Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:36:59 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:23:00 AM
 #761

@TheSpiral

wow. I forgot.. I am not pool mining. Duh!

Thanks for the help. Also, where is the conf file at?

and if you don't mind sharing... what is your CPU & current setgenerate -X at?
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
1619177819
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177819

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177819
Reply with quote  #2

1619177819
Report to moderator
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:32:17 AM
 #762

Does anyone recommend overclocking a CPU?  This is my processor: http://ark.intel.com/products/52210/Intel-Core-i5-2500K-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_70-GHz

It's currently at 3.3 GHz and the Max Turbo Frequency    3.7 GHz

Anyone recommend boosting it for the Max Turbo? and do you believe that will help?
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1015



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:35:39 AM
 #763

Since i got the first block  Cool

Can you please remind us of that AGAIN more often. Every few hours at least.  Cool

TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 09:36:26 AM
 #764

@TheSpiral

wow. I forgot.. I am not pool mining. Duh!

Thanks for the help. Also, where is the conf file at?

and if you don't mind sharing... what is your CPU & current setgenerate -X at?
Looks like you're on Windows 7. Easiest way to get to where the conf is is just by typing this in your explorer address bar: %appdata%/Primecoin
It probably won't be there, just make a new blank file and call it primecoin.conf (right click > New > Text Document)
I don't use setgenerate, I just put gen=1 in the conf, similar effect, just don't have to type anything when you start the client.

Final primecoin.conf file will look something like:
Code:
rpcuser=x
rpcpassword=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1

Obviously, change user/pass to your liking.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
drawingthesun
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1003


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:39:50 AM
 #765

Does anyone recommend overclocking a CPU?  This is my processor: http://ark.intel.com/products/52210/Intel-Core-i5-2500K-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_70-GHz

It's currently at 3.3 GHz and the Max Turbo Frequency    3.7 GHz

Anyone recommend boosting it for the Max Turbo? and do you believe that will help?

I might be wrong, but due to variance at the moment I don't think its worth risking the CPU. Your chance will be higher, but not by much.

Also remember if you overclock and the CPU crashes you will have to restart the computer, that downtime will most likely erode all the advantage you wanted by overclocking.

My advice: wait until there is a pool where overclocking will make proper gains and you can determine the correct allowable downtime rate from crashes correctly.
Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:41:54 AM
 #766

Been mining since for about 20 hours and I've found 1 bloc after about 14 hours nothing since but only running i5 at 50-75% depending on what I'm doing on my laptop.
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:46:35 AM
 #767

Does anyone recommend overclocking a CPU?  This is my processor: http://ark.intel.com/products/52210/Intel-Core-i5-2500K-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_70-GHz

It's currently at 3.3 GHz and the Max Turbo Frequency    3.7 GHz

Anyone recommend boosting it for the Max Turbo? and do you believe that will help?

I might be wrong, but due to variance at the moment I don't think its worth risking the CPU. Your chance will be higher, but not by much.

Also remember if you overclock and the CPU crashes you will have to restart the computer, that downtime will most likely erode all the advantage you wanted by overclocking.

My advice: wait until there is a pool where overclocking will make proper gains and you can determine the correct allowable downtime rate from crashes correctly.

Awesome feedback. I think you are right.. might even risk issues down the road, or possibly replacing the CPU.

Thanks!
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:48:05 AM
 #768

@TheSpiral

wow. I forgot.. I am not pool mining. Duh!

Thanks for the help. Also, where is the conf file at?

and if you don't mind sharing... what is your CPU & current setgenerate -X at?
Looks like you're on Windows 7. Easiest way to get to where the conf is is just by typing this in your explorer address bar: %appdata%/Primecoin
It probably won't be there, just make a new blank file and call it primecoin.conf (right click > New > Text Document)
I don't use setgenerate, I just put gen=1 in the conf, similar effect, just don't have to type anything when you start the client.

Final primecoin.conf file will look something like:
Code:
rpcuser=x
rpcpassword=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
gen=1
server=1
daemon=1

Obviously, change user/pass to your liking.

Awesome! Thanks for that. This is exactly what I was looking for. Bam!

Aggrophobia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:57:31 AM
 #769

the rate how blocks are generated now is exploding oO
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 09:59:34 AM
 #770

the rate how blocks are generated now is exploding oO

What stats are you showing?


