Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2017, 03:19:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM]unofficial jhPrimeminer thread  (Read 173473 times)
wibtc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 03:47:37 PM
 #281

v4 v5 v6
Which version is best? Thanks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490800792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490800792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490800792
Reply with quote  #2

1490800792
Report to moderator
FoldingTime
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 04:42:23 PM
 #282

v4 v5 v6
Which version is best? Thanks.
For Windows v6 and Linux v4. These are just my test results and others will probably be different.

I suggest you do your own tests to find out what works best on your kit.
FoldingTime
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 05:22:05 PM
 #283

It works on Linux? Or do you still have to use Wine?
Yes, only works through wine on Linux. Performance is poor through wine so I solo mine now on Linux.
Qantaqa
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:07:17 PM
 #284

Mumus,

just fyi, your v6 is much faster then the current .4 version. I dont know where the differences are, but my shares in the pool more then halved since the change earlier today. And its not luck as it are more then 50 computers running which so far had a pretty steady rate even though it's off course slowly declining.

Ψ AP2L7mH6T3hBfbFe6BYhJAjQCpkp6Fe4mC
mumus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:18:20 PM
 #285

mumus, is there an IRC chatroom on freenode that people in this thread and use for discussion?  

I'm thinking of starting a mining hardware comparison page or something for primecoin.

With my A10-4600m, using the following settings for V6 AVX: -s 200000 -d 16 -t 4
I am managing between 25000-19000 PPS with 9.1 Val/h.. whatever that means.

The strange thing about the performance of my A10, is that i must disable Primorial Multiplier Auto Tunning, or it goes from its start up value of 67 (which is good for this cpu, as far as I can tell), down to 19.. which lowers PPS and Val/h.

Also, the startup tuning seems odd.  At parts of it, i have much higher PPS, but after awhile, it slows down... and its final value always seems to be slower.  Is there anyway we could get flags to disable the auto tuning, and manually program the L1cache value?  Also, another flag to disable Primorial Multiplier Auto Tunning on startup.  It simply doesn't work for my CPU.

I'm not sure what Val/h is, but my Core2 Duo downstairs is getting about the same, with much lower PPS.

If those two accounts on ypool do belong to you mumus, I am interested to hear what hardware you are mining with.

v6 AVX has been a champ for me on this machine.  I've gone from the 1900 PPS i could muster out of HP9, to this 20000 PPS setup, and I somehow managed to mine not 1, but two blocks lastnight!
Personally I rarely on any chat room, with a full time job and 3 kids I just simply can't.
The performance you have is indeed not so good. First the -s 200000 is too low I think. I got poor performance every time I set lower than 500000. I'm usually using 2000000.
Regarding to PPS I rarely using as a reference. First I'm checking the 4ch/h and I'm trying to tune to max. Then based on longer test period I try to go for maxing out 5ch/h or 6ch/h, depending how fast is the computer. on a slow machine 6ch/h  must be measured for too long time to overcome the random factor.
The startup tuning works well with higher sieve size and higher SievePercentage. No wonder that it's odd for -s 200000 -d 16.
Those two accounts you mentioned (unfortunately) doesn't belongs to me as I also write in one of my previous post. Regarding to hardware I use i7 3770 for development and I've just started some testing on AMD Opteron 4180 which meantime doesn't performs so well. I expected much more per core.
Right now I'm working on a new release with some of the features that you requested and I'll publish the code but I don't want to build the binaries yet. Some more testing needs to be done.
baloo_kiev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 11:04:37 PM
 #286

v4 v5 v6
Which version is best? Thanks.
For Windows v6 and Linux v4. These are just my test results and others will probably be different.

I suggest you do your own tests to find out what works best on your kit.

I confirm this. On wine, v4 does better than any other miner, including hp9. Also, more than 6 threads per process cause decrease in performance. Probably I could get more rate with hp9 but running 8 instances of it on my 48-core node would be pain in the ass (8 virtual machines, 8 wallets, 8 blockchain copies etc.)

P.S. Unfortunately, jhPrimeminer crashes when I try to point it to my local node with getwork.

PGP: 6EC48BA7
Welcome to my p2pool: BTC
elvisrene
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 11:16:59 PM
 #287

Thanks for the miner men great job will be sending you a tip soon
Tripjammer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 377


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 01:20:04 AM
 #288

Mumus you are the man bro! V6 works like a champ! It's the fastest so far. Keep up the good work!

