Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:50:43 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [announce] Namecoin - a distributed naming system based on Bitcoin  (Read 317948 times)
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
May 01, 2011, 02:48:50 AM
 #161

subscribe thread.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942243
Reply with quote  #2

1480942243
Report to moderator
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2011, 08:27:34 AM
 #162

OK it looks like I have got the ATI driver (from the website) and the OpenCL (AMDAPPS SDK) installed ok and I even ran some samples OK and put export entries on my .bashrc file.

I think the driver that you install from the latest Kubuntu didn't work so well which explained some of my problems. The other way making sure the /'s were or were not there when I did my exports to get OpenCL working.

I have installed python-pyopencl  using apt-get and python jason-rpc from subversion and installed it.

Now I just wonder if I should test this out on bitcoin or go straight for namecoin. If I try namecoin first I will try the binaries again. I have never mined with a GPU before so this is exciting for me Smiley


18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2011, 08:51:26 AM
 #163

OK I went with the namecoin binary and I must be getting close but this is what I get now:

./namecoind =server& python poclbm.py -d --user un --pass pw
[1] 6142
error: couldn't connect to server
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in <module>
    from BitcoinMiner import *
  File "/home/chris/Downloads/namecoin/BitcoinMiner.py", line 8, in <module>
    from sha256 import *
ImportError: No module named sha256
[1]+  Exit 87                 ./namecoind =server


I am kind of using this guide (http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2636.0) but have tried to change all the things to get it to work for this.

Can you see what I am missing?


When I try using those instructions on normal bitcoin I get:

/bitcoin -server& python poclbm.py -d 0 --user un --pass pw
[1] 6450
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in <module>
    from BitcoinMiner import *
  File "/home/chris/Downloads/bitcoin-0.3.21/bin/64/BitcoinMiner.py", line 8, in <module>
    from sha256 import *
ImportError: No module named sha256

OK I just did wget --no-check-certificate https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/raw/master/sha256.py

then tried my command ./bitcoin -server& python poclbm.py -d 0 --user un --pass pw and now it says its downloading blocks.

I then stopped bitcoind and stared namecoind and ran my command again to start the bitcoin client and its given me a few errors but then it given me a k hash rate

XCEPTION: N5boost16exception_detail10clone_implINS0_19error_info_injectorINS_6system12sys tem_errorEEEEE       
Address already in use       
bitcoin in ThreadRPCServer()       

bitcoin: ../../src/xcb_io.c:140: dequeue_pending_request: Assertion `req == dpy->xcb->pending_request's failed

the hash rate is 140000 khash/s ish .. I assume it should be in mhash/s per second?

when I sudo it I don't get the errors but I get about the same hash rate

Whats the expected hash rate for an ATI 5770?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 01, 2011, 02:42:11 PM
 #164

guys:
mining works exactly like in bitcoin. if you're getting an error in your miner, either you didn't configure /namecoin/bitcoin.conf properly, or it's a problem with the miner you're using.

for a table of hash speeds, look over here:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
Alex Beckenham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 01:06:23 AM
 #165

Has anyone got this to work properly in WinXP?

Can the author(s) vouch for the alternative dropbox link for the .exe?

markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2011, 02:11:16 AM
 #166

Has anyone discussed the pro and con of using a totally capitalist model where you own the domain only until someone buys it from you by paying more for it than you are paying or have paid?

The general idea comes from a Robert A. Heinlein novel (Number of the Beast, if I recall correctly), though in the novel it was real estate and based on the appraised value you paiod taxes on instead of on wha you actually paid.

That is, if you are not willing to sell for less than X money, then you better pay taxes on it as if it were worth X money. Because however much you approaise it at for tax purposes is how much anyone who chooses to can take it from you for (by paying you that X money you claimed it was worth to you.)

-MarkM- (I wonder if hardcore capitalists actually like such models at all?)


Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 02:27:04 AM
 #167

Has anyone discussed the pro and con of using a totally capitalist model where you own the domain only until someone buys it from you by paying more for it than you are paying or have paid?

That's not a capitalist idea... Capitalists believe in property rights.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
cel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 05:07:47 AM
 #168

Here is a Mac OS X binary for namecoind. The first bitcoin thing I've actually been able to compile. Works for me on Leopard and Snow Leopard.

http://cl.ly/2D0S2Z0l082N1v1I0m2k
Alex Beckenham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
May 02, 2011, 05:27:42 AM
 #169

Here is a Mac OS X binary for namecoind. The first bitcoin thing I've actually been able to compile. Works for me on Leopard and Snow Leopard.

http://cl.ly/2D0S2Z0l082N1v1I0m2k

Does it format your drive and steal your wallet.dat?

Just curious, because I'm no good at compiling so have to find trustworthy bins.

dmp1ce
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2011, 07:02:59 AM
 #170

Has anyone got this to work properly in WinXP?

Can the author(s) vouch for the alternative dropbox link for the .exe?

The Dropbox link that I posted is legit, although somewhat outdated now.  I compiled it on Windows 7 with the code here: https://github.com/dmp1ce/namecoin/tree/win32  Let me know if it doesn't work for you.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2882613/Namecoin/namecoind.exe

BTCmon - Support great bitcoin apps
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 03, 2011, 02:54:24 AM
 #171

Are new Linux binaries going to be out soon?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
fornit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 989


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 06:33:56 PM
 #172

Has anyone got this to work properly in WinXP?

Can the author(s) vouch for the alternative dropbox link for the .exe?

The Dropbox link that I posted is legit, although somewhat outdated now.  I compiled it on Windows 7 with the code here: https://github.com/dmp1ce/namecoin/tree/win32  Let me know if it doesn't work for you.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2882613/Namecoin/namecoind.exe

tried it on windows 7 64bit. gets to "bitcoin server starting" and stays there.

2Fast2BCn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 07:06:56 PM
 #173

Has anyone got this to work properly in WinXP?

Can the author(s) vouch for the alternative dropbox link for the .exe?

The Dropbox link that I posted is legit, although somewhat outdated now.  I compiled it on Windows 7 with the code here: https://github.com/dmp1ce/namecoin/tree/win32  Let me know if it doesn't work for you.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2882613/Namecoin/namecoind.exe

tried it on windows 7 64bit. gets to "bitcoin server starting" and stays there.

Open a new command line window (while the other is still running) and type
namecoind.exe getinfo
fornit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 989


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
 #174

getinfo says this:

Quote
    "version" : 32100,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 1434,
    "connections" : 1,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 512.00781274,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1304454917,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""

connections increased to 7. so this is how its supposed to look?

grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 09:03:31 PM
 #175

7 connections is enough.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
fornit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 989


View Profile
May 03, 2011, 09:14:32 PM
 #176

ok, thanks.  Smiley trying to mine some namecoins now.

caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 03, 2011, 09:28:44 PM
 #177

My client says a couple of blocks have been accepted but it still says I have a zero balance.


{
    "version" : 32100,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 1434,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 512.00781274,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1304239256,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}


18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
May 03, 2011, 11:24:41 PM
 #178

My client says a couple of blocks have been accepted but it still says I have a zero balance.


{
    "version" : 32100,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 1434,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 512.00781274,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1304239256,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}


those "blocks" aren't necessarily yours. it's the block count of the entire network. If you did mine a block, it will take 100 confirmations (blocks appearing after it) for it to show up in your balance.

also:

Latest binaries (2011-05-03) last commit 13 hours ago
http://min.us/mveQeUf

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2011, 03:11:02 AM
 #179

Grue:

OK I just left it running overnight and the GPU temp is fine as long as I leave the side of my case off.

This is what I am seeing:

03/05/2011 20:30:35, 005a2e48, accepted                    
03/05/2011 23:18:48, 000eaa01, accepted                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
04/05/2011 07:16:58, 00167707, accepted                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
04/05/2011 07:22:27, 00376793, accepted                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        
04/05/2011 07:54:55, 00122d3a, accepted

So I assume this means my client says it has completed those blocks but is waiting for others to confirm it. I don't have port forwarding to open up more connections at the moment and have reservations about it. Is it possible the jail the daemon without any performance hit?

And that link with the binary didn't work for me.  OK I tried it again and it gives me ikRzdi.zip  that can't be right?

Anyway I have git cloned the source and will start installing the dependencies.

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2011, 04:54:15 AM
 #180

I just realised I had the -testnet switch on  Huh Angry *smacks palm on head*

so I canceled it and started it against without it.. but it's already saying:

04/05/2011 12:52:57, 0005f367, accepted

does namecoin recognise the testnet switch?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!