Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:55:37 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:35:37 AM
 #361

Does anyone have a sense of what's involved (or could point me in the right direction) in adding an option to mine these primecoins with GPUs?  I've got some experience working with nVidia's CUDA and might be able to contribute something of value here.  That being said, I could very well be far out of my league...

The built in miner uses a basic sieve. The mining process involves two steps, first generating a sieve, then do power test (Fermat) to check primality. For simplicity maybe a GPU core for the sieve can be first developed, and throw an API call to the client to check primality. You can investigate prime.h and prime.cpp for the basic sieve code.
1619178937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178937
Reply with quote  #2

1619178937
Report to moderator
1619178937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178937
Reply with quote  #2

1619178937
Report to moderator
1619178937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178937
Reply with quote  #2

1619178937
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619178937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178937
Reply with quote  #2

1619178937
Report to moderator
mercSuey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:41:02 AM
 #362

Does anyone have a sense of what's involved (or could point me in the right direction) in adding an option to mine these primecoins with GPUs?  I've got some experience working with nVidia's CUDA and might be able to contribute something of value here.  That being said, I could very well be far out of my league...

The built in miner uses a basic sieve. The mining process involves two steps, first generating a sieve, then do power test (Fermat) to check primality. For simplicity maybe a GPU core for the sieve can be first developed, and throw an API call to the client to check primality. You can investigate prime.h and prime.cpp for the basic sieve code.

Sunny, theoretically, won't the primes get bigger as we find more of them, so that it's impossible to maintain a uniform time in between blocks?  So that in fact, if the network hash rate remains constant over some period of time, difficulty will adjust lower?
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:47:16 AM
 #363

Does anyone have a sense of what's involved (or could point me in the right direction) in adding an option to mine these primecoins with GPUs?  I've got some experience working with nVidia's CUDA and might be able to contribute something of value here.  That being said, I could very well be far out of my league...

The built in miner uses a basic sieve. The mining process involves two steps, first generating a sieve, then do power test (Fermat) to check primality. For simplicity maybe a GPU core for the sieve can be first developed, and throw an API call to the client to check primality. You can investigate prime.h and prime.cpp for the basic sieve code.

I'll have a look tomorrow, thanks Sunny.

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:48:32 AM
 #364

Sunny, theoretically, won't the primes get bigger as we find more of them, so that it's impossible to maintain a uniform time in between blocks?  So that in fact, if the network hash rate remains constant over some period of time, difficulty will adjust lower?

Difficulty is measured by chain length, not by prime sizes. Block spacing is maintained via continuous difficulty adjustment.
KrLos
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 768
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:49:35 AM
 #365

i I would love some please... i had a sh**** pc. And been trying and nothing

Aeg98BVBRTq7jeH9u76FFRXaf769o8uxS5
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:52:04 AM
 #366

I have been mining away for the past hour using setgenerate true 3 on an I5-3570k (4 core stock) with this in the getmining info,

Code:
{
"blocks" : 709,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 3,
"primespersec" : 89,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}
the primespersec varies from a low of 59 to an upper 115. Is this normal or what? I do not believe I have found a block yet sadly, based on transactions not showing anything nor getting any blockfound in the debug console.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:54:29 AM
 #367

I have been mining away for the past hour using setgenerate true 3 on an I5-3570k (4 core stock) with this in the getmining info,

Code:
{
"blocks" : 709,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 3,
"primespersec" : 89,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}
the primespersec varies from a low of 59 to an upper 115. Is this normal or what? I do not believe I have found a block yet sadly, based on transactions not showing anything nor getting any blockfound in the debug console.
That seems about right. I get a little bit higher on the same CPU on 3 cores as well. Found 1 block, it takes a while regardless. There's only been ~750 total blocks found so far, so we're all (relatively) in the same boat.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
BigJon901
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:54:54 AM
 #368

It's more of luck. I mined for 20 minutes and got a block on a Core-i5-2500k (no overclock). Not sure if the code is AVX instruction set optimized. If so newer CPUs have an advantage over older ones.

Computer Engineering Technologist
TheMightyX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

Vires in Numeris


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:55:17 AM
 #369

keep in mind theres some degree of luck when mining. Even a crap pc has a slight chance of stumbling on the correct number and completing the correct calculation. A faster pc will go through more of those calculations, thus increasing its odds of finding the correct one.
my faster PC has been mining for several hours with no luck, my slower pc has already clinched two rewards. go figure.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:57:11 AM
 #370

keep in mind theres some degree of luck when mining. Even a crap pc has a slight chance of stumbling on the correct number and completing the correct calculation. A faster pc will go through more of those calculations, thus increasing its odds of finding the correct one.
my faster PC has been mining for several hours with no luck, my slower pc has already clinched two rewards. go figure.

Same!! My crappy $300-$400 Toshiba laptop has gotten two blocks with a dual-core AMD processor, my i5-2500k has gotten one block, and my 8350 has gotten zero. Cry

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:57:17 AM
 #371

Well, thanks for the information guys! I shall happily be awaiting my first block and seeing how this crypto goes.
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:59:17 AM
 #372

Probability mathematics/physics is a really damn confusing thing.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:00:02 AM
 #373

keep in mind theres some degree of luck when mining. Even a crap pc has a slight chance of stumbling on the correct number and completing the correct calculation. A faster pc will go through more of those calculations, thus increasing its odds of finding the correct one.
my faster PC has been mining for several hours with no luck, my slower pc has already clinched two rewards. go figure.

Same!! My crappy $300-$400 Toshiba laptop has gotten two blocks with a dual-core AMD processor, my i5-2500k has gotten one block, and my 8350 has gotten zero. Cry

As well, I have two Large elastic instances from digitalocean. Each scores >10000 on Geekbench, yet and each one reports somewhere between 0 and 2 primes per second. :sig:

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:03:16 AM
 #374

I'm pretty sure that hosting instances are nerfed in the release binaries so that nobody can get an unfair advantage with it. Tongue

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:07:59 AM
 #375

I'm pretty sure that hosting instances are nerfed in the release binaries so that nobody can get an unfair advantage with it. Tongue


Uh, how?

ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:08:57 AM
 #376

CPUID checks. Hostname checks. Server specific information checks. It's not hard.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:13:39 AM
 #377

CPUID checks. Hostname checks. Server specific information checks. It's not hard.

this is why i scuffed at the guy that said this is a dead coin because someone has 100 EC2's on it.... 

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
drummerjdb666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 101



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:15:43 AM
 #378

Ok lol!  Apparently this was much easier to figure out than I made it.. cause i was also ina hurry to leave for work earlier.. but yea!  

You don't need to create any config file for this at all..  It just works without a config.. maybe you will need to reboot after the first time you try to open it.. but.. it only worked for me after i deleted the .conf i tried to create completely.. haha!  oops!  

Thnx a lot to the people that responded though!  Smiley  
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:19:53 AM
 #379

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.

rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:20:46 AM
 #380

CPUID checks. Hostname checks. Server specific information checks. It's not hard.

With the code on github it would have to be obfuscated somehow. Care to point out what you think it is? I would be astonished if he intentionally broke virtual CPUs. That is just rewarding botnets and punishing everyone else.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!