966...  Diff:11.2M  Started: [12:16:53]  Best share: 17.8K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AMU 0:                | 326.1M/335.6Mh/s | A: 11 R:0 HW:27 U: 0.02/m
 ICA 0:                | 379.5M/379.6Mh/s | A: 14 R:0 HW: 5 U: 0.02/m
 BLT 0:                | 398.5M/399.3Mh/s | A: 12 R:0 HW: 2 U: 0.02/m
 BAJ 0:  max 42C 3.45V | 5.513G/5.419Gh/s | A:204 R:0 HW: 0 U: 0.29/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This will be in the next cgminer version and has been in git for a while.
Note that the next cgminer automatically finds and sets the settings for any Icarus device
e.g. the correct options for the AMU (Asicminer USB) is --icarus-options 115200:1:1

If you think your device might be a little faster or slower, and your computer isn't going to take CPU away from cgminer (for the first hour it runs) then you can use --icarus-timing short to override the default timing and see what cgminer calculates it to be.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
klotzenhotz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:46:53 AM

2 x USB Miner vs. Radeon 7970, a simple power calculation for german users:

7970: let's give it 180W (GPU only) -> 0,18 kWh x 24h x 31d x 0,27 EUR = 36 EUR / month ~ 46 USD / month power costs
2 x USB Miner: 5W -> 0,005 kWh x 24h x 31d x 0,27 EUR = 1 EUR / month ~ 1.28 USD / month power costs

Well, in my book there are no open questions...

initial cost(investment) is the most important factor
7970 cost 100 usd less, also 7970 isn't the best vga for mining

a right comparison is 2 usb versus 7950, so 200 usd less(both 600MH\s)
also electricity is subjective(mine is 0.13 euro)
so i can run for 8 months mining before i start losing in comparison
and last but not last a gpu can be resold, those things not so much

Well, I see it in long-term. And so for instance, I would lose ~45 USD/month after 8 months (I just took your example) just for electricity. Or do you stop mining after you got your ROI? I don't think so.
alibert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 09:33:44 AM

You didnt calculate the difficulty increase. Given a current difficulty of ~11 million you earn 0.82 BTC per month. With 20 million you earn 0.46 BTC. With 30 million 0.31 BTC. Expect the difficulty to be 30 million in some months, so your profit after power costs is much lower with GPUs.

klotzenhotz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 09:39:37 AM

That's exactly what I meant.

Edit: Giving the most weight to initial investment costs and not paying attention to power costs can only do people who live at "mommy's and daddy's" and don't have to pay for electricity Wink But that's maybe not the best way to calculate Wink
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:16:41 PM

the first box of 200 has arrived. Cheesy link to other post with pictures:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.msg2249127#msg2249127

also, uh... how do i get cgminer to check the usb ports? far as i can tell, it's got a com port assigned and the driver is properly installed (c210x uart) but cgminer doesn't seem to notice it's plugged in.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:18:29 PM

the first box of 200 has arrived. Cheesy link to other post with pictures:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.msg2249127#msg2249127

also, uh... how do i get cgminer to check the usb ports? far as i can tell, it's got a com port assigned and the driver is properly installed (c210x uart) but cgminer doesn't seem to notice it's plugged in.
You can use BFGMiner with the standard driver. For now, you need the latest git, and you can use -S all

Edit: Here's a build of BFGMiner master for use with these.

arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:21:22 PM

the first box of 200 has arrived. Cheesy link to other post with pictures:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.msg2249127#msg2249127

also, uh... how do i get cgminer to check the usb ports? far as i can tell, it's got a com port assigned and the driver is properly installed (c210x uart) but cgminer doesn't seem to notice it's plugged in.
You can use BFGMiner with the standard driver. For now, you need the latest git, and you can use -S all

i'll give it a shot. thanks.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:25:39 PM

the first box of 200 has arrived. Cheesy link to other post with pictures:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.msg2249127#msg2249127

also, uh... how do i get cgminer to check the usb ports? far as i can tell, it's got a com port assigned and the driver is properly installed (c210x uart) but cgminer doesn't seem to notice it's plugged in.
If you use current cgminer (3.1.1) - you'll need to use:
 --icarus-option 115200:1:1
for timing if your computer is pretty stable
 --icarus-timing short this will show MH/s as whatever each one is
OR if not
 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 this will show MH/s as 333.3 (over time) even if it is a little different
and for the devices
 -S \\.\COM1 -S \\.\COM2 etc
or if you have linux
 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 etc

Edit: Which do you have? Windows or Linux?
I'm still testing the new Windows code (and need to resolve one problem I've found)
If you have Linux then the current git branch icarus-dev does all the new auto identification and hotplug of these

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


󮀓1刎


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:29:15 PM

-S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 etc

<pedant>

Will -S ALL work ?

</pedant>
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:32:13 PM

-S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 etc

<pedant>

Will -S ALL work ?

</pedant>
Well there is the -S auto that Luke-Jr wrote in cgminer long ago but it didn't work at all in windows and was unreliable in linux according to his documentation comment (which is still there in 3.1.1)
you can try it in linux and see if it works I guess?

See my comment above about current git if you have linux.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


󮀓1刎


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:36:22 PM

Well there is the -S auto that Luke-Jr wrote in cgminer long ago but it didn't work at all in windows and was unreliable in linux according to his documentation comment (which is still there in 3.1.1)

 Would rather not touch any code Luke-Jr writes with a 10-foot pole. I'm sure you and arklan will work things out Wink Really excited to see these have arrived on this continent. Slick-looking packaging ! Running Windoze in my farm, FWIW.
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 08:37:54 PM

the first box of 200 has arrived. Cheesy link to other post with pictures:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.msg2249127#msg2249127

also, uh... how do i get cgminer to check the usb ports? far as i can tell, it's got a com port assigned and the driver is properly installed (c210x uart) but cgminer doesn't seem to notice it's plugged in.
If you use current cgminer (3.1.1) - you'll need to use:
 --icarus-option 115200:1:1
for timing if your computer is pretty stable
 --icarus-timing short this will show MH/s as whatever each one is
OR if not
 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 this will show MH/s as 333.3 (over time) even if it is a little different
and for the devices
 -S \\.\COM1 -S \\.\COM2 etc
or if you have linux
 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 etc

Edit: Which do you have? Windows or Linux?
I'm still testing the new Windows code (and need to resolve one problem I've found)
If you have Linux then the current git branch icarus-dev does all the new auto identification and hotplug of these

using windows 7.

tried the "and for the devices
 -S \\.\COM1 -S \\.\COM2 etc" part. \\.\COM3 (in this case) isn't recognized as a number. tried just entering 3 and 03, no change.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!