Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:38:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
grc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:57:11 AM
 #741

Typing 'primespersec' in the console returns 'Method not found (code -32601)'. Anyone else getting this?

However, 'getmininginfo' shows:

{
"blocks" : 3449,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 2,
"primespersec" : 76,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

The CPU certainly sounds like it's mining! Though no blocks found over night  Sad

Try 'getprimespersec'  Wink
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619177926
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177926

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177926
Reply with quote  #2

1619177926
Report to moderator
voluntaryist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:03:44 AM
 #742

Is there a way to check past difficulty levels? Or did anyone take note of what it has been? I'm going to attempt to keep a log over the next few days to see if we can get an idea of where the difficulty is going (and therefore what the reward/inflation rate will be). Also this should be useful in determining the compute power of the network.

Currently it sits at d=7.23843342. This jives well with the block reward I just received (r=19.07).

(999 / d^2) = r <=> d = sqrt(999/r)

So, with a reward of 19.07 we have d=7.23781.

In the time it took me to write this, the difficulty changed to d=7.24123460 in about 15 minutes. So, if my math was right the difficulty increased by almost 0.04% in 15 min or almost 0.003% per block. Using both of the blocks I found gives around 0.002% difficulty increase per block. This is all assuming a one minute block time, so take this all with a grain of salt.

According to Bitcoin Magazine, a doubling of computer power would cause a 0.02% increase in the difficulty of the next block. I'm off to bed!

source: http://bitcoinmagazine.com/primecoin-the-cryptocurrency-whose-mining-is-actually-useful/
voluntaryist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:11:33 AM
 #743



If I am not mistaken, the starting difficulty was 6.

I started mining 1h late. Sorry for the colors, I am using my vision enhancement nano-augmentations:

https://i.imgur.com/x1MhLVJ.jpg


That would make the difficulty increase for all time ~0.00574% per block.
Luckybit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:13:55 AM
 #744

This does not make any sense, the diff has not even risen enough yet.

I mined two blocks roughly 3 hours apart and for the next 24 hours ago I get no mined blocks. I am using an I5-3570k at stock with "primespersec" : 129, yet nothing for 24 hours. Surely I am not this unlucky, am I? The processor utilization is actually at about 100% too, so I am surely mining. Anyone know what is going on?
You aren't the only one. I've got none today.
Luckybit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:16:18 AM
 #745

Typing 'primespersec' in the console returns 'Method not found (code -32601)'. Anyone else getting this?

However, 'getmininginfo' shows:

{
"blocks" : 3449,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 2,
"primespersec" : 76,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

The CPU certainly sounds like it's mining! Though no blocks found over night  Sad

it's getprimespersec

use help
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:18:06 AM
 #746

This does not make any sense, the diff has not even risen enough yet.

I mined two blocks roughly 3 hours apart and for the next 24 hours ago I get no mined blocks. I am using an I5-3570k at stock with "primespersec" : 129, yet nothing for 24 hours. Surely I am not this unlucky, am I? The processor utilization is actually at about 100% too, so I am surely mining. Anyone know what is going on?
You aren't the only one. I've got none today.

There's a lot of luck involved from what I understand. You won't be able to get a clear picture till you've got a week or more's worth of data. You could get 0 for 48 hours, then get 10 in 3 hours.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
edn247
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:25:08 AM
Last edit: July 09, 2013, 07:28:56 AM by edn247
 #747

Found 2 primes on Asus i7-3630 2.4 Laptop (Gets about 30khash/sec scrypt mining)

http://primecoin.21stcenturymoneytalk.org/index.php?block_hash=6e1951488ca06961e12d2ac6dc27fce9974b847f20d49da457f9dff0e919404c

http://primecoin.21stcenturymoneytalk.org/index.php?block_hash=44fc900fba3199ba4d658ab19a71bdca83e1402b441100754c074924c362eeca

Code:
00:21:35

{
"blocks" : 1051,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 0,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}


00:25:40

getmininginfo


00:25:40

{
"blocks" : 1061,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 17,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}


07:52:44

getmininginfo


07:52:44

{
"blocks" : 1840,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 129,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}


15:59:25

getmininginfo


15:59:25

{
"blocks" : 2731,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 143,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}


22:12:42

getmininginfo


22:12:42

{
"blocks" : 3488,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 212,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Absolutely nothing on Core2 6660 2.4 with around 4-12 PPS (7khash/sec scrypt)

Gonna try the luck of an old Toshiba Centrino Duo laptop...  who knows, it only gets about 4khash/sec with scrypt)

Is there any info on mining with more than one machine through a single wallet?  I am looking...
pollard86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 05:31:48 AM
 #748

Found my first block with Core i7-920, 110 Primes/Sec

96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 05:53:26 AM
 #749

Hm....No blocks in almost 12 hours, then I closed the RDP on the 3 spare computers I have and 3 blocks found in 40 minutes Smiley.
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 06:04:53 AM
 #750

Here is another screenshot showing the unpredictableness of this.



