Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:56:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 02:28:17 AM
 #341

How does one go about using bitcoind to mine primecoins from the command line?
You don't use bitcoind with primecoin, you use primecoind.
With primecoind, start it and it -should- propogate the files you need. Stop it after it starts. If you're on linux, it'll be in ~/.primecoin/
Windows would be %appdata%/primecoin
Make a text file in that folder called primecoin.conf and put in it:
Code:
rpcuser=[choose a username]
rpcpassword=[choose a password]
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
That should work...
Just start it up again and it should mine away.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619178971
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178971

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178971
Reply with quote  #2

1619178971
Report to moderator
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 02:39:00 AM
 #342

How does one go about using bitcoind to mine primecoins from the command line?
You don't use bitcoind with primecoin, you use primecoind.
With primecoind, start it and it -should- propogate the files you need. If you're on linux, it'll be in ~/.primecoin/
Windows would be %appdata%/primecoin
Make a text file in that folder called primecoin.conf and put in it:
Code:
rpcuser=[choose a username]
rpcpassword=[choose a password]
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
That should work...

Definitely meant to write primecoind, durr... 

Thanks for the help!  I've got the daemon running, any idea if it's possible to check the primespersec value like you can with the GUI client?

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 02:41:07 AM
 #343

How does one go about using bitcoind to mine primecoins from the command line?
You don't use bitcoind with primecoin, you use primecoind.
With primecoind, start it and it -should- propogate the files you need. If you're on linux, it'll be in ~/.primecoin/
Windows would be %appdata%/primecoin
Make a text file in that folder called primecoin.conf and put in it:
Code:
rpcuser=[choose a username]
rpcpassword=[choose a password]
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
That should work...

Definitely meant to write primecoind, durr... 

Thanks for the help!  I've got the daemon running, any idea if it's possible to check the primespersec value like you can with the GUI client?
Yep. Same way, just send commands to it from the command line.... i.e.
> primecoind getprimespersec
> primecoind getmininginfo

etc. Same commands from the gui you can type from the command line daemon.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 02:43:38 AM
 #344

How does one go about using bitcoind to mine primecoins from the command line?
You don't use bitcoind with primecoin, you use primecoind.
With primecoind, start it and it -should- propogate the files you need. If you're on linux, it'll be in ~/.primecoin/
Windows would be %appdata%/primecoin
Make a text file in that folder called primecoin.conf and put in it:
Code:
rpcuser=[choose a username]
rpcpassword=[choose a password]
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
That should work...

Definitely meant to write primecoind, durr... 

Thanks for the help!  I've got the daemon running, any idea if it's possible to check the primespersec value like you can with the GUI client?
Yep. Same way, just send commands to it from the command line.... i.e.
> primecoind getprimespersec
> primecoind getmininginfo

etc. Same commands from the gui you can type from the command line daemon.

Well that's just lovely.  Thank you, kind sir!  Sending a small thank you tip to your bitcoin address

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 02:46:16 AM
 #345

Thats the first time someone actually sends a tip.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 02:47:59 AM
 #346

Well that's just lovely.  Thank you, kind sir!  Sending a small thank you tip to your bitcoin address
That wasn't necessary, but thanks. :p
It's all stuff I had to learn as well, just passing it along.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 02:49:39 AM
 #347

Thats the first time someone actually sends a tip.

not true, i have sent many a tip.... and I have received also!

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Frogcoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 02:54:07 AM
 #348

Mining these, does anyone know why there is so much variance in the "hashrate"?

