Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:31:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [announce] Namecoin - a distributed naming system based on Bitcoin  (Read 321415 times)
elpresidente
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 11, 2011, 09:39:28 PM
 #301

I'm very excited by the Namecoin project. I pointed ~300Mh/s at the network last night. By mid-morning today I had a message of "1 ACCEPTED" on my miner. Now when I use namecoind getinfo, I still see a 0.000000 balance. What's up with that? What am I missing?

You will be credited 50 NMC when the block you generated is confirmed. Your block is considered confirmed after 120 more blocks have been generated after yours. It takes about 18-20 hrs.

Ah. I understand. Thanks so much for the response.
-edit-
They have shown up in the getinfo request. Any idea why I would get an "Invalid Bitcoin Address" when I try to send them to exchange.bitparking.com with namecoind?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430667
Reply with quote  #2

1481430667
Report to moderator
1481430667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430667
Reply with quote  #2

1481430667
Report to moderator
1481430667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430667
Reply with quote  #2

1481430667
Report to moderator
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2011, 10:41:18 PM
 #302

Do you use an old build that only accept addresses starting with 1 ?

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 09:15:16 AM
 #303

In the meanwhile I have generated a block (after 12 hours @242Mhash so probably faster than expected).  I can see the balance now (4 hours after):

Code:
>namecoind.exe listtransactions
[
    {
        "account" : "",
        "category" : "generate",
        "amount" : 50.01000000,
        "confirmations" : 139,
        "txid" : "xxxxxxxxx",
        "time" : xxxxxxxx
    }
]

>namecoind getbalance
50.01000000

>namecoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32150,
    "balance" : 50.01000000,
    "blocks" : 11000,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 3767.78158122,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1307811754,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
But then I try to find out which of my adresses has the namecoins and I see that both have 0. How does this work?
Code:
namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true
[
    {
        "address" : "xxxxxxxx",
        "account" : "",
        "label" : "",
        "amount" : 0.00000000,
        "confirmations" : 0
    },
    {
        "address" : "xxxxxxxx",
        "account" : "this",
        "label" : "this",
        "amount" : 0.00000000,
        "confirmations" : 0
    }
]

MCWey8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58

[ Poor Miner ]


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:29:28 AM
 #304

I am having a issue with namecoid,

I am able to connect localhost with Ufasoft miner with -o http://127.0.0.1:8336 .. but if i try to connect to another computer on the network http://192.168.0.3:8336 it is unable to connect.. firewall is not blocking the port

I would just like to know if anyone else has had this issue.


since im CPU mining, solo mining (well single computer solo) is out for me already - 3767.78158122 difficulty Sad
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 10:37:41 AM
 #305

I am having a issue with namecoid,

I am able to connect localhost with Ufasoft miner with -o http://127.0.0.1:8336 .. but if i try to connect to another computer on the network http://192.168.0.3:8336 it is unable to connect.. firewall is not blocking the port

I would just like to know if anyone else has had this issue.


since im CPU mining, solo mining (well single computer solo) is out for me already - 3767.78158122 difficulty Sad
In your config file, add :
rpcallowip=<ip_of_your_remote_computer>

(you can add this option several times)

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 10:48:00 AM
 #306

In the meanwhile I have generated a block (after 12 hours @242Mhash so probably faster than expected).  I can see the balance now (4 hours after):

Code:
>namecoind.exe listtransactions

>namecoind getbalance
50.01000000

>namecoind getinfo

But then I try to find out which of my adresses has the namecoins and I see that both have 0. How does this work?
Code:
namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true

I don't see generated blocks too, with this command.
I only see them in listtransactions, which gives you the txid. You can paste this on blockexplorer to find your transaction then. But you don't really need to know on which address you received money. It's in your wallet and that's all that is important :p

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 10:57:26 AM
 #307

May be it's not important, but I'm trying to understand everything that is going on Smiley

So I went to http://explorer.dot-bit.org/ and copy pasted the tx of both blocks (I have 2 now already) I discovered. The "To address" of both is different and neither matches one of the two addresses I see when I type:

namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true

I'm pretty sure it are the right blocks though as the first is 50.01 and the second is 50 which is correct according to the "listtransactions" command. So I am probably looking at the wrong thing or not understanding something correctly.

elpresidente
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 11:58:28 AM
 #308

Do you use an old build that only accept addresses starting with 1 ?
Thanks. This was the problem. I had thought I had tried the most recent build by downloading it and using it to send. but I neglected to stop the running namecoind and start the new one first.

