Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 10:16:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 174 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [WDC] Worldcoin | 3.0 Flirtatious Ant Released! | Multicoin architecture  (Read 407260 times)
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 04:56:15 AM
 #981

In order for a windows client, (your windows computer) ... to use the wallet, (the worldcoin wallet you downloaded as a zip file and extracted to a place on your computer) ... in order for the "wallet" to connect to the Worldcoin network, to download the "blockchain", to connect and "sync" to the network ...

one must create a .conf file, (SomeFileName.conf or Worldcoin.conf or MyFileName.conf), and that file begins as a notepad file, a .txt file, (SomeFileName.txt or Worldcoin.txt or MyFileName.txt).

We will change the file ending to -> .conf <- after we make the file. So where do we make this file, that will start it's life as a .txt file, or a notepad file?

One creates this file inside the directory or folder that is created when the "worldcoin-qt.exe" is run. Running, (double-clicking), the "worldcoin-qt.exe" program allows that program to create a new folder on your hard drive, it creates a new, and special directory or folder ... inside a folder you can find here:

C:\Users\MyCurrentlyLoggedOnUserName\AppData\Roaming\Worldcoin

So the last folder you will be double-clicking into, (going into or opening), will be the "Worldcoin" folder or directory. Once you are in there, you then can right click inside an open space on the right side of windows explorer, inside that "Worldcoin" folder, and choose New->Text Document from the popup menu.

So this folder we are working in IS NOT the folder you created when you downloaded the .zip file, and extracted that to your hard drive, where the "worldcoin-qt.exe" exists, it's not that folder.

In the C:\Users\MyCurrentlyLoggedOnUserName\AppData\Roaming\Worldcoin folder ... name your new text document "Worldcoin.txt" for now.

If you cannot see the file ending, (the ".txt"), you must change your settings in your folder options so that you can see all file endings. Google that if you don't know about that or PM me and I'll assist you.

So we have this new .txt, or notepad file created, make sure it is open, and highlight and then copy, (right click the highlighted lines, choose copy), everything under the line that follows this sentence, not the line, just the stuff between the two lines:

---------------------------------------------

rpcuser="I_Made_Up_This_User_Name"
rpcpassword="I_Made_Up_This_Password"
rpcport=11082
daemon=1
server=1
gen=0
testnet=0
listen=0
maxconnections=100
addnode=173.16.119.230
addnode=173.16.94.167
addnode=68.232.186.235

---------------------------------------------

For the first line, rpcuser="I_Made_Up_This_User_Name" (do not use the quote marks and make up any username you wish with no spaces and no special characters, just letters and numbers)
For the second line, rpcpassword="I_Made_Up_This_Password" (do not use the quotes and make up any password you wish, with no spaces, you can use letters, numbers, and even symbols like "$" or "*")

When you finish adjusting the username, and the password, (these first two lines of what will be your ".conf file, your CONFiguration file"), save it ... you then need to change the entire name of this notepad file you created, (especially the ending), to SomeFileNameImadeUP.conf.

The important part is that the file ending is no longer (.txt) but that it is (.conf). Without the parenthesis.

Make sure you closed the Worldcoin wallet, that you have completely exited the wallet ... now open it, double click it again in the folder you downloaded it to, and extracted the zip file into, and it will start to sync to the worldcoin network.

The developers of this wallet did not "hardcode" the IP address nodes, (the other wallet computers running, your peers) ... into the wallet, IMHO, so that the cry of "pre-mining" by a reserved group of people with special knowledge and special access to the development of the coin could be avoided. In other words, the genesis block of the new coin had to be developed first, so that IP nodes of other clients would be available to connect to, to get the engine, the PeerToPeer node action on the network started.

So there you have it, from one windows user to another, and I will be glad to offer assistance through PM to any windows users.

I am in the U.S. and I am using http://wdcpool.erundook.net/ to mine this new coin with about a 10% stales/invalid ratio. I was to late to sign up for wdc.dontmine.me as registration was already closed, but because their server might be located closer to me, I would expect a lower stales/invalid rate.

I'm looking forward to reports from other windows users as to how this software is working out for you, thanks for being a part of the Crytpo Currency paradigm.

Let it be known that the ONLY reason I'm trying Worldcoin is because "Pooler" is involved, he runs litecoinpool and it is an excellent pool with a U.S. based server, I wish all of you could be registered there.

Does pooler run that pool?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513160184
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513160184

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513160184
Reply with quote  #2

1513160184
Report to moderator
champbronc2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 04:59:17 AM
 #982



So what do these "addnode" lines mean in the .conf file??? Those are the IP address of some of the wallet running computers, not yours, other people's, that you will connect to and communicate with. With this wallet, you must specify them, because they are so new and were not included in the hard coding of the wallet.

Feedback from anybody on this is appreciated, and I will amend this post accordingly, thanks.

More nodes for you:
-addnode=71.201.163.216 -addnode=98.193.75.196 -addnode=71.86.91.187 -addnode=63.175.158.121 -addnode=82.8.158.89 -addnode=188.194.8.221 -addnode=183.62.232.93 -addnode=124.188.83.171 -addnode=72.222.208.81 -addnode=89.10.226.206 -addnode=173.16.119.230 -addnode=173.16.94.167 -addnode=66.232.186.235 -addnode=71.201.163.216 -addnode=98.193.75.196 -addnode=71.86.91.187 -addnode=63.175.158.121 -addnode=82.8.158.89 -addnode=188.194.8.221 -addnode=183.62.232.93 -addnode=124.188.83.171 -addnode=72.222.208.81 -addnode=89.10.226.206

https://bitquick.co - Buy bitcoins instantly with cash at 2% fee or Sell Bitcoins at 0% fee with BitQuick.co. Encourage safer, more secure trading! Stop selling on LocalBitcoins.
Safe trading resource: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=208203.0 Read it before you ever make a trade! Know what you're getting yourself into!
503guy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:22:05 AM
 #983

wow - transferred coins to test "instant transfer" -- seriously... this is f'n fast! I had two wallets open in separate virtual machines, both running and synced with network.  I sent coins, then switched windows to the other VM and the coins had already arrived, then were confirmed seconds later.

Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:26:57 AM
 #984

Looking like wdc on exchange soon?

gudmunsn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:28:38 AM
 #985

Looking like wdc on exchange soon?

I hope so! Mining like crazy right now...

jdebunt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414

Freelance Bitcoin / Blockchain / FinTech Writer


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 05:54:11 AM
 #986

bah my geforce is nearly exhausted & hasn't put in a valid share in 3 hours on the p2pool....why didn't my new mobo work so i could use that 7970? bah Smiley
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 05:58:03 AM
 #987

bah my geforce is nearly exhausted & hasn't put in a valid share in 3 hours on the p2pool....why didn't my new mobo work so i could use that 7970? bah Smiley

Why don't you swap the 7970 for the GeForce in your current system?
perhan007
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:00:59 AM
 #988

Can't get any connections either Sad
jdebunt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414

Freelance Bitcoin / Blockchain / FinTech Writer


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2013, 06:02:17 AM
 #989

bah my geforce is nearly exhausted & hasn't put in a valid share in 3 hours on the p2pool....why didn't my new mobo work so i could use that 7970? bah Smiley

Why don't you swap the 7970 for the GeForce in your current system?

because the new mobo should arrive today, but i wish i had arrived yesterday Smiley
3Dfilament
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:09:01 AM
 #990

Can't get any connections either Sad

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=204894.msg2177180#msg2177180
MaxOnBit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:09:16 AM
 #991

Can't get any connections either Sad
me to ! WTF ? Sad

MaxOnBit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:15:19 AM
 #992

it does not help

Twerka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:45:24 AM
 #993

If you are not solo mining then you don't need the worldcoin.conf file.

I deleted it after the pools pop up, and getting 7 conections right now.

The worst enemy of Bitcoin is Mt.Gox exchange.
thisnewcoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 07:19:39 AM
 #994

Usually wait a bit you get connections, less than 1 min
perhan007
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 07:22:10 AM
 #995

If you are not solo mining then you don't need the worldcoin.conf file.

I deleted it after the pools pop up, and getting 7 conections right now.

Same here... After I deleted the conf, the wallet synced immediatelly.
fisheater
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 08:18:55 AM
 #996

This sounds weird. I never delete that file.

                                 
                  █████████████████████████████▒
               ▒███████████████████████████████▓░
             ▒████▓                         ░▓███▒░░
         ░▒▓████▓░                            ░▓███▓▓▒▒░░
▓▓▓▓▓████████▓▒               ░░░▒▒▒▒▒░         ░▒█████████▓▓▓▓▓
████████▓▒▒░              ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒         ░░▒▒████████
▓██▓                   ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓███▒░             ███▓
▒███                 ░▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓█████▒░         ▓▓█░
░█▓█░               ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓█████▓██░     ▓███░
 ▓██▓             ▒██▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░  ░▓█▓      ███▓
 ▒█▓█░           ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░░░░░▒▒░ ░▒░░▓███▓      ▒███▒
  █▓█▓          ▓█▓▒▓▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒▒░░▒▒▓█████░      ███▓
  ▒█▓█░        ░██▓▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒░ ░░░ ░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓█▒█░     ▓███▒
   ▓▓▓▓        ███▒░░░░░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓ █░    ▒███▒
   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▒▒ █▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▒░▒░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓ ▒█    ░████▒
    ░▓▒▓▒ ░▓████▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒  ██   ░████▒
     ▒▓▓██  ▓████▓▒▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒▒░ ░██▒  ░████▒
      ▓████  ░██████▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░  ░███▓  ░████░
       ▒████   ▓█▓░█████▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░▒▓████░  ▒████▒
        ░████▒  ▒░   ▒██████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓██████▓░   ▓████▒
          ████▓         ░▒▓██████████████▓░░    ░████▓
           ▒████▒                              ▓████░
             ▓████░                          ▒████▒
              ░████▓░                      ▒████▓
                ░████▓░                  ▒████▓░
                  ░████▓░              ▒████▓░
                     ░▓████▒          ▓████▒░
                       ░▒████▓░    ▒████▓▒
                          ░▓████▓▓████▓░
                             ▒█████▓░
                               ░▒▒░
✬✬✬✬✬

3Dfilament
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:25:38 AM
 #997

If you are not solo mining then you don't need the worldcoin.conf file.

I deleted it after the pools pop up, and getting 7 conections right now.

The .conf file is needed to seed the wallet with IP addresses, sure, after it seeds you can delete the .conf file, or leave it there. At least that's how it worked for me.
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
May 17, 2013, 09:44:31 AM
 #998

No need to delete .conf file in solo mining. You never know when pool mining is better.

Thank me || accuse me...with evidence.
erundook
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 10:14:46 AM
 #999

i am setting up a second pool on a new server right now. so we can handle more load Smiley

tobobit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 10:45:22 AM
 #1000

i am setting up a second pool on a new server right now. so we can handle more load Smiley
my estimated coins per hour has halved in the last 2hrs Sad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 174 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!