Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 11:39:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1012



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 03:27:09 AM
 #721

can anyone help me and tell me why this is so low please ?
"blocks" : 3244,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 1,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false

use setgenerate true 2

or 4 for 4 cores.. use the number of physical cores you have.. without the "-"
do i need to do this i have 32 cores but my pps is 1 something is not right

WAIT a minute, let me guess, four 8 core opterons?
1619177963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177963
Reply with quote  #2

1619177963
Report to moderator
1619177963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177963
Reply with quote  #2

1619177963
Report to moderator
1619177963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177963
Reply with quote  #2

1619177963
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619177963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619177963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619177963
Reply with quote  #2

1619177963
Report to moderator
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:30:54 AM
 #722

76c on a 3770k is chilly drummer guy...jus sayin.
Up to 90c is perfectly fine.
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:33:27 AM
 #723

This does not make any sense, the diff has not even risen enough yet.

I mined two blocks roughly 3 hours apart and for the next 24 hours ago I get no mined blocks. I am using an I5-3570k at stock with "primespersec" : 129, yet nothing for 24 hours. Surely I am not this unlucky, am I? The processor utilization is actually at about 100% too, so I am surely mining. Anyone know what is going on?
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:33:35 AM
 #724

First transaction has been made

I believe that is this block
With a transaction for 19.13 XPM

But was it for pizza?

MayDee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:36:54 AM
 #725

This does not make any sense, the diff has not even risen enough yet.

I mined two blocks roughly 3 hours apart and for the next 24 hours ago I get no mined blocks. I am using an I5-3570k at stock with "primespersec" : 129, yet nothing for 24 hours. Surely I am not this unlucky, am I? The processor utilization is actually at about 100% too, so I am surely mining. Anyone know what is going on?


I got my first block after 23 hours of mining at 120 PPS...
romerun
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1001


Bitcoin is new, makes sense to hodl.


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:42:30 AM
 #726

alright we need a new website for primecoin.org, let's not get into the same mistake again.
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:50:13 AM
 #727

This does not make any sense, the diff has not even risen enough yet.

I mined two blocks roughly 3 hours apart and for the next 24 hours ago I get no mined blocks. I am using an I5-3570k at stock with "primespersec" : 129, yet nothing for 24 hours. Surely I am not this unlucky, am I? The processor utilization is actually at about 100% too, so I am surely mining. Anyone know what is going on?


I got my first block after 23 hours of mining at 120 PPS...


I just got my third block now, it seems every time after I post here I get a block, hah.
glendall
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1004


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 03:51:48 AM
 #728

It's so nice to be able to CPU mine a coin again.

Makes me nostalgic!

And a good work out for my i3 which has been pretty idle recently.
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2013, 03:57:30 AM
 #729

can anyone help me and tell me why this is so low please ?
"blocks" : 3244,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 1,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false

use setgenerate true 2

or 4 for 4 cores.. use the number of physical cores you have.. without the "-"
do i need to do this i have 32 cores but my pps is 1 something is not right

big rigs are nerfed. go mine on a regular computer like everyone else.

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:09:42 AM
 #730

Block spacing appears to be steady in a range of 30-40 seconds, the increases in difficulty are keeping it in this range for now. However, if an optimized miner with a large improvement in prime generation speed was released (ahem luke-jr's BFGminer) then I would expect to see a block spacing of ~10 seconds and the difficulty would take days to catch up.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1026



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:14:22 AM
 #731

Block spacing appears to be steady in a range of 30-40 seconds, the increases in difficulty are keeping it in this range for now. However, if an optimized miner with a large improvement in prime generation speed was released (ahem luke-jr's BFGminer) then I would expect to see a block spacing of ~10 seconds and the difficulty would take days to catch up.
Too bad nobody is doing altcoin releases sensibly in this area.
There should be a minimum difficulty set high enough that it doesn't go through a rush like this.
Bitcoin didn't break difficulty 1 for months (if not longer).

8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:33:13 AM
 #732

Block spacing appears to be steady in a range of 30-40 seconds, the increases in difficulty are keeping it in this range for now. However, if an optimized miner with a large improvement in prime generation speed was released (ahem luke-jr's BFGminer) then I would expect to see a block spacing of ~10 seconds and the difficulty would take days to catch up.
Too bad nobody is doing altcoin releases sensibly in this area.
There should be a minimum difficulty set high enough that it doesn't go through a rush like this.
Bitcoin didn't break difficulty 1 for months (if not longer).