I'm moving between 8 and 54.
Loktera
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 02:59:08 AM
 #349

I'm unfamiliar with bitcoind/primecoind. Is there a way to point several miners at one wallet, or am I stuck using a wallet for every separate computer?
jpmi1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:01:40 AM
 #350

Does this only work on windows 32 bit computers?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯ RELAUNCH First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ https://poloniex.com/exchange/btc_yin
XPM:AeuQPMAGRLyWbWkVgAtE4JcfSyGHATUkmG
DTC:D9mwyQo9xPAPWCtKYhthnX2uSPivcjKyLN
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:02:32 AM
 #351

No. It works everywhere. Just fine. Although the 64bit version when created can be faster.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Petr1fied
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 502


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:02:44 AM
 #352

Block Crawler

http://primeblock.kicks-ass.net/block_crawler.php
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:10:25 AM
 #353

Just to make sure I'm doing this right.  I set the primecoin.conf....then setgenerate true 8 in debug console window...and that's it?  The Qt should be mining?  How can I be sure if I don't receive any coins?  The debug log does show some promising output though:

CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (377/1000000) ready in 7302418us
PrimecoinMiner() : Round primorial=41 tests=377 primes=57 expected=8031174s
CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (304/1000000) ready in 7312418us

So it's safe to assume the Qt is mining away?



How setgenerate true 8 different from running with the -gen flag?  All 8 of my cores seem to be working....
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:10:44 AM
 #354

Just to make sure I'm doing this right.  I set the primecoin.conf....then setgenerate true 8 in debug console window...and that's it?  The Qt should be mining?  How can I be sure if I don't receive any coins?  The debug log does show some promising output though:

CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (377/1000000) ready in 7302418us
PrimecoinMiner() : Round primorial=41 tests=377 primes=57 expected=8031174s
CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (304/1000000) ready in 7312418us

So it's safe to assume the Qt is mining away?
Easiest way would just be by typing "getprimespersec" in the debug console. If it's greater than 0, you're good.
How setgenerate true 8 different from running with the -gen flag?
Gen would use all available resources/cores, setgenerate true (x) would use a specific number of cores/threads.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:11:45 AM
 #355

Just to make sure I'm doing this right.  I set the primecoin.conf....then setgenerate true 8 in debug console window...and that's it?  The Qt should be mining?  How can I be sure if I don't receive any coins?  The debug log does show some promising output though:

CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (377/1000000) ready in 7302418us
PrimecoinMiner() : Round primorial=41 tests=377 primes=57 expected=8031174s
CreateNewBlock(): total size 1000
Running PrimecoinMiner with 1 transactions in block (190 bytes)
MineProbablePrimeChain() : new sieve (304/1000000) ready in 7312418us

So it's safe to assume the Qt is mining away?





Type either "getmininginfo" or "getprimespersec" to see what your "hash" rate is.  Assuming that it's greater than 0, you're "hashing" away.

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:14:20 AM
 #356

prime rate.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:16:06 AM
 #357

Does anyone have a sense of what's involved (or could point me in the right direction) in adding an option to mine these primecoins with GPUs?  I've got some experience working with nVidia's CUDA and might be able to contribute something of value here.  That being said, I could very well be far out of my league...

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 03:20:52 AM
 #358

What's the point of GPU mining anyways? It'll drive the difficulty up and we're stuck with an even higher hardware cost for mining the same amount of money. :/

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:24:30 AM
 #359

The 1 minute target for block creation isn't holding true at the moment. The average since launch is 49 seconds, and there have been some periods where blocks were being added to the primechain at ~30s intervals. I'm sure this will even out when the growth in miner population is constant/flat.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 03:28:52 AM
 #360

For posterity, I believe this is the prime chain from the genesis block:

8965952996020407064364391577136065268670542909213664815741310568010946895662880 601479081231
8965952996020407064364391577136065268670542909213664815741310568010946895662880 601479081229
1793190599204081412872878315427213053734108581842732963148262113602189379132576 1202958162461
1793190599204081412872878315427213053734108581842732963148262113602189379132576 1202958162459
3586381198408162825745756630854426107468217163685465926296524227204378758265152 2405916324921
3586381198408162825745756630854426107468217163685465926296524227204378758265152 2405916324919

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!