Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 03:47:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 316 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [TEK] TEKcoin Hi-PoS hybrid pos/pow no premine/ipo/ico  (Read 438991 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
jk9694
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 03:40:37 PM
 #1341

block decode error 22 on submitblock.

I am running nomp and I have other PoS coins working fine such as BCX.  I really want to get TEK up and running but I am not able to submit blocks as each one results in the error above.  Was hoping one of the devs could point me at a cause if possible?  I believe it is set to use text messages instead of json but I have tried both with the same results.

Kind of at a loss now but I have a good group of guys that want to mine this coin with me and help to promote if further.  Basically we love TEK.

Thanks for any assistance with this.

❘|❘ NEUFUND — Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment ❘|❘
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
1513568853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513568853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513568853
Reply with quote  #2

1513568853
Report to moderator
1513568853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513568853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513568853
Reply with quote  #2

1513568853
Report to moderator
1513568853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513568853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513568853
Reply with quote  #2

1513568853
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 04:21:31 PM
 #1342

Here is your answer.

https://github.com/rat4/blackcoin/commit/faec3751a07a657cdc4a2652fed85c52d053d4dc

This is the import part.
Quote
int64 nActualSpacing = pindexPrev->GetBlockTime() - pindexPrevPrev->GetBlockTime();
 if (nActualSpacing < 0)
 nActualSpacing = nTargetSpacing;

This fix will require a hard fork. It needs to be scheduled and old clients need altered.   If there is no alert key, then enough time should given to get people on the right fork.

I also suggest full testnet and mainnet testing before issuing it.  No I will not issue the fork myself, so please do not PM me about it. The lead developer needs to do this.

Good luck all.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
jk9694
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 04:27:36 PM
 #1343

Thanks Tranz...

I really appreciate the insight to the cause here.  So do you know which stratum proxy does work with TEK at this time?  I know that there are pools out there, just not sure what they are running.


❘|❘ NEUFUND — Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment ❘|❘
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
thundertoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 02, 2014, 05:12:36 PM
 #1344

Thank you Tranz for the info on the fix.



thundertoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 02, 2014, 05:30:10 PM
 #1345

so after some discussion about how this will go down, we need to try and calc how long its going to tak this pos block to pop at max posdiff. If we don't wait for it and do a rollback it will be much much more painful to many involved. 
Mike270
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 05:50:19 PM
 #1346

so after some discussion about how this will go down, we need to try and calc how long its going to tak this pos block to pop at max posdiff. If we don't wait for it and do a rollback it will be much much more painful to many involved. 
Hi thundertoe,
I don't see the need for a rollback - can't we just hard-fork in n blocks?
Thanks to this being a hybrid coin, we still have PoW blocks, so we can comfortably fork at any point in the future, no?

Kind regards
Mike
subSTRATA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 06:19:06 PM
 #1347

Just my 10 cent:
As far as I can tell, the last two proof-of-stake blocks were 467226 and 467227.
Block 467226 was set two hours into the future, i.e.
467225 blocktime 07/30/14 07:47:33 (PoW)
467226 blocktime 07/30/14 09:47:05 (PoS)
467227 blocktime 07/30/14 07:47:32 (PoS)

Presumably whoever mined that block had a system clock that was way off...

in main.cpp, nActualSpacing is calculated as the time that passed between the last two PoS blocks (which in this case would be negative!)
This value is then used for calculating block difficulty bnNew.
I'm not that much into the mechaincs of block difficulty, but I could imagine that this leads to an insanely high block difficulty for PoS minting (bnTargetLimit?)
Perhaps we need a failsafe for negative time between last two PoS blocks?

It can not be difficulty is calculated based on just 2 last blocks, that would be foolish. All cryptocoins use at least few hundred blocks for PoW and PoS difficulty retargeting.
And I totally doubt it took 467226 blocks for the first ever occurence of PoS block with timestamp in future.
jk9694
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile WWW
August 02, 2014, 06:56:59 PM
 #1348

OK, so I was definately wrong about Tranz's response being related to the block decode error 22 when using nomp.  Can anyone shed light on what is causing that?

❘|❘ NEUFUND — Re-Imagine ICOs | Connect off- and on-chain with equity tokens | Enjoy risk-free commitment ❘|❘
JOIN THE ICBM | JOIN THE DISCUSSION
Mike270
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 07:07:35 PM
 #1349

It can not be difficulty is calculated based on just 2 last blocks, that would be foolish. All cryptocoins use at least few hundred blocks for PoW and PoS difficulty retargeting.
And I totally doubt it took 467226 blocks for the first ever occurence of PoS block with timestamp in future.
Well, tranz' fix addresses just that by setting it to zero when it gets negative.
Since it also does some other calculations, it does not yet have a huge impact when it's only slightly negative.
presstab
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Pivx Core Developer - HyperStake Founder


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 07:42:43 PM
 #1350

Just my 10 cent:
As far as I can tell, the last two proof-of-stake blocks were 467226 and 467227.
Block 467226 was set two hours into the future, i.e.
467225 blocktime 07/30/14 07:47:33 (PoW)
467226 blocktime 07/30/14 09:47:05 (PoS)
467227 blocktime 07/30/14 07:47:32 (PoS)

Presumably whoever mined that block had a system clock that was way off...

in main.cpp, nActualSpacing is calculated as the time that passed between the last two PoS blocks (which in this case would be negative!)
This value is then used for calculating block difficulty bnNew.
I'm not that much into the mechaincs of block difficulty, but I could imagine that this leads to an insanely high block difficulty for PoS minting (bnTargetLimit?)
Perhaps we need a failsafe for negative time between last two PoS blocks?

