Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:54:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
Vitalik Buterin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330
Merit: 384


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:27:49 AM
 #381

Yay!

{
"blocks" : 787,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 1,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Mining on laptops is fun.

Argumentum ad lunam: the fallacy that because Bitcoin's price is rising really fast the currency must be a speculative bubble and/or Ponzi scheme.
1619178868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178868
Reply with quote  #2

1619178868
Report to moderator
1619178868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178868
Reply with quote  #2

1619178868
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619178868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178868
Reply with quote  #2

1619178868
Report to moderator
1619178868
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619178868

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619178868
Reply with quote  #2

1619178868
Report to moderator
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:28:10 AM
 #382

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.
Nice, grats. Anyone have an equation for the block reward? I've skimmed through, didn't find anything though.
Seems it's going down gradually, but I'm not sure of the full trajectory.
I got 20.33 for my block, but it was fairly early on.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:29:32 AM
 #383

CPUID checks. Hostname checks. Server specific information checks. It's not hard.

With the code on github it would have to be obfuscated somehow. Care to point out what you think it is? I would be astonished if he intentionally broke virtual CPUs. That is just rewarding botnets and punishing everyone else.
heh, heh heh.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:31:49 AM
 #384

Sunny, theoretically, won't the primes get bigger as we find more of them, so that it's impossible to maintain a uniform time in between blocks?  So that in fact, if the network hash rate remains constant over some period of time, difficulty will adjust lower?

Difficulty is measured by chain length, not by prime sizes. Block spacing is maintained via continuous difficulty adjustment.

Sunny, I keep observing periods where the block spacing is ~30seconds instead of ~60seconds, yet the difficulty isn't increasing by a corresponding factor.

Example period where block spacing is ~30seconds:
Code:
block 665 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:11:39 difficulty = 7.03636408
block 675 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:17:56 difficulty = 7.03710973

It has been a long time since blocks were spaced according to your specification so it would appear the variable difficulty should be set higher.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
hl5460
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1620
Merit: 1000


news.8btc.com


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:39:01 AM
 #385

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.



Hey guys, I got notification from the icon saying I got one block. But I couldn't find it in "transaction" or the "unconfirmed" amount.

What is the problem? Orphan?

TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:41:02 AM
 #386

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.


Hey guys, I got notification from the icon saying I got one block. But I couldn't find it in "transaction" or the "unconfirmed" amount.

What is the problem? Orphan?
Yeah, if nothing's in your transaction list, it's an orphan. Bad luck.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
grc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:42:50 AM
 #387

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.


Hey guys, I got notification from the icon saying I got one block. But I couldn't find it in "transaction" or the "unconfirmed" amount.

What is the problem? Orphan?
Yeah, if nothing's in your transaction list, it's an orphan. Bad luck.

You could type "listtransactions" in the debug console just to be sure.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:43:48 AM
 #388

Man, if PrimeCoin managed to punish for using cloud instances and server-class CPUs, that's an incredible feat, must have obfuscated it quite well! Curious to see how this develops. Smiley

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
hl5460
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1620
Merit: 1000


news.8btc.com


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:46:17 AM
 #389

Well whatdayaknow, I got my first mined block just now, hah.


Hey guys, I got notification from the icon saying I got one block. But I couldn't find it in "transaction" or the "unconfirmed" amount.

What is the problem? Orphan?
Yeah, if nothing's in your transaction list, it's an orphan. Bad luck.

You could type "listtransactions" in the debug console just to be sure.

Thanks mate. Orphan confirmed. I was so excited just now.....

craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1012



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:48:59 AM
 #390

Sunny, theoretically, won't the primes get bigger as we find more of them, so that it's impossible to maintain a uniform time in between blocks?  So that in fact, if the network hash rate remains constant over some period of time, difficulty will adjust lower?

Difficulty is measured by chain length, not by prime sizes. Block spacing is maintained via continuous difficulty adjustment.

Sunny, I keep observing periods where the block spacing is ~30seconds instead of ~60seconds, yet the difficulty isn't increasing by a corresponding factor.

Example period where block spacing is ~30seconds:
Code:
block 665 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:11:39 difficulty = 7.03636408
block 675 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:17:56 difficulty = 7.03710973

It has been a long time since blocks were spaced according to your specification so it would appear the variable difficulty should be set higher.


I noticed it's going pretty quickly as well. Maybe some big power starting to jump on.
gudmunsn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 04:52:03 AM
 #391

Man, if PrimeCoin managed to punish for using cloud instances and server-class CPUs, that's an incredible feat, must have obfuscated it quite well! Curious to see how this develops. Smiley

+1

ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 04:55:34 AM
 #392

It's surely not server class CPU's. I'm mining away on my personally owned rack server.  I think they're just detecting big cloud instances. Anyways, It's a great idea. No scumbag instamine!

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 05:14:19 AM
 #393


Sunny, I keep observing periods where the block spacing is ~30seconds instead of ~60seconds, yet the difficulty isn't increasing by a corresponding factor.

Example period where block spacing is ~30seconds:
Code:
block 665 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:11:39 difficulty = 7.03636408
block 675 creation time = July 8, 2013, 04:17:56 difficulty = 7.03710973

It has been a long time since blocks were spaced according to your specification so it would appear the variable difficulty should be set higher.


Difficulty adjustment is designed to be reasonably slow for security reasons. So in the first few days there may be some rush and higher orphan rate. Give it a few days the interests should level out.
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 05:17:36 AM
 #394

Strange enough my i5 can't find anything, but my ivy bridge celeron is finding them, two so far.
romerun
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1001


Bitcoin is new, makes sense to hodl.


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 05:19:46 AM
 #395

running on 3 hosts in a cloud, 1 core each, since launch found nothing..
coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 05:35:47 AM
 #396

... I'm mining away on my personally owned rack server.  ... No scumbag instamine!


ohhh the irony!
drummerjdb666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 244
Merit: 101



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 06:15:26 AM
 #397

I've found two blocks in the past ten hours

I'm curious to see other people's speeds.. this is the fastest I have seen my I7  I'm only @ 4.372


02:09:38

{
"blocks" : 943,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 6,
"primespersec" : 232,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}
n4ru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 06:19:41 AM
 #398

Hm. I appear to be generating; I use setgenerate true.

But nothing appears to be mined after about an hour.

Difficulty already high?

ETH-Nova - Fully Automated OC/PL/P-state/Mining/Monitoring for Windows
ETH: 0x00972cd6a2c6786afbcc24ca592b8c86f33f747a / BTC: 1n4ruYy5QWbTDBbPEyBRWwj1Ni4U4Sz5P
loloman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 06:21:54 AM
 #399

I have 4 PCs, ~150 primes/s each, only 20 XPM after 10 hours.
WTF  Sad
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 06:56:05 AM
 #400

I've been following Primecoins progress and I'm excited to see where it ends up. It appears to be the answer to the (other cryptocurrencies) pundits issues.

Mining with i7 3.22 @ 104 primespersec (incrementally increasing slowly).


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!