True, on the other hand if Sunny had released the default client with a difficulty of 8 then blocks would have been spaced >60 seconds and difficulty would have adjusted slowly downwards. Based on his benchmarking before release he must have been happy that 7 was the right place to start.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
RustyShackleford1950
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:38:12 AM
 #733

Block spacing appears to be steady in a range of 30-40 seconds, the increases in difficulty are keeping it in this range for now. However, if an optimized miner with a large improvement in prime generation speed was released (ahem luke-jr's BFGminer) then I would expect to see a block spacing of ~10 seconds and the difficulty would take days to catch up.
Too bad nobody is doing altcoin releases sensibly in this area.
There should be a minimum difficulty set high enough that it doesn't go through a rush like this.
Bitcoin didn't break difficulty 1 for months (if not longer).

True, on the other hand if Sunny had released the default client with a difficulty of 8 then blocks would have been spaced >60 seconds and difficulty would have adjusted slowly downwards. Based on his benchmarking before release he must have been happy that 7 was the right place to start.

There's also the fact that he'd need to take into consideration whether someone of questionable morals was going to release a miner that mines 10x or 100x what he expected. How can that be predicted, andeven if it could be predicted, how could the timing of it be predicted? It's just not practical. Out of the many releases, this was a good one.

On keyboard, the big d, rusty shackleford
GSnak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:39:15 AM
 #734

Are we at the point yet where 100pps puts you at higher odds of being struck by lightning?
inbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:43:39 AM
Last edit: July 09, 2013, 05:29:44 AM by inbox
 #735

Block spacing appears to be steady in a range of 30-40 seconds, the increases in difficulty are keeping it in this range for now. However, if an optimized miner with a large improvement in prime generation speed was released (ahem luke-jr's BFGminer) then I would expect to see a block spacing of ~10 seconds and the difficulty would take days to catch up.
Too bad nobody is doing altcoin releases sensibly in this area.
There should be a minimum difficulty set high enough that it doesn't go through a rush like this.
Bitcoin didn't break difficulty 1 for months (if not longer).

True, on the other hand if Sunny had released the default client with a difficulty of 8 then blocks would have been spaced >60 seconds and difficulty would have adjusted slowly downwards. Based on his benchmarking before release he must have been happy that 7 was the right place to start.

If I am not mistaken, the starting difficulty was 6.
Sorry for the colors, I am using my vision enhancement nano-augmentations:


rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:50:40 AM
 #736

PrimeCoin block time differences, clipping the first two.




The fit line is y = -0.005740965 * x + 45.7769270

The mean is much lower than the fit line, at 36.02s.

Scott J
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:53:17 AM
 #737

Typing 'primespersec' in the console returns 'Method not found (code -32601)'. Anyone else getting this?

However, 'getmininginfo' shows:

{
"blocks" : 3449,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 2,
"primespersec" : 76,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

The CPU certainly sounds like it's mining! Though no blocks found over night  Sad
Chemisist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:53:55 AM
 #738

Unless I'm misreading the source code (which is certainly a possibility!), 6 is the minimum difficulty for primecoin and it started at 7:

lines 149-150 in prime.cpp

Code:
unsigned int nTargetInitialLength = 7; // initial chain length target
unsigned int nTargetMinLength = 6;     // minimum chain length target

additionally, looks like the initial and min difficulties on test net were 5 and 2, respectively. (lines 2730-2731 in main.cpp)

btc 1ChemaH12nRmd75M8BmPSiqd8x7B2wxFNF     ltc LaWX7jgJDyQ2oFaQYJvo5kqC1e1KYPoCfd     xpm Ab8NSgxHgGUJvHgSHYqMYBMWai6ZdsA91s
inbox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:54:57 AM
 #739

Unless I'm misreading the source code (which is certainly a possibility!), 6 is the minimum difficulty for primecoin and it started at 7:

lines 149-150 in prime.cpp

Code:
unsigned int nTargetInitialLength = 7; // initial chain length target
unsigned int nTargetMinLength = 6;     // minimum chain length target

additionally, looks like the initial and min difficulties on test net were 5 and 2, respectively. (lines 2730-2731 in main.cpp)

makes sense, my miner was not synced and wasn't mining at the time the command was sent.
dinominant
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2013, 04:56:42 AM
 #740

Gentoo ebuild of the daemon here, for the true believers. Modified from bitcoind 0.8.2 ebuild.

https://github.com/teknohog/ebuilds/tree/master/net-p2p/primecoind

+1 for you! It works and I'm actually showing non-zero pps on my 16-core opteron system now. It's only 1-2 primespersec but it's an improvement!

Code:
# primecoind getinfo
{
    "version" : "v0.1.0.0-g25659c1-beta",
    "protocolversion" : 70001,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 3458,
    "moneysupply" : 68334.18000000,
    "timeoffset" : 0,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1373223782,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
Code:
# primecoind getmininginfo
{
    "blocks" : 3459,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 1,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false
}
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!