Specs: I5-3570k at first with just 3 threads, now 4 for the past ten hours or so. Running a VM in the background though, and the CPU utilization is around 99%. Windows 8 64 bit.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 06:41:09 AM
 #751

PrimeCoin block time differences, clipping the first two.




The fit line is y = -0.005740965 * x + 45.7769270

The mean is much lower than the fit line, at 36.02s.

Thanks for the chart rethaw  Smiley
It would be interesting to sample the outlying block intervals to see if there are characteristics of the preceding block's hash that made it harder/easier to match with a prime chain. I know this isn't an influencing factor for SHA256/scrypt block chains, but it could be for prime?

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 07:05:29 AM
Last edit: July 09, 2013, 08:04:10 AM by rethaw
 #752

Thanks for the chart rethaw  Smiley
It would be interesting to sample the outlying block intervals to see if there are characteristics of the preceding block's hash that made it harder/easier to match with a prime chain. I know this isn't an influencing factor for SHA256/scrypt block chains, but it could be for prime?

Not 100% sure I understand what you're asking. In any case, here are some more graphs!







These are for blocks that took over a minute. Prime length should not affect the distribution.



I believe the largest prime from PrimeCoin so far is at the end of the chain in block 2300:

Code:
2983034094611542121596301414058527958711245714618598604163414632928900282521238919746528173794472836574126605432250991658363610215016835715962272856246331623711966217347061694853214899364381047894368962069141292529959363126383581333438895359

maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 08:33:07 AM
 #753

What an amazing launch, and community involvement.

You got my attention.

I'm in.
Praxis
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1114
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 08:48:43 AM
 #754

What an amazing launch, and community involvement.

You got my attention.

I'm in.

Sunny King is the real McCoy




Also,

Quote
"category" : "immature",
        "amount" : 20.04000000,
        "confirmations" : 2847,

How many confirmations does it take for it to mature?
bidji29
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 08:56:15 AM
 #755

it's 3200


What file i need to modify to optimize the mining? It's the makefile?

http://www.freebieservers.com/  100% FREE GAME SERVERS
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 08:58:38 AM
 #756

Best launch of all the altcoins i have been involved in.

1. No pre-mine. Since i got the first block  Cool
2. EC2 Coinhoardering did not work as planned :/
3. Diff started right. Little orphans.
4. Even spread of blocks between users?

Ill buy all your coins for for 1LTC per 100! Smiley

Bitrated user: blastbob.
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 08:59:14 AM
 #757

Why don't I have any addresses? do I make one up? I can't even add one.


getprimespersec: 334
Mining on i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz

Looking good Grin

Update:
Got my first block with 20.38 XPM reward!

How did you get this??? nice! I am on the same CPU but I am getting 60..

any tips on this people?
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 09:02:09 AM
 #758

getprimespersec: 334
Mining on i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz

Looking good Grin

Update:
Got my first block with 20.38 XPM reward!

How did you get this??? nice! I am on the same CPU but I am getting 60..

any tips on this people?
What are your settings? gen=1 in the conf?
Sometimes it takes a few minutes for the number to ramp up to a certain number, though 334 is quite a lot.... I've noticed that doesn't translate to better results, though (yet). My bad computer is finding more than double what my good computer is finding. Shouldn't worry about the number just yet.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:04:35 AM
Last edit: August 06, 2013, 05:47:22 AM by maco
 #759

getprimespersec: 334
Mining on i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz

Looking good Grin

Update:
Got my first block with 20.38 XPM reward!

How did you get this??? nice! I am on the same CPU but I am getting 60..

any tips on this people?
What are your settings? gen=1 in the conf?
Sometimes it takes a few minutes for the number to ramp up to a certain number, though 334 is quite a lot.... I've noticed that doesn't translate to better results, though (yet). My bad computer is finding more than double what my good computer is finding. Shouldn't worry about the number just yet.

Not sure... I will double check.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 09:14:56 AM
 #760

getprimespersec: 334
Mining on i5-2500K @ 3.30GHz

Looking good Grin

Update:
Got my first block with 20.38 XPM reward!

How did you get this??? nice! I am on the same CPU but I am getting 60..

any tips on this people?
What are your settings? gen=1 in the conf?
Sometimes it takes a few minutes for the number to ramp up to a certain number, though 334 is quite a lot.... I've noticed that doesn't translate to better results, though (yet). My bad computer is finding more than double what my good computer is finding. Shouldn't worry about the number just yet.

Not sure... I will double check. Yeah that is great results 334 is a lot!

Btw, I am getting this problem:


What's the issue? You didn't enter an address.... Are you trying to get a receiving address? That's in the 'Receive' tab. Addresses is if you want to save an address (like an exchange), like a contact list.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!