03:00:23
getinfo

03:00:23
{
"version" : "v0.1.0xpm-beta",
"protocolversion" : 70001,
"walletversion" : 60000,
"balance" : 0.00000000,
"blocks" : 4120,
"moneysupply" : 80851.52000000,
"timeoffset" : 2,
"connections" : 8,
"proxy" : "",
"testnet" : false,
"keypoololdest" : 1373359861,
"keypoolsize" : 96,
"paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
"unlocked_until" : 0,
"errors" : ""
}
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:01:22 AM
 #771

the rate how blocks are generated now is exploding oO

because some people made their own configs/miners. This is normal. Soon someone will go public.
ManBearPig
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


"Don't go in the trollbox, trollbox, trollbox"


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:03:18 AM
 #772

After my initial luck finding 7 blocks, I've got nothing in the last 16 hours.

i7-3770K stock settings, 8 cores, 160-200 PPS while I'm using the PC for browsing.

Sunny King: how's this going so far from your point of view?

I tweet crypto nonsense: https://twitter.com/DunningKruger_
E.Sam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 393
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:07:29 AM
 #773

My first solo mined coin

Was starring at screen, wondering if anything would actually happen... and 18.77 XPM just appeared :]

Took me 6:30 hours on a iMac 3.4GH i7
Buratino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1151
Merit: 1003


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:10:47 AM
 #774

My results after 36 hours mining:
1. i5 2500K at 100% CPU load (setgenerate true -1) found only 2 blocks in first 4 hours. And nothing. PPS value is between 30 and 140
2. i3 2100 at 75% CPU load (setgenerate true 3) found 5 blocks. Last block found 6 hours ago. PPS value is between 1 and 73.

It seems that mining is more effective when prime computations shouldn't take all CPU power.

shermozle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:16:48 AM
 #775

How do I report bugs? There's no Issues on the github repo.

I mined a block yesterday (yay) and the transaction still says this. It's contradictory:

Code:
Status: 2830 confirmations, broadcast through 4 nodes
Date: 8/07/13 18:59
Source: Generated
Credit: 19.98 XPM (matures in 370 more blocks)
Net amount: 0.00 XPM
Transaction ID: c6effe212e5d1888a30d0a18d8d77c2fe855bc38e354bdd87a6142a12551b358

Generated coins must mature 120 blocks before they can be spent. When you generated this block, it was broadcast to the network to be added to the block chain. If it fails to get into the chain, its state will change to "not accepted" and it won't be spendable. This may occasionally happen if another node generates a block within a few seconds of yours.

So it says I need 120 blocks to use it, that's a couple hours. But it also says "matures in 370 more blocks". Regardless, it hasn't matured anyway.
n4ru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:18:01 AM
 #776

After your Primecoins mature, feel free to PM me with offers. Will pay for in BTC.  Nothing ridiculous though.  I'm not paying 0.01 BTC per XPM.  Looking for bulk purchase.  

Then you ain't getting a single damned XPM, cause these things are really hard to mine and maturation time is ouch slow. They're worth it.
Someone please make cryptocoin that requires Amiga1200 for mining. There are many retards here, that will pay serious money for AmigaCoins.  Grin
Too many people would just emulate the hardware Sad

ETH-Nova - Fully Automated OC/PL/P-state/Mining/Monitoring for Windows
ETH: 0x00972cd6a2c6786afbcc24ca592b8c86f33f747a / BTC: 1n4ruYy5QWbTDBbPEyBRWwj1Ni4U4Sz5P
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2877


Terminated.


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 10:28:27 AM
 #777

After my initial luck finding 7 blocks, I've got nothing in the last 16 hours.

i7-3770K stock settings, 8 cores, 160-200 PPS while I'm using the PC for browsing.

Sunny King: how's this going so far from your point of view?

Dude especially if your using ur I7 to multitask.. use "true 4"   my 3770k is @ true 4 and check it.. since the day of release here's what i got's!

somebody wanted proof of a transaction? i was on the phone with them.. they got it literally in a few seconds


damn you lucky bro Cheesy

"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
😼 Bitcoin Core (onion)
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:29:17 AM
 #778

After my initial luck finding 7 blocks, I've got nothing in the last 16 hours.

i7-3770K stock settings, 8 cores, 160-200 PPS while I'm using the PC for browsing.

Sunny King: how's this going so far from your point of view?

Dude especially if your using ur I7 to multitask.. use "true 4"   my 3770k is @ true 4 and check it.. since the day of release here's what i got's!

somebody wanted proof of a transaction? i was on the phone with them.. they got it literally in a few seconds



Nice stats!
cryptrol
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 637
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:32:52 AM
 #779

Well, money supply is growing really fast, so there must be some "lucky" people mining this ...

Quote
"moneysupply" : 82239.50000000,

Blockexplorer where are you ?
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 10:54:36 AM
 #780

Well, money supply is growing really fast, so there must be some "lucky" people mining this ...

Quote
"moneysupply" : 82239.50000000,

Blockexplorer where are you ?

http://www2.crypto-expert.com/primecoin/ (but it's down ATM - could this be primecoins first DDOS?)

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!