BB Addy: SL5C5T534DJYGLNSHTSVIPK6JXLBXNTI
BTC Addy: 12MHdEuwDnWFCXxkdoeqAvK7KUvVMowpvP
dma88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 01:28:55 AM
 #289

i'm on an amd phenom x6.. I was solo mining for a few weeks at about 2-3000pps.  I tried out ypool right when it began, got like 300pps, so I was like f this.  today, I tried v4, got val/h of 1.7 & 5000pps.  now trying v6: val/h 8 and pps ~22000!  way better.
mumus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:06:34 PM
 #290

Hi,
A minor release to fix some of the problems we encountered lately and some features mostly for advanced users. As usual this version is not well tested, (time issue). The source is on github.
1. Implemented some kind of heartbeat monitoring, if a thread get stuck it's automatically restarted. Hopefully this will resolve the problem some of you reported that after a while the mining speed is dropped.
2. By default the initial cache auto tuning is disabled. It can be enabled using the "-tune true" command line parameter or by pressing the 'c' button in the miner.
3. The size of L1CacheElements that the above mentioned auto tuning used to set, is by default 256000 and can be set using the '-c' parameter (must be between 64000 - 2000000 and multiply of 32)
4. The auto tuning for the round sieve percentage can be also disabled by specifying a fixed value for the primorialMultiplier with the '-m' parameter (must be between 5 - 1009 and should be a prime number)

I intentionally left out these new parameters from the help because these are intended for more advanced users.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1189851/jhPrimeminer-GMP-v7.zip
I won't post the AVX version because I think it has no performance gain. In case somebody saw any improvement with AVX let me know.
32bit - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1189851/jhPrimeminer-GMP-v7-32bit.zip

Edit: the 32 bit version is broken, don't use it until I'll find out what's the problem with it.

AVX - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1189851/jhPrimeminer-GMP-v7-AVX.zip
samos123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:09:45 PM
 #291

Weird stuff... I'm using v6 and the last 3 shares as soon as I find one I get disconnected.

08/11/13 - 16:08:09 - SHARE FOUND !!! (Th#: 2) ---  DIFF: 6.717313 - VAL: 0.100    >6
xpt: Disconnected, auto reconnect in 30 seconds
Sieve/Test ratio: 74.7 / 25.3 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 100.0 / 0.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 61
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 53
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 47
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 43

Anybody saw something similar?


Edit: It keeps happening now all the time, already like 5 times now at least and maybe some more times I didn't saw it.
colinistheman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:22:28 PM
 #292

Thanks for all your work mumus
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:35:44 PM
 #293

Weird stuff... I'm using v6 and the last 3 shares as soon as I find one I get disconnected.

08/11/13 - 16:08:09 - SHARE FOUND !!! (Th#: 2) ---  DIFF: 6.717313 - VAL: 0.100    >6
xpt: Disconnected, auto reconnect in 30 seconds
Sieve/Test ratio: 74.7 / 25.3 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 100.0 / 0.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 61
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 53
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 47
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 43

Anybody saw something similar?


Edit: It keeps happening now all the time, already like 5 times now at least and maybe some more times I didn't saw it.
I saw some disconnected messages a few minuets ago. But seems to not be doing that.
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:41:15 PM
 #294

Weird stuff... I'm using v6 and the last 3 shares as soon as I find one I get disconnected.

08/11/13 - 16:08:09 - SHARE FOUND !!! (Th#: 2) ---  DIFF: 6.717313 - VAL: 0.100    >6
xpt: Disconnected, auto reconnect in 30 seconds
Sieve/Test ratio: 74.7 / 25.3 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 100.0 / 0.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 61
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 53
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 47
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 43

Anybody saw something similar?


Edit: It keeps happening now all the time, already like 5 times now at least and maybe some more times I didn't saw it.
I saw some disconnected messages a few minuets ago. But seems to not be doing that.

I'm getting the same problem. My other miners are still working however, which his weird. I could not re-connect after disconnecting my miner and trying to connect again immediately. Don't know why. Help?
edn247
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 02:44:21 PM
 #295

Just noticed this for all interested:

http://community.ypool.net/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=58

Quote
v4mumusv6miner
inspired by this: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=…2704#msg2902704

both of the mumusminer accounts are one person. i did this because i can't see the xpm per worker and wanted to find out which version made more. v4 has found about 15 less blocks but has made more primecoins so far. v6 has stayed pretty close in xpm income to v4 but with a lot more solved blocks. based on the total xpm income for the past 36 hours, i have to say v4 makes the miner more primecoins and v6 solves a LOT more blocks for the pool.

there is an equal amount of processing power allocated to each version. both versions of the miner are running with default settings.

i am not mumu. those accounts are not getting shares from mumus version
of the pool miner. they are results from the actual miners running on windows machines that i set up myself.

you can check the results for newer blocks to see if the xpm payout ever becomes higher for v6 than for v4. i've only seen this happen a couple times in the past day or so, but the v4 income per block has been dropping the past couple of hours so it could change...especially if ypool increases the share value for higher chain counts.

i would post this in bitcointalk forums but i'd have to register an account and get out of newbie jail. if anyone reads this and feels like copying it to that thread, feel free to do so.