It can not be difficulty is calculated based on just 2 last blocks, that would be foolish. All cryptocoins use at least few hundred blocks for PoW and PoS difficulty retargeting.
And I totally doubt it took 467226 blocks for the first ever occurence of PoS block with timestamp in future.

Look at GetNextTargetRequired() closer. Do the math, the tipping point isn't at nactualspacing=0.  Although setting nactualspacing to bottom out at 0 does solve the problem.

presstab's Block Explorer Service | Only $10/mo for most coins! | Richlist w/ Address Claim | Market Cap Charts | Stake Weight Tracking | PoS % Rate Tracking
PIVX - Private Instant Verified Tx | HyperStake - Fun & Easy High Reward Staking
jdhatch
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
August 02, 2014, 10:09:47 PM
 #1351

Look at GetNextTargetRequired() closer. Do the math, the tipping point isn't at nactualspacing=0.  Although setting nactualspacing to bottom out at 0 does solve the problem.

presstab - I do appreciate you trying to help get this problem solved.

Thanks,
Jason

If you want to get rid of some TEK - Bq9f1oKp9FenRkJjQxSnQPBx9JfJ7yLnXG
aaronllewellyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 04:48:30 AM
 #1352

so to stake coins do you just leave them in your TEKcoin wallet? is there a special selection or setting to stake coins? I have always traded TEK and never actually left it in my wallet.
siamcoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 05:14:33 AM
 #1353

can not download the chain

qt is fubar?
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 05:24:41 AM
 #1354

can not download the chain

qt is fubar?

Other than the staking issue that's being worked on, no. Not sure what's going wrong for you, but the chain is fine.

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
johan11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
August 03, 2014, 06:53:37 AM
 #1355

I have 30 plus 3 days old coins in a wallet, but no stake. Weigt of coin is 0. Wallet unlock and still online. Where is the problem? Thanks for the advice.  Cry

Bad times make up strong men, strong men make up good times, good times make up the weak men, weak men up bad times ..... where we are now Huh??
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 07:12:13 AM
 #1356

I have 30 plus 3 days old coins in a wallet, but no stake. Weigt of coin is 0. Wallet unlock and still online. Where is the problem? Thanks for the advice.  Cry

You're certain of the dates and the weight? I've been three days into stake now, but the weight is gaining normally. I would start by redownloading the blockchain were it me, as that just seems odd. The PoS function is messed up right now, but the coins should be gaining weight if they are into the eligibility period.

Of course my understanding is limited. I don't know how to code worth a damn, so it's possible I'm wrong. But redownloading the blockchain surely won't harm anything.

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
johan11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
August 03, 2014, 07:43:15 AM
 #1357

i have small ammnount of coin, on 17.0 coin is now 10 weight at which weight the POS?

I have 30 plus 3 days old coins in a wallet, but no stake. Weigt of coin is 0. Wallet unlock and still online. Where is the problem? Thanks for the advice.  Cry

You're certain of the dates and the weight? I've been three days into stake now, but the weight is gaining normally. I would start by redownloading the blockchain were it me, as that just seems odd. The PoS function is messed up right now, but the coins should be gaining weight if they are into the eligibility period.

Of course my understanding is limited. I don't know how to code worth a damn, so it's possible I'm wrong. But redownloading the blockchain surely won't harm anything.

Bad times make up strong men, strong men make up good times, good times make up the weak men, weak men up bad times ..... where we are now Huh??
Biomech
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Anarchy is not chaos.


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 08:02:22 AM
 #1358

i have small ammnount of coin, on 17.0 coin is now 10 weight at which weight the POS?

I have 30 plus 3 days old coins in a wallet, but no stake. Weigt of coin is 0. Wallet unlock and still online. Where is the problem? Thanks for the advice.  Cry

You're certain of the dates and the weight? I've been three days into stake now, but the weight is gaining normally. I would start by redownloading the blockchain were it me, as that just seems odd. The PoS function is messed up right now, but the coins should be gaining weight if they are into the eligibility period.

Of course my understanding is limited. I don't know how to code worth a damn, so it's possible I'm wrong. But redownloading the blockchain surely won't harm anything.

It's highly variable. If you're gaining weight, the system is working.

However, right at the present moment, we have a problem with the POS being frozen. Dev is on it, we know how to solve it, so it's not terribly worrisome. As long as your coins are gaining weight, they will eventually stake and at the correct interest for the moment that they stake. Prior to this speed bump, my coins have staked between 300-400 weight. I'm currently at 434, which is the highest I've personally seen. I've been told of people having weights in the thousands before they stake, though. It will happen.

Buy Bitcoins with Paypal, Credit card, or other methods. Send me a PM or a text to 208-451-2665.
bestsponsor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
August 03, 2014, 09:39:09 AM
 #1359

POS does not work - reducing the coins sold on the stock exchange. The price can go up rapidly.

ofeefee
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843



View Profile
August 03, 2014, 01:48:15 PM
 #1360

I have 30 plus 3 days old coins in a wallet, but no stake. Weigt of coin is 0. Wallet unlock and still online. Where is the problem? Thanks for the advice.  Cry

You're certain of the dates and the weight? I've been three days into stake now, but the weight is gaining normally. I would start by redownloading the blockchain were it me, as that just seems odd. The PoS function is messed up right now, but the coins should be gaining weight if they are into the eligibility period.

Of course my understanding is limited. I don't know how to code worth a damn, so it's possible I'm wrong. But redownloading the blockchain surely won't harm anything.

my coins are gaining weight so that is working

Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 316 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!