Thanks for the help!
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 12:19:11 PM
 #309

May be it's not important, but I'm trying to understand everything that is going on Smiley

So I went to http://explorer.dot-bit.org/ and copy pasted the tx of both blocks (I have 2 now already) I discovered. The "To address" of both is different and neither matches one of the two addresses I see when I type:

namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true

I'm pretty sure it are the right blocks though as the first is 50.01 and the second is 50 which is correct according to the "listtransactions" command. So I am probably looking at the wrong thing or not understanding something correctly.
Now that you know your addresses, use :
Code:
validateaddress <address>

And you should see "ismine: true".

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 12:27:27 PM
 #310

Yes they both say ismine: true.  Grin

I still don't understand why these addresses differ from the 2 addresses I get with: namecoind.exe listreceivedbyaddress 0 true

khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 02:52:32 PM
 #311

Default configuration in bitcoin/namecoin generate 100 addresses in your wallet. Some are visible, most are not. I guess generated blocks use non-visible addresses and doesn't set them as visible. We may consider this a minor bug ? :p

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
elpresidente
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:07:28 PM
 #312

Hey - Does anybody know of a way to show total hash rate with namecoind? For example, I have namecoind started and have connected to it with 2 miners, one on the same pc (gpu miner) and one from a pc outside my network. They both connected but I cannot tell if the one outside my network is actually contributing. It says it's connected but it's poclbm on ubuntu and it doesn't show any information aside from hash rate. Is there a way to see how many and what miners are connected to namecoind?
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:42:53 PM
 #313

Hey - Does anybody know of a way to show total hash rate with namecoind? For example, I have namecoind started and have connected to it with 2 miners, one on the same pc (gpu miner) and one from a pc outside my network. They both connected but I cannot tell if the one outside my network is actually contributing. It says it's connected but it's poclbm on ubuntu and it doesn't show any information aside from hash rate. Is there a way to see how many and what miners are connected to namecoind?
It must be
Code:
./namecoind gethashespersec
But here I just see 0... Thus I stopped mining namecoins until I'm sure it's a bug

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
elpresidente
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:05:25 PM
 #314

Hey - Does anybody know of a way to show total hash rate with namecoind? For example, I have namecoind started and have connected to it with 2 miners, one on the same pc (gpu miner) and one from a pc outside my network. They both connected but I cannot tell if the one outside my network is actually contributing. It says it's connected but it's poclbm on ubuntu and it doesn't show any information aside from hash rate. Is there a way to see how many and what miners are connected to namecoind?
It must be
Code:
./namecoind gethashespersec
But here I just see 0... Thus I stopped mining namecoins until I'm sure it's a bug
Yeah. I get 0 as well but I've found 2 blocks so that's not accurate. I'm wondering if that's if you start the server and hash at the same time (cpu mine) and then connect with gpu miner. GPU miner will show it's hash rate and gethashespersec will pull just that cpu hash rate. Not sure.
elpresidente
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:10:41 PM
 #315

Hey - Does anybody know of a way to show total hash rate with namecoind? For example, I have namecoind started and have connected to it with 2 miners, one on the same pc (gpu miner) and one from a pc outside my network. They both connected but I cannot tell if the one outside my network is actually contributing. It says it's connected but it's poclbm on ubuntu and it doesn't show any information aside from hash rate. Is there a way to see how many and what miners are connected to namecoind?
It must be
Code:
./namecoind gethashespersec
But here I just see 0... Thus I stopped mining namecoins until I'm sure it's a bug
Yeah. I get 0 as well but I've found 2 blocks so that's not accurate. I'm wondering if that's if you start the server and hash at the same time (cpu mine) and then connect with gpu miner. GPU miner will show it's hash rate and gethashespersec will pull just that cpu hash rate. Not sure.
Yeah. That shows cpu hash rate when setgenerate is true. I'm looking for more than that.
wachtwoord
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 08:22:41 PM
 #316

How many namecoins ave been generated by now?