Allcoin Exchange  -  Truckcoin & Hyperstake Donations: pPRc7xibmjBEoSNqqSJukVmNwYKaavrNjx  
Undervalued community take-over coins: TECHcoin   FIREcoin  get them now while they're still cheap!
xTachibana
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:07:59 PM
 #296

Hi,
A minor release to fix some of the problems we encountered lately and some features mostly for advanced users. As usual this version is not well tested, (time issue). The source is on github.
1. Implemented some kind of heartbeat monitoring, if a thread get stuck it's automatically restarted. Hopefully this will resolve the problem some of you reported that after a while the mining speed is dropped.
2. By default the initial cache auto tuning is disabled. It can be enabled using the "-tune true" command line parameter or by pressing the 'c' button in the miner.
3. The size of L1CacheElements that the above mentioned auto tuning used to set, is by default 256000 and can be set using the '-c' parameter (must be between 64000 - 2000000 and multiply of 32)
4. The auto tuning for the round sieve percentage can be also disabled by specifying a fixed value for the primorialMultiplier with the '-m' parameter (must be between 5 - 1009 and should be a prime number)

I intentionally left out these new parameters from the help because these are intended for more advanced users.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1189851/jhPrimeminer-GMP-v7.zip
I won't post the AVX version because I think it has no performance gain. In case somebody saw any improvement with AVX let me know.
32bit - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1189851/jhPrimeminer-GMP-v7-32bit.zip

just downloaded and used, on the top when it starts it says v6 and autotune is still automatic Sad

https://cex.io/r/0/xtachibana/0/

1MQtqnSBKMEfucwVc5TMVvrK5UibDUFzWE   poor man, feel free to donate Sad
baloo_kiev
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:13:18 PM
 #297


And later in the same thread:
Quote
to compare numbers:

v4 has 41 blocks found and 409 primecoins credited to the account.
--basically even with solo mining if i add the donation to the total

v6 has 51 blocks found and 370 credited to the account
--obviously this version is MUCH better at finding blocks and better for the pool over all. unfortunately, the share handling is killing this miner's profit potential.

Strictly speaking, the highlighted can be put under doubt. Standard deviation for 46 found blocks is about 0.5*sqrt(46) = 3.39. For 99.7% confidence interval it's 3*SD = 10.17, so the two values are within error. Need some more testing.

PGP: 6EC48BA7
Welcome to my p2pool: BTC
dudeguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:23:14 PM
 #298

"500 - Internal server error.
There is a problem with the resource you are looking for, and it cannot be display"

http://ypool.net seems to be down. DDOS or updates/server restarts?

Edit: Lasted a brief moment. Everything back to normal.
bitwarrior
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 03:58:28 PM
 #299

Weird stuff... I'm using v6 and the last 3 shares as soon as I find one I get disconnected.

08/11/13 - 16:08:09 - SHARE FOUND !!! (Th#: 2) ---  DIFF: 6.717313 - VAL: 0.100    >6
xpt: Disconnected, auto reconnect in 30 seconds
Sieve/Test ratio: 74.7 / 25.3 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 100.0 / 0.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 61
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 59
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 53
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 47
Sieve/Test ratio: 0.0 / 100.0 %  - New PrimorialMultiplier: 43

Anybody saw something similar?


Edit: It keeps happening now all the time, already like 5 times now at least and maybe some more times I didn't saw it.

This same thing was happening to me..IDk whats the deal.. I dont think it has to do with your internet connection.

Mapuo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 713



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 04:11:09 PM
 #300

08/11/13 - 11:56:25 - SHARE FOUND !!! (Th#: 0) ---  DIFF: 7.195531 - VAL: 1.000
   >7
Invalid share
Reason: Share data time overflow

Edit:

Fixed

[18:18] MarcoPolo: i have seen Share data time overflow before. i have a machine mining with a bad cmos battery. so sometimes it looses its time settings. update the time to the correct date and time and it should be gone after a miner restart
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!