Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 06:30:47 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686992 times)
mumus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:41:30 PM
 #981

HAs anyone successfully built on MS Visual Studio?

I gave up with VS 2010 and installed Xubuntu to do my recompiling

I just succeed to compile with mingw. I used this thread for instructions: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=149479.0
1619202647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619202647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619202647
Reply with quote  #2

1619202647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619202647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619202647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619202647
Reply with quote  #2

1619202647
Report to moderator
Praxis
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1114
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:47:18 PM
 #982

Do you get performance boost if you compile it on your own using optimized parameters? I couldn't compile it on my own, got errors
innovation
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:03:10 PM
 #983

I have mine nothing with my notebook.
tjb0607
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:04:26 PM
 #984

I have mine nothing with my notebook.

Don't expect much from a notebook, their CPUs aren't too powerful.
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:10:13 PM
 #985

Interesting that some optimized primecoind builds are being shared now, but the block spacing has gone from ~10 seconds back to a more reasonable ~30 seconds.

From this we could conclude either:
  • these optimized primecoind builds are worse at finding blocks despite higher primespersec
  • or, a superior stand-alone miner was tested on the network and is currently offline pending release...


there you go. the answer to your questions


Quote
There is currently a DDOS against http://Digitalocean.com  we have updated our status page: https://status.digitalocean.com  & https://www.digitaloceanstatus.com
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:25:06 PM
 #986


there you go. the answer to your questions

Quote
There is currently a DDOS against http://Digitalocean.com  we have updated our status page: https://status.digitalocean.com  & https://www.digitaloceanstatus.com

I don't think this is related as it is unlikely that efficient mining in the hosted instances was the cause of the ~10 second block spacing we saw earlier, and Digital Ocean's status states that customer's virtual private servers are not affected by the attack. If just 1 VPS was targeted by a DDOS then the operator would stand up another VPS pretty quickly.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:26:58 PM
 #987



Doing pretty good on my own optimized x64 build of primecoin...

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
bidji29
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:30:50 PM
 #988

Anyone know how to import a priv key?

I tried :

importprivkey <<Privkey>>


But i got an error message.
i know the key is valid.



EDIT : i found how to do
You need to unlock your wallet first with

walletpassphrase "YourwalletPassphrase" 600
The 600 means your wallet is unlocked for 10 minutes (600 seconds).

http://www.freebieservers.com/  100% FREE GAME SERVERS
qnfauf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:49:18 PM
 #989

I'm getting 0 primes per sec even though the CPU usage is near 100%. I'm running Ubuntu 12.

All I did was
1. Set rpc user and password in .conf file.
2. run "./primecoind -daemon"
3. run "./primecoind -setgenerate true 8"

Then when I run "./primecoind getmininginfo", it says my primespersec is 0 even though CPU is being used.

Can someone help me?
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:50:54 PM
 #990

@tacotime

Any hints you want to share? Smiley

Bitrated user: blastbob.
azwccc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:51:30 PM
 #991

Okay, can we get instruction on how to extract coin from our DigitalOcean droplet.  It has been so long since I have had to do console/coding like this Sad.

Sure. I do it this way:

  • ssh into remote instance
  • ./primecoind listtransactions –> copy the address mentioned in the output at "address"
  • ./primecoind dumpprivkey {{paste copied address here}} –> copy the private key returned
  • on your local computer holding the "master wallet" -> ./primecoind importprivkey {{paste copied private key here}}
  • now address holding the minted coins appears in your local wallet

No need to send coins over the blockchain this way, immature coins can be imported immediately.

I understand you will get the minted (even immature) coins from the remote wallet, but since you dumped the private key remotely, will you be able to get any new coin?

And will a new private key/public key generated in the remote wallet?

Bitrated user: azwccc.
shinkicker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:53:10 PM
 #992

I am close to closing down here giving up on this coin. 14 hours I have been mining on all 4 cores of a 2500k and a 8 core ec2 instance. Not one block yet.

Are people getting blocks still or are there a load of optimized clients gobbling up all the coins?
craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1012



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:53:42 PM
 #993

110K coins minted, I wonder how evenly spread it actually is. Somebody must be baggin'

I'm running 6 different CPUs and have about 160 XPM so far
craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1012



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:54:20 PM
 #994

I am close to closing down here giving up on this coin. 14 hours I have been mining on all 4 cores of a 2500k and a 8 core ec2 instance. Not one block yet.

Are people getting blocks still or are there a load of optimized clients gobbling up all the coins?

I think all the optimized people are sucking the blocks up. I haven't gotten one in about the same amount of time with 6 different CPUs
drummerjdb666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 101



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:55:09 PM
 #995

Hey Midas, err I mean Sunny King ;o) Nice job on the coin. Lots of good publicity right off the bat also.

and whomever take offense at this or not... Are you really complaining about someone not releasing an optimized miner because it's somehow not fair that they used their education, intellect, or a combination of the two to adjust how the client runs? By the way, is that an obama phone I see in your pocket?
People will bitch about anything bro!!!

Either way here goes again!  been mining since a couple hours after launch on my 3770k @ 4.37 on air


nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:57:24 PM
 #996

Okay, can we get instruction on how to extract coin from our DigitalOcean droplet.  It has been so long since I have had to do console/coding like this Sad.

Sure. I do it this way:

  • ssh into remote instance
  • ./primecoind listtransactions –> copy the address mentioned in the output at "address"
  • ./primecoind dumpprivkey {{paste copied address here}} –> copy the private key returned
  • on your local computer holding the "master wallet" -> ./primecoind importprivkey {{paste copied private key here}}
  • now address holding the minted coins appears in your local wallet

No need to send coins over the blockchain this way, immature coins can be imported immediately.

I understand you will get the minted (even immature) coins from the remote wallet, but since you dumped the private key remotely, will you be able to get any new coin?

And will a new private key/public key generated in the remote wallet?


+1
Scott J
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 11:03:26 PM
 #997

I left this on overnight a got three blocks late morning, all within three hours of each other.

12 hours later and I've had nothing since.

Intel i5

{
"blocks" : 5742,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 2,
"primespersec" : 80,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 11:04:20 PM
 #998

110K coins minted, I wonder how evenly spread it actually is. Somebody must be baggin'

I'm running 6 different CPUs and have about 160 XPM so far
I mined 160 on 1 CPU since the genesis of the coin.


BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1005



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 11:05:08 PM
 #999

@tacotime

Any hints you want to share? Smiley


Compile with gcc 4.6.x+ x64 and these compilation flags:
Code:
-O3 -march=corei7-avx -mtune=corei7-avx

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Stinky_Pete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 11:07:29 PM
 #1000

I am close to closing down here giving up on this coin. 14 hours I have been mining on all 4 cores of a 2500k and a 8 core ec2 instance. Not one block yet.

Are people getting blocks still or are there a load of optimized clients gobbling up all the coins?

My rates haven't changed much over ~36hrs, but I still see no clear relationship between no. of cores/speed of cores/core:memory ratio and rate of finding blocks

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!