Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2018, 05:08:42 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [FCN] Fantomcoin. CN based, anonymous. Merge mine with BCN, XMR, QCN, duck.  (Read 126124 times)
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 17, 2014, 05:39:31 AM
 #101

Hello, im pretty much new to this, I want to clear things: there is no gui wallet, like monero? dont you have to sync with ur network? with merged mining, I mine for both fantom and monero in a monero pool? Sry for being a noob, but seems interesting nonetheless

Right, there's no GUI wallet to date. If you want to merge mine, you'll need a wallet address for FCN and for one of the other coins (like BCN). To get a wallet address for each, you'll need to follow the instructions on the first page of this thread. I've copied those instructions below and added my commentary underneath each step in blue text that I hope is newb-friendly. I used Ubuntu 14.04 on a 64-bit system.

First of all be sure of two things:
    You have BCN or BMR address. If you don't know how to get it, please visit this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=544715
    You downloaded FantomCoin binaries and extracted them somewhere.
       I used the Linux binaries https://mega.co.nz/#!dNchULBa!V_3ym3FuwHx46ceMziehoo0UOvy4F3lImLGeGhvYPj0
        and extracted them to /home/ME/fantomcoin
       If you don't have the other coin's binaries (ByteCoin for my example), get those binaries from its site. I extracted mine to /home/ME/bytecoin


1. Launch Bytecoin's or Bitmonero's daemon and wait till its synchronization.
      I opened a Terminal and entered these commands:
            cd bytecoin
            ./launch bytecoind
      It may be a good idea to periodically type 'save' (without quotes) while it's downloading the blockchain. The ByteCoin blockchain took me 2-3 hours.
      The output in the Terminal will tell you when the blockchain has been downloaded (synched). Be sure to type "save" after you see that message.
      You need to do this before you can generate a BCN address.
      (All of this info can be found in the README file. It will tell you how to generate your address as well. For me, the README was located at /home/ME/bytecoin/README)


2. Start FantomCoin's daemon. The process is very similar to BCN's: launch command line, navigate to the right folder and launch fantomoind.exe .
   Use "save" command after synchronization.
      You can do this while the ByteCoin chain is downloading, or you can wait until it is done and then do this.
      I opened a separate Terminal and entered these commands:
            cd fantomcoin
            ./launch fantomcoind
      It may be a good idea to periodically type 'save' (without quotes) while it's downloading the blockchain. The Fantomcoin blockchain will take probably an hour or less to download.
      The output in the Terminal will tell you when the blockchain has been downloaded (synched). Be sure to type "save" after you see that message.
      You need to do this before you can generate a FCN address.
      (All of this info can be found in the README file. For me, the README was located at /home/ME/fantomcoin/README)
      

3. Create FCN's address. Again it is the same process as for BCN and BMR: open another instance of command line, navigate to Fantomcoin’s folder
   and generate new wallet with “simplewallet”.

simplewallet --generate-new-wallet=example_wallet.bin --pass=12345

Here “example_wallet.bin” is the name of the wallet (use .bin file extension) and “12345” is the password for your new wallet.

At this point, you should have both of your wallet addresses. To merge mine from the command line, continue below. If you'd rather use a GUI to mine, get the SoloMiner, which doesn't require you to have bytecoind and fantomcoind running (meaning you don't need to be downloading each blockchain), skip Step 4 and go to GUI Mining Instructions below.


4. One more command line is needed. Navigate to Fantomcoin's folder and launch minerc.exe using the next command:

minerc --node1=127.0.0.1:8081 --node2=127.0.0.1:24081 --wallet1=%your BCN or BMR address% --wallet2=%your FCN address%
    Do this after your wallets are created and saved. You can exit your wallets, but you need to have both bytecoind and fantomcoind running (in separate Terminals) before proceeding. As for the original example above, don't actually enter the percent signs. In the Ubuntu Terminal, my example is like this:
          ./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:8081 --node2=127.0.0.1:24081 --wallet1=your_BCN_or_BMR_address --wallet2=your_FCN_address
    I believe the default threads are 1, so if you want more than 1 thread, you'll need to specify as in the example above.

--node1=127.0.0.1:8081 is IP and BCN's daemon port. If you want MM with BMR you need to use this one: --node1=127.0.0.1:18081 instead
--node2=127.0.0.1:24081 is IP and FCN's  daemon port

5. Enjoy merged mining!

GUI Mining Instructions: Get and install SoloMiner http://solominer.org/. In my example, I'm MM with BCN and FCN. Open SoloMiner and select a Donor network and then paste in your Donor wallet address (in my case, BCN). Select a Donor host address other than the one starting with 127 (but use 127 if you are running bytecoind on the same machine and you want to download the blockchain while you mine).

Below that, for the Acceptor Network, select FCN and paste in your FCN address in the Acceptor wallet address. Select an Acceptor host address other than the one starting with 127 (but use 127 if you are running fantomcoind on the same machine and you want to download the blockchain while you mine).

Select your thread count and start MM!

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
1539968922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539968922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539968922
Reply with quote  #2

1539968922
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539968922
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539968922

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539968922
Reply with quote  #2

1539968922
Report to moderator
policymaker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

Crypto Currency Supporter


View Profile
May 17, 2014, 11:08:26 AM
 #102

that is helpful should be in OP, ty!

XCurrency Price Speculation Topic
Coin Control Basic guide                                                                XChat address/private/instant/absolute: XSKu1fpwvRcAekfK91qVHi51Tgz4ckoA91
XChat public key: zcfx74j4fFK9hW7rQniTvLyDyXd9SyRCrncP9vdukbVT
giveBTCpls
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 17, 2014, 04:17:58 PM
 #103

fantomcoin.org blocked by MBAM  Huh

amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 17, 2014, 04:50:52 PM
 #104

fantomcoin.org blocked by MBAM  Huh

Working fine on my end. Let me know if problem persists.

Thank you c789 for the instructions post. PM'd you back.

Also, SoloMiner MacOS (OSX) version added

Download here

GVanelly
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 253
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 05:45:01 PM
 #105

Thanks to c789 for the step by step introduction. This info is very useful for me!

PS I'm excited! I will need to try SoloMiner for Mac OS

c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 08:57:12 PM
 #106

Glad to help!

One of the great things about the Solominer is that, after you have set up your ByteCoin and Fantomcoin wallets on one computer, you can put the Solominer on any other computers you have, and those computers don't need to download any blockchains or have wallets on them. Just Solominer.

My setup (all 64-bit):

Computer 1 (dedicated miner): Ubuntu 14.04 desktop, A8 3.8GHz processor, running daemons for BCN and FCN, and has the wallets for BCN and FCN.  No Solominer.

Computer 2: (my home computer): Windows 7 desktop, i3 3GHz processor. Runs Solominer on 1 thread in the day while I'm using it, 2 threads at night.

Computer 3: (laptop): Xubuntu 14.04, i5 3GHz processor. Runs Solominer on 3 of the 4 threads. Mining on a laptop is NOT recommended. The only reason I do it is because I got this one really cheap and it came without a hard drive (runs Xubuntu from a USB flash drive). If it breaks, it breaks. 

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 12:30:12 PM
 #107

Giveaway is still active! There are no terms now - send your address a receive 0.5 FCN! Twits, reposts, etc. are still very much welcome! Grin
Find giveaway here

amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 03:33:35 PM
 #108

Translation bounty is also still up! 20 FCN for each translation! Grin

sussex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 19, 2014, 07:54:12 PM
 #109

Is this coin dying?

I can merge mine MRO with Fantom at 6 h/s or I can mine MRO on its own at 80+h/s.

Is this right? Is the fantomcoin miner that inefficient?
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 19, 2014, 08:23:29 PM
 #110

Is this coin dying?

I can merge mine MRO with Fantom at 6 h/s or I can mine MRO on its own at 80+h/s.

Is this right? Is the fantomcoin miner that inefficient?

I get the same hash rate if I use minerc or Solominer, so it sounds like some of your settings could be off. Can you post the commands you use to run each (merged vs just MRO)?

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 08:41:06 PM
 #111

Is this coin dying?

I can merge mine MRO with Fantom at 6 h/s or I can mine MRO on its own at 80+h/s.

Is this right? Is the fantomcoin miner that inefficient?

yes
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 20, 2014, 02:09:51 AM
 #112

I tried merged mining on Ubuntu 14.04 with minerc in the fantomcoin directory, and as soon as I ran this in one terminal:

Code:
./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:24081 --node2=127.0.0.1:18081 --wallet1=my_fantom_address --wallet2=my_monero_address

The terminal that was running bitmonerod gave off a lot of these errors, ending with the last line:

Code:
[RPC1]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0][sock 23] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Any idea what's causing this? I could MM with Bytecoin with minerc with no problems.

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:52:27 AM
 #113

I tried merged mining on Ubuntu 14.04 with minerc in the fantomcoin directory, and as soon as I ran this in one terminal:

Code:
./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:24081 --node2=127.0.0.1:18081 --wallet1=my_fantom_address --wallet2=my_monero_address

The terminal that was running bitmonerod gave off a lot of these errors, ending with the last line:

Code:
[RPC1]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0][sock 23] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Any idea what's causing this? I could MM with Bytecoin with minerc with no problems.

Will looking into it, thank you for the report. Wink

amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 09:42:19 AM
 #114

I tried merged mining on Ubuntu 14.04 with minerc in the fantomcoin directory, and as soon as I ran this in one terminal:

Code:
./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:24081 --node2=127.0.0.1:18081 --wallet1=my_fantom_address --wallet2=my_monero_address

The terminal that was running bitmonerod gave off a lot of these errors, ending with the last line:

Code:
[RPC1]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0][sock 23] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Any idea what's causing this? I could MM with Bytecoin with minerc with no problems.

First of all, try to update both of your clients.

Then, try to start it like this - ./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:18081 --node2=127.0.0.1:24081 --wallet1=your_monero_address --wallet2=your_fantom_address

btcjedi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 01:18:56 PM
 #115

Is this coin dying?

I can merge mine MRO with Fantom at 6 h/s or I can mine MRO on its own at 80+h/s.

Is this right? Is the fantomcoin miner that inefficient?

I guess u r using latest MRO version, right? With a new hash function? Last time FCN's hash was updated shortly after the MRO - I think we won't have to wait long for the new version.
c789
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 851
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 20, 2014, 02:55:44 PM
 #116

I tried merged mining on Ubuntu 14.04 with minerc in the fantomcoin directory, and as soon as I ran this in one terminal:

Code:
./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:24081 --node2=127.0.0.1:18081 --wallet1=my_fantom_address --wallet2=my_monero_address

The terminal that was running bitmonerod gave off a lot of these errors, ending with the last line:

Code:
[RPC1]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0][sock 23] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Any idea what's causing this? I could MM with Bytecoin with minerc with no problems.

First of all, try to update both of your clients.

Then, try to start it like this - ./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:18081 --node2=127.0.0.1:24081 --wallet1=your_monero_address --wallet2=your_fantom_address

That did it. Thanks!

Comparison of Privacy-Centric Coins: https://moneroforcash.com/monero-vs-dash-vs-zcash-vs-bitcoinmixers.php also includes Verge and Pivx
amphibian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 10

Thriving Cryptocurrency Market With Cryptobonds


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 03:34:08 PM
 #117

I tried merged mining on Ubuntu 14.04 with minerc in the fantomcoin directory, and as soon as I ran this in one terminal:

Code:
./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:24081 --node2=127.0.0.1:18081 --wallet1=my_fantom_address --wallet2=my_monero_address

The terminal that was running bitmonerod gave off a lot of these errors, ending with the last line:

Code:
[RPC1]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0]ERROR /home/ME/bitmonero/src/rpc/core_rpc_server.cpp:394 Failed to calculate offset for
[RPC0][sock 23] Some problems at write: Broken pipe:32

Any idea what's causing this? I could MM with Bytecoin with minerc with no problems.

First of all, try to update both of your clients.

Then, try to start it like this - ./minerc --threads=3 --node1=127.0.0.1:18081 --node2=127.0.0.1:24081 --wallet1=your_monero_address --wallet2=your_fantom_address

That did it. Thanks!

No problem. Let me know if you need any help. Smiley

fr0wn3r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 04:59:08 PM
 #118

Hi guys,

Can you tell me are there any differences in hash-rates if I use solo miner for FNC and QCN/BCN/MRO mining vs FNC and BCN/MRO GUI miner?
What is the most efficient way of mining FCN? Is it the command line way or one of the above.

And can you please tell me what is the current diff of the network?

Thanks in advance. Smiley
SunSeeder
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 05:09:01 PM
 #119

I had the same problem as c789

 amphibian, thanks for your willingness to help at any moment!
NoDreamsWatching
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 05:16:23 PM
 #120

Today I first time heard about the FCN. Can you tell me competitive advantages of this coin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!