MCWey8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58

[ Poor Miner ]


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:10:37 PM
 #317

In your config file, add :
rpcallowip=<ip_of_your_remote_computer>

(you can add this option several times)

Still having issues, so I thought maybe i should give more info Smiley

Server is running on Linux Mint 10 64 bit
Client is running Ubuntu Linux 10.10 64 bit

So I added
Code:
rpcallowip=192.168.0.2
rpcallowip=192.168.0.3
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
into the /.namecoin/bitcoin.conf, because the server is 192.168.0.3 on the network, the client im trying to connect is on 192.168.0.2.

On the server locally i am able to start Ufasoft v0.10 and mine namecoins with:
Code:
./bm -a 5 -o http://127.0.0.1:8336 -u [edit] -p [edit]

but on the client (192.168.0.2), which i also added the 3 rpcallowip in its /.namecoin/bitcoin.conf
always returns
Code:
./bm -a 5 -o http://192.168.0.3:8336 -u [edit] -p [edit]
bitcoin-miner 0.10  Copyright (c) 2011 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
Mining for http://192.168.0.3:8336
1 threads Using SSE2
Couldn't connect to server
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server

just like before adding the rpcallowip lines into the .conf. I have allowed ALL PORTS incoming and outgoing on the server just for testing and still getting the same result. The machine (192.168.0.3) is also running Apache Web Server .. and is reachable.

Any ideas namecoin miners ??
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:32:33 PM
 #318

In your config file, add :
rpcallowip=<ip_of_your_remote_computer>

(you can add this option several times)

Still having issues, so I thought maybe i should give more info Smiley

Server is running on Linux Mint 10 64 bit
Client is running Ubuntu Linux 10.10 64 bit

So I added
Code:
rpcallowip=192.168.0.2
rpcallowip=192.168.0.3
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
into the /.namecoin/bitcoin.conf, because the server is 192.168.0.3 on the network, the client im trying to connect is on 192.168.0.2.

On the server locally i am able to start Ufasoft v0.10 and mine namecoins with:
Code:
./bm -a 5 -o http://127.0.0.1:8336 -u [edit] -p [edit]

but on the client (192.168.0.2), which i also added the 3 rpcallowip in its /.namecoin/bitcoin.conf
always returns
Code:
./bm -a 5 -o http://192.168.0.3:8336 -u [edit] -p [edit]
bitcoin-miner 0.10  Copyright (c) 2011 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
Mining for http://192.168.0.3:8336
1 threads Using SSE2
Couldn't connect to server
0 MHash/s     Couldn't connect to server

just like before adding the rpcallowip lines into the .conf. I have allowed ALL PORTS incoming and outgoing on the server just for testing and still getting the same result. The machine (192.168.0.3) is also running Apache Web Server .. and is reachable.

Any ideas namecoin miners ??

Did you add 'server=1' in bitcoin.conf ?

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
MCWey8
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58

[ Poor Miner ]


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 09:56:44 PM
 #319

Did you add 'server=1' in bitcoin.conf ?

I did not. so I added that, still same Sad

should i remove daemon=1 ?
this is the complete bitcoin.conf
Code:
rpcuser=[edit]
rpcpassword=[edit]
rpcport=8336
rpcallowip=192.168.0.2
rpcallowip=192.168.0.3
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
daemon=1
server=1
jackjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:01:44 PM
 #320

I don't know, i don't use 'daemon' but I don't think it is the problem
Here is my working bitcoin.conf, try it
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=pass
rpcport=9332
rpcallowip=192.168.0.*

Